DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt is acknowledged of the "conditional" request for a Continued Prosecution Application (CPA) filed on January 5th, 2026 under 37 CFR 1.53(d) based on prior Application No. 18/565,812. Any "conditional" request for a CPA submitted as a separate paper is treated as an unconditional request for a CPA. Accordingly, the request for a CPA application is acceptable and a CPA has been established. An action on the CPA follows.
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims received on January 5th, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, 21, 23-27, 31, 33-34, 36, 43-45, 57-58, 67-68, and 71 have been amended, claim 75 has been added, and claims 9-12, 17, 39, 47, and 49 have been canceled. The 35 USC § 112(b) rejections filed on November 24th, 2025 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 15-17, filed January 5th, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 10-14, 16-19, 21, 27, 31, 43-45, 47, 57, 68-69, and 71 under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Matzen (US 2020/0010047 A1).
Applicant argues, regarding claims 1, 16, 43, 68 and 75, that Lee fails to disclose or suggest a locking component that is,
“configured to lock with the drive gear in a pass-through position for the pawl passing through the first pivot position in a radially-outward pivot direction when the pawl passes through the first pivot position in the radially-outward pivot direction [and] configured to protrude from the body of the pawl of the set of pawls in a direction away from the free end portion of the pawl”.
The examiner agrees that although Lee does comprise the locking component, the location of said locking component is not the same as the claimed invention. Lee’s pawl comprises a locking component displaced on the free end of said pawl which is defined as the direction which engages the driven gear. However, Matzen teaches wherein each pawl of the set of pawls comprises a free end portion remote from a pivot axis parallel to the common axis of rotation, the free end portion being configured to engage with the driven gear in the second pivot position, and wherein the locking component is configured to protrude from the body of the pawl of the set of pawls in a direction away from the free end portion of the pawl (Pg. 3-, ¶43, & Fig. 3, pawls 2, 3 having blocking contours 12 on both ends corresponding to locking component and a free).
The pawl of Matzen comprises a locking component (in the shape of a hook) on both ends of said pawl, thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Matzen, in combination with the one-way clutch from Lee as such a modification would ensure that the one-way clutch doesn't skip when a large force is enacted on the assembly. Having one free end meant for engagement of the driven gear and a locking end engaging driving element prevents any unwanted movement from the system.
Claim Objections
Claim 71 is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 11, 3rd line of the claim reads "a engaging hook" but should read "an engaging hook". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13-14, 68-69, and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 2013/0012694 A), in view of Matzen (US 2020/0010047 A1), and in further view of Artur (US 5,730,384 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a seatbelt retractor for a vehicle interior comprising (Pg. 3, ¶8) a belt (Pg. 3, ¶8, webbing 10), a belt retraction spool configured to pretension the belt (Pg. 3, ¶8, retractor 20), a motor (Pg. 3, ¶8), a transmission coupled to the motor (Pg. 4, ¶10), and a one-way clutch coupled to the transmission (Pg. 4, ¶10, clutch unit 22);
wherein the one-way clutch is configured for a disengaged state and an engaged state to pretension the belt (Pg. 4, ¶12);
wherein when the one-way clutch is in the engaged state, the motor is configured to drive the belt retraction spool via the transmission device and the one-way clutch to pretension the belt (Pg. 4, ¶12);
wherein the one-way clutch comprises a drive gear and a driven (Pg. 10, ¶37, ratchet 430, and Fig. 11) gear as well as a set of pawls (Pg. 11, ¶39, Ln. 477-481, Lock bar 440) pivotably mounted on the drive gear (Pg. 10, ¶37, base plate 420, and Fig. 11);
wherein the drive gear is configured to rotate in a first direction to retract the belt (Pg. 4, ¶10, 121-126) and a second direction opposite to the first direction (Pg. 6, Ln. 239-245);
wherein the drive gear and the driven gear comprise a common axis of rotation (Pg. 10, ¶35, Ln. 433-436);
wherein the one-way clutch comprises a friction ring frictionally coupled with a stop ring (Pg. 14, ¶45, Ln. 588-598, the guide ring 490 corresponding to a friction ring, and the drive plate 480 corresponding to a stop ring);
wherein the drive gear is configured to rotate relative to the friction ring between a first rotational position and a second rotational position (Pg. 14, ¶45, Ln. 599-607);
wherein when the drive gear is in the first rotational position, the set of pawls is in a first pivot position disengaged from the driven gear (Pg. 11, ¶40);
wherein when the drive gear is in the second rotational position, the set of pawls are in a second pivot position engaged with the driven gear (Pg. 11, ¶40);
wherein each pawl of the set of pawls comprises a locking component configured to lock with the drive gear in a pass-through position for the pawl passing through the first pivot position in a radially-outward pivot direction when the pawl passes through the first pivot position in the radially-outward pivot direction (Fig. 11 & Pg. 11, ¶¶40-41 depicting the lock bar 440 having a locking component);
wherein the locking component is connected onto a body of the pawl, the locking component being configured to protrude from the body of the pawl of the set of pawls (Fig. 11, depicting the lock bar 440 having a locking component protruding outward); and
wherein the locking component comprises an elastic component, the pawl of the set of pawls being configured to abut against the drive gear through the locking component (Pg. 12, ¶41 & Fig. 11, torsion spring 450).
Lee discloses the claimed invention except for the set of pawls having a free end portion that engages the driven gear and the locking component being positioned away from the free end. Matzen teaches wherein each pawl of the set of pawls comprises a free end portion remote from a pivot axis parallel to the common axis of rotation, the free end portion being configured to engage with the driven gear in the second pivot position, and wherein the locking component is configured to protrude from the body of the pawl of the set of pawls in a direction away from the free end portion of the pawl (Pg. 3-, ¶43, & Fig. 3, pawls 2, 3 having blocking contours 12 on both ends corresponding to locking component and a free). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Matzen, in combination with the one-way clutch from Lee as such a modification would ensure that the one-way clutch doesn't skip when a large force is enacted on the assembly. Having one free end meant for engagement of the driven gear and a locking end engaging driving element prevents any unwanted movement from the system.
Lee discloses the claimed invention except for the pawls being injection molded. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to injection-mold the locking component onto a body of the pawl as taught by Artur (Col. 3, Ln.11-14). Id. at 1403, 7 USPQ2d at 1502. The known technique of injection molding the components would have predictably resulted in a sturdier and more rigid element to ensure maximum force output of the locking component. Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to injection-mold the locking component onto a body of the pawl to add strength to the overall assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses wherein the locking component comprises a hook portion configured to be hooked by the drive gear (Fig. 11 depicting the locking bar 440 having a hooked end which is defined by a curved or bent end). While the locking component of Lee is disposed on the free end, it should be noted that the teachings of Matzen’s pawls have a hook portion at the ends (Fig. 6, 8, & 11, blocking contours 12, 32). Rationales to have modified/combined are above and are reincorporated.
Regarding claims 14 and 71, Lee discloses wherein the drive gear comprises a projection comprising an engaging hook portion; wherein the pawl of the set of pawls is configured to abut against a surface of the projection of the drive gear adjacent to the engaging hook portion through the hook portion in the first pivot position; wherein the hook portion is configured to slide on the projection to hook the engaging hook portion (Fig. 11, depicting the base plate 420 having projections engaging the hook portions and abutting a surface of limiting boss 460). Likewise, it is understood that the locking component of Lee is disposed on the free end, it should be noted that the teachings of Matzen’s pawls have the hook portion at the ends which interlock with an engaging hook portion (Pg. 3-4, ¶43, & Fig. 6, 8, 11, control arms 11). Rationales to have modified/combined are above and are reincorporated.
Regarding claim 68, Lee discloses a one-way clutch, comprising:
a driving element rotatable in a first direction and a second direction opposite to the first direction (Pg. 10, ¶37, base plate 420, and Fig. 11);
a driven element having a common rotation axis with the driving element (Fig. 11, ratchet 430 having same rotational axis as base plate 420);
pawls pivotably mounted on the driving element (Pg. 10, ¶37, base plate 420 & Pg. 11, ¶39, Ln. 477-481, Lock bar 440);
a stop ring (Pg. 14, ¶45, Ln. 588-598, drive plate 480); and
a friction ring frictionally coupled with the stop ring (Pg. 14, ¶45, Ln. 588-598, the guide ring 490);
wherein the driving element is rotatable relative to the friction ring between a first rotational position and a second rotational position downstream of the first rotational position in the first direction (Pg. 14, ¶45, Ln. 599-607), wherein in the first rotational position, the pawls are in a first pivot position relative to the driving element, and in the first pivot position, the pawls are disengaged from the driven element (Pg. 11, ¶40);
in the second rotational position, the pawls are in a second pivot position relative to the driving element pivoted radially inward from the first pivot position (Pg. 14, ¶45, Ln. 599-607), and in the second pivot position, the pawls are engaged with the driven element (Pg. 11, ¶40);
wherein each pawl has a locking component from locking components and configured to lock with the driving element in a pass-through position for the pawl passing through the first pivot position in a radially-outward pivot direction when the pawl passes through the first pivot position in the radially-outward pivot direction (Pg. 11, ¶40, Ln. 493-497 & Pg. 14, ¶45) wherein the locking component is connected onto a body of the pawl, the locking component being configured to protrude from the body of the pawl of the set of pawls (Fig. 11, depicting the lock bar 440 having a locking component protruding outward); and
wherein the locking component comprises an elastic component, the pawl of the set of pawls being configured to abut against the drive gear through the locking component (Pg. 12, ¶41 & Fig. 11, torsion spring 450).
Lee discloses the claimed invention except for the set of pawls having a free end portion that engages the driven gear and the locking component being positioned away from the free end and further fails to disclose injection molding the pawls. However, Matzen teaches wherein each pawl of the set of pawls comprises a free end portion remote from a pivot axis parallel to the common axis of rotation, the free end portion being configured to engage with the driven gear in the second pivot position, and wherein the locking component is configured to protrude from the body of the pawl of the set of pawls in a direction away from the free end portion of the pawl (Pg. 3-, ¶43, & Fig. 3, pawls 2, 3 having blocking contours 12 on both ends corresponding to locking component and a free). Moreover, Artur teaches injection molding the locking component onto a body of the set of pawls (Col. 3, Ln.11-14). Rationales to have modified/combined are above and are reincorporated.
Regarding claim 69, Lee discloses wherein the locking components each comprise at least one of: an elastic component (Fig. 11, torsion spring 450), wherein in the first pivot position, the pawls abut against the driving element through the locking components, and a hook portion configured to be hooked by the driving element when the pawl passes through the first pivot position in the radially-outward pivot direction, such that the pawl is held in the pass-through position (Pg. 11, ¶40 & Fig. 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 18-19, 21, 23-27, 31, 33-34, 36, 43-45, 51, 57-58, 62, 67, and 75 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 16 is allowable because it includes the limitation of a seatbelt retractor wherein the elastic components of the friction ring are out of contact with the set of pawls upon a predetermined stroke of the set of pawls away from the first pivot position in the radially-inward pivot direction, in combination with the other elements recited in claim 39. Dependent claims 18-19, 21, 23-27, 31, 33-34, and 36 are also distinguished from the prior art as they further limit claim 16 in a way that is not taught or suggested by the prior art.
Claim 43 is allowable because it includes the limitation of a one-way clutch wherein a third portion protrudes axially from the second portion, the third portion, as the contact portion, being configured as a cylindrical body having a cylindrical surface, in combination with the other elements recited in claim 49. Dependent claims 44-45, 51, 57-58, 62, and 67 are also distinguished from the prior art as they further limit claim 43 in a way that is not taught or suggested by the prior art.
Similarly, claim 75 is allowable because it includes the limitation of a one-way clutch wherein a third portion protrudes axially from the second portion, the third portion, as the contact portion, being configured as a cylindrical body having a cylindrical surface, in combination with the other elements recited in claim 75.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the elements of the device as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the device in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619