DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed Nov. 24, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee et al (KR 2014-0027751 A) [translation provided by applicants].
Drawings
Figures 1-5 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a plurality of tab guides [claim 12] and a connection member [claim 12] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (KR 2014-0027751 A) [translation provided by applicants].
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al disclose [see Fig. 9 above] a tab guide (sensing connector 200) for guiding an electrode lead (laminate part 21) of a battery cell (battery cell 10) to a
tester pin (electrical contact 225) for inspection of the battery cell (10), the tab guide (200) comprising: a guide member (connector body 221) including a pair of guide pieces (connector terminals 223) disposed side by side at a predetermined interval such that the tester pin (225) is installed therebetween, wherein inner side surfaces of the pair of guide pieces (223) face each other and include guide surfaces inclined toward the tester pin (225) from front end portions of the guide pieces (223); and a pair of extending guide members (terminal guide 230 with inclined guide surfaces 231) installed to protrude from the guide member (223) to be inclined away from each other toward a front of the guide member (223).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al disclose wherein rear end portions [shown but not numbered] of the pair of extending guide members (230 with 231) are coupled to the guide
surfaces of the guide pieces (223), and the pair of extending guide members (230 with 231) protrude from the guide member (221) at an angle equal to an inclination angle of the guide
surfaces.
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al disclose wherein: the pair of guide pieces (223) respectively
have vertical inner side surfaces extending from the guide surfaces and disposed to face each
other in parallel; the tester pin (225) is fixedly installed between rear end portions of the vertical inner side surfaces facing each other; and front end portions of the vertical inner side surfaces facing each other form a fixing part configured to fix the electrode lead (21).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al disclose a support block (PCB 110) coupled to a rear
surface of the guide member (221).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al disclose wherein outer side surfaces at opposite sides from
the inner side surfaces of the pair of guide pieces (223) facing each other are formed as vertical
surfaces extending parallel to the vertical inner side surfaces.
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al disclose wherein rear end portions of the pair of extending guide members (230 with 231) are coupled to the front end portions of the guide pieces (223).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al disclose wherein the pair of extending guide members (230 with 231) protrude from the guide member (221) at an angle that is equal to or different from an inclination angle of the guide surfaces.
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al disclose wherein the guide member (221) and the extending
guide members (230 with 231) are formed of different materials.
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al disclose wherein the guide member (221) is formed of a
metal material.
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al disclose wherein the extending guide members (230 with 231) are formed of a material having elasticity.
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al disclose a support (mold plate 210) coupled to a lower
portion of the support block (110) and formed to extend in a downward direction.
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al disclose [see Figs. 1-3] a tab guide device comprising: a
plurality of tab guides (sensing connector 200) of claim 1 installed side by side [see Fig. 3] along an arrangement direction of a plurality of battery cells (battery cell 10); and a connection member (PCB assembly 100) in which the plurality of tab guides (200) are slidably installed and extending along the arrangement direction of the battery cells (10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858