DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 11, 12 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of hyphen “-” in claims 1 and 9 appears improper because it confuses that whether or not the hyphen is part of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Multiple dependency in claims 4, 6-9, 11-13 and 16 is confusing and difficult to ascertain to which claim these claims depending upon. Accordingly, for examination purpose, the examiner considers the dependency of these claims as the following:
Claims 4 and 6-9 depend on claim 1.
Claims 11-13 depend on claim 9.
Claim 16 depends on claim 13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by VAN DEN BRAND et al. (EP 3742477 A1).
Re Claim 1, DEN BRAND et al. disclose a method for manufacturing an electronic device (11 12 13) comprising a phase of bonding said electronic device (11 12 13) to a manufacturing element (20), said bonding phase comprising:- a step of providing a primary substrate (10) comprising at least one electronic device (11 12 13); - a step of applying a bonding layer (20a) consisting of a photosensitive polymer (i.e., polymer adhesive layer, Paragraph [0028]), during which the bonding layer (20a) is applied to a surface of the electronic device (11 12 13) so as to secure the bonding layer (20a) and the electronic device (111 12 13) and/or to an interface surface (i.e., bottom surface of 20) of the manufacturing element (20) so as to secure the bonding layer (20a) and the manufacturing element (20), see Fig. 1B; a step of bringing the manufacturing element (20) into contact with the electronic device (11 12 13) so as to adhere the manufacturing element (20) to the electronic device (11 12 13) via the bonding layer (20a, see Figs. 1B and 1C); the manufacturing method further comprising a release phase in which the bonding layer (20b) is exposed to a first luminous radiation (i.e., light radiation) having a first wavelength so as to dissociate the manufacturing element (20) from the electronic device (see Fig. 1D). See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0028] – [0029].
Re Claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the bonding phase comprises a step of treating the bonding layer (20a) so as to increase the adherence of said bonding layer (11), the treating step comprising exposing the bonding layer to a second luminous radiation having a second wavelength, different from the first wavelength (see Fig. 1B). See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the first luminous radiation and/or the second luminous radiation are emitted by coherent lasers (see Fig. 1B). See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the electronic device (11 12 13) comprises an optoelectronic device. See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the first luminous radiation is an ultraviolet radiation. See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including a phase of transferring said at least one electronic device (11 12 13) from the primary substrate (10) to a secondary substrate (30) implemented after the bonding phase, said transfer phase comprising, coupling step during which a transfer support (20) is secured to each electronic device (11 12 13) to be transferred;- a step of unhooking said at least one electronic device (11) from the primary substrate (20) by mechanical traction or dry etching; a step of placing said at least electronic device (11) on a surface for receiving the secondary substrate (30). See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 10, as applied to claim 9 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the transfer phase is implemented before the release phase. See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 11, as applied to claim 9 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the transfer phase further comprises a step (E73) of moving the transfer support (10) during which the transfer support (10) is moved so as to implement the unhooking step and/or the positioning step. See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 12, as applied to claim 9 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the manufacturing element consists of the transfer support (10). See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 13, as applied to claim 9 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the transfer support (10) is configured to cooperate with the manufacturing element, the step of coupling the transfer support (10) to each electronic device (11 12 13) to be transferred being implemented via the securing of the transfer support (10) with the manufacturing element. See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 14, as applied to claim 13 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the transfer support (10) is made of a stretchable or shrinkable material. See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 15, as applied to claim 14 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the transfer phase (P3) comprises a step of stressing the transfer support (10) in which the transfer support (10) is stretched or compressed. See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 16, as applied to claim 13 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the transfer phase comprises a step of applying an adhesion layer (20a) to the transfer support (10), or to a surface of the manufacturing element opposite to its surface intended to come into contact with the bonding layer (20a). See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Re Claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, DEN BRAND et al. disclose all the claimed limitations including wherein the step of applying an adhesion layer (20a) is implemented before the coupling step. See Figs. 1A – 1D and related text in Page 5, Paragraphs [0025] – [0029].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Budd et al. (US 10,217,637), Radauscher et al. (US 10,573,544), Lin (US 2020/0023479), Bower et al. (US 2016/0086855), Hu et al. (US 2015/0008389), Meitl (2014/0264763) and Bower (2012/0313241) also disclose similar inventive subject matter.
Correspondence
/BROOK KEBEDE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2894
/BK/
May 30, 2026