DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the amendments filed 08/03/2026 and 09/01/2026, in which: claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are amended; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 13, and 15 is/are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1 and 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s remarks that “Hosoyachi does not establish that ‘each GOA circuit’ has the claimed relationship relative to ‘the corresponding pixel unit’”, as previously set forth in the previous rejection of claims 1 and 5, elaborated upon in the previous advisory action, and as set forth herein with respect to the amendments made to the limitation, Hosoyachi discloses the pertinent limitation in FIG. 2. Hosoyachi FIG. 2 depicts output circuits Xn - interpreted as corresponding to Applicant's claimed GOA circuits because they are circuits of gate driver GD1, which is a gate driver on array (Hosoyachi [0026]: GD1 is monolithically provided to the liquid crystal panel) - and pixels PX. As disclosed by the figure, each of the depicted output circuits Xn are shorter than the pixels PX to which they correspond in the D2 (vertical) direction. Therefore, Hosoyachi discloses the claimed limitation. The structure and layout of GD1 are provided to enable the configuration shown in Hosoyachi FIG. 2, among other configurations, providing the advantages of increasing the degree of freedom in panel layout and reducing the size of the frame (Hosoyachi [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, if not inherent or explicitly clear from Hosoyachi [0052], that this is the result of the structure and layout of GD1 shown, including the implicit disclosure of the longitudinal dimensions of Xn relative to PX and the explicitly shown relationship between PX and Xn such that Xn corresponding to PX in the corner region are within the first peripheral subregion.
If Applicant is still unconvinced, the obviousness of this suggestion is explained yet more verbosely:
As disclosed in Hosoyachi FIG. 1-2 and associated text, the length of the left edge of the display panel - a peripheral subregion in which the entirety of GD1 is contained, as shown - is less than the maximum length of the display area due to the rounded corners Re/RE, with no overlap between the region in which GD1 is present and the rounded corners. Obviously, by that logic, for GD1 to be contained within the left edge without overlapping the corner region, GD1 must be shorter in D2 than the length of the display area in D2.
Additionally, each output circuit Xn corresponds to a row of pixel units PX. Therefore, there must be the same number of output circuits in GD1 as rows of pixel units. If individual output circuits were substantially the same length as or longer than their corresponding pixel units, the total length of GD1 would be substantially the same as, if not longer than, the maximum length of the display area (corresponding to the total length of pixel rows, which span the length of the display).
Therefore, in light of the premises and logical relationships described above with regards to facts of the structure and positioning of GD1, the geometry of the display panel, and the one-to-one correspondence between the number of rows of pixel units and output circuits, all explicitly disclosed by Hosoyachi, it would be obvious that in order to achieve the structures disclosed by the text and figures, the longitudinal dimension of Xn should be less than that of PX. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the longitudinal dimension of Xn being less than that of PX supports reducing the length of GD1 such that it is less than the maximum length of the display area and less than or equal to the yet smaller peripheral subregion of the left edge of the display panel, which enables GD1 to be provided in said peripheral subregion such that GD1 does not overlap with RE. The resulting configuration is explicitly disclosed as being related to the provision of GD1 as is shown in Hosoyachi FIG. 1-2 and is considered to be an advantageous aspect of Hosoyachi’s invention, as it is one of the possible layouts of the increased degree of freedom in panel layouts and enables reduction of the size of the frame (Hosoyachi [0052]).
If Applicant still remains doubtful of Hosoyachi’s disclosure of the claimed limitation or of the obvious and advantageous combination of the layout and structure of Hosoyachi with the display panel of Ochi, they are respectfully invited to indicate specifically where any perceived flaws in the argument above have occurred and clearly explain why any alleged flaw would result in a failure of the argument.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of at least the following informalities:
Number disagreement: “a GOA circuit connected to a second pixel unit is disposed in a peripheral region that are corresponding to a first edge and a second edge” (Specification [0098]);
Typographical error: the phrase “is a pixel unit from which a distance to the third edge in the column direction is less than or equal to the first threshold value” (Specification [0098]) is repeated verbatim when it appears that the second instance of “less” should instead recite “greater”;
Inconsistent terms for element numbers: 802 is referred to as both “GOA signal lines” and “GOA circuit” (Specification [0105]-[0106]), 902 is referred to as both “GOA signal lines” and “GOA circuit” (Specification [0107]-[0108]);
Specification [0087] states “It should be noted that, pixel units PX in the display panel shown in FIG. 3 are driven on both sides, and pixel units PX in each row are correspondingly connected to the GOA driver circuits 301 on both sides through GOA signal lines 302”. Please clarify whether pixel units are driven on both sides in other figures and embodiments. While this appears to be the case throughout the figures, descriptions of figures other than FIG. 3 are ambiguous with regards to this detail in some cases.
Please check the specification for other errors. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim(s) 1-8, 11, 13, and 15, the claims feature or are dependent upon claims which feature the limitation “each GOA circuit corresponding to a pixel unit in a corner region of the display region between the first edge and the fourth edge is in the first peripheral subregion” (claims 1 and 5). It is unclear whether the limitation refers to the set of GOA circuits corresponding to all pixel units within the described region or an individual pixel unit within the described region. As set forth in In re Miyazaki, “if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. §112, second paragraph, as indefinite.” 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2008). For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the claim according to the latter interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi et al. (US 20210296425 A1, hereinafter Ochi), and further in view of Hosoyachi et al. (US 20190259345 A1, hereinafter Hosoyachi).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ochi discloses in Ochi FIG. 2, 4, 5, 6, and 8, and associated text a display panel, comprising:
a display region, wherein the display region comprises a first edge, a second edge, a third edge, and a fourth edge, wherein the first edge is disposed opposite to the second edge, the third edge is disposed opposite to the fourth edge (display region 5 has four edges (FIG. 2)), and a corner between the first edge and the fourth edge is curved (corners 5a are curved (FIG. 2)), and wherein the display region comprises a plurality of pixel units (display region 5 includes a plurality of pixels 12 (FIG. 4)); and
a peripheral region that at least partially surrounds the display region (frame region 6 (FIG. 2)), wherein a first peripheral subregion of the peripheral region corresponds to the first edge, a second peripheral subregion of the peripheral region corresponds to the second edge, and a third peripheral subregion of the peripheral region corresponds to the third edge (left, right and top edges of frame region 6);
wherein each of the first peripheral subregion, the second peripheral subregion, and the third peripheral subregion comprises a gate driver on array (GOA) circuit and a GOA signal line (unit circuits 71 of gate drivers 72 and 73, and gate wires 21g and routed wires 80 (GOA signal lines) are present in parts of frame region 6 corresponding to three edges (GOA signal lines corresponding to first and second edges in FIG. 2; GOA circuits of gate divers 72 and 73 and GOA signal lines corresponding to third edge in Ochi FIG. 8)), wherein each GOA circuit is configured to drive a corresponding pixel unit of the plurality of pixel units, and each GOA signal line is used to connect the GOA circuit and the corresponding pixel unit (each unit circuit 71 of the gate drivers 72/73 has a corresponding gate wire 21g ([0102]), and each gate wire 21g corresponds to a pixel circuit 35 ([0055])), wherein none of the GOA circuits in the display panel occupies space in any corner region of the peripheral region (unit circuits 71 of gate drivers 72 and 73 of are not in frame corners 6a);
wherein the peripheral region comprises a signal providing region, the signal providing region is adjacent to the fourth edge, and a length of the signal providing region is smaller than or equal to a length of the fourth edge (terminal unit 7 is a region which provides signals through terminals 21t connected to source wires 21s, is adjacent to the fourth edge, and is in one or more dimensions smaller than a length of the fourth edge as depicted (FIG. 2));
wherein the display region further comprises K data connection lines disposed between the plurality of pixel units, and K is a natural number (source wires 21s, which are physical and discrete units and therefore must inherently come in a natural number (FIG. 2));
wherein each pixel unit comprises M columns*N rows of light-emitting devices (pixels 12 comprise a 1x3 matrix of sub-pixels 13 and each of the sub-pixels has a corresponding light-emitting element 37 (FIG. 4, [0067])), M columns*N rows of bottom drive circuits (pixel circuit 35 serves as the sub-pixel 13, therefore shares the same 1x3 matrix (FIG. 6, [0054])), and M*N anode leads, wherein the anode leads are used to connect the light-emitting devices to the bottom drive circuits (first electrode 38 of organic EL element 37 (a.k.a. light-emitting device 37) is an anode ([0061]), which is connected to TFT 19f, which is a component of pixel circuit 35 (FIG. 5 and 6)), the bottom drive circuits are disposed at lower layers of the light-emitting devices (as depicted in FIG. 5, where components of the pixel circuit are below the light-emitting device 37), and both M and N are natural numbers (1 and 3 are natural numbers),
wherein an interval between adjacent light-emitting devices in each pixel unit of the plurality of pixel units is larger than a dimension of the bottom drive circuits corresponding to the adjacent light-emitting devices in the pixel unit (as depicted, an interval between left edges of light-emitting devices 37 is greater than a dimension of the pixel circuit 35 components connected to each light-emitting device 37 (FIG. 5; please also refer to the following figure)), to enable a gap to exist between the pixel units (a gap between pixel units 12 exists (FIG. 4, regions not enclosed by 12)); and
wherein the K data connection lines are used to pass through gaps between the plurality of pixel units in the display region (source wires 21s depicted passing through gaps between pixel units 12 (FIG. 4)), and to connect pixel units in Q columns in the plurality of pixel units to the signal providing region (source wires 21s connect to the terminal unit 7 (FIG. 2) and the pixel circuits 35 (FIG. 6)), and the pixel units in Q columns comprise pixel units corresponding to the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge, and Q is a natural number less than or equal to K (FIG. 4 shows at least three source wires 21s per column of pixels 12, therefore Ochi discloses K is greater than Q by at least 3 times).
Ochi does not explicitly disclose a longitudinal dimension of each GOA circuit is smaller than a longitudinal dimension of the corresponding pixel unit or each GOA circuit corresponding to a pixel unit in a corner region of the display region between the first edge and the fourth edge is in the first peripheral subregion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hosoyachi discloses in Hosoyachi FIG. 2 and associated text a longitudinal dimension of the GOA circuit is smaller than a longitudinal dimension of the corresponding pixel unit (Hosoyachi FIG. 2 shows the length of output circuits Xn in gate driver GD1 are shorter than pixels PX in the D2 direction) and each GOA circuit corresponding to a pixel unit in a corner region of the display region between the first edge and the fourth edge is in the first peripheral subregion (Hosoyachi FIG. 2 shows a portion of the display region including a corner region corresponding to the first and fourth edge. As shown, each of Xn corresponding a pixel unit PX are in GD1, e.g. referring to the leftmost pixel unit connected to Xn by Gn. GD1 is in a region corresponding to the first peripheral subregion.).
Hosoyachi further discloses that the structure and layout of GD1 are provided to enable the configuration shown in Hosoyachi FIG. 2, among other configurations, providing the advantages of increasing the degree of freedom in panel layout and reducing the size of the frame (Hosoyachi [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, if not inherent, that this is the result of the structure and layout of GD1 shown, including the implicit disclosure of the longitudinal dimensions of Xn relative to PX and the explicitly shown relationship between PX and Xn such that Xn corresponding to PX in the corner region are within the first peripheral subregion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Ochi and Hosoyachi to provide the display panel of Ochi with the smaller GOA circuits of Hosoyachi to provide gate drivers that do not overlap with irregularly shaped edges/rounded corners, increasing the degree of freedom in panel layout and reducing the size of the frame (Hosoyachi [0052]).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Ochi, as modified by Hosoyachi, further discloses in Ochi FIG. 8 and associated text a width of the peripheral region at the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge is smaller than a width of the peripheral region at the first edge (The length A between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the frame corner 6a of the frame region 6 may be shorter than the length B between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the first frame side 6c, and than the length C between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the second frame side 6d ([0123])).
Regarding independent claim 5, Ochi discloses in Ochi FIG. 2, 4, 5, 6, and 8, and associated text a display panel, comprising:
a display region, wherein the display region comprises a first edge, a second edge, a third edge, and a fourth edge, wherein the first edge is disposed opposite to the second edge, the third edge is disposed opposite to the fourth edge (display region 5 has four edges (FIG. 2)), and a corner between the first edge and the fourth edge is curved (corners 5a are curved (FIG. 2)), and wherein the display region comprises a plurality of pixel units (display region 5 includes a plurality of pixels 12 (FIG. 4)); and
a peripheral region that at least partially surrounds the display region (frame region 6 (FIG. 2)), wherein a first peripheral subregion of the peripheral region corresponds to the first edge and a second peripheral subregion of the peripheral region corresponds to the second edge (left and right edges of frame region 6);
wherein each of the first peripheral subregion and the second peripheral subregion comprises a gate driver on array (GOA) circuit and a GOA signal line (unit circuits 71 of gate drivers 72, and gate wires 21g and routed wires 80 (GOA signal lines) are present in parts of frame region 6 corresponding to three edges (GOA signal lines corresponding to first and second edges in FIG. 2; GOA circuits of gate divers 72 in Ochi FIG. 8)), wherein each GOA circuit is configured to drive a corresponding pixel unit of the plurality of pixel units, and each GOA signal line is used to connect the GOA circuit and the corresponding pixel unit (each unit circuit 71 of the gate drivers 72/73 has a corresponding gate wire 21g ([0102]), and each gate wire 21g corresponds to a pixel circuit 35 ([0055])), wherein none of the GOA circuits in the display panel occupies space in any corner region of the peripheral region (unit circuits 71 of gate drivers 72 and 73 of are not in frame corners 6a);
peripheral subregions corresponding to the first edge and the second edge each comprise GOA circuits (gate drivers 72 are present in subregions of frame region 6 corresponding to the first and second edge);
wherein the peripheral region comprises a signal providing region, the signal providing region is adjacent to the fourth edge, and a length of the signal providing region is smaller than or equal to a length of the fourth edge (terminal unit 7 is a region which provides signals through terminals 21t connected to source wires 21s, is adjacent to the fourth edge, and is in one or more dimensions smaller than a length of the fourth edge as depicted (FIG. 2));
wherein the display region further comprises K data connection lines disposed between the plurality of pixel units, and K is a natural number (source wires 21s, which are physical and discrete units and therefore must inherently come in a natural number (FIG. 2));
wherein each pixel unit comprises M columns*N rows of light-emitting devices (pixels 12 comprise a 1x3 matrix of sub-pixels 13 and each of the sub-pixels has a corresponding light-emitting element 37 (FIG. 4, [0067])), M columns*N rows of bottom drive circuits (pixel circuit 35 serves as the sub-pixel 13, therefore shares the same 1x3 matrix (FIG. 6, [0054])), and M*N anode leads, wherein the anode leads are used to connect the light-emitting devices to the bottom drive circuits (first electrode 38 of organic EL element 37 (light-emitting device) is an anode ([0061]), which is connected to TFT 19f, which is a component of pixel circuit 35 (FIG. 5 and 6)), the bottom drive circuits are disposed at lower layers of the light-emitting devices (as depicted in FIG. 5, where components of the pixel circuit are below the light-emitting device 37), and both M and N are natural numbers (1 and 3 are natural numbers),
wherein an interval between adjacent light-emitting devices in each pixel unit is larger than a dimension of the bottom drive circuits corresponding to the adjacent light-emitting devices in the pixel unit (as depicted, an interval between left edges of light-emitting devices 37 is greater than one or more dimensions of the pixel circuit 35 components connected to each light-emitting device 37 (FIG. 5; please also refer to the following figure)), to enable a gap to exist between the pixel units (a gap between pixel units 12 exists (FIG. 4, regions not enclosed by 12)); and
wherein the K data connection lines are used to pass through gaps between the plurality of pixel units in the display region (source wires 21s depicted passing through gaps between pixel units 12 (FIG. 4)), and to connect pixel units in Q columns in the plurality of pixel units to the signal providing region (source wires 21s connect to the terminal unit 7 (FIG. 2) and the pixel circuits 35 (FIG. 6)), and the pixel units in Q columns comprise pixel units corresponding to the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge, and Q is a natural number less than or equal to K (FIG. 4 shows at least three source wires 21s per column of pixels 12, therefore Ochi discloses K is greater than Q by at least 3 times).
Ochi does not explicitly disclose a longitudinal dimension of each GOA circuit is smaller than a longitudinal dimension of the corresponding pixel unit or each GOA circuit corresponding to a pixel unit in a corner region of the display region between the first edge and the fourth edge is in the first peripheral subregion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hosoyachi discloses in Hosoyachi FIG. 2 and associated text a longitudinal dimension of the GOA circuit is smaller than a longitudinal dimension of the corresponding pixel unit (Hosoyachi FIG. 2 shows the length of output circuits Xn in gate driver GD1 are shorter than pixels PX in the D2 direction) and each GOA circuit corresponding to a pixel unit in a corner region of the display region between the first edge and the fourth edge is in the first peripheral subregion (Hosoyachi FIG. 2 shows a portion of the display region including a corner region corresponding to the first and fourth edge. As shown, each of Xn corresponding a pixel unit PX are in GD1, e.g. referring to the leftmost pixel unit connected to Xn by Gn. GD1 is in a region corresponding to the first peripheral subregion.).
Hosoyachi further discloses that the structure and layout of GD1 are provided to enable the configuration shown in Hosoyachi FIG. 2, among other configurations, providing the advantages of increasing the degree of freedom in panel layout and reducing the size of the frame (Hosoyachi [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, if not inherent, that this is the result of the structure and layout of GD1 shown, including the implicit disclosure of the longitudinal dimensions of Xn relative to PX and the explicitly shown relationship between PX and Xn such that Xn corresponding to PX in the corner region are within the first peripheral subregion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Ochi and Hosoyachi to provide the display panel of Ochi with the smaller GOA circuits of Hosoyachi to provide gate drivers that do not overlap with irregularly shaped edges/rounded corners, increasing the degree of freedom in panel layout and reducing the size of the frame (Hosoyachi [0052]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Ochi, as modified by Hosoyachi, further discloses in Ochi FIG. 8 and associated text a width of the peripheral region at the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge is smaller than a width of the peripheral region at the first edge (The length A between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the frame corner 6a of the frame region 6 may be shorter than the length B between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the first frame side 6c, and than the length C between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the second frame side 6d (Ochi [0123])).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Ochi, as modified by Hosoyachi, further discloses a display device, comprising: a display configured to display an image, wherein the display comprises the display panel according to claim 5 (A display device […] includes […] a display panel including: a region displaying an image (Ochi [0010])).
Claims 2, 3, 6-7, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi, and further in view of Hosoyachi and Kim et al. (US 20200135595 A1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Ochi, as modified by Hosoyachi, discloses the display panel of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose a peripheral region corresponding to the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge comprises a panel crack detection (PCD) lead and a water-and-oxygen dam (Dam) region and a distance between the PCD lead and the corner is less than a distance between the Dam region and the corner, to enable the PCD lead not to pass through the Dam region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a peripheral region corresponding to the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge comprises a panel crack detection (PCD) lead and a water-and-oxygen dam (Dam) region and a distance between the PCD lead and the corner is less than a distance between the Dam region and the corner, to enable the PCD lead not to pass through the Dam region (the main crack detection lines MCDa and MCDb may be disposed in an inner region of the peripheral area PA such that the main crack detection lines MCDa and MCDb are disposed between the dam portion 350d and the display area DA (Kim [0090])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Ochi, as modified by Hosoyachi, and Kim to provide the display panel of Ochi surrounded by the Dam region and PCD lead of Kim to prevent organic material from flowing outside (Kim [0097]) and enable detection of defects in the edge area (Kim [0006]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Ochi, as modified by Hosoyachi and Kim, further discloses the peripheral region corresponding to the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge further comprises an isolation column, and the isolation column is disposed on both sides of the Dam region (Kim discloses at least one dam portion 350d (Kim [0089]). In embodiments containing three or more, the portions on either side of a middle dam portion are considered isolation columns.).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Ochi, as modified by Hosoyachi, discloses the display panel of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose a peripheral region corresponding to the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge comprises a panel crack detection (PCD) lead and a water-and-oxygen dam (Dam) region and a distance between the PCD lead and the corner is less than a distance between the Dam region and the corner, to enable the PCD lead not to pass through the Dam region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a peripheral region corresponding to the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge comprises a panel crack detection (PCD) lead and a water-and-oxygen dam (Dam) region and a distance between the PCD lead and the corner is less than a distance between the Dam region and the corner, to enable the PCD lead not to pass through the Dam region (the main crack detection lines MCDa and MCDb may be disposed in an inner region of the peripheral area PA such that the main crack detection lines MCDa and MCDb are disposed between the dam portion 350d and the display area DA (Kim [0090])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Ochi, Hosoyachi, and Kim to provide the display panel of Ochi and REF surrounded by the Dam region and PCD lead of Kim to prevent organic material from flowing outside (Kim [0097]) and enable detection of defects in the edge area (Kim [0006]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Ochi, as modified by Hosoyachi and Kim, further discloses the peripheral region corresponding to the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge further comprises an isolation column, and the isolation column is disposed on both sides of the Dam region (Kim discloses at least one dam portion 350d (Kim [0089]). In embodiments containing three or more, the portions on either side of a middle dam portion are considered isolation columns.).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Ochi, as modified by Hosoyachi and Kim, further discloses in Ochi FIG. 8 and associated text a width of the peripheral region at the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge is smaller than a width of the peripheral region at the first edge (The length A between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the frame corner 6a of the frame region 6 may be shorter than the length B between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the first frame side 6c, and than the length C between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the second frame side 6d (Ochi [0123])).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Ochi, as modified by Hosoyachi and Kim, further discloses in Ochi FIG. 8 and associated text a width of the peripheral region at the corner between the first edge and the fourth edge is smaller than a width of the peripheral region at the first edge (The length A between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the frame corner 6a of the frame region 6 may be shorter than the length B between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the first frame side 6c, and than the length C between the outer end edge and the display region 5 in the second frame side 6d (Ochi [0123])).
Conclusion
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
US 20200066196 A1, pertaining to display panel crack detection.
/EVERETT T RIRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897