DETAILED ACTION
Amendment to the specification and claims was submitted with corrections on 08/25/2026, claim 4 is canceled, the 112(b) rejection to claims 1-8 is withdrawn, the objection to the abstract is withdrawn.
Claim Status
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are under consideration
Claim 4 is canceled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (WO2020032398A1, published 2020, references made to related US publication US20210333709A1).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5,
Lee teaches a liquid composition comprising of a ketone, an ester, an ether, an additive, or a mixture thereof, where organic solvents, such as ketones, esters, and ethers, may be mixed and used, and additionally, in order to improve the rate of dissolution of organic materials, a mixture thereof may be used [0041-0042]. Further, Lee teaches an example composition 11 in table 1 comprising of 95 parts of AA (acetyl acetone) and PGME (organic solvents) and 5 parts of OA (oxalic acid, AMW is about 11.26 per the instant specification) [0050], reading on instant claims 2-3.
Examiner notes that the latest amendment to independent claim 1 discloses that the organic solvent includes one of the instant Markush group, such as PGME, and does not exclude the inclusion of additional components to the organic solvent, such as AA.
Lee teaches forming an organic-inorganic hybrid photoresist film comprising of dibutyltin dilaurate (alkyl tin carboxyl group) [0052-0054], reading on instant claim 5.
Lee further teaches that in order to evaluate the edge-cutting performance of the organic-inorganic hybrid compound processing solvent prepared in each of Examples and Comparative Examples, evaluation was performed while applying the DTD solution prepared as described above on an 8-inch silicon wafer through spin coating. The performance of removal of beads was evaluated using an optical microscope [0054], reading on the instant removing edge beads from metal containing resists, reading on instant claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO2020032398A1, published 2020, references made to related US publication US20210333709A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Waller (US20180046086A1, published 2018).
Regarding claim 6,
Lee teaches the above limitations set forth.
Lee fails to teach including a compound aligning with instant chemical formula 1.
Waller, analogous art, teaches methods for removing edge bead on a wafer associated with a resist coating comprising a metal containing resist compositions, where organometallic tin-based resists (organic-inorganic hybrid photoresist) include compounds with formula RnSnX4-n where R may be a hydrocarbyl group with 1-20 carbon atoms and n may be 1, in which X is a ligand with a hydrolysable M-X bond. In general, suitable hydrolysable ligands (X in RSnX3) may include alkoxides RO− or carboxylates RCOO− [abstract, 0017], reading on instant claim 6.
As both Lee and Waller teach organometallic photoresist composition comprising of organo-tin compounds, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that using the RSnX3 compound of Waller in the organic-inorganic hybrid photoresist film of Lee would result in a comparable and expected photoresist film.
That is, the substitution of the RSnX3 compound of Waller for the organic-inorganic hybrid compound of Lee, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of forming a photoresist film. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO2020032398A1, published 2020, references made to related US publication US20210333709A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn (US20160202610A1, published 2016).
Regarding claims 7-8,
Lee teaches the above limitations set forth.
Lee teaches a rework process for removing the photoresist using the organic-inorganic hybrid photoresist where a process and a processing solution capable of completely removing the thin film (which the examiner interprets to include both patterned and un-patterned photoresist films) without the presence of inorganic particles are required [0031], where the best way to process a mixture of organic and inorganic materials is to have high solubility of the organic material and high chelating performance for the inorganic material [0033], such as their organic-inorganic hybrid photoresist processing solution [0040], reading on instant claim 8.
Lee teaches forming a pattern using the photoresist composition [0027], where a pattern may be formed in a photoresist through exposure to a light source and development [0002].
However, Lee fails to explicitly teach a post exposure bake step.
Ahn, analogous art, teaches a thinner composition for cleaning an edge portion of a substrate [abstract, fig 1], where a post exposure baking (PEB, heating and drying) process may be further performed after the exposure process, where the acid may be uniformly distributed in the exposed portion by the PEB process. Thus, a leaving group such as an acetal group or an ether group combined with the back-bone chain of the photoresist material may be deprotected or separated in the exposed portion [0108].
As both Ahn and Lee teach compositions for rinsing an edge portion of a substate coated with a photoresist film, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further perform a post exposure bake step as taught by Ahn in the method of Lee for the benefits disclosed by Ahn, reading on instant claim 7. Further, PEB processes would be well known and expected by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2026 regarding the claim amendments to overcome the 102 rejection to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The above rejections have been updated accordingly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735