DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the examiner suggests combining the first two sentences in to one, e.g., to read, “A display device including a supporting frame body provided with a first accommodating cavity”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. For example, a more descriptive title could be, “DISPLAY DEVICE WITH SUPPORTING FRAME HAVING ACCOMMODATING CAVITY”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 10, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN-6202121351367-U; and reference will be made to the English translation attached to this Office action).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 14 and 17:
re claim 1, Wang discloses a display device, comprising:
a supporting frame body 1 (Figs. 1-2 and pp. 3, last paragraph of the English translation), provided with a first accommodating cavity 101 (Figs. 1, 4 and pp. 3 last paragraph, wherein upper box 101 defines a cavity);
a display assembly 5/6/7/9/10 (Fig. 1 and pp. 3, second to last paragraph), comprising a first display part 7/9 and a second display part 5/6/10, wherein an a side of the first display part 7/9 is rotationally connected (pp. 3, line 1) to the supporting frame body 1, and another side is connected to the second display part 10;
wherein the display device switches between a first state (closed) and a second state (open), in the first state, the second display part 5/6/10 bends at one side of the first display part 7/9 to be accommodated in the first accommodating cavity with the first display part 7/9 (i.e., when the first and second display parts are stored inside the body 1, the second display part, e.g., portion 10, bends at one side of the first display part, e.g., portion 9, see Fig. 3);
in the second state, the first display part 7/9 and the second display part 5/6/10 rotate relative to the supporting frame body 1 to be outside the first accommodating cavity 101 (Figs. 1-2), and an included angle between the second display part (e.g., portion 10) and the first display part (e.g., portion 9) ranges from 0° to 180° (e.g., see Figs. 1, 2 and 9);
re claim 2, the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first display part 7/9 comprises a first supporting plate 7 rotationally connected to the supporting frame body 1 and a first display screen body 9 connected to the first supporting plate 7, and the second display part 5/6/10 comprises a second supporting plate 5 (Figs. 1-2) connected to the first supporting plate 7 and a second display screen body 10 connected to the second supporting plate 5;
re claim 5, the display device according to claim 2, wherein the supporting frame body 1
is provided with an opening (Fig. 1) communicating with the first accommodating cavity 101 (Fig. 1); in the first state, the second display part 5/6/10 (Fig. 1) is located on a side of the first display part 7/9 away from the opening, the first display screen body 9 is located at a side of the first supporting plate 7 away from the second display part 5/6/10 and located at the opening, and the second display screen body 10 is located on a side of the second supporting plate 5 away from the first display part 7/9 (it is noted, “a side” could be essentially any portion of any of elements 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10 in Fig. 1; accordingly, the currently claimed relationships to “a side” are deemed to be disclosed by Wang because an appropriate “side” could be chosen/referenced for each of the limitations in the current claim);
re claim 10, the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a first rotating member, connected between the first display part 5/6/10 and the supporting frame body 1 (i.e., in the region “7” shown in Fig. 2, the display screens rotate up, out of the cavity in upper box 101); and a second rotating member, connected between the first display part and the second display
part (e.g., see shaft/hinges between “9” and “10” in Fig. 3);
re claim 14, Wang discloses a display device, comprising:
a supporting frame body 1 (Figs. 1-2 and pp. 3, last paragraph of the English translation), provided with a first accommodating cavity 101 (Figs. 1, 4 and pp. 3 last paragraph, wherein upper box 101 defines a cavity);
a display assembly 5/6/7/9/10 (Fig. 1 and pp. 3, second to last paragraph), comprising a first display part 7/9 and a second display part 5/6/10, wherein an a side of the first display part 7/9 is rotationally connected (pp. 3, line 1) to the supporting frame body 1, and another side is connected to the second display part 10;
wherein the display device switches between a first state (closed) and a second state (open), in the first state, the second display part 5/6/10 bends at one side of the first display part 7/9 to be accommodated in the first accommodating cavity with the first display part 7/9 (i.e., when the first and second display parts are stored inside the body 1, the second display part, e.g., portion 10, bends at one side of the first display part, e.g., portion 9, see Fig. 3);
in the second state, the first display part 7/9 and the second display part 5/6/10 rotate relative to the supporting frame body 1 to be outside the first accommodating cavity 101 (Figs. 1-2), and an included angle between the second display part (e.g., portion 10) and the first display part (e.g., portion 9) ranges from 0° to 180° (e.g., see Figs. 1, 2 and 9);
the first display part 7/9 comprises a first supporting plate 7 rotationally connected to the supporting frame body 1 and a first display screen body 9 connected to the first supporting plate 7, and the second display part 5/6/10 comprises a second supporting plate 5 (Figs. 1-2) connected to the first supporting plate 7 and a second display screen body 10 connected to the second supporting plate 5;
the display device further comprises a first rotating member connected between the first display part 5/6/10 and the supporting frame body 1 (i.e., in the region “7” shown in Fig. 2, the display screens rotate up, out of the cavity in upper box 101), and a second rotating member connected between the first display part and the second display part (e.g., see shaft/hinges between “9” and “10” in Fig. 3); and
re claim 17, the display device according to claim 14, wherein the supporting frame body 1 is provided with an opening (Fig. 1) communicating with the first accommodating cavity 101 (Fig. 1); in the first state, the second display part 5/6/10 (Fig. 1) is located on a side of the first display part 7/9 away from the opening, the first display screen body 9 is located at a side of the first supporting plate 7 away from the second display part 5/6/10 and located at the opening, and the second display screen body 10 is located on a side of the second supporting plate 5 away from the first display part 7/9 (it is noted, “a side” could be essentially any portion of any of elements 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10 in Fig. 1; accordingly, the currently claimed relationships to “a side” are deemed to be disclosed by Wang because an appropriate “side” could be chosen/referenced for each of the limitations in the current claim);
Therefore, Wang anticipates claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 14 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 11, 12, 13, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Liu et al. (CN-106601129-B; hereinafter, “Liu”, and reference will be made to the English translation attached to this Office action).
Regarding claims 3 and 15:
Wang anticipates claims 2, 14 and further discloses wherein side of the first supporting plate 7 (Fig. 1) is rotationally connected to the supporting frame body 1, and another end opposite to the end side of the first supporting plate 7 is rotationally connected to the second supporting plate 5; the first display screen body 9 is i.e., support plate 5 can be fixedly connected to the second screen body 10, in Fig. 1).
Wang does not disclose the first display screen body is slidably connected to the first supporting plate. However, Liu teaches a sliding type, flexible display device that allows a second display body 101 to slide relative to a first display body 102 (Figs. 2, 7-9 and pp. 4 of the English translation). Liu discloses such a slidable connection provides good support of the display screen (e.g., pp. 2 paragraph before “Description”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang by incorporating a slidable connection (instead of a rotating connection), as taught by Liu, because the modification would provide good support for the for an expanded display screen comprised of first and second display screen bodies.
Regarding claims 4 and 16:
Lui discloses a first display part 102/210/220 (Figs. 7-9) comprises an intermediate sliding member 210 slidably connected to a first supporting plate 220 and fixedly connected to the first display screen body 102; accordingly, when Wang is modified as taught by Lui, the current claim is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 11:
Wang anticipates claim 10 but does not disclose a rotating shaft. However, Lui discloses a rotating shaft 460 (Fig. 8) connected to a driving member 450 (Fig. 8), wherein the driving member provides a force necessary to slide/open the display screens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang by incorporating rotating shafts and driving members because Lui teaches a rotating shaft and member can effectively provide the forces needed to open and close display screens that are integrated with/into a supporting frame body, thus making it possible to open the display device with reduced manual effort, or without manual effort if so desired.
Regarding claim 12:
Wang anticipates claim 1 but does not disclose a third display part as currently claimed.
Liu teaches a sliding type, flexible display device that allows a second display body 101 to slide relative to a first display body 102 (Figs. 2, 7-9 and pp. 4 of the English translation). Liu discloses such a slidable connection provides good support of the display screen (e.g., pp. 2 paragraph before “Description”), and the slidable connection allows a larger display device that occupies essentially the same amount of space when stored away.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang by replacing display screen 10 with slidable display screens, as taught by Liu, because the modification would provide a significantly larger display comprising three display parts.
Furthermore, when Wang is modified by incorporating slidable screens, the slidable screens would replace Wang’s display screen 10; the fixed screen of the slidable screens would be the first display part according to the current claim; Wang’s display screen 9 would be a third display part according to the current claim, wherein the third display part rotationally connects to the first display part, and the third display part and the second display part (which would be the sliding display screen of the slidable display screens) are respectively connected to different sides of the first display part (which is the fixed screen of the slidable display screens); in the first state, the third display part bends (at element “6” in Fig. 1 of Wang) at one side of the first display part to be accommodated in the first accommodating cavity; in the second state, the third display part rotates relative to the supporting frame body to be outside the first accommodating cavity, and an included angle between the third display part and the first display part ranges from 0° to 180° (e.g., when all three display parts are fully extended in a manner shown in Fig. 1 of Wang, an included angle would be 180°).
Regarding claim 13:
Wang anticipates claim 1 but does not disclose a fourth display part as currently claimed.
Liu teaches a sliding type, flexible display device that allows a second display body 101 to slide relative to a first display body 102 (Figs. 2, 7-9 and pp. 4 of the English translation). Liu discloses such a slidable connection provides good support of the display screen (e.g., pp. 2 paragraph before “Description”), and the slidable connection allows a larger display device that occupies essentially the same amount of space when stored away.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang by replacing display screen 10 with slidable display screens, as taught by Liu, because the modification would provide a significantly larger display comprising three display parts.
Furthermore, when Wang is modified by incorporating slidable screens, the slidable screens would replace Wang’s display screen 10; the fixed screen of the slidable screens would be the second display part according to the current claim; Wang’s display screen 9 would be a fourth display part according to the current claim, wherein the fourth display part rotationally connects to the first display part (when slid closed with the second display part), and the fourth display part and the first display part (which would be the sliding display screen of the slidable display screens) are respectively connected to different sides of the second display part (which is the fixed screen of the slidable display screens); in the first state, the fourth display part bends (at element “6” in Fig. 1 of Wang) at one side of the first display part to be accommodated in the first accommodating cavity; in the second state, the fourth display part rotates relative to the supporting frame body to be outside the first accommodating cavity, and an included angle between the fourth display part and the second display part ranges from 0° to 180° (e.g., when all three display parts are fully extended in a manner shown in Fig. 1 of Wang, an included angle would be 180°).
Claim(s) 6, 8, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Yin (CN-218720005-UI, and reference will be made to the English translation attached to this Office action).
Regarding claims 6, 8, 18 and 20:
Wang anticipates claims 1, 2 and 20 but does not disclose a functional cover plate as currently claimed. However, Yin teaches a supporting frame body 1 (Fig. 2) comprising a functional cover plate 11, rotationally connected to the supporting frame body 1 and located at
a joint of a first supporting plate (portion of body 1 that is supporting the cover plate 11 in Fig. 2) and the supporting frame body 1; wherein the functional cover plate 11 is located on a side of the first supporting plate away from a bottom of a first accommodating cavity in a first state (i.e., the cover plate 11 is located at a top side of the frame body 1 in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang by incorporating a cover plate, as taught by Yin, because the modification would provide a cover that protects the display device during storage.
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (in view of Yin) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Liu.
Regarding claims 7 and 19:
Wang (in view of Yin) renders obvious a functional cover plate, and Wang further discloses the first display screen body 9 (Fig. 1) is connected to the second display screen body 10; in the second state (as shown in Fig. 1), when the included angle between the second display part and the first display part is greater than 0° (e.g., 180° in Fig. 1); however, Wang (in view of Yin) does not disclose the first display screen body slides relative to the first supporting plate and partially overlaps with the functional cover plate.
However, Liu teaches a sliding type, flexible display device that allows a second display body 101 to slide relative to a first display body 102 (Figs. 2, 7-9 and pp. 4 of the English translation). Liu discloses such a slidable connection provides good support of the display screen (e.g., pp. 2 paragraph before “Description”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang (in view of Yin) by incorporating a slidable connection (instead of a rotating connection as disclosed by Wang), as taught by Liu, because the modification would provide good support for the for an expanded display screen comprised of first and second display screen bodies. Furthermore, a partial overlap between the first display screen body and the functional cover plate is readily realized when closing the functional cover plate and sliding the display screen for storage.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Du et al. (CN-202880152-U; hereinafter, “Du”, and reference will be made to the English translation attached to this Office action).
Wang anticipates claim 1 and further discloses a second accommodating cavity 102 (Fig. 2 and pp. 3, second to last paragraph), located at a side of the first accommodating cavity 101 (Fig. 2). However, Wang does not disclose an audio assembly, disposed in the second accommodating cavity.
Du teaches (in Fig. 3 and [0015]) an audio device 2 incorporated on an opposing side of a display screen 3 that is integrated into a frame body1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang by incorporating an audio device in the second accommodating cavity because Du shows/teaches it was well known in the art to incorporate an audio device with a display device integrated with a supporting frame body, wherein an audio device would significantly enhance the display device’s functionality.
Conclusion
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892