DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3-4, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Obkircher (US7048276 B2) in view of Slater (US4258545 A).
5. Regarding claim 1:
Obkircher discloses a thermal trace enhancer system (1) (abstract section teaches a flying device for IR flying target representation) comprising:
a body (2) situated on an air vehicle (column 3 lines 10-11 teaches a fuselage of the flying device),
at least one engine (E) enabling to drive the body (2) to which it is connected (column 2 lines 13-14 teaches a propulsive unit of the flying device, such as an aircraft gas turbine or internal combustion motor),
a thermal unit (3) situated on the body (2) so as to be spaced apart from the engine (E) (column 6 claim 6 teaches a heat-generating unit spatially separated from a propulsion device), enabling to generate hot gases to increase the thermal trace (column 2 lines 10-13 teaches that the heat-generating unit can be a gas burner, or a gas turbine, which inherently has a combustion chamber),
at least one air intake (4) provided in the thermal unit (3), enabling air supply to the thermal unit (3) from atmosphere (column 1 lines 28-34 teaches air intake for assuring a stable combustion),
at least one combustion chamber (5) enabling hot gases to be generated as a result of a chemical reaction of fuel and the air taken through the air intake (4) (column 2 lines 10-14 teaches that the heat-generating unit can be a gas burner, or a gas turbine, which inherently has a combustion chamber),
a conductive thermal surface (6) enabling to increase the thermal trace by becoming heated via heat transfer with hot gases leaving the combustion chamber (5) and hitting on itself (column 1 lines 65-67 teaches an infrared radiator, which corresponds to a conductive thermal surface, heated by the exhaust gas. The exhaust gas is from the heat-generating unit, which can be a gas burner),
at least one exhaust outlet (7) enabling the gases heating up the thermal surface (6) to be discharged from the thermal unit (3) (column 2 lines 58-65 teaches an outlet nozzle for discharging gas. Column 4 lines 51-61 teaches that the outlet nozzle, fig. 1 element 3, discharges exhaust gas to heat up the IR radiator, fig. 1 element 2), a control unit (10) (column 2 lines 62 teaches an internal control unit that brings about increase in exhaust temperature)
Obkircher fails to disclose a compressor (8) situated in the thermal unit (3), enabling to compress the air taken through the air intake (4) and to transmit it to the combustion chamber (5), thereby increasing combustion efficiency, an actuator (9) enabling the compressor (8) to make a rotational motion, and a control unit (10) adjusting a number of revolutions of the actuator (9), thereby enabling to achieve a user-preferred temperature for the thermal surface (6).
However, Slater discloses a compressor (8) (column 2 lines 29-31 teaches a compressor, fig. 2 element 16) situated in the thermal unit (3) (column 2 lines 29-31 teaches a turbofan engine which correspond to the thermal unit that generates heated gas), enabling to compress the air taken through the air intake (4) (column 2 lines 38-40 teaches an inlet, fig. 1 element 34 that receives bypass air) and to transmit it to the combustion chamber (5) (column 2 lines 29-31 teaches a combustor, fig. 1 element 18, and a serial flow relationship that allows intake air to reach the combustor, fig. 1 element 18), thereby increasing combustion efficiency,
an actuator (9) enabling the compressor (8) to make a rotational motion (column 1 lines 55-58 teaches actuators which vary the engine control variables. Column 2 lines 31-33 teaches that the compressor, fig. 1 element 16, is connected by a core rotor, fig. 1 element 22), and
a control unit (10) (column 2 lines 21-23 teaches a control system) adjusting a number of revolutions of the actuator (9) (column 3 lines 42-45 teaches adjusting the output variable, core engine speed (N2)), thereby enabling to achieve a user-preferred temperature for the thermal surface (6) (column 3 lines 22-68 and column 5 lines 1-4 teaches adjusting a number of revolutions of the actuator to control the temperature of the turbine inlet temperature. The physical surfaces in contact with the inlet gas corresponds to the thermal surface).
The inventions are analogous because they are both directed towards the field of heat-generating systems utilizing airflow and combustion control (Obkircher teaches a heat-generating unit (gas burner) for a thermal surface, and Slater teaches a turbofan engine). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater to include a compressor (8) situated in the thermal unit (3), enabling to compress the air taken through the air intake (4) and to transmit it to the combustion chamber (5), thereby increasing combustion efficiency, an actuator (9) enabling the compressor (8) to make a rotational motion, and a control unit (10) adjusting a number of revolutions of the actuator (9), thereby enabling to achieve a user-preferred temperature for the thermal surface (6). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include such modification for more efficient combustion and to precisely monitor and control the temperature of a thermal element (as taught in Slater column 4 lines 22-68).
6. Regarding claim 3:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim 1. Obkircher fails to disclose at least one fuel pump (11) enabling to achieve a user-preferred temperature for the thermal surface (6) by adjusting a flow rate of fuel to be used for a combustion process in the combustion chamber (5).
However, Slater discloses at least one fuel pump (11) (fig. 1 element 48 teaches actuators, which correspond to a fuel pump) enabling to achieve a user-preferred temperature for the thermal surface (6) by adjusting a flow rate of fuel to be used for a combustion process in the combustion chamber (5) (Column 3 lines 32-35 teaches that actuators, fig. 2 element 48, vary the fuel flow to provide the desired level of engine performance. Column 6 lines 56-58 teaches generating control signal representative of demanded values for the fuel flow. As shown in fig. 1, fuel flow Wf is connected to the combustor, fig. 1 element 18 for combustion).
The inventions are analogous because they are both directed towards the field of heat-generating systems utilizing airflow and combustion control (Obkircher teaches a heat-generating unit (gas burner) for a thermal surface, and Slater teaches a turbofan engine). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater to include at least one fuel pump (11) enabling to achieve a user-preferred temperature for the thermal surface (6) by adjusting a flow rate of fuel to be used for a combustion process in the combustion chamber (5). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to precisely monitor and control the temperature of a thermal element (as taught in Slater column 4 lines 22-68).
7. Regarding claim 4:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim 3. Obkircher fails to disclose that wherein the control unit (10) enables to keep and control the temperature of the thermal surface (6) at the user-preferred value by independently adjusting the flow rate of air through a command it transmits to the actuator (9) and an amount of fuel through a command it transmits to the fuel pump (11).
However, Slater discloses that wherein the control unit (10) (column 2 lines 21-23 teaches a control system, fig. 1 element 10) enables to keep and control the temperature of the thermal surface (6) at the user-preferred value by independently adjusting the flow rate of air through a command it transmits to the actuator (9) and an amount of fuel through a command it transmits to the fuel pump (11) (column 3 lines 32-35 teaches that actuators, fig. 2 element 48, vary the fuel flow and fan pitch in response to the modified engine control signals to provide the desired level of engine performance. Fan pitch here controls the air flow rate by allowing different volume of air per revolution. Column 4 lines 62-68 and column 5 lines 1-2 teach that the feedback controller, fig. 2 element 92, transmits the generated signals for each of the engine control variables (fuel flow and fan pitch) to summers, fig. 2 elements 64, 66, and 68. Summers, fig. 2 elements 64, 66, 68, combine the respective engine control signals from the control schedular, fig. 2 element 50, to produce actual demanded engine control signals which are transmitted to the actuators via lines, fig. 2 elements 42, 44, and 46, respectively).
The inventions are analogous because they are both directed towards the field of heat-generating systems utilizing airflow and combustion control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater to include that wherein the control unit (10) enables to keep and control the temperature of the thermal surface (6) at the user-preferred value by independently adjusting the flow rate of air through a command it transmits to the actuator (9) and an amount of fuel through a command it transmits to the fuel pump (11). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to precisely monitor and control the temperature of a thermal element (as taught in Slater column 4 lines 22-68).
8. Regarding claim 10:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim l. Obkircher further discloses an inner surface (17) (the turbine, fig. 3a element 1, has an inner surface), which is a first contact surface of hot gases exiting the combustion chamber (5) (column 4 lines 53-55 teaches the exhaust of turbine, fig. 3a element 1, which inherently has a combustion chamber, flows out of the nozzle, fig. 3a element 3), at least one opening (18) situated on the inner surface (17) (since the exhaust can flow into the nozzle, the inner surface of the turbine inherently has at least one opening), enabling hot gases to heat the thermal surface (6) by passing over the inner surface (17) (column 4 lines 54-58 teaches that the IR radiator, fig. 3a element 2 is heated by the exhaust gas flowing out of the nozzle, fig. 3a element 3), said inner surface (17) having a form in which a distance between the thermal surface (6) and itself becomes narrower towards the exhaust outlet (7) (column 4 lines 51-61 teaches that the conical IR radiator, fig. 3a element 2 is fastened on the nozzle, fig. 3a element 3. The exhaust of turbine, fig. 3a element 1 flows out of the nozzle, fig. 3a element 3 and is diverted laterally from the conical IR irradiator, fig. 3a element 2. As seen in fig. 3a and fig. 4 element 2a, the distance between the IR radiator and the inner surface of the turbine becomes narrower towards the outlet nozzle, fig. 3a element 3).
9. Regarding claim 11:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim l. Obkircher further discloses that wherein the temperature of the thermal surface (6) can be adjusted by the control unit (10) to a temperature as required for detection by devices taking infrared images (column 2 lines 58-65 teaches using an internal control unit that brings about an increase in exhaust temperature. By changing the exhaust gas temperature, the temperature of the infrared radiator and consequently IR irradiation can be influenced).
10. Regarding claim 12:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim 1. Obkircher fails to disclose that wherein the compressor (8) enables to cool the thermal surface (6) in order to reduce the thermal trace in the air vehicle by making use of the air taken through the air intake (4).
However, Slater discloses that wherein the compressor (8) (column 2 lines 29-31 teaches a compressor, fig. 2 element 16) enables to cool the thermal surface (6) in order to reduce the thermal trace in the air vehicle by making use of the air taken through the air intake (4) (column 2 lines 38-40 teaches an inlet, fig. 1 element 34 that receives bypass air. Column 4 lines 22-68 and column 5 lines 1-3 teach that the turbine inlet temperature can be adjusted and is based on the compressor discharge temperature. Therefore, the compressor can be used to cool the physical surfaces in contact with the inlet air).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater to include that wherein the compressor (8) enables to cool the thermal surface (6) in order to reduce the thermal trace in the air vehicle by making use of the air taken through the air intake (4). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to precisely monitor and control the temperature of a thermal element (as taught in Slater column 4 lines 22-68).
11. Regarding claim 13:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim 1. Obkircher fails to disclose that wherein the actuator (9) is in a type of an electric motor enabling to actuate the compressor (8).
However, Slater discloses that wherein the actuator (9) is in a type of an electric motor (column 2 lines 61-63 teaches that the actuator means may be hydroelectrical actuators) enabling to actuate the compressor (8) (column 1 lines 55-58 teaches actuators which vary the engine control variables. Column 2 lines 31-33 teaches that the compressor, fig. 1 element 16, is connected by a core rotor, fig. 1 element 22).
The inventions are analogous because they are both directed towards the field of heat-generating systems utilizing airflow and combustion control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater to include that wherein the actuator (9) is in a type of an electric motor enabling to actuate the compressor (8). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to achieve a higher degree of precision and repeatability in adjusting the actuator.
12. Regarding claim 14:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim 1. Obkircher fails to disclose at least one revolution speed sensor (19) that detects the number of revolutions of the actuator (9) and transmits the number of revolutions signal to the control unit (10).
However, Slater discloses at least one revolution speed sensor (19) (column 3 lines 56-63 teaches the core engine speed N2 is determined by a sensor, fig. 2 element 94) that detects the number of revolutions of the actuator (9) (column 1 lines 55-58 teaches actuators which vary the engine control variables. Column 2 lines 31-33 teaches that the compressor, fig. 1 element 16, is connected by a core rotor, fig. 1 element 22) and transmits the number of revolutions signal to the control unit (10) (column 3 lines 56-63 teaches that the detection signal of the core engine speed N2 is transmitted to the controller, fig. 2 element 92).
The inventions are analogous because they are both directed towards the field of heat-generating systems utilizing airflow and combustion control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater to include at least one revolution speed sensor (19) that detects the number of revolutions of the actuator (9) and transmits the number of revolutions signal to the control unit (10). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to precisely monitor variables that would affect the engine performance and generate a feedback signal to control the variables to achieve user preferred operational conditions (as taught in Slater column 4 lines 22-68).
13. Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of Dussault (US-20180080371 A1).
14. Regarding claim 2:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim 1. Obkircher in view of Slater fails to disclose that wherein the thermal unit (3) burns kerosene and its derivatives or diesel and its derivatives used as fuel by the engine (E) to generate hot gases.
However, Dussault discloses that wherein the thermal unit (3) ([0010] teaches the combustion chambers) burns kerosene and its derivatives or diesel and its derivatives used as fuel ([0024] teaches using heavy fuel such as diesel and kerosene for combustion) by the engine (E) ([0010] teaches a rotary engine with the combustion chambers) to generate hot gases ([0024] teaches combusting the fuel to generate hot gas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of Dussault, to include that wherein the thermal unit (3) burns kerosene and its derivatives or diesel and its derivatives used as fuel by the engine (E) to generate hot gases. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification because heavy fuel is known for their low cost and high energy density for efficient combustion.
15. Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of Yannone (US-4283634 A).
16. Regarding claim 5:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim 3. Obkircher further discloses the thermal surface (6) (column 1 lines 65-67 teaches an infrared radiator) and the exhaust outlet (7) (column 2 lines 58-65 teaches an outlet nozzle for discharging gas). Obkircher fails to disclose that wherein the control unit (10) controls the actuator (9) and/or the fuel pump (11) according to temperature data to keep the temperature at a user-preferred value.
However, Slater discloses that wherein the control unit (10) controls the actuator (9) and/or the fuel pump (11) (column 3 lines 32-35 teaches that actuators, fig. 2 element 48, vary the fuel flow and fan pitch in response to the modified engine control signals to provide the desired level of engine performance) according to temperature data (column 4 lines 22-26 teaches that the turbine inlet temperature is calculated as a function of the compressor discharge temperature, the fuel flow, and the compressor discharge static pressure. The compressor discharge temperature is determined by a sensor, fig. 2 element 118) to keep the temperature at a user-preferred value (column 4 lines 56-68 teaches producing actual demanded engine control signals, such as the signals for fuel flow, which are transmitted to the actuators. The control signals can then be used to control the temperature).
The inventions are analogous because they are both directed towards the field of heat-generating systems utilizing airflow and combustion control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater to include that wherein the control unit (10) controls the actuator (9) and/or the fuel pump (11) according to temperature data to keep the temperature at a user-preferred value. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to precisely monitor and control the temperature of a thermal element (as taught in Slater column 4 lines 22-68).
Obkircher in view of Slater fails to disclose that temperature data is received from at least one thermocouple (12) situated at the thermal surface (6) and/or the exhaust outlet (7).
Yannone does not specifically disclose that temperature data is received from at least one thermocouple (12) situated at the thermal surface (6) and/or the exhaust outlet (7). However, Yannone discloses that thermocouples are arranged about the blade path position in one-to one correspondence each with an associated combustor element (as taught in column 10 lines 34-39). Yannone also discloses that the thermocouple is placed in the exhaust gas stream (as taught incolumn 2 lines 64-66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of Yannone to include that temperature data is received from at least one thermocouple (12) situated at the thermal surface (6) and/or the exhaust outlet (7). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to place the thermocouples as taught in Yannone on the thermal surface and/or exhaust outlet as taught in Obkircher to achieve high accuracy temperature sensing for control loop implementation as well as monitoring (as taught in Yannone column 3 lines 42-46).
17. Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of English (US 20200333805 A1).
18. Regarding claim 6:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claims 3. Obkircher fails to discloses at least one sensor (13) situated on the air vehicle, enabling to measure of data so that the control unit (10) controls the actuator (9) and/or the fuel pump (11) according to the data transmitted to it by the sensor (13) and keeps the temperature of the thermal surface (6) at a user-preferred value.
However, Slater discloses at least one sensor (13) situated on the air vehicle (column 4 lines 25-30 discloses multiple sensors, fig. 2 elements 118 and 124, on the aircraft to collect data), enabling to measure of data so that the control unit (10) (fig. 1 element 10) controls the actuator (9) (column 1 lines 55-58 teaches actuators which vary the engine control variables) and/or the fuel pump (11) (fig. 1 element 48 teaches actuators, which correspond to a fuel pump. Column 3 lines 32-35 teaches that actuators, fig. 2 element 48, vary the fuel flow) according to the data transmitted to it by the sensor (13) and keeps the temperature of the thermal surface (6) at a user-preferred value (column 3 lines 22-68 and column 5 lines 1-4 teaches adjusting a number of revolutions of the actuator to control the temperature of the turbine inlet temperature. The physical surfaces in contact with the inlet gas corresponds to the thermal surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater to include at least one sensor (13) situated on the air vehicle, enabling to measure of data so that the control unit (10) controls the actuator (9) and/or the fuel pump (11) according to the data transmitted to it by the sensor (13) and keeps the temperature of the thermal surface (6) at a user-preferred value. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include such modification to precisely monitor and control the temperature of a thermal element (as taught in Slater column 4 lines 22-68).
Obkircher in view of Slater fails to disclose at least one sensor (13) situated on the air vehicle enabling to measure of the air vehicle's speed, altitude, air temperature, static and/or dynamic air pressure data.
However, English discloses at least one sensor (13) situated on the air vehicle ([0026] fig. 1 teaches the unified command system that can optionally include one or more sensors situated on the aircraft) enabling to measure of the air vehicle's speed, altitude, air temperature, static and/or dynamic air pressure data ([0118] teaches that the sensors can be used to measure air temperature, static and dynamic air pressure. Claim 11 teaches sensing the altitude of the aircraft with a sensor. [0119] teaches using one of more sensors to detect airspeed of the aircraft).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of English, to include at least one sensor (13) situated on the air vehicle, enabling to measure of the air vehicle's speed, altitude, air temperature, static and/or dynamic air pressure data. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to determine a control output based on vehicle state and/or actuator feedback to generate a desired aircraft response (as taught in English [0125]).
19. Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of Newman (EP 0876579 B1).
20. Regarding claim 7:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim l. Obkircher fails to disclose at least one fuel supply line (14) enabling to supply fuel of the air vehicle into the combustion chamber (5).
However, Slater discloses at least one fuel supply line (14) enabling to supply fuel of the air vehicle into the combustion chamber (5) (fig. 1 teaches the fuel flow Wf into the combustor, fig. 1 element 18. To provide fuel flow a fuel supply line is inherently required).
The inventions are analogous because they are both directed towards the field of heat-generating systems utilizing airflow and combustion control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater to include at least one fuel supply line (14) enabling to supply fuel of the air vehicle into the combustion chamber. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to create a streamlined process of providing fuel to the combustor to generate hot gas.
Obkircher in view of Slator fails to disclose at least one evaporator (15) converting the fuel from the fuel supply line (14) into a gaseous form so that it can be injected into the combustion chamber (5).
However, Newman discloses at least one evaporator (15) ([0016] teaches that the liquid fuel must be vaporized before it is supplied to the burner, and that the liquid fuel is vaporized by passing through a heat exchanger) converting the fuel from the fuel supply line (14) into a gaseous form so that it can be injected into the combustion chamber (5) ([0016] teaches a path of fluid line connecting the liquid petroleum gas supply to the burner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of Newman to include at least one evaporator (15) converting the fuel from the fuel supply line (14) into a gaseous form so that it can be injected into the combustion chamber (5). Such modification would allow the generation of gaseous fuel for higher combustion efficiency.
21. Regarding claim 8:
Obkircher in view of Slater discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim 1. Obkircher in view of Slater fails to disclose at least one igniter (16) having a temperature that evaporates the fuel and igniting injected fuel transmitted by the evaporator (15) to the combustion chamber (5), enabling a first combustion to begin.
However, Newman discloses at least one igniter (16) ([0017] teaches that the burner maybe ignited by an electrical ignition system) igniting injected fuel transmitted by the evaporator (15) to the combustion chamber (5) ([0016] teaches that the liquid fuel must be vaporized before it is supplied to the burner, and that the liquid fuel is vaporized by passing through a heat exchanger), enabling a first combustion to begin ([0016]-[0017] teaches that the vaporized gas was fed into the burner, and that the burner maybe ignited by an electrical ignition system). Newman does not specifically disclose that the igniter having a temperature that evaporates the fuel. However, Newman teaches vaporizing the fuel through a heat exchanger (as taught in [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ an electrical ignition system that reaches a temperature high enough to locally evaporate any residual liquid fuel droplets at the point of ignition to ensure reliable ignition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of Newman to include at least one igniter (16) having a temperature that evaporates the fuel and igniting injected fuel transmitted by the evaporator (15) to the combustion chamber (5), enabling a first combustion to begin. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to ensure reliable ignition to initiate the combustion process.
22. Regarding claim 9:
Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of Newman, discloses the thermal trace enhancer system (1) according to claim 8. Obkircher further discloses that wherein the control unit (10) enables the thermal unit (3) to be operated during flight (column 2 lines 62-65 teaches an internal control unit that changes the exhaust temperature, thereby changing the temperature of the infrared radiator for an aircraft).
Obkircher fails to disclose sending commands the fuel pump (11) and the actuator (9).
However, Slater discloses sending commands the fuel pump (11) (fig. 1 element 48 teaches actuators, which correspond to a fuel pump. Column 3 lines 32-35 teaches that actuators, fig. 2 element 48, vary the fuel flow to provide the desired level of engine performance. Column 6 lines 56-58 teaches generating control signal representative of demanded values for the fuel flow) and the actuator (9) (column 1 lines 55-58 teaches actuators which vary the engine control variables. Column 5 lines 1- 2 teaches transmitting signals to the actuators).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater to include sending commands the fuel pump (11) and the actuator (9). Such modification would allow controlling the output variables to provide the desired level of engine performance (as taught in Slater Column 3 lines 32-35).
Obkircher in view of Slater fails to disclose sending commands to the igniter.
However, Newman discloses sending commands to the igniter ([0017] teaches an electrical ignition system may be provided which may be remotely operated. One inherently needs to send commands to the igniter for remote operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Obkircher in view of Slater, further in view of Newman, to include sending commands to the igniter. Such modification would allow controlling the ignition system to initiate combustion (as taught in Newman [0017]).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LARRY LI whose telephone number is (571) 272-5043. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Kim can be reached at (571)272-2293. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LARRY LI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881