DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Previous action: claims 1 through 12 rejected
Present action: claims 1 through 6 and 8 through 12 rejected
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “the recessed portion is at least multiple places” in line 2. The phrase uses an incorrect verb structure and requires a preposition. The examiner suggests “portion is in at least multiple places”.
Claim 12 recites “a wire with one end that bonds connection” in line 13. The verb is incorrect, the examiner suggests “one end bonded to an electrode” or “one end forming a connection to an electrode”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Kim (US 2022/0085086)
Regarding claim 1
Kim teaches:
A solid-state imaging device (fig 4:10b; [para 0084]), comprising: a solid-state imaging element (fig 4:200; [para 0037]) that has a central portion which includes an active region (fig 3:PD; [para 0042]) that photoelectrically converts incident light, and a first circumferential edge portion around the central portion;
a substrate (fig 4:100; [para 0084]) that has a support (fig 4:220; [para 0052]) on a first side of the substrate (fig 4:100; [para 0084]) and an opening portion (fig 4:220a; [para 0053]) on an upper portion of the support (fig 4:220; [para 0052]), wherein the support (fig 4:220; [para 0052]) forms a surrounding space (fig 4)to store the solid-state imaging element (fig 4:200; [para 0037]), and the solid-state imaging element (fig 4:200; [para 0037]) is mounted in a mounting region (fig 4:210; [para 0031]) at a bottom of the surrounding space;
a cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]) with a second circumferential edge portion (fig 4) on an undersurface of the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]), wherein the second circumferential edge portion is bonded to the support (fig 4:220; [para 0052]) on the first side of the substrate (fig 4:100; [para 0084]);
and a resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]) that seals around the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]), wherein the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]) is integrally sealed by the resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]), the resin sealing portion has (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]), on an upper side (fig 4:310u,320u; [para 0070]) of the resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]), a recessed portion toward a bottom of the resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]), the upper side (fig 4:310u,320u; [para 0070]) includes a vicinity of the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]), the recessed portion extends to a depth that does not reach a wire (fig 4:204; [para 0032])embedded in the resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]), and the recessed portion is a groove having one of a substantially U-shape or a substantially V-shape in longitudinal section (fig 4).
Regarding claim 2.
Kim teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, further
Kim teaches:
wherein the wire (fig 4:204; [para 0032]) has one end that bonds connection to an electrode (fig 4:110; [para 0032]) provided on an outer periphery of a side of the substrate (fig 4:100; [para 0032]) to electrically connect the solid-state imaging element (fig 4:200; [para 0032]) and outside,
Regarding claim 3.
Kim teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, further
Kim teaches:
the recessed portion (annotated fig 4) is around a vicinity of a circumference of the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]) in the resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]).
Regarding claim 4.
Kim teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, further
Kim teaches:
the recessed portion (annotated fig 4) is on at least one of four sides that surrounds (fig 1,4; [para 0083])the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]).
Regarding claim 5.
Kim teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 4, further
Kim teaches:
the recessed portion formed on the at least one of four sides has a shape that corresponds to a ribbon or a circle in at least one place (fig 1,4).
Regarding claim 6.
Kim teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, further
Kim teaches:
the recessed portion is over an entire area (annotated fig 4) other than a contact portion of the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]) from the vicinity of the cover glass to an outer periphery of the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]).
Regarding claim 12.
Kim teaches:
An electronic device, comprising: a solid-state imaging device (fig 4:10b; [para 0084]) including: a solid-state imaging element (fig 4:200; [para 0037]) that has a central portion which includes an active region (fig 3:PD; [para 0042]) that photoelectrically converts incident light, and a first circumferential edge portion around the central portion;
a substrate (fig 4:100; [para 0084]) that has a support (fig 4:220; [para 0052]) on a first side of the substrate (fig 4:100; [para 0084]) and an opening portion on an upper portion of the support (fig 4:220; [para 0052]), wherein the support (fig 4:220; [para 0052]) forms a surrounding space to store (fig 4)the solid-state imaging element (fig 4:200; [para 0037]), and the solid-state imaging element (fig 4:200; [para 0037]) is mounted in a mounting region (fig 4:210; [para 0031]) at a bottom of the surrounding space;
a wire (fig 4:204; [para 0032]) with one end that bonds connection to an electrode (fig 4:110; [para 0024])provided on an outer periphery of a side of the substrate (fig 4:100; [para 0084]) to electrically connect the solid-state imaging element (fig 4:200; [para 0037]) and outside;
a cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]) having an outside shape that corresponds to one of a rectangle, a square (fig 1), and a circle with a second circumferential edge portion on an undersurface of the cover glass (fig 1,4:230; [para 0050]), wherein the second circumferential edge portion is bonded to the first side of the substrate (fig 4:100; [para 0084]);
and a resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]) that seals around the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]); wherein the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]) is integrally sealed to the wire (fig 4:204; [para 0032]) with the resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]), the resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]) has a recessed portion on an upper side (fig 4:310u,320u; [para 0070]) of the resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]), the upper side (fig 4:310u,320u; [para 0070]) including a vicinity of the cover glass (fig 4:230; [para 0050]), the recessed portion extends to a depth that does not reach the wire (fig 4:204; [para 0032])embedded in the resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]), and the recessed portion is a groove having one of a substantially U-shape (fig 4) or a substantially V-shape in longitudinal section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized and struck through claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0085086) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Honda (US 20090166784)
Regarding claim 8.
Kim teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, above.
Kim does not teach a lens holder.
Honda teaches:
the recessed portion (fig 19,20:41; [para 0138]) is around four sides that surrounds the cover glass (fig 20:10; [para 00113]), and a lens holder (fig 21:21; [para 0128]), that bears and supports a lens (fig 21:22; [para 0128]), is fixed on an upper portion of the recessed portion (fig 21:41; [para 0138]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to comprise a lens holder in order that the lens can focus light onto the image sensor.
Regarding claim 9.
Kim teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, above.
Kim does not teach a lens holder.
Honda teaches:
the recessed portion (fig 19,20:41; [para 0138]) is formed in at least multiple places (fig 20), the recessed portion (fig 19,20:41; [para 0138]) in at least one of the multiple places is continuously formed around four sides surrounding that surrounds the cover glass (fig 20:10; [para 00113]), and a lens holder (fig 21:21; [para 0128]), that bears and supports a lens (fig 21:22; [para 0128]), is fixed on an upper portion of the recessed portion continuously formed around the four sides (fig 20,21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to comprise a lens holder in order that the lens can focus light onto the image sensor.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0085086) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Okamoto (US 2021/0028210).
Regarding claim 10.
Kim teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, above.
Kim does not teach a thermal conductor.
Okamoto teaches:
the recessed portion on at least one of four sides (fig 20) surrounding the cover glass (fig 1,20:41; [para 0074]) has at least one of a highly thermal conductive member (fig 1:20; [para 0075]), a heat sink, or a Peltier element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to comprise a lens holder made of a thermally conductive member in order to hold a lens in order to focus light on the image sensor
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0085086) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Chen (US 2019/0057952).
Regarding claim 11.
Kim teaches the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, further
Kim teaches:
the resin sealing portion (fig 4:310,320; [para 0060,0072]) includes a first encapsulating resin (fig 4:310; [para 0060]) and a second encapsulating resin (fig 4:320; [para 0072]) of a different kind ([para 0063]) from the first encapsulating resin (fig 4:310; [para 0060]), th, and the recessed portion has the depth that reaches the first encapsulating resin .
Kim does not teach that the second encapsulating resin is over the first encapsulating resin.
Chen teaches
the sealing portion (fig 10:8; [para 0074]) includes a first encapsulating material (fig 10:82; [para 0074]) and a second encapsulating material (fig 10:83; [para 0074]), the second encapsulating material (fig 10:83; [para 0074])covers the first encapsulating material (fig 10:82; [para 0074]), and the recessed portion has the depth (fig 10:d; [para 0074]) that reaches the first encapsulating material (fig 10:82; [para 0074]) under the second encapsulating material (fig 10:83; [para 0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first encapsulating resin to be covered by a second encapsulating resin in order to increase the structural strength and stability of the package (paragraph 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly applied reference Kim (US 2022/0085086) anticipates the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /NICHOLAS J TOBERGTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817