Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Summary This is the initial Office action based on the 18565308 application filed 11/29/23 Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file The Amendment filed 11/29/23 has been entered and fully considered Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19 are pending, of which claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16 were amended; The amendments of claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16 are supported by the originally filed disclosure; The new claim(s) 17,18,19 is supported by the originally filed disclosure Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim(s) 1 has the phrase, “in particular sticky and dry paint and/or adhesive overspray, sanding dust, etc.,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, the phrases " in particular " renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention, See MPEP § 2173.05(d); and the phrase "etc." renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "etc."), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim(s) 1 has the phrase, “the plane,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element Claim(s) 3 has the phrase, “the installed state,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element Claim(s) 4 has the phrase, “the end face,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element Claim(s) 5 has the phrase, “the opposite spacer plate,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element Claim(s) 6 has the phrase, “an insert section,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element Claim(s) 6 has the phrase, “the housing wall,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element Claim(s) 9 has the phrase, “its inner side,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, the language is unclear what is “its”; and is unclear as to what “inner side” with respect too. Claim(s) 11 has the phrase, “an insert section,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element Claim(s) 11 has the phrase, “a plurality of spacer plates,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element Claim(s) 12 has the phrase, “the paper scrim,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element Claim(s) 13 has the phrase, “in particular, sticky and dry paint and/or adhesive overspray, sanding dust, etc.,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, the phrases " in particular " renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention, See MPEP § 2173.05(d); and the phrase "etc." renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "etc."), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim(s) 13 has the phrase, “the filter housing module,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language; Particularly, it is unclear if the phrase refers to something previously mentioned (albeit without proper antecedent basis), OR if this phrase is setting forth a new element Though one or more of the claim(s) are indefinite, for the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner has done his best to ascertain their meaning for the following 35 USC § 102 and/or 35 USC § 103 rejection(s) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 20170136483 (herein known as SLAMA) With regard to claim 1, SLAMA sufficiently teaches a filter module (implicitly for separating) with a filter setting in a filter housing in the form of an insert (13) formed from a plurality of sections (13-18) for receiving a filter medium (media), especially at abstract, fig 7 wherein pivotably configured spacer plates (620-624, 720-724) are integrated into the insert sections, which, in an outwardly pivoted position, are positioned at least approximately at right angles to the plane of the insert section, especially at figs 41-44, para 132 With regard to claim 2, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein the spacer plates can be adjusted between an inwardly pivoted position flush with the insert section and the outwardly pivoted position, especially at figs 41-44, para 132 With regard to claim 3, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein a detachable connection in the form of the spacer plates (620-624, 720-724) and accommodations for the spacer plates (as depicted) is provided between adjacent sections (13-18) of the insert in the installed state (as depicted), especially at figs 41-44, para 132 With regard to claim 4, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein the spacer plate comprises a tab (626,622t) on the end face, especially at figs 41-44, para 136 With regard to claim 5, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein the insert sections comprise slots (628,623s) which are correspondingly arranged and configured to the opposite spacer plate, especially at figs 41-44, para 141 With regard to claim 6, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein two spacer plates (622, 623) arranged next to each other are provided between an insert section (adjacent 622, adjacent 623) and the housing wall (peripheral) of the filter housing (50), especially at abstract, figs 4,7, 41-44, para 94,138 With regard to claim 7, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein spacer plates arranged next to each other are keyed together (in that a tab of a spacer plate fits the slot of next), especially at abstract, figs 4,7, 41-44, para 94,138 With regard to claim 8, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein insert and spacer plates are manufactured in one piece (as depicted), especially at abstract, figs 4,7, 41-44, para 94,138 With regard to claim 9, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein the spacer plate tapers towards its inner side (as depicted), especially at abstract, figs 4,7, 41-44, para 94,138 With regard to claim 10, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein a non-woven serves 130 as a seal between the filter module and the filter housing, especially at figs 17-19, para 106 With regard to claim 11, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein an insert section is equipped with a plurality of spacer plates (620-624, 720-724) of different positionings (as depicted), especially at figs 41-44, para 132 With regard to claim 12, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein the paper scrim serving as filter medium comprises single layered webs, especially at para 14 With regard to claim 13, SLAMA sufficiently teaches a method for installation of a filter module (implicitly for separating) with a filter setting in a filter housing in the form of an insert formed from a plurality of sections for accommodation of a slit paper scrim serving as filter medium, especially at abstract, para 14, fig 7 wherein the paper scrims are unfolded or expanded (stretched) in the longitudinal direction before installation in the filter housing module (optionally, as depicted), especially at abstract, para 14, figs 28-30 With regard to claim 16, SLAMA sufficiently teaches , especially at see discussion of claim 13 With regard to claim 17, SLAMA sufficiently teaches , especially at see discussion of claim 14 With regard to claim 18, SLAMA sufficiently teaches , especially at see discussion of claim 15 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 20170136483 (herein known as SLAMA) . With regard to claim 14, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein the paper scrims are unfolded or expanded (i.e. stretched) by within the claimed range in the longitudinal direction, especially at abstract, para 14,118, figs 28-30; in an alternative, assuming that it is determined that SLAMA does not specifically teach wherein the paper scrims are stretched by around 25% to 125% in the longitudinal direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA) to provide of SLAMA with wherein the paper scrims are unfolded or expanded (i.e. stretched) by within the claimed range in the longitudinal direction of SLAMA since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 PART II-A) With regard to claim 15, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein the paper scrims are relaxed (i.e. stress-relieved) after stretching, especially at figs 41-44, para 118,119 wherein the paper scrim sits in a fixed manner in the transverse direction in the filter housing, creating a pleating (clutching effect), especially at figs 41-44, para 118,119 ; in an alternative, assuming that it is determined that SLAMA does not specifically teach wherein the paper scrims are stress-relieved after stretching It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA) to provide SLAMA with wherein the paper scrims are relaxed (i.e. stress-relieved) after stretching of SLAMA since it has been held that a selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04 IV-C) Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 20170136483 (herein known as SLAMA) With regard to claim 19, SLAMA sufficiently teaches wherein the paper scrims are unfolded or expanded (i.e. stretched), especially at abstract, para 14,118, figs 28-30 SLAMA does not specifically teach wherein the paper scrims are stretched by around 80% It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA) to provide the paper scrims are stretched of SLAMA with wherein the paper scrims are stretched within the claimed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 PART II-A) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ANTHONY R SHUMATE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5546 . The examiner can normally be reached on FILLIN "Work schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M,T,Th,F . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Dieterle can be reached on (571)270-7872. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANTHONY SHUMATE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776