DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ assertion that Harel820 does not teach wherein each first port is coupled to a respective second port via the directive coupler or a power splitter. While the splitter of Harel820 takes an input and splits it into multiple outputs this type of functionality of the splitter still renders inputs coupled to respective outputs. Harel820 there teaches the limitation in question.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harel et al. (US 2013/0329820), hereafter Harel820.
Regarding Claim 1, Harel820 teaches a Radio Distribution Network Board (RDNB) for testing functionality of a plurality of radio chains, the RDNB comprising: a plurality of first ports for connecting to the plurality of radio chains (Figure 2, Abstract, Section 0025, the RDN, which are the beamformers, outputs, which are the first ports, connect to the antennas (122), said RDN comprises RF circuitry thus one can logically conclude that a circuit board will be used); a plurality of second ports for connecting to one or more external devices (Figure 2, Section 0025, the inputs to the beamformers are connected to the transmitters (114)), each first port being coupled to a respective second port via a directive coupler or a power splitter (Section 0013, splitter); and a plurality of coupling paths, each coupling path being configured to provide coupling between two first ports (splitters (Sections 0006, 0013) enable the splitting of the of a signal into multiple signals that are sent to the beamformer outputs thus effectively coupling said outputs) and each coupling path including one or more non- directional power splitter/combiners (splitters (Sections 0006, 0013)).
Regarding Claim 2, Harel820 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Harel820 further teaches wherein one or more of the plurality of coupling paths further comprises an attenuator (Section 0006).
Regarding Claim 8, Harel820 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Harel820 further teaches wherein the plurality of coupling paths together provide some level of coupling between all of the plurality of first ports (splitters (Sections 0006, 0013) enable the splitting of the of a signal into multiple signals that are sent to the beamformer outputs thus effectively coupling said outputs).
Regarding Claim 9, Harel820 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Harel820 further teaches wherein pairs of first ports that represent antenna elements that are geometrically closer have stronger coupling than pairs of first ports that represent antenna elements that are geometrically further apart (Section 0005, arrays comprise antenna elements that are close to one another, antenna elements that are close to one another will have a stronger coupling due to their proximity to one another).
Regarding Claim 11, Harel820 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Harel820 further teaches wherein the coupling is equal between pairs of first ports representing antennas having the same relative positions (Section 0005, arrays comprise antennas having the same relative positions thus leading to equal coupling).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 12 – 15, 19, 20, 22, 24, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harel820 in view of Harel et al. (US 2014/0098902), hereafter Harel902.
Regarding Claim 3, Harel820 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Harel820 does not teach wherein each coupling path comprises a plurality of non-directional power splitter/combiners and wherein each non-directional power splitter/combiner is a multi-port non-directional power splitter/combiner.
Harel902, which also teaches the use of RDNs, teaches wherein each coupling path comprises a plurality of non-directional power splitter/combiners and wherein each non-directional power splitter/combiner is a multi-port non-directional power splitter/combiner (Figure 2, combiner (203) shows two ports but the dots in Figure 2 indicate that there are more than two input ports to the combiner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harel820 with the above features of Harel902 for the purpose of providing constructive signal combining thus producing enhanced signal strength as taught by Harel902.
Regarding Claim 4, Harel820 in view of Harel902 combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 3. Harel820 does not teach wherein one of the multi-port non-directional power splitter/combiners comprises either a 3-port non-directional power splitter/combiner or a 4-port non-directional power splitter/combiner.
Harel902, which also teaches the use of RDNs, teaches wherein one of the multi-port non-directional power splitter/combiners comprises either a 3-port non-directional power splitter/combiner or a 4-port non-directional power splitter/combiner (Figure 2, combiner (203) shows two ports but the dots in Figure 2 indicate that there are more than two input ports to the combiner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harel820 with the above features of Harel902 for the purpose of providing constructive signal combining thus producing enhanced signal strength as taught by Harel902.
Regarding Claim 12, Harel820 teaches a method of calibrating a plurality of radio chains, wherein the plurality of radio chains are connected to a plurality of first ports on a Radio Distribution Network Board (RDNB) (Figure 2, Abstract, Section 0025, the RDN, which are the beamformers, outputs, which are the first ports, connect to the antennas (122), said RDN comprises RF circuitry thus one can logically conclude that a circuit board will be used), the RDNB including: a plurality of coupling paths, each coupling path being configured to provide coupling between two first ports (splitters (Sections 0006, 0013) enable the splitting of the of a signal into multiple signals that are sent to the beamformer outputs thus effectively coupling said outputs), and each coupling path including one or more non-directional power splitter/combiners (splitters (Sections 0006, 0013)); and a plurality of second ports for connecting to one or more external devices (Figure 2, Section 0025, the inputs to the beamformers are connected to the transmitters (114)), each first port being coupled to a respective second port via a directive coupler or a power splitter (Section 0013, splitter), the method comprising: transmitting a first signal over each transmitting branch of the plurality of radio chains (Figure 2, Section 0025, a signal or signals can be transmitted by the transmitters (114) to the antennas (122) via the beamformers).
Harel820 does not teach receiving second signals at each receiving branch of the plurality of radio chains caused by the plurality of coupling paths; and calibrating phase settings and/or amplitude settings of the plurality of radio chains based on the received second signals.
Harel902, which also teaches the use of RDNs, teaches receiving second signals at each receiving branch of the plurality of radio chains caused by the plurality of coupling paths (Figure 1, Section 0023, signals can be received at the antennas (50-N-K); and calibrating phase settings and/or amplitude settings of the plurality of radio chains based on the received second signals (Figure 2, Section 0029, the adjusting is the calibrating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harel820 with the above features of Harel902 for the purpose of providing constructive signal combining thus producing enhanced signal strength as taught by Harel902.
Regarding Claim 19, Harel820 teaches an apparatus for calibrating a plurality of radio chains, wherein the plurality of radio chains are connected to a plurality of first ports on a Radio Distribution Network Board (RDNB) (Figure 2, Abstract, Section 0025, the RDN, which are the beamformers, outputs, which are the first ports, connect to the antennas (122), said RDN comprises RF circuitry thus one can logically conclude that a circuit board will be used), the RDNB including a plurality of coupling paths, each coupling path being configured to provide non-directional coupling between two first ports (splitters (Sections 0006, 0013) enable the splitting of the of a signal into multiple signals that are sent to the beamformer outputs thus effectively coupling said outputs), and a plurality of second ports for connecting to one or more external devices (Figure 2, Section 0025, the inputs to the beamformers are connected to the transmitters (114)), each first port being coupled to a respective second port via a directive coupler or a power splitter (Section 0013, splitter), the apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit a first signal over each transmitting branch of the plurality of radio chains (Figure 2, Section 0025, a signal or signals can be transmitted by the transmitters (114) to the antennas (122) via the beamformers).
Harel820 does not teach receive second signals at each receiving branch of the plurality of radio chains caused by the plurality of non-directional coupling paths; and calibrate phase settings and/or amplitude settings of the plurality of radio chains based on the received second signals.
Harel902, which also teaches the use of RDNs, teaches receiving second signals at each receiving branch of the plurality of radio chains caused by the plurality of non-directional coupling paths (Figure 1, Section 0023, signals can be received at the antennas (50-N-K); and calibrating phase settings and/or amplitude settings of the plurality of radio chains based on the received second signals (Figure 2, Section 0029, the adjusting is the calibrating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harel820 with the above features of Harel902 for the purpose of providing constructive signal combining thus producing enhanced signal strength as taught by Harel902.
Regarding Claim 20, Harel combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in 19. Harol820 further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to perform a method of calibrating a plurality of radio chains, the plurality of radio chains being connected to a plurality of first ports on a Radio Distribution Network Board (RDNB) (Figure 2, Abstract, Section 0025, the RDN, which are the beamformers, outputs, which are the first ports, connect to the antennas (122), said RDN comprises RF circuitry thus one can logically conclude that a circuit board will be used), the RDNB including: a plurality of coupling paths, each coupling path being configured to provide coupling between two first ports, and each coupling path including one or more non-directional power splitter/combiners (splitters (Sections 0006, 0013) enable the splitting of the of a signal into multiple signals that are sent to the beamformer outputs thus effectively coupling said outputs); and a plurality of second ports for connecting to one or more external devices (Figure 2, Section 0025, the inputs to the beamformers are connected to the transmitters (114)), each first port being coupled to a respective second port via a directive coupler or a power splitter (Section 0013, splitter), the method comprising: transmitting a first signal over each transmitting branch of the plurality of radio chains (Figure 2, Section 0025, a signal or signals can be transmitted by the transmitters (114) to the antennas (122) via the beamformers).
Harel820 does not teach receiving second signals at each receiving branch of the plurality of radio chains caused by the plurality of coupling paths; and calibrating phase settings and/or amplitude settings of the plurality of radio chains based on the received second signals.
Harel902, which also teaches the use of RDNs, teaches receiving second signals at each receiving branch of the plurality of radio chains caused by the plurality of coupling paths (Figure 1, Section 0023, signals can be received at the antennas (50-N-K); and calibrating phase settings and/or amplitude settings of the plurality of radio chains based on the received second signals (Figure 2, Section 0029, the adjusting is the calibrating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harel820 with the above features of Harel902 for the purpose of providing constructive signal combining thus producing enhanced signal strength as taught by Harel902.
Regarding Claim 22, Harel820 teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program comprising instructions which, when executed on at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to carry out a method of calibrating a plurality of radio chains, the plurality of radio chains being connected to a plurality of first ports on a Radio Distribution Network Board (RDNB) (Figure 2, Abstract, Section 0025, the RDN, which are the beamformers, outputs, which are the first ports, connect to the antennas (122), said RDN comprises RF circuitry thus one can logically conclude that a circuit board will be used), the RDNB including: a plurality of coupling paths, each coupling path being configured to provide coupling between two first ports, and each coupling path including one or more non- directional power splitter/combiners (splitters (Sections 0006, 0013) enable the splitting of the of a signal into multiple signals that are sent to the beamformer outputs thus effectively coupling said outputs); and a plurality of second ports for connecting to one or more external devices (Figure 2, Section 0025, the inputs to the beamformers are connected to the transmitters (114)), each first port being coupled to a respective second port via a directive coupler or a power splitter (Section 0013, splitter), the method comprising: transmitting a first signal over each transmitting branch of the plurality of radio chains (Figure 2, Section 0025, a signal or signals can be transmitted by the transmitters (114) to the antennas (122) via the beamformers).
Harel820 does not teach receiving second signals at each receiving branch of the plurality of radio chains caused by the plurality of coupling paths; and calibrating phase settings and/or amplitude settings of the plurality of radio chains based on the received second signals.
Harel902, which also teaches the use of RDNs, teaches receiving second signals at each receiving branch of the plurality of radio chains caused by the plurality of coupling paths (Figure 1, Section 0023, signals can be received at the antennas (50-N-K); and calibrating phase settings and/or amplitude settings of the plurality of radio chains based on the received second signals (Figure 2, Section 0029, the adjusting is the calibrating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harel820 with the above features of Harel902 for the purpose of providing constructive signal combining thus producing enhanced signal strength as taught by Harel902.
Regarding Claim 13, Harel820 in view of Harel902 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 12. Harel820 does not teach wherein each of plurality of coupling paths is associated with an amplitude coupling value and a phase coupling value.
Harel902, which also teaches the use of RDNs, teaches wherein each of plurality of coupling paths is associated with an amplitude coupling value and a phase coupling value (Figure 2, Section 0029, there is coupling via the combiner and adjustment of amplitude and phase therefore there will be amplitude and phase coupling values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harel820 with the above features of Harel902 for the purpose of providing constructive signal combining thus producing enhanced signal strength as taught by Harel902.
Regarding Claim 14, Harel820 in view of Harel902 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 13. Harel820 does not teach characterizing the plurality of coupling paths to determine the amplitude coupling values and phase coupling values associated with each coupling path.
Harel902, which also teaches the use of RDNs, teaches characterizing the plurality of coupling paths to determine the amplitude coupling values and phase coupling values associated with each coupling path (Figure 2, Section 0029, there is coupling via the combiner and adjustment of amplitude and phase therefore there will be amplitude and phase coupling values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harel820 with the above features of Harel902 for the purpose of providing constructive signal combining thus producing enhanced signal strength as taught by Harel902.
Regarding Claim 15, Harel820 in view of Harel902 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 14. Harel820 does not teach wherein the step of characterizing comprises transmitting a third signal to each of the plurality of radio chains via the plurality of second ports.
Harel902, which also teaches the use of RDNs, teaches wherein the step of characterizing comprises transmitting a third signal to each of the plurality of radio chains via the plurality of second ports (Figure 1, signals can be transmitted from the baseband module and radios at a plurality of different times thus rendering a scenario wherein there are third signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harel820 with the above features of Harel902 for the purpose of providing constructive signal combining thus producing enhanced signal strength as taught by Harel902.
Regarding Claim 24, Harel820 in view of Harel902 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 19. Harel820 in view of Harel902 teaches a radio system comprising the apparatus of claim 19 (See Claim 19 rejection detailed above).
Regarding Claim 25, Harel820 in view of Harel902 combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 24. Harel820 further teaches wherein the radio system comprises one of: a radio access node in a cellular communications network, an access point in a local wireless network or a wireless communication device (Figure 2, Section 0025, UE is the wireless communication device).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harel820 in view of Haddad et al. (US 2015/0255868)
Regarding Claim 5, Harel820 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Harel820 does not teach wherein the coupling between the two first ports has a magnitude x, wherein -50dB <x < -15dB.
Haddad, which also teaches antenna calibration, teaches wherein the coupling between the two first ports has a magnitude x, wherein -50dB <x < -15dB (Section 0026, -20dB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harel820 with the above features of Haddad for the purpose of automatically correcting errors in real time as taught by Haddad.
Claim(s) 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harel820 in view of Kitchener et al. (US 6,870,515)
Regarding Claim 6, Harel820 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Harel820 does not teach wherein the plurality of coupling paths comprises a first coupling path configured to provide coupling between two first ports, wherein the two first ports are both configured to couple to radio chains that would otherwise be coupled to one or more antenna elements operating in a first polarization.
Kitchener, which also teaches MIMO communication, teaches wherein the plurality of coupling paths comprises a first coupling path configured to provide coupling between two first ports, wherein the two first ports are both configured to couple to radio chains that would otherwise be coupled to one or more antenna elements operating in a first polarization (Claims 1, 17, plurality of polarizations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Harel820 with the above features of Kitchener for the purpose of providing polarization diversity which offers increased capacity as taught by Kitchener.
Regarding Claim 7, Harel820 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Harel820 does not teach wherein the plurality of coupling paths comprises a second coupling path configured to provide coupling between two first ports, wherein one of the two first ports is configured to couple to a radio chain that would otherwise be coupled to one or more antenna elements operating in a first polarization, and the other of the two first ports is configured to couple to a radio chain that would otherwise be coupled to one or more antenna elements operating in a second polarization.
Kitchener, which also teaches MIMO communication, teaches wherein the plurality of coupling paths comprises a second coupling path configured to provide coupling between two first ports, wherein one of the two first ports is configured to couple to a radio chain that would otherwise be coupled to one or more antenna elements operating in a first polarization, and the other of the two first ports is configured to couple to a radio chain that would otherwise be coupled to one or more antenna elements operating in a second polarization (Claims 1, 17, plurality of polarizations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Harel820 with the above features of Kitchener for the purpose of providing polarization diversity which offers increased capacity as taught by Kitchener.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harel820 in view of Harel902, as applied to Claim 12 set forth above, and further in view of Sawai et al. (US 2010/0008406)
Regarding Claim 16, The Harel820 in view of Harel902 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 12. Harel820 in view of Harel902 does not teach wherein the step of calibrating comprises: obtaining first estimates of first transfer functions associated with each of the plurality of radio chains receiving branches.
Sawai, which also teaches wireless communication, teaches obtaining first estimates of first transfer functions associated with each of the plurality of radio chains receiving branches (Section 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Harel820 in view of Harel902 combination with the above features of Sawai for the purpose of providing phase and amplitude imbalance correction without degradation of reception characteristics as taught by Sawai.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harel820 in view of Harel902, as applied to Claim 19 set forth above, and further in view of Braun et al. (US 2020/0014105)
Regarding Claim 21, Harel820 in view of Harel902 teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 19. Harel820 in view of Harel902 does not teach wherein the apparatus comprises an active antenna system.
Braun, which also teaches antenna calibration, teaches wherein the apparatus comprises an active antenna system (Section 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Harel820 in view of Harel902 with the above features of Braun for the purpose of providing an improved calibration of antenna arrays as taught by Braun.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious the following features:
estimating, based on the first estimates and the coupling values, second estimates of second transfer functions associated with each of the plurality of radio chains transmitting branches; estimating the first transfer functions based on the second estimates and the coupling values to update the first estimates; and iteratively performing the estimating steps until the first estimates and the second estimates converge. Claim 18, which depend from Claim 17, is allowable for the same reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
August 3, 2026