DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 through 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the space" in in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites “on one side” in line 10, it is unclear if this refers to the “one side” recited in line 5.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the upper side" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites “a circumferential edge portion” in line 3 and in line 9, resulting in an ambiguity as to whether this is the same element. Further, it is unclear which element “the circumferential edge portion” recited in line 10 refers to.
Claim 2 recites “The solid-state imaging element according to claim 1” line 1 as the preamble. However, the preamble to claim 1 recites “A solid-state imaging device” in line 1. This results in an ambiguity as to whether the details regard components of the device or components of the element.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the at least one side" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The precedent states “at least one of four sides”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the vicinity" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The precedent states “the vicinity of the cover glass”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the four sides" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the encapsulating resin" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the second sealing resin" in line 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, as no first encapsulating resin was previously recited, the number of encapsulating resin structures is ambiguous. The claim will be understood to mean that the resin sealing portion comprises a first encapsulating resin and a second encapsulating resin that is different from and overlying the first encapsulating resin, and that the recessed portion extends to a depth below some of the second encapsulating resin
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the encapsulating resin" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner will understand this to refer to the resin sealing portion.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the space" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Previously the claim recited “a surrounding space”.
Claim 12 recites “sealed for the wire” in line 17, the use of the preposition “for” makes the limitation ambiguous, the examiner suggests using “to”.
The above listing is not considered exhaustive, all claims should be reviewed for accordance 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) and linguistics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Watanabe (US 2018/0359437)
Regarding claim 1.
Watanbe teaches a solid-state imaging device (5b:50; [para 0066]) comprising: a solid-state imaging element (fig 5b:11; [para 0067]) that has a central portion in which an active region for photoelectrically converting incident light is formed (fig 8:0092]), and a circumferential edge portion provided around the central portion (fig 5a,b); a substrate (fig 5b:12; [para 0066]) that has a support (4d,fig 5b:14; [para 0055]) on one side and an opening portion formed on an upper portion of the support (4d,fig 5b:14; [para 0055]), the support (4d,fig 5b:14; [para 0055]) forming a surrounding space for storing the solid-state imaging element (fig 5b:11; [para 0067]), the solid-state imaging element (fig 5b:11; [para 0067]) being mounted in a mounting region at a bottom of the space; a cover glass (fig 5b:13; [para 0067]) with a circumferential edge portion on an undersurface of the cover glass (fig 5b:13; [para 0067]), the circumferential edge portion being bonded to the support on one side of the substrate (annotated fig 5b); and a resin sealing portion (fig 5b:51; [para 0066]) that provides sealing around the cover glass (fig 5b:13; [para 0067]), wherein the cover glass (fig 5b:13; [para 0067]) is integrally sealed by the resin sealing portion (fig 5b:51; [para 0066]), and the resin sealing portion (fig 5b:51; [para 0066]) has, on the upper side of the resin sealing portion (fig 5b:51; [para 0066]), a recessed portion (fig 5b:51a; [para 0067]) toward a bottom of the resin sealing portion (fig 5b:51; [para 0066]), the upper side including a vicinity of the cover glass (fig 5b:13; [para 0067]).
Regarding claim 4.
Watanbe teaches the solid-state imaging device (5b:50; [para 0066]) according to claim 1, wherein the recessed portion (fig 5b:51a; [para 0067]) is formed on at least one of four sides surrounding the cover glass (fig 5a,5b:13; [para 0067]).
Regarding claim 5.
Watanbe teaches the solid-state imaging device (5b:50; [para 0066]) according to claim 4, wherein the recessed portion (fig 5b:51a; [para 0067]) formed on the at least one side is shaped like a ribbon or a circle in at least one place (fig 5a).
Regarding claim 7.
Watanbe teaches the solid-state imaging element (5b:50; [para 0066]) according to claim 1, wherein the recessed portion (fig 5b:51a; [para 0067]) is a groove having one of a substantially rectangular shape (fig 5b), a substantially U-shape, and a substantially V-shape in longitudinal section.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Honda (US 2009/0166784).
Regarding claim 1.
Honda teaches a solid-state imaging device (fig 21:50; [para 0142]) comprising: a solid-state imaging element (fig 19:4; [para 0142]) that has a central portion in which an active region (fig 19; [para 0142]) for photoelectrically converting incident light is formed ([para 0064]), and a circumferential edge portion provided around the central portion (fig 20,21); a substrate (fig 19:2; [para 0066]) that has a support (fig 19:9; [para 0114]) on one side and an opening portion formed on an upper portion of the support (fig 19:9; [para 0114]), the support (fig 19:9; [para 0114]) forming a surrounding space for storing the solid-state imaging element (fig 19:4; [para 0142]), the solid-state imaging element (fig 19:4; [para 0142]) being mounted in a mounting region at a bottom of the space; a cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0112]) with a circumferential edge portion on an undersurface of the cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0112]), the circumferential edge portion being bonded to the support (fig 19:9; [para 0114]) on one side of the substrate (fig 19:2; [para 0066]); and a resin sealing portion (fig 19:11; [para 0120]) that provides sealing around the cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0112]), wherein the cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0112]) is integrally sealed by the resin sealing portion (fig 19:11; [para 0120]), and the resin sealing portion (fig 19:11; [para 0120]) has, on the upper side of the resin sealing portion (fig 19:11; [para 0120]), a recessed portion (fig 19:41; [para 0138]) toward a bottom of the resin sealing portion (fig 19:11; [para 0120]), the upper side including a vicinity of the cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0112]).
Regarding claim 2.
Honda teaches the solid-state imaging element according to claim 1, further comprising a wire (fig 19:8; [para 0138]) with one end making bonding connection to an electrode (fig 19:7; [para 0122]) provided on an outer periphery of a side of the substrate (fig 19:2; [para 0122]) to electrically connect the solid-state imaging element (fig 19:4; [para 0122]) and outside, and the recessed portion (fig 19:41; [para 0138]) is formed near the cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0113]) in a range of a depth without reaching the wire (fig 19:8; [para 0138]) in the resin sealing portion (fig 19:11; [para 0120]).
Regarding claim 3.
Honda teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the recessed portion is formed around a vicinity of a circumference of the cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0113]) in the resin sealing portion (fig 19:11; [para 0120]).
Regarding claim 4.
Honda teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the recessed portion (fig 19,20:41; [para 0138]) is formed on at least one of four sides surrounding the cover glass (fig 20:10; [para 0113]).
Regarding claim 8.
Honda teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the recessed portion (fig 19,20:41; [para 0138]) is formed around four sides surrounding the cover glass (fig 20:10; [para 0113]), and a lens holder (fig 21:21; [para 0128]) that bears and supports a lens (fig 21:22; [para 0128]) is fixed on an upper portion of the recessed portion (fig 21:41; [para 0138]).
Regarding claim 9.
Honda teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the recessed portion (fig 19,20:41; [para 0138]) is formed in at least multiple places, and the recessed portion (fig 19,20:41; [para 0138]) in at least one of the multiple places is continuously formed around four sides (fig 20) surrounding the cover glass (fig 19,20:10; [para 0113]), and a lens holder (fig 21:21; [para 0128]) that bears and supports a lens (fig 21:22; [para 0128]) is fixed (fig 21:25; [para 0129]) on an upper portion of the recessed portion (fig 19,20:41; [para 0138]) continuously formed around the four sides (fig 20).
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Honda (US 2009/0166784).
Regarding claim 1.
Honda teaches a solid-state imaging device (fig 27:70; [para 0160]) comprising: a solid-state imaging element (fig 27:4; [para 0161]) that has a central portion in which an active region (fig 27) for photoelectrically converting incident light is formed ([para 0064]), and a circumferential edge portion provided around the central portion (fig 27); a substrate (fig 27:2; [para 0066]) that has a support (fig 27:9; [para 0114]) on one side and an opening portion formed on an upper portion of the support (fig 27:9; [para 0114]), the support (fig 27:9; [para 0114]) forming a surrounding space for storing the solid-state imaging element (fig 27:4; [para 0161]), the solid-state imaging element (fig 27:4; [para 0161]) being mounted in a mounting region at a bottom of the space; a cover glass (fig 27:10; [para 0160]) with a circumferential edge portion on an undersurface of the cover glass (fig 27:10; [para 0160]), the circumferential edge portion being bonded to the support (fig 27:9; [para 0160]) on one side of the substrate (fig 27:2; [para 0066]); and a resin sealing portion (fig 27:11; [para 0160]) that provides sealing around the cover glass (fig 27:10; [para 0160]), wherein the cover glass (fig 27:10; [para 0160]) is integrally sealed by the resin sealing portion (fig 27:11; [para 0160]), and the resin sealing portion (fig 27:11; [para 0160]) has, on the upper side of the resin sealing portion (fig 27:11; [para 0160]), a recessed portion (fig 27:71; [para 0160]) toward a bottom of the resin sealing portion (fig 27:11; [para 0160]), the upper side including a vicinity of the cover glass (fig 27:10; [para 0160]).
Regarding claim 6.
Honda teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the recessed portion (fig 27:71[160]) is formed over an entire area other than a contact portion of the cover glass (fig 27:10; [para 0160]) from the vicinity to an outer periphery of the cover glass (fig 27:10; [para 0160]).
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hsieh (US 2020/0312897).
Regarding claim 1.
Hsieh teaches a solid-state imaging device (fig 2:200; [para 0033]) comprising: a solid-state imaging element (fig 2:208; [para 0033]) that has a central portion in which an active region for photoelectrically converting incident light is formed (fig 2:0039]), and a circumferential edge portion provided around the central portion; a substrate (fig 2:204; [para 0039]) that has a support (fig 2:224; [para 0041]) on one side and an opening portion formed on an upper portion of the support (fig 2:224; [para 0041]), the support (fig 2:224; [para 0041]) forming a surrounding space (fig 2:203; [para 0033]) for storing the solid-state imaging element (fig 2:208; [para 0041]), the solid-state imaging element (fig 2:208; [para 0041]) being mounted in a mounting region at a bottom of the space (fig 2:203; [para 0033]); a cover glass (fig 2:206; [para 0042]) with a circumferential edge portion on an undersurface (fig 2:228; [para 0041]) of the cover glass, the circumferential edge portion being bonded to the support (fig 2:224; [para 0043]) on one side of the substrate (fig 2:204; [para 0043]); and a resin sealing portion (fig 3:230,240; [para 0034,0047]) that provides sealing around the cover glass (fig 2:206; [para 0042]), wherein the cover glass (fig 2:206; [para 0042]) is integrally sealed by the resin sealing portion (fig 3:230,240; [para 0034,0047]), and the resin sealing portion (fig 3:230,240; [para 0034,0047]) has, on the upper side of the resin sealing portion (fig 3:230,240; [para 0034,0047]), a recessed portion toward a bottom of the resin sealing portion (fig 3:230,240; [para 0034,0047]), the upper side including a vicinity of the cover glass (fig 2:206; [para 0042]).
Regarding claim 11.
Hsieh teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the resin sealing portion (fig 3:230,240; [para 0034,0047]) is provided with a second encapsulating resin (fig 3:240; [para 0034,0047]) of a different kind (non-transparent; [para 0047]) from the encapsulating resin (fig 3:230; [para 0034,0047]) in addition to the resin sealing portion (fig 3:230,240; [para 0034,0047]) while the second sealing resin (fig 3:240; [para 0034,0047]) covers the resin sealing portion (fig 3:230; [para 0034,0047]),
and the recessed portion is formed with a depth reaching the encapsulating resin (fig 3:230; [para 0034,0047]) under the second encapsulating resin (fig 3:240; [para 0034,0047]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Honda (US 2009/0166784).
Regarding claim 12.
Honda teaches an electronic device comprising a solid-state imaging device (fig 19:40; [para 0138]) including: a solid-state imaging element (fig 19:4; [para 0142]) that has a central portion in which an active region for photoelectrically converting incident light ([para 0064]) is formed, and a circumferential edge portion provided around the central portion (fig 19,20); a substrate (fig 19:2; [para 0113]) that has a support (fig 19:9; [para 0114]) on one side and an opening portion formed on an upper portion of the support (fig 19:9; [para 0114]), the support (fig 19:9; [para 0114]) forming a surrounding space for storing the solid-state imaging element (fig 19:4; [para 0104]), the solid-state imaging element (fig 19:4; [para 0104]) being mounted in a mounting region at a bottom of the space; a wire (fig 19:8; [para 0111]) with one end making bonding connection (fig 19:5; [para 0114]) to an electrode provided on an outer periphery of a side of the substrate (fig 19:2; [para 0111]) to electrically connect the solid-state imaging element (fig 19:4; [para 0104]) and outside, and a cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0116]) having an outside shape like one of a rectangle, a square (fig 20), and a circle with a circumferential edge portion on an undersurface of the cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0116]), the circumferential edge portion being bonded to one side of the substrate (fig 19:2; [para 0113]); and a resin sealing portion (fig 19:11; [para 0120]) that provides sealing around the cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0116]); wherein the cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0116]) is integrally sealed for the wire (fig 19:8; [para 0120]) with the encapsulating resin (resin sealing portion, fig 19:11; [para 0120]), and the encapsulating resin (resin sealing portion, fig 19:11; [para 0120]) has a recessed portion (fig 19:41; [para 0142]) on an upper side of the encapsulating resin (resin sealing portion, fig 19:11; [para 0120]) in a range of a depth without reaching the wire (fig 19:8; [para 0120]), the upper side including a vicinity of the cover glass (fig 19:10; [para 0116]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda (US 2009/0166784) in view of Okamoto (US 2021/0028210).
Regarding claim 10.
Honda teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the recessed portion (fig 21:41; [para 0143]) provided on at least one of the four sides (fig 20) surrounding the cover glass (fig 21:10; [para 0113]).
Honda does not teach a highly thermal conductive member.
Okamoto teaches the solid-state imaging device (fig 1:1; [para 0081]), wherein the recessed portion (fig 1:GP; [para 0076]) provided on at least one of the four sides surrounding the cover glass (fig 1:41; [para 0074]) is provided with at least one of a highly thermal conductive (aluminum) member (fig 1:21; [para 0075]), a heat sink, and a Peltier element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a highly thermally conductive (aluminum) member for the its strong rigid support of the lens as well as dissipating any heat in the system that could distort the geometry of the components.
Conclusion
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 February 23, 2026