DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 2-8 in the reply filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the flowcharts in Figures 3-4 are incomplete and do not state the steps. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allin et al. (US 2005/0112443 A1).
As to claim 4, Allin et al. teaches a method of producing a bipolar plate (abstract) comprising providing a plate comprising an electrically conductive plastics composite material (para 0015-0016), heating the plate to a first temperature (para 0026), heating a catalyst in powder form to a second temperature which is higher than the first temperature (para 0027-0028), and applying the catalyst to a structured side of the plate as broadly claimed.
As to claim 2, the composite material is as claimed in para 0015-0027.
As to claim 6, the powder is sprayed, or ‘blown’ in para 0027.
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Modes et al. (US 4765874)
As to claim 4, Modes et al. teaches a method of producing a bipolar plate (abstract) comprising providing a plate comprising an electrically conductive plastics composite material (col 2 lines 39-60), heating the plate to a first temperature (Examples), heating a catalyst in powder form to a second temperature which is higher than the first temperature (Examples), and applying the catalyst to a structured side of the plate as broadly claimed.
As to claim 2, the composite material is as claimed in col 2 lines 39-60.
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Modes et al. (EP 0169301, citations taken from attached translation document, hereafter Modes 2)
As to claim 4, Modes et al. teaches a method of producing a bipolar plate (abstract) comprising providing a plate comprising an electrically conductive plastics composite material (p3-4), heating the plate to a first temperature (Examples), heating a catalyst in powder form to a second temperature which is higher than the first temperature (Examples), and applying the catalyst to a structured side of the plate as broadly claimed.
As to claim 2, the composite material is as claimed in p3-4.
As to claim 7, the catalysts particles are pressed with another material/carrier particles acting as a carrier film, where the carrier is removed as broadly claimed in the abstract and Examples.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allin et al.
As to Claim 3, Allin et al. discloses the claimed invention except for particle size. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed particle size, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 5, Allin et al. discloses the claimed invention except for particular temperatures. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed temperatures, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modes et al. or Modes 2
As to Claim 3, Modes et al. or Modes 2 discloses the claimed invention except for particle size. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed particle size, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 5, Modes et al. or Modes 2 discloses the claimed invention except for particular temperatures. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed temperatures, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allin et al., Modes et al. or Modes 2 in view of Bach et al. (US 2019/0393518 A1).
The references above do not teach injection molding. Bach et al. teaches a bipolar composite plate created by injection molding in para 0018. Therefore, it would have been obvious to make the bipolar plate of Allin, Mode or Mode 2 by injection molding as Bach teaches the art recognized suitability of such.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718