DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This action is Non-Final.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1, 4, 13 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 3, 5 of copending Application No. 18/564500 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 13 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1, 3, 5 of Application No. 18564500. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-2, 8-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 7, 9-10 of copending Application No. 18564500 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite obvious variations between the co-pending claims, and contain genus/species relations (claims 2, 8-11 instant claims compared to claims 2, 7, 9-10 of co-pending claims); and since all claims in the co-pending application depend from the identical and same features as instant claim 1, they are considered species under the genus of instant claim 1 (co-pending claims 2, 4, 6-20; not co-pending claims 1, 3 or 5 as these are statutory double patenting as addressed above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Specification
The use of the terms 3M, Filtrete, which each is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Between paragraph 62 and 63 applicant has labeled paragraphs 1 and 2. Likely paragraphs 1 and 2 after 62 should be 63 and 64 and current 63 though be 65 and so on. Applicant should renumber the paragraphs as suggested. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ahmad et al. (Ahmad, US 10,591,460)
Regarding claim 1, Ahmad teaches a sample collection system (the claims are recited broadly and thus are taught as described below, or in the alternative, the slight differences in features amount to obvious variations of lexicographic terms for structures and broad relations claimed) comprising: a housing comprising a first part (see at least Figure 1C element 110) and a second part (see at least Figure 1C elements 140 and 160), the first and second parts being movable relative to one another (see at least col. 23 lines 38-44 threaded indicates movement); porous sample collection media disposed along an airflow path in the first part (see at least Figure 1C element 130); and an assay disposed on the second part and constructed to receive a sample captured by the porous sample collection media (see at least Figure 1C element 120).
Regarding claim 2, Ahmad teaches wherein the airflow path comprises a through opening in the first part and the second part, and wherein the porous sample collection media occludes the through opening of the first part (see at least Figure 1C-3).
Regarding claim 3, Ahmad teaches wherein the airflow path comprises a second through opening in each of the first and second parts (see at least Figure 1C-3).
Regarding claim 4, Ahmad teaches wherein the first and second parts are rotatably movable relative to one another (see at least Figure 1C-3, col. 23 lines 38-44 threaded indicates movement).
Regarding claim 5, Ahmad teaches wherein the first part forms an outer tube and the second part forms an inner tube at least partially disposed inside the outer tube (see at least Figure 1C-3).
Regarding claim 6, Ahmad teaches wherein the first part and the second part have a first position that is a sample collection position and a second position that is a testing position (broad claim reasonably reads on intended use during collection and post collection, and also can include form for use in collection i.e. complete form which includes threaded state and pre/post collection states which can include non-connected/constructed and unthreaded state, as discussed in col. 23 lines 38-44).
Regarding claim 7, Ahmad teaches wherein in the first position, through holes extending through the first part and the second part are aligned (see at least Figures 1C-3).
Regarding claim 8, Ahmad teaches wherein in the second position, the porous sample collection media is aligned with the assay (see at least Figures 1C-3).
Regarding claim 9, Ahmad teaches wherein in the second position, the porous sample collection media is in contact with the assay (see at least Figures 1C-3).
Regarding claim 10 Ahmad teaches wherein the assay comprises a sample receiving area, and wherein in the second position, the porous sample collection media is aligned with the sample receiving area (see at least Figures 1C-3 location where 120 is).
Regarding claim 11, Ahmad teaches wherein the assay comprises a sample receiving area, and wherein in the second position, the porous sample collection media is in contact with the sample receiving area (see at least Figures 1C-3 location where 120 is).
Regarding claim 12, Ahmad teaches wherein the first part comprises a transparent material in an area overlaying a result display of the assay in the second position (see at least Figures 1C-3 window 112).
Regarding claim 13 Ahmad teaches wherein the first part comprises a screen disposed in the airflow path in front of the porous sample collection media (see at least Figures 1C-3 window 112).
Regarding claim 14, Ahmad teaches wherein the first part further comprises a mouthpiece aligned with the porous sample collection media (see at least Figure 8A-8C 212).
Regarding claim 15, Ahmad teaches wherein the mouthpiece is removably coupled with the first part (see at least Figure 8A-8C 212).
Regarding claim 16, Ahmad teaches wherein the first part forms an outer tube having an outer surface with a non-circular cross section (see at least Figure 1C).
Regarding claim 17, Ahmad teaches wherein the assay comprises a lateral flow assay or a vertical flow assay (see at least Figure 1C).
Regarding claim 18, Ahmad teaches wherein the assay comprises a strip of material with a length, and wherein the length is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the second part (see at least Figure 1C).
Regarding claim 19, Ahmad teaches wherein the assay comprises a strip of material with a length, and wherein the length is transverse to a longitudinal axis of the second part (see at least Figure 1C).
Regarding claim 20, Ahmad teaches wherein the porous sample collection media comprises nonwoven material (see at least col. 16 lines 49-53).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9169521, US 2020/0245898, US 2021/0059560 teaches related systems.
/MICHAEL R BLOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791