DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-8 are under consideration
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is less than 50 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1,
The term “assuming” is unclear, particularly whether or not the types of atoms are then required to be the same.
Further, the term “type of atoms” is unclear, such as whether the term refers to atomic elements with shared attributes, elements with a similar placement on the periodic table, or that all elements in the compound must be the same element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (WO2020032398A1, published 2020, references made to related US publication US20210333709A1).
Regarding claims 1-6,
Lee teaches a liquid composition comprising of a ketone, an ester, an ether, an additive, or a mixture thereof, where organic solvents, such as ketones, esters, and ethers, may be mixed and used, and additionally, in order to improve the rate of dissolution of organic materials, a mixture thereof may be used [0041-0042]. Further, Lee teaches an example composition 3 in table 1 comprising of 95 parts of AA and PGMA (organic solvents) and 5 parts of OA (oxalic acid, AMW is about 11.26 per the instant specification) [0050], reading on instant claims 2-4.
Lee teaches forming an Organic-inorganic hybrid photoresist film comprising of dibutyltin dilaurate (aligning with the instant metal compound represented by instant chemical formula 1, alkyl tin carboxyl group) [0052-0054], reading on instant claims 5-6.
Lee further teaches that in order to evaluate the edge-cutting performance of the organic-inorganic hybrid compound processing solvent prepared in each of Examples and Comparative Examples, evaluation was performed while applying the DTD solution prepared as described above on an 8-inch silicon wafer through spin coating. The performance of removal of beads was evaluated using an optical microscope [0054], reading on the instant removing edge beads from metal containing resists, reading on instant claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO2020032398A1, published 2020, references made to related US publication US20210333709A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn (US20160202610A1, published 2016).
Regarding claims 7-8,
Lee teaches the above limitations set forth.
Lee teaches a rework process for removing the photoresist using the organic-inorganic hybrid photoresist where a process and a processing solution capable of completely removing the thin film (which the examiner interprets to include both patterned and un-patterned photoresist films) without the presence of inorganic particles are required [0031], where the best way to process a mixture of organic and inorganic materials is to have high solubility of the organic material and high chelating performance for the inorganic material [0033], such as their organic-inorganic hybrid photoresist processing solution [0040], reading on instant claim 8.
Lee teaches forming a pattern using the photoresist composition [0027], where a pattern may be formed in a photoresist through exposure to a light source and development [0002].
However, Lee fails to explicitly teach a post exposure bake step.
Ahn, analogous art, teaches a thinner composition for cleaning an edge portion of a substrate [abstract, fig 1], where a post exposure baking (PEB, heating and drying) process may be further performed after the exposure process, where the acid may be uniformly distributed in the exposed portion by the PEB process. Thus, a leaving group such as an acetal group or an ether group combined with the back-bone chain of the photoresist material may be deprotected or separated in the exposed portion [0108].
As both Ahn and Lee teach compositions for rinsing an edge portion of a substate coated with a photoresist film, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further perform a post exposure bake step as taught by Ahn in the method of Lee for the benefits disclosed by Ahn, reading on instant claim 7. Further, PEB processes would be well known and expected by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20180046086A1 teaches methods of reducing metal residue in edge bead region from metal-containing resists.
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735