DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 through 10, 13, 15 through 21, and 24 in the reply filed on 4/27/26 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/28/24 and 6/5/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the light-converging layer" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner will assume the applicant intended “the light-condensing layer”.
Claims 3, 17, and 20 depend from and incorporate claim 2.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7
Claim 24
The display panel according to claim 5, wherein the electrode layer is a mesh structure having a plurality of mesh holes, each of the mesh holes is surrounded by a plurality of electrode wires, and adjacent mesh holes share at least one of the electrode wires, and one of the light-filtering parts is provided to correspond to one of the mesh holes in the direction perpendicular to the driving backplane, and a width of the electrode wire is not less than a distance between two adjacent light-filtering parts.
The display panel according to claim 7, wherein the electrode layer is a mesh structure having a plurality of mesh holes, each of the mesh holes is surrounded by a plurality of electrode wires, and adjacent mesh holes share at least one of the electrode wires, and one of the light-filtering parts is provided to correspond to one of the mesh holes in the direction perpendicular to the driving backplane, and a width of the electrode wire is not less than a distance between two adjacent light-filtering parts.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15, 16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee (US 2020/0119113)
Regarding claim 1.
Lee teaches:
A display panel, comprising: a driving backplane (fig 6:101; [para 0083,0084]);
a light-emitting layer (fig 6:312; [para 0101]), provided on a side of the driving backplane (fig 6:101; [para 0083,0084]) and comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements (fig 5:PXA_R,G,B; [para 0073]);
a light-condensing layer (fig 6:511; [para 0116]), provided on a side of the light-emitting layer (fig 6:312; [para 0101]) away from the driving backplane (fig 6:101; [para 0083,0084]) and having a plurality of micro-lenses (fig 6:RA; [para 0118]), one of the light-emitting elements (fig 5:PXA_R; [para 0073]) being provided to correspond to at least one of the micro-lenses (fig 6:RA; [para 0118]) in a direction perpendicular to the driving backplane (fig 6:101; [para 0083,0084]);
and a light-filtering layer (fig 6:CF; [para 0146]), covering the light-condensing layer (fig 6:511; [para 0116]) and comprising a plurality of light-filtering parts (fig 6:CF_R,G,B; [para 0146]), one of the light-filtering parts (fig 6:CF_R; [para 0146]) being provided to correspond to one of the light-emitting elements (fig 5:PXA_R; [para 0073]) in the direction perpendicular to the driving backplane (fig 6:101; [para 0083,0084]), and the light-filtering part (fig 6:CF_R; [para 0146]) covering at least one of the micro-lenses (fig 6:RA; [para 0118]), wherein a refractive index of each of the light-filtering parts (fig 6:CF_R,G,B; [para 0146]) is greater than a refractive index of the light-condensing layer (fig 6:511; [para 0116]), and the micro-lens (fig 7:RA; [para 0118]) is configured to converge at least a portion of light (fig 7:light; [para 0124]) emitted by a corresponding light-emitting element (fig 5:PXA_R; [para 0073]).
Regarding claim 15.
Lee teaches the display panel according to claim 1, further
Lee teaches:
the light-emitting layer (fig 6:312; [para 0101]) comprises a plurality of light-emitting units distributed in an array (fig 5,6), each of the light-emitting units (fig 5:PXA_R,G,B; [para 0073]) comprises at least two light-emitting elements (fig 5:PXA_R,G,B; [para 0073]) having different light-emitting colors (fig 5,6:R,G,B; [para 0074]), and a color of any one of the filtering parts (fig 6:CF_R,G,B; [para 0146]) is the same as the light-emitting color of a corresponding light-emitting element (fig 5,6:PXA_R,G,B; [para 0073]).
Regarding claim 16.
Lee teaches the display panel according to claim 1, further
Lee teaches:
the light-condensing layer (fig 6:511; [para 0116]) has a plurality of the micro-lenses (fig 6:RA; [para 0118]) within a range of the light-condensing layer (fig 6:511; [para 0116]) covered by one of the light-filtering parts (fig 6:CF_R,G,B; [para 0146]).
Regarding claim 21.
Lee teaches the display panel according to claim 1, further
Lee teaches:
the light-condensing layer (fig 6:511; [para 0116]) has a thickness of not less than 0.5 μm and not greater than 5.0 μm (; [para 0117]).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lim (US 2014/0027725).
Regarding claim 1.
Lim teaches:
A display panel, comprising:
a driving backplane (fig 7:310; [para 0097]);
a light-emitting layer (fig 7:340R,B,G; [para 0097]), provided on a side of the driving backplane (fig 7:310; [para 0097]) and comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements;
a light-condensing layer (fig 7:372; [para 0097]), provided on a side of the light-emitting layer (fig 7:340R,B,G; [para 0097]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:310; [para 0097]) and having a plurality of micro-lenses (fig 7; [para 0099]), one of the light-emitting elements being provided to correspond to at least one of the micro-lenses in a direction perpendicular to the driving backplane (fig 7:310; [para 0097]);
and a light-filtering layer (fig 7:373R,B,G; [para 0097]), covering the light-condensing layer (fig 7:372; [para 0097]) and comprising a plurality of light-filtering parts (fig 7:373r,g,b; [para 0097]), one of the light-filtering parts (fig 7:373R; [para 0097]) being provided to correspond to one of the light-emitting elements (fig 7:340R; [para 0097]) in the direction perpendicular to the driving backplane (fig 7:310; [para 0097]), and the light-filtering part (fig 7:373R; [para 0097]) covering at least one of the micro-lenses, wherein a refractive index of each of the light-filtering parts (fig 7:373R; [para 0102]) is greater than a refractive index of the light-condensing layer (fig 7:372; [para 0102]), and the micro-lens is configured to converge at least a portion of light emitted by a corresponding light-emitting element (fig 7).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by
Jang (US 2019/0221779).
Regarding claim 1.
Jang teaches:
A display panel, comprising:
a driving backplane (fig 7:130,110; [para 0057]);
a light-emitting layer (fig 7:212; [para 0070]), provided on a side of the driving backplane (fig 7:130,110; [para 0057]) and comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements (fig 7:210; [para 0070]);
a light-condensing layer (fig 7:OL1,OL2; [para 0109]), provided on a side of the light-emitting layer (fig 7:212; [para 0070]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:130,110; [para 0057]) and having a plurality of micro-lenses (fig 7:LOP; [para 0109]), one of the light-emitting elements (fig 7:210; [para 0070]) being provided to correspond to at least one of the micro-lenses (fig 7:LOP; [para 0109]) in a direction perpendicular to the driving backplane (fig 7:130,110; [para 0057]);
and a light-filtering layer (fig 7:520; [para 0117]), covering the light-condensing layer (fig 7:OL1,OL2; [para 0109]) and comprising a plurality of light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0117]), one of the light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0117]) being provided to correspond to one of the light-emitting elements (fig 7:210; [para 0070]) in the direction perpendicular to the driving backplane (fig 7:130,110; [para 0057]), and the light-filtering part (fig 7:520; [para 0117]) covering at least one of the micro-lenses (fig 7:LOP; [para 0109]), wherein a refractive index of each of the light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0110]) is greater than a refractive index of the light-condensing layer (fig 7:OL1,OL2; [para 0110]), and the micro-lens (fig 7:LOP; [para 0109]) is configured to converge at least a portion of light emitted by a corresponding light-emitting element (fig 7:210; [para 0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized and struck through claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s) or interested by the examiner.
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 2014/0027725) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Cho (US 2022/0059805).
Regarding claim 2
Lim teaches the display panel according to claim 1, above.
Lim teaches:
; and a light-absorbing layer (fig 7:371; [para 0097]), provided on the driving backplane (fig 7:310; [para 0097]), wherein the light- [condensing] layer (fig 7:372; [para 0097]) covers the light-absorbing layer (fig 7:371; [para 0097]) , and an orthographic projection of the light-absorbing layer on the driving backplane (fig 7:371; [para 0097]) separates orthographic projections of the light-filtering parts (fig 7:373; [para 0097]) on the driving backplane (fig 7:371; [para 0097]).
Lim does not teach a touch layer.
Cho teaches:
a touch layer (fig 5-7:ctl,ctl1,403h,401,ctl2; [para 0094,0125,0126]), provided on the side of the light-emitting layer (fig 7:222b; [para 0117]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:210,100; [para 0098]);
and a light-absorbing layer (fig 7:LLBL; [para 0131]), provided on a surface of the touch layer (fig 7:ctl1,403h,401,ctl2; [para 0125,0126]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:210,100; [para 0098]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a touch layer in order for the display to be sensitive touch input (paragraph 72).
Regarding claim 3.
Lim in view of Cho teaches the display panel according to claim 2, further
Cho teaches:
the touch layer (fig 7:ctl,ctl1,403h,401,ctl2; [para 0125,0126]) comprises: a connection layer, comprising a plurality of connection units (fig 5:CP1,CP2; [para 0091]); an isolation layer (fig 7:403; [para 0125]), covering the connection layer (fig 5:CP1,CP2; [para 0091]);
and an electrode layer (fig 7:CTL2; [para 0125]), provided on a surface of the isolation layer (fig 7:403; [para 0125]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:210,100; [para 0099]), and comprising a plurality of first touch electrodes (fig 7:CTL2; [para 0125]) extending in a row direction (fig 5:X; [para 0090]) and spaced apart in a column direction (fig 5:Y; [para 0090]), and a plurality of electrode unit groups (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) extending in the column direction (fig 5:Y; [para 0090]) and distributed in the row direction (fig 5:X; [para 0090]), wherein each of the electrode unit groups (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) comprises a plurality of electrode units (; [para 0090]) distributed in the column direction (fig 5:Y; [para 0090]), two adjacent electrode units (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) in the same electrode unit group are connected by one of the connection units (fig 5:CP2; [para 0091]), and the same electrode unit group and the connection units connected to the same electrode unit group form a second touch electrode, and wherein the light-absorbing layer (fig 7:LLBL; [para 0123]) covers at least a portion (fig 7:CTL2; [para 0125]) of the electrode layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a touch layer, comprising the components of a touch layer in order for the display to be sensitive touch input (paragraph 72).
Regarding claim 17.
Lim in view of Cho teaches the display panel according to claim 3, further
Cho teaches:
an encapsulation layer (fig 7:320; [para 0121]), covering the light-emitting layer (fig 7:222b; [para 0118]), wherein the connection layer (fig 5:CP1,CP2; [para 0091]) is provided on a side of the encapsulation layer (fig 7:320; [para 0121]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:210,100; [para 0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an encapsulation layer on the light emitting layer in order to provide protection and a flat surface for subsequent processing.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 2014/0027725) in view of Cho (US 2022/0059805) as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Li (US 2017/0242286).
Regarding claim 20.
Lim in view of Cho teaches the display panel according to claim 2, above.
Lim in view of Cho does not teach the thickness of the light absorbing layer.
Li teaches:
the light-absorbing layer (fig 4:92; [para 0045]) has a thickness of not less than 0.5 μm and not greater than 2.0 μm (; [para 0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a light absorbing layer o 0.5 to 2.0 um in order to provide sufficient light blocking ability without excessively increasing the thickness of the structure.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Jang (US 2019/0221779) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Cho (US 2022/0059805) in view of Ikeda (US 2022/0013063).
Regarding claim 4.
Jang teaches he display panel according to claim 1, further
Jang teaches:
, the light-condensing layer (fig 7:OL1,OL2; [para 0109]) ;
an electrode layer (fig 7:TE2; [para 0109]), provided on a surface (fig 7:OL1; [para 0109]) of the light-condensing layer (fig 7:OL1.OL2; [para 0109]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:110,130; [para 0057]), and comprising a plurality of first touch electrodes (fig 7:TE2; [para 0109]) extending in a row direction (fig 4b,7; [para 0096]) and spaced apart in a column direction (fig 4b,7; [para 0096]), ;
and a light-absorbing layer (fig 7:510; [para 0109]), covering at least a portion of the electrode layer (fig 7:TE2; [para 0109]) and separating the light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0110]).
Jang does not teach the connection layer.
Cho teaches:
a connection layer, comprising a plurality of connection units (fig 5:CP1,CP2; [para 0091]), the layer (fig 7:405; [para 0137]) covering the connection layer (fig CP1,CP2; [para 0091]);
an electrode layer (fig 7:CTL2; [para 0125]), provided on a surface of the layer (fig 7:403; [para 0125]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:100,210; [para 0098]), and comprising a plurality of first touch electrodes extending in a row direction (fig 5:x; [para 0090]) and spaced apart in a column direction (fig 5:y; [para 0090]), and a plurality of electrode unit groups extending in the column direction (fig 5:y; [para 0090]) and distributed in the row direction (fig 5:x; [para 0090]), wherein each of the electrode unit groups comprises a plurality of electrode units (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) distributed in the column direction (fig 5:y; [para 0090]), two adjacent electrode units (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) in the same electrode unit group are connected by one of the connection units (fig 5:CP2; [para 0091]), and the same electrode unit group and the connection units (fig 5:CP2; [para 0091]) connected to the same electrode unit group form a second touch electrode (fig 5);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective ling date of the claimed invention to provide a connection layer connecting the electrodes of adjacent units so that rows and columns of individual units can be joined and thereby fill the whole display area.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2019/0221779) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Lim (US 2014/0027725).
Regarding claim 2.
Jang teaches the display panel according to claim 1, above
Jang teaches:
comprising: a touch layer (fig 7:te1,te2; [para 0106]), provided on the side of the light-emitting layer (fig 7:212; [para 0070]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:130,110; [para 0057]);
and a light-absorbing layer (fig 7:510; [para 0109]), provided on a surface of the touch layer (fig 7:te1,te2; [para 0106]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:130,110; [para 0057]), wherein the light- [condensing] layer (fig 7:OL1,OL2; [para 0109]) covers the touch layer (fig 7:te1,te2; [para 0106]), and an orthographic projection of the light-absorbing layer (fig 7:510; [para 0109]) on the driving backplane (fig 7:130,110; [para 0057]) separates orthographic projections of the light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0117]) on the driving backplane (fig 7:130,110; [para 0057]).
Jang does not teach the light condensing layer covers the light absorbing layer.
Lim teaches:
the light- [condensing] layer (fig 2:272; [para 0068]) covers the light-absorbing layer (fig 2:271; [para 0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cover the light absorbing layer with the light condensing layer in order to enable the light condensing layer to be formed using a photoresist method (paragraph 69) without the light absorbing material blocking portions of the irradiation process.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2020/0119113) as applied to claim 1 and further in view Kim (US 2019/0371866).
Regarding claim 13.
Lee teaches the display panel according to claim 1, above
Lee does not teach the color filter comprises particles
Kim teaches:
the light-filtering part (fig 14:130r; [para 0107]) comprises a base material (fig 14; [para 0107]) and scattering particles (fig 14:3r; [para 0107]) dispersed in the base material (fig 14; [para 0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the color filter to comprise particles in order to convert absorbed frequencies to the desired frequencies (paragraph 106).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2020/0119113) as applied to claim 1 and further in view Hsiung (US 2003/0020083).
Regarding claim 19.
Lee teaches the display panel according to claim 1, above
Lee does not teach the color filter thickness.
Hsiung teaches:
the light-filtering layer (fig 2:20a; [para 0037]) has a thickness of not less than 1.0 μm and not greater than 6.0 μm (; [para 0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the color filter 1 to 6 microns thick to ensure that there is sufficient material to remove unwanted light wavelengths.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 18, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Jang (US 2019/0221779) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Cho (US 2022/0059805) in view of Ikeda (US 2022/0013063).
Regarding claim 5.
Jang teaches the display panel according to claim 1, further
Jang teaches:
,
and wherein the light-condensing layer (fig 7:OL1,OL2; [para 0109]) covers the electrode layer (fig 7;TE2; [para 0109]), an orthographic projection of the electrode layer (fig 7;TE2; [para 0109]) on the driving backplane (fig 7:110,130; [para 0057]) separates orthographic projections of the light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0110]) on the driving backplane (fig 7:110,130; [para 0057]), and the electrode layer (fig 7;TE2; [para 0109]) is a conductive structure .
Jang does not teach the connection layer.
Cho teaches:
a connection layer, comprising a plurality of connection units (fig 5:CP1,CP2; [para 0091]);
an isolation layer (fig 7:403; [para 0125]), covering the connection layer (fig 5:CP1,CP2; [para 0091]);
and an electrode layer (fig 7:CTL2; [para 0125]), provided on a surface of the isolation layer (fig 7:403; [para 0125]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:210,100; [para 0098]), and comprising a plurality of first touch electrodes (fig 5) extending in a row direction (fig 5:X; [para 0090]) and spaced apart in a column direction (fig 5:Y; [para 0090]), and a plurality of electrode unit groups (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) extending in the column direction (fig 5:Y; [para 0090]) and distributed in the row direction (fig 5:X; [para 0090]), wherein each of the electrode unit groups comprises a plurality of electrode units distributed in the column direction (fig 5:Y; [para 0090]), two adjacent electrode units (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) in the same electrode unit group are connected by one of the connection units (fig 5:cp2; [para 0091]), and the same electrode unit group (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) and the connection units (fig 5:cp2; [para 0091]) connected to the same electrode unit group form a second touch electrode (fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective ling date of the claimed invention to provide a connection layer connecting the electrodes of adjacent units so that rows and columns of individual units can be joined and thereby fill the whole display area.
Jang does not teach the electrode material is light absorbing.
Ikeda teaches:
A display (fig 1:1; [para 0026])
the electrode layer (fig 15:141,142,143; [para 0135]) is a light-absorbing conductive structure (fig 1:141; [para 0135]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the conductive electrode from a light absorbing material in order to reduce glossiness and reflections thereby improving contrast without reducing the electric conductivity of the structure (paragraph 135).
Regarding claim 7.
Jang in view of Cho in view of Ikeda teaches the display panel according to claim 5,
Jang teaches:
the electrode layer (fig 7:TE2; [para 0109]) is a mesh structure having a plurality of mesh holes (fig 4b,7; [para 0103]), each of the mesh holes is surrounded by a plurality of electrode wires (fig 5,7:TE2; [para 0109]), and adjacent mesh holes share at least one of the electrode wires (fig 5,7:TE2; [para 0109]), and one of the light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0117]) is provided to correspond to one of the mesh holes (fig 5,7:PX; [para 0109]) in the direction perpendicular to the driving backplane (fig 7:110,130; [para 0057]), and a width of the electrode wire is not less than a distance between two adjacent light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0117]).
Regarding claim 8.
Jang in view of Cho in view of Ikeda teaches the display panel according to claim 5,
Ikeda teaches:
the electrode layer (fig 15:141,142,143; [para 0135]) comprises a first conductive layer (fig 15:143; [para 0135]), a second conductive layer (fig 15:142; [para 0135]) and a light-absorbing material layer (fig 15:141; [para 0135]), and wherein the second conductive layer (fig 15:142; [para 0135]) covers a surface of the first conductive layer (fig 15:143; [para 0135]) away from the driving backplane (fig 15:3; [para 0033]), and at least a portion of the light-absorbing material layer (fig 15:141; [para 0135]) covers a surface of the second conductive layer (fig 15:142; [para 0135]) away from the driving backplane (fig 15:3; [para 0033]).
Regarding claim 9.
Jang in view of Cho in view of Ikeda teaches the display panel according to claim 8.
Ikeda teaches:
the light-absorbing material layer (fig 15:141; [para 0135]) covers sidewalls of the first conductive layer (fig 15:143; [para 0135]) and the second conductive layer (fig 15:142; [para 0135]).
Regarding claim 10
Jang in view of Cho in view of Ikeda teaches the display panel according to claim 8.
Ikeda teaches:
a material of at least one of the light-absorbing material layer (fig 15:141; [para 0135]) and the first conductive layer (fig 15:143; [para 0135]) is a light-absorbing conductive material (; [para 0135]).
Regarding claim 18.
Jang in view of Cho in view of Ikeda teaches the display panel according to claim 8.
Jang in view of Cho in view of Ikeda does not teach the electrode layer has a thickness of not less than 0.1 μm and not greater than 0.6 μm.
Given the teaching of the references, it would have been obvious to determine the optimum thickness of the layers involved. See In re Aller, Lacey and Hall (10 USPQ 233-237) It is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575,1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 24.
Jang in view of Cho in view of Ikeda teaches the display panel according to claim 7,
Jang teaches:
the electrode layer (fig 7:TE2; [para 0109]) is a mesh structure having a plurality of mesh holes (fig 4b,7; [para 0103]), each of the mesh holes is surrounded by a plurality of electrode wires (fig 5,7:TE2; [para 0109]), and adjacent mesh holes share at least one of the electrode wires (fig 5,7:TE2; [para 0109]), and one of the light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0117]) is provided to correspond to one of the mesh holes (fig 5,7:PX; [para 0109]) in the direction perpendicular to the driving backplane (fig 7:110,130; [para 0057]), and a width of the electrode wire is not less than a distance between two adjacent light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0117]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Jang (US 2019/0221779) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Cho (US 2022/0059805) in view of Ikeda (US 2022/0013063).
Regarding claim 6.
Jang teaches the display panel according to claim 1, further
Jang teaches:
, the light-condensing layer (fig 7:OL1,OL2; [para 0109]) ;
and an electrode layer (fig 7:TE2; [para 0109]), provided on a surface of the light-condensing layer (fig 7:OL1,OL2; [para 0109]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:110,130; [para 0057]), , and wherein the electrode layer (fig 7:TE2; [para 0109]) separates the light-filtering parts (fig 7:520; [para 0110]), and the electrode layer (fig 7;TE2; [para 0109]) is aconductive structure.
Jang does not teach a connection layer.
Cho teaches:
a connection layer, comprising a plurality of connection units (fig 5:CP1,CP2; [para 0091]), the layer (fig 7:405; [para 0137]) covering the connection layer (fig 5:CP1,CP2; [para 0091]);
and an electrode layer (fig 7:CTL2; [para 0125]), provided on a surface of a layer (fig 7:403; [para 0125]) away from the driving backplane (fig 7:100,210; [para 0098]), and comprising a plurality of first touch electrodes (fig 5) extending in a row direction (fig 5:X; [para 0090]) and spaced apart in a column direction (fig 5:Y; [para 0090]), and a plurality of electrode unit groups (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) extending in the column direction (fig 5:Y; [para 0090]) and distributed in the row direction (fig 5:X; [para 0090]), wherein each of the electrode unit groups (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) comprises a plurality of electrode units (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) distributed in the column direction (fig 5:Y; [para 0090]), two adjacent electrode units (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) in the same electrode unit group (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) are connected by one of the connection units (fig 5:CP2; [para 0091]), and the same electrode unit group (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) and the connection units (fig 5:cp2; [para 0090]) connected to the same electrode unit group (fig 5:sp2; [para 0090]) form a second touch electrode (fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective ling date of the claimed invention to provide a connection layer connecting the electrodes of adjacent units so that rows and columns of individual units can be joined and thereby fill the whole display area.
Jang does not teach the electrode material is light absorbing.
Ikeda teaches:
A display (fig 1:1; [para 0026])
the electrode layer (fig 15:141,142,143; [para 0135]) is a light-absorbing conductive structure (fig 15:141; [para 0135]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the conductive electrode from a light absorbing material in order to reduce glossiness and reflections thereby improving contrast without reducing the conductivity of the layer (paragraph 135).
Conclusion
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817