DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 24th 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant has argued “First, Seo fails to disclose a decorative layer arranged on the curved first main surface, as claimed…. surface of Seo serves the technical function of achieving uniform light distribution, rather than serving any decorative function as required by the claimed decorative layer.” The examiner disagrees because the claim does not specify functionality of the so called “decorative layer”. The structure disclosed by the prior art allows the light having a uniform intensity to be emitted upwards, thus a concept of “decorative” was met.
The Applicant has argued “Licamele does not appear to make up for this deficiency in Seo”. The argument is ungermane because the Office Action did not cite Licamele for meeting this limitation.
The Applicant has argued “Seo describes the mounting plate functions as a heat sink for conducting the heat away from the light emitting devices (see Seo, col.10, lines 21-28) …. One of ordinary skill, therefore, would not have predictably replaced Seo's mounting plate, which is specifically designed to function as a heat sink, with Licamele's flexible substrate that lacks heat dissipating qualities.” The argument is not persuasive because the carrier substrate in Fig. 21, which was cited to meet the limitations of the claim, is not a heat sink. The mounting plate 600 in Fig. 25, col.10, lines 21-28, was not the structure which was cited in the rejection. The arguments based on embodiments or figures that were not cited in the rejection are ungermane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 21-22, 26, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,911,160) in view of Licamele et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0102076).
Regarding to claim 1, Seo teaches an optoelectronic lighting device comprising:
an at least partially transparent base body with a first main surface, in particular curved surface, and a second main surface opposite the first main surface, wherein the second main surface does at least partially not extend parallel to the first main surface (Fig. 21, element 460, column 9, lines 14-16);
a decorative layer arranged on the curved first mam surface, which substantially follows the curvature of the first main surface (Fig. 21, column 9, lines 14-16, the refraction layer on surface of base body 460); and
an optoelectronic foil arranged on the second main surface, which comprises:
a carrier substrate (Fig. 21, element 400, column 9, lines 24-25);
at least one electrical line and a plurality of optoelectronic semiconductor components arranged on the carrier substrate (Fig. 21, elements 421-427; column 9, lines 24-27); and
an at least partially transparent adhesive layer, which is arranged between the optoelectronic semiconductor components and the base body and which connects the optoelectronic foil to the second main surface (Fig. 21, element 450, column 9, line 18), wherein the optoelectronic semiconductor components are embedded in the adhesive layer (Fig. 21a).
Seo does not explicitly disclose the carrier substrate is a flexible carrier substrate.
Licamele discloses a carrier substrate is a flexible carrier substrate (Fig. 3, element 205, [0053], lines 6-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo in view of Licamele to configure the carrier substrate to be a flexible carrier substrate in order to allow the foil to maintain performance under dynamic conditions, thus to increase reliability.
Regarding to claim 2, Seo teaches a number of the plurality of optoelectronic semiconductor components are arranged in front of at least one transparent region of the base body as viewed in an emission direction of an optoelectronic semiconductor component (Fig. 21).
Regarding to claim 4, Seo teaches the decorative layer comprises at least partial regions which are transparent (Fig. 21, refractive coating layer is transparent).
Regarding to claim 7, Seo teaches a protective foil which covers a side of the optoelectronic foil opposite the base body (Fig. 21, the portion of encapsulant 450 on backside of the carrier substrate).
Regarding to claim 21, Seo teaches the decorative layer is formed by a light-absorbing material and comprises recesses (Fig. 21, every material absorbing light at some level).
Regarding to claim 22, Seo teaches the recesses of the decorative layer are filled with a transparent material; and/or wherein the recesses of the decorative layer are filled with a material which comprises light-scattering and/or light-converting particles; and/or wherein an optical element, in particular a lens, is arranged in at least one of the recesses; and/or wherein the decorative layer comprises a reflective layer which is formed adjacent to the base body (Fig. 21, the recesses of the decorative layer are filled with a transparent material, which is air).
Regarding to claim 26, Seo teaches a light guide is formed in at least one of the base body and the adhesive layer (Fig. 21, the base body comprise lenses, which guides light).
Regarding to claim 30, Seo teaches the optoelectronic foil is formed by at least two sub-foils, and a first sub-foil is arranged on a first partial region of the second main surface and a second sub-foil is arranged on a second partial region of the second main surface (Fig. 21).
Regarding to claim 31, Seo teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor components are arranged in a matrix of rows and columns and can be individually controlled (Fig. 29a).
Claims 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,911,160) and Licamele et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0102076), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Yu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,886,420).
Regarding to claim 5, Seo is silent as to material of the adhesive layer. Yu discloses an adhesive layer comprises at least one of the following materials: PVB; EVA; Thermoplastic polymers; Silicone; Acrylic; and an epoxy (column 30, lines 57-59). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Seo in view of Yu to comprise PVB, EVA, Thermoplastic polymers, Silicone, Acrylic, or an epoxy in the adhesive layer in order to reduce manufacturing cost.
Regarding to claim 6, Seo is silent as to material of the adhesive layer. Yu discloses an adhesive layer the adhesive layer is provided with light-absorbing particles (column 30, lines 65-66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Seo in view of Yu to provide the adhesive layer with light-absorbing particles in order to eliminate unwanted wavelengths of light.
Regarding to claim 8, Seo as modified does not disclose at least one of the base body, the decorative layer and the adhesive layer comprises light-scattering particles and/or light-converting particles. Yu discloses at least one of the base body, the decorative layer and the adhesive layer comprises light-scattering particles and/or light-converting particles (column 30, lines 65-66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Seo in view of Yu to comprise light-scattering particles and/or light-converting particles in the base body, the decorative layer, or the adhesive layer in order to eliminate unwanted wavelengths of light.
Claims 3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,911,160) and Licamele et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0102076), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Tarsa et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,804,147).
Regarding to claim 3, Seo as modified does not disclose the second main surface also comprises a curvature in at least one spatial direction, and wherein in particular the optoelectronic foil substantially follows the curvature of the second main surface. Tarsa discloses a second main surface also comprises a curvature in at least one spatial direction, and wherein in particular the optoelectronic foil substantially follows the curvature of the second main surface (Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo in view of Tarsa to comprise a curvature in at least one spatial direction in the second main surface and the optoelectronic foil substantially follows the curvature of the second main surface in order to increase directional flexibility.
Regarding to claim 10, Seo as modified does not disclose the adhesive layer comprises a layer sequence of a first sublayer and a functional sublayer. Tarsa discloses an adhesive layer comprises a layer sequence of a first sublayer and a functional sublayer (Fig. 10, stack 114/116). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo in view of Tarsa to comprise a layer sequence of a first sublayer and a functional sublayer in the adhesive layer in order to increase adhesion.
Regarding to claim 11, Tarsa teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor components are encapsulated in the functional sublayer, or wherein the functional sublayer is arranged adjacent to the base body, or wherein the adhesive layer comprises a second sublayer and the functional sublayer is arranged between the first and the second sublayer, and/or wherein the functional sublayer comprises at least a first subregion m which light converting and/or light-scattering particles are arranged, and/or wherein the functional sublayer comprises at least a second subregion in which light absorbing particles are arranged (Fig. 10).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,911,160) and Licamele et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0102076), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Pickard et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,587,790).
Regarding to claim 16, Seo as modified does not disclose a reflector layer, which is arranged on a side of the carrier substrate opposite the base body. Pickard discloses a reflector layer arranged on a side of the carrier substrate opposite the base body (Fig. 2, element 220, column 17, lines 64-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo in view of Pickard to arrange reflector layer on a side of the carrier substrate opposite the base body in order to increase output light intensity.
Regarding to claim 17, Pickard disclose the reflector layer is structured in such a way that it substantially only covers regions of the carrier substrate opposite the optoelectronic semiconductor components (Fig. 2).
Regarding to claim 18, Seo teaches the structured reflector layer comprises light-absorbing regions (the reflector layer is not 100% reflective thus comprises light-absorbing region).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter were provided in the previous Office Action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897