DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on November 28, 2023 and February 7, 2025 have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 4 of claim 1, please spell out TRP since this is the first time this term is introduced in this claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 6 of claim 6, please spell out TRP since this is the first time this term is introduced in this claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 4 of claim 11, please spell out TRP since this is the first time this term is introduced in this claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Futurewei (“Enhancement on multi-beam operation”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #105-e, e-Meeting, May 19th – May 27th, 2021).
Consider claim 1. Futurewei discloses a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a first configuration for activating a first number of sets of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, each set of the first number of sets including at least a TCI state configured for communicating with a first TRP (Section 2.3, “..Support of two active TCI states for mTRP has been defined in Rel. 16; including both single DCI and multi-DCI cases. In single DCI case, MAC CE [3] was enhanced to enable the mapping of two TCI states to one TCI codepoint such that one TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field can indicate two different TCI states, one for each TRP.."; Section 2.3, With multiple simultaneous active TCI states, we are referring to the cases where multiple DL, UL, or joint DL/UL TCI states are indicated in one instance of beam indication DCI..");
determining, based on an indication contained in the first configuration, that the first number of sets of TCI states are activated for communicating with the first TRP or a second TRP in a first direction selected from an uplink direction and a downlink direction (Section 3, figs. 3, 4, the enhanced UE-specific MAC CE for TCI states activation/deactivation, where the function of the original bits "Ci" and "R" are modified to indicate whether the corresponding TCI state indicated in the same octet is from the DL/joint TCI state pool or the UL TCI state pool. For example, a bit value of "1" indicates the TCI state is from DL/joint TCI state pool, while a bit value of "0" indicates the TCI state is from UL TCI state pool. This way, one MAC CE can activate multiple (e.g., up to 8) TCI states, each of which is mapped to one of the 8 TCI codepoints); and
activating the first number of sets of TCI states for communicating with the first TRP or the second TRP in the first direction (Section 3, ..For support of M-TRP with single DCI, each of the multiple (e.g., 2) TCI states mapped to one TCI codepoint is corresponding to each of the two TRPs, respectively..", where enhanced UE-specific MAC CE for TCI states activation for cases of M/N > 1).
Consider claim 2 and as applied to claim 1. Futurewei discloses receiving, from the first TRP, first downlink control information (DCI) including an indication indicating (a) a first set of TC states of the first number of sets and (b) the first direction; selecting, from the first set, a first TCI state configured for communicating with the first TRP in the first direction; and communicating with the first TRP in the first direction in the first TCI state (Figs. 3, 4, Sections 2.3, 3).
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2. Futurewei discloses receiving, from a second TRP, second DCI including an indication indicating (a) the first set and (b) the first direction; selecting, from the first set, a second TCI state configured for communicating with the second TRP in the first direction; and communicating with the second TRP in the first direction in the second TCI state (Figs. 3, 4, Sections 2.3, 3).
Consider claim 6. Futurewei discloses a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a first configuration for activating a first number of sets of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, each set of the first number of sets including at least a TCI state configured for communicating in a downlink direction (Section 2.3, “..Support of two active TCI states for mTRP has been defined in Rel. 16; including both single DCI and multi-DCI cases. In single DCI case, MAC CE [3] was enhanced to enable the mapping of two TCI states to one TCI codepoint such that one TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field can indicate two different TCI states, one for each TRP.."; Section 2.3, With multiple simultaneous active TCI states, we are referring to the cases where multiple DL, UL, or joint DL/UL TCI states are indicated in one instance of beam indication DCI..");
determining, based on an indication contained in the first configuration, that the first number of sets of TCI states are activated for communication with a first TRP selected from the first TRP and a second TRP (Section 3, figs. 3, 4, the enhanced UE-specific MAC CE for TCI states activation/deactivation, where the function of the original bits "Ci" and "R" are modified to indicate whether the corresponding TCI state indicated in the same octet is from the DL/joint TCI state pool or the UL TCI state pool. For example, a bit value of "1" indicates the TCI state is from DL/joint TCI state pool, while a bit value of "0" indicates the TCI state is from UL TCI state pool. This way, one MAC CE can activate multiple (e.g., up to 8) TCI states, each of which is mapped to one of the 8 TCI codepoints); and
activating the first number of sets of TCI states for communicating with the first TRP (Section 3, ..For support of M-TRP with single DCI, each of the multiple (e.g., 2) TCI states mapped to one TCI codepoint is corresponding to each of the two TRPs, respectively..", where enhanced UE-specific MAC CE for TCI states activation for cases of M/N > 1).
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 6. Futurewei discloses receiving, from the first TRP, first downlink control information (DCI) including an indication indicating (a) a first set of TCI states of the first number of sets and (b) a first direction selected from the downlink direction and the uplink direction; selecting, from the first set, a first TCI state configured for communicating with the first TRP in the first direction; and communicating with the first TRP in the first direction in the first TCI state (Figs. 3, 4, Sections 2.3, 3).
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 7. Futurewei discloses receiving, from the first TRP, second DCI including an indication indicating (a) the first set and (b) a second direction selected from the downlink direction and the uplink direction; selecting, from the first set, a second TCI state configured for communicating with the first TRP in the second direction; and communicating with the first TRP in the second direction in the second TCI state (Figs. 3, 4, Sections 2.3, 3).
Consider claim 11. Futurewei discloses method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration for activating a first number of sets of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, each set of the first number of sets including at least one of a TCI state configured for communicating with a first TRP in a downlink direction, a TCI state configured for communicating with a second TRP in a downlink direction, a TCI state configured for communicating with the first TRP in an uplink direction, and a TCI state configured for communicating with the second TRP in an uplink direction (Section 2.3, “..Support of two active TCI states for mTRP has been defined in Rel. 16; including both single DCI and multi-DCI cases. In single DCI case, MAC CE [3] was enhanced to enable the mapping of two TCI states to one TCI codepoint such that one TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field can indicate two different TCI states, one for each TRP.."; Section 2.3, With multiple simultaneous active TCI states, we are referring to the cases where multiple DL, UL, or joint DL/UL TCI states are indicated in one instance of beam indication DCI.."); and
activating the first number of sets of TC states (Section 3, ..For support of M-TRP with single DCI, each of the multiple (e.g., 2) TCI states mapped to one TCI codepoint is corresponding to each of the two TRPs, respectively..", where enhanced UE-specific MAC CE for TCI states activation for cases of M/N > 1).
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 11. Futurewei discloses receiving, from the first TRP, first downlink control information (DCI) including an indication indicating (a) a first set of TC states of the first number of sets and (b) a first direction from the downlink direction and the uplink direction; selecting, from the first set, a first TCI state configured for communicating with the first TRP in the first direction; and communicating with the first TRP in the first direction in the first TCI state (Figs. 3, 4, Sections 2.3, 3).
Consider claim 13 and as applied to claim 11. Futurewei discloses wherein the configuration includes (a) a first indication associated with the each set indicating whether the each set includes the TCI state configured for communicating with the second TRP in the downlink direction and (b) a second indication associated with the each set indicating whether the each set includes the TCI state configured for communicating with the second TRP in the uplink direction (Figs. 3, 4, Sections 2.3, 3).
Consider claim 14 and as applied to claim 11. Futurewei discloses wherein the configuration includes (a) a first indication associated with the each set indicating whether the each set includes at least the TCI state configured for communicating with the first TRP in the downlink direction, (b) a second indication associated with the each set indicating whether the each set includes the TCI state configured for communicating with the second TRP in the downlink direction, (c) a third indication associated with the each set indicating whether the each set includes at least the TCI state configured for communicating with the first TRP in the uplink direction, and (d) a fourth indication associated with the each set and indicating whether the each set includes the TCI state configured for communicating with the second TRP in the uplink direction (Figs. 3, 4, Sections 2.3, 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futurewei (“Enhancement on multi-beam operation”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #105-e, e-Meeting, May 19th – May 27th, 2021) in view of Mediatek (“MAC CE format for single multi-TRP”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #107Bis, Chongqing, China 14th – 18th October 2019).
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 1. Futurewei discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach receiving a second configuration for activating a second number of sets of TC states, each set of the second number of sets including at least a TCI state configured for communicating with the first TRP; determining, based on an indication contained in the second configuration, that the second number of sets of TC states are activated for communicating with the first TRP or the second TRP in a second direction selected from the uplink direction and the downlink direction; and activating the second number of sets of TC states for communicating with the first TRP or the second TRP in the second direction.
However, Mediatek teaches receiving a second configuration for activating a second number of sets of TC states, each set of the second number of sets including at least a TCI state configured for communicating with the first TRP; determining, based on an indication contained in the second configuration, that the second number of sets of TC states are activated for communicating with the first TRP or the second TRP in a second direction selected from the uplink direction and the downlink direction; and activating the second number of sets of TC states for communicating with the first TRP or the second TRP in the second direction (Section 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mediatek into the invention of Futurewei in order to reduce signaling overhead.
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 4. Futurewei and Mediatek disclose receiving, from the first TRP, third downlink control information (DCI) including an indication indicating (a) a third set of TC states of the second number of sets and (b) the second direction; selecting, from the third set, a third TCI state configured for communicating with the first TRP in the second direction; and communicating with the first TRP in the second direction in the third TCI state (Mediatek; Section 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mediatek into the invention of Futurewei in order to reduce signaling overhead.
Consider claim 9 and as applied to claim 6. Futurewei discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach receiving a second configuration for activating a second number of sets of TCI states, each set of the second number of sets including at least a TCI state configured for communicating in a downlink direction; determining, based on an indication contained in the second configuration, that the second number of sets of TCI states are activated for communicating with the second TRP; and activating the second number of sets of TCI states for communicating with the second TRP.
However, Mediatek teaches receiving a second configuration for activating a second number of sets of TCI states, each set of the second number of sets including at least a TCI state configured for communicating in a downlink direction; determining, based on an indication contained in the second configuration, that the second number of sets of TCI states are activated for communicating with the second TRP; and activating the second number of sets of TCI states for communicating with the second TRP (Section 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mediatek into the invention of Futurewei in order to reduce signaling overhead.
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 9. Futurewei and Mediatek disclose receiving, from the second TRP, third DCI including an indication indicating (a) a third set of TCI states of the second number of sets and (b) a first direction selected from the downlink direction and the uplink direction; selecting, from the third set, a third TCI state configured for communicating with the second TRP in the first direction; and communicating with the second TRP in the first direction in the third TCI state (Mediatek; Section 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mediatek into the invention of Futurewei in order to reduce signaling overhead.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M BRANDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 February 6, 2026