DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 40 – 43, 46 – 51, 53 – 55, 60, 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (9391046).
With regard to claim 40, Park et al. disclose a thermally optimized system (a system including active devices 124, 212, and heat spreader or heat sink 194 functions as a thermally optimized system. in a Package apparatus (for example, see fig. 8), comprising:
a substrate (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 8 below; wherein the substrate “A” including layers 142, 148, 158) having a plurality of layers with etched conductive paths (the conductive layers 150 are formed over the exposed substrate 142 and conductive vias 146 using a patterning; for example, column 8, lines 37 – 39; wherein the patterning method inherently having an etch step) and a first plurality of vias (146) associated therewith for making operative interconnections between devices (138, 142) mounted on the substrate (A);
a first active device (referred to as “124A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 8 below) mounted in a first area (a left area of fig. 8) of the substrate (A) and having a first maximum operating temperature (the first active device inherently having any operating temperature functioning as a first maximum operating temperature);
a second active device (referred to as “124B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 8 below) mounted in a second area (a right area of fig. 8) of the substrate (A) and having a second maximum operating temperature (the second active device inherently having any operating temperature functioning as a second maximum operating temperature); and
a thermal barrier (a structure, including the discrete passive components 212 can be resistors, functioning as a thermal barrier; for example, column 8, lines 2 - 6) that thermally isolates the first device (124A) from the second device (124B).
Applicant’s claim 40 does not distinguish over Park et al. references regardless of the process used to form the first and second active devices because only the final product is relevant, not the process of making such as “the first maximum operating temperature of the first active device is different than the second maximum operating temperature of the second active device”.
Note that a "product by process" claim is directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made, In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See also In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90 (209 USPQ 554 does not deal with this issue); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA); In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289 (CAFC); and most recently, In re Thorpe et al., 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) all of which make it clear that it is the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that, as here, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or not. Note that Applicant has burden of proof in such cases, as the above case law makes clear.
With regard to claim 41, Park et al. disclose the thermal barrier (the structure, including the discrete passive components 212, fig. 8 or conductive components 162, fig. 7 can be resistors, functioning as a thermal barrier; for example, column 8, lines 2 - 6) is comprised of a plurality of components selected from surface-mount resistors (212).
With regard to claim 42, Park et al. disclose the plurality of components (212, fig. 8 or 162, fig. 7, or 224, figs. 9e - 10) are arranged in one array (for example, figs. 4e, 7, 8, figs. 9e - 10) on an upper surface of the substrate (A).
With regard to claim 43, Park et al. disclose the thermal barrier comprise one or more of comprises a first row of resistors (162, fig. 4e; or 224, fig. 9e) aligned in a first direction and a second row of resistors (162, fig. 4e; or 224, fig. 9e) aligned in a second direction, wherein the first and second direction are orthogonal.
With regard to claim 46, Park et al. disclose a plurality of connection elements (182, 160) on a bottom surface of the substrate (A), wherein the thermal barrier comprises one or more additional vias (referred to as “146A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 8 below) extending from a top surface of the substrate (A) to the bottom surface of substrate (A), and wherein at least one of the additional vias (A) forms a thermal junction with at least one of the connection elements (182, 160) in an intersection at the bottom surface of the substrate (A).
With regard to claim 47, Park et al. disclose an encapsulant (layers 180 functioning as an encapsulant) formed over at least the first and second devices (124A, 124B).
With regard to claim 48, Park et al. disclose the thermal barrier comprises a gap (referred to as “G” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 8) in the encapsulant (layers 180 functioning as an encapsulant) between the first and second devices (124A, 124B).
With regard to claim 49, Park et al. disclose a first heat sink (referred to as “174A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 8 below; wherein the conductive layer 174A forming in the holes functioning as a sinks), wherein the first heat sink (174A) is located above the first active device (124A), and is not above and below the second device (124B).
With regard to claim 50, Park et al. disclose the first heat sink (174A) is also located above the thermal barrier (the structure, including the discrete passive components 212 can be resistors, functioning as a thermal barrier; for example, column 8, lines 2 - 6).
With regard to claim 51, Park et al. disclose a second heat sink (referred to as “174B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 8 below; wherein the conductive layer 174B forming in the holes functioning as a sinks), wherein the second heat sink (174B) is located above the second active device (124B), and is not above the first device (124A).
With regard to claim 53, Park et al. disclose the thermal barrier comprises a gap (referred to as “146C” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 8) in one or more conductive traces (150, 160) in the substrate (A) between the first and second active devices (124A, 124B).
With regard to claim 54, Park et al. disclose the thermal barrier comprises a gap (referred to as “146C1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 8) in a ball grid array (182) on a bottom surface of the substrate (A).
With regard to claim 55, Park et al. disclose the substrate “A” including layers 142, 148, 158) having a plurality of layers with etched conductive paths (the conductive layers 150 are formed over the exposed substrate 142 and conductive vias 146 using a patterning; for example, column 8, lines 37 – 39; wherein the patterning method inherently having an etch step) and the first plurality of vias (146) to provide operative interconnections between devices (138, 142) mounted on the substrate (A) and one or more components (212) of the thermal barrier (the structure, including the discrete passive components 212 can be resistors, functioning as a thermal barrier; for example, column 8, lines 2 - 6).
With regard to claim 60, Park et al. disclose the substrate “A” including layers 142, 148, 158) having a plurality of layers comprises a plurality of internal layers (the conductive layers 146, 150 are formed over the exposed substrate 142 and conductive vias 146 using a patterning; for example, column 8, lines 37 – 39), and wherein each of the plurality of internal layers (1146, 50) has at least one corresponding etched conductive path (150 or 160).
With regard to claim 61, Park et al. disclose the thermal barrier comprises at least one via (146) extending from a top surface of the substrate (A) to the bottom surface of substrate (A) through said plurality of internal layers (146, 150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 44, 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (9391046) in view of Wan et al. (11444003).
With regard to claim 44, Park et al. do not clearly disclose the first device generates more heat than the second device.
However, Wan et al. disclose the first device generates more heat than the second device. (for example, see claim 15 of Wan et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Park et al.’s device to have the first device generates more heat than the second device as taught by Wan et al. in order to allow heat to be spread from the relatively much hotter processors to the lesser hot memory for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 52, Park et al. do not clearly disclose the first device is a processing element and the second device is a memory.
However, Wan et al. disclose the first device (chip type 1) is a processing element and the second device (chip type 2) is a memory. (for example, see fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Park et al.’s device to have the first device is a processing element and the second device is a memory as taught by Wan et al. in order to perform high efficiency of the memory device package and enhance a high dissipation efficiency, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
5. Claim(s) 56 - 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (9391046) in view of Lee et al. (11610871).
With regard to claims 56, 57, Park et al. do not clearly disclose at least one measurement marking on an exterior surface of the apparatus identifying one or more locations for measuring operational temperatures of the apparatus wherein the measurement marking is on an exterior surface of the apparatus at the location of the second device wherein the second active device is the most temperature sensitive component.
However, Lee et al. disclose at least one measurement marking (150) on an exterior surface of the apparatus (fig. 5) inherently identifying one location and wherein the measurement marking (150) is on an exterior surface of the apparatus (fig. 5) at the location of the second device (210a-1) wherein the second active device (210-1) is the most temperature sensitive component (CMOS sensor 210-1 functioning as a temperature sensitive component) of the SiP (for example, see column 6, lines 6 – 15, fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Park et al.’s device to have at least one measurement marking on an exterior surface of the apparatus identifying one or more locations for measuring operational temperatures of the apparatus wherein the measurement marking is on an exterior surface of the apparatus at the location of the second device wherein the second active device is the most temperature sensitive component as taught by Lee et al. in order to use for identification of the package, and outer boundaries of the upper package on the lower package for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form at least one marking (150) for measuring operational temperatures of the apparatus because the final structure after the incorporating references of Park et al. and Lee et al. is formed the same as that of applicant, thus the final structure has the same results “for measuring operational temperatures of the apparatus” as the claimed invention.
6. Claim(s) 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (9391046) in view of Lee et al. (11610871) and further in view of Yamauchi (20020006151).
With regard to claim 59, Park et al. and Lee et al. do not clearly disclose the marking is a circular marking.
However, Yamauchi discloses the marking (15, 16) is a circular marking. (for example, see fig. 5 of Wan et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Park et al. and Lee et al.’s device to have the marking is a circular marking as taught by Yamauchi in order to enhance a high measurement efficiency of accuracy, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments filed 07/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is argued, at page of the remarks, that “the cited prior arts do not teach or suggest ‘the first maximum operating temperature is different than the second maximum operating temperature’”. However, Applicant’s claim does not distinguish over Park et al. references regardless of the process used to form the first and second active devices because only the final product is relevant, not the process of making such as “the first maximum operating temperature of the first active device is different than the second maximum operating temperature of the second active device”. Note that a "product by process" claim is directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made, In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See also In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90 (209 USPQ 554 does not deal with this issue); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA); In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289 (CAFC); and most recently, In re Thorpe et al., 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) all of which make it clear that it is the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that, as here, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or not. Note that Applicant has burden of proof in such cases, as the above case law makes clear.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812