Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 12/21/2023 and 05/10/2024 and 12/24/2025 have been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C in the reply filed 12/24/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filled 12/24/2025, with respect to Election/Restriction Requirement dated 10/28/2025 has been fully considered, Claims 1-15 are withdrawn from further prosecution, and Claims 16-17 and 20-22 are prosecuted given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “114” has been used to designate both as “hard frame component” and “elastic component”, [0024], (Fig 1f), reference character “505” has been used to designate both as “gap” and “clip”, [0053], (Fig 5c), reference character “896” has been used in the drawings however specification does not mention it.
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the use of black shading, which is not permissible. See MPEP 608.02.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “114” has been used to designate both as “hard frame component” and “elastic component”, [0024], (Fig 1f), reference character “505” has been used to designate both as “gap” and “clip”, [0053], (Fig 5c), reference character “896” has been used in the drawings however specification does not mention it.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p) (5) because they do not include the reference sign “800” mentioned in the description, however drawings does not illustrate it [0077], (Fig 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 16-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barina et al (US 2013/0120926).
Regarding Claim 16, Barina (In Figs 1-2) discloses a system (10) comprising:
a cold plate (40, 140); and
a thermally conductive cooling structure (60), the thermally conductive cooling structure (61,62/64,65/66) to be in thermal contact with first memory chips (24) disposed on a face of a dual in line memory module (DIMM) (20), (Fig 2), the thermally conductive cooling structure (61,62/64,65/66) having a wing (61, 62/end portion of 64, 65) positioned at an end of the thermally conductive cooling structure (61,62/64,65/66), (Fig 2), the wing (61, 62/end portion of 64, 65) extending beyond an end of the DIMM (20), (Fig 2), the wing (61, 62/end portion of 64, 65) being wider along an axis that is perpendicular to the face of the DIMM (20) than a width of the thermally conductive cooling structure (61,62/64,65/66) within the ends of the DIMM (20), (Fig 2), the wing (61,62/64,65/66) is to be in thermal contact with the cold plate (40, 140), (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Barina discloses the limitations of Claim 16, however Barina (In Figs 1-2) further discloses wherein the thermally conductive cooling structure (61,62/64,65/66) includes a heat pipe (66) disposed in a thermally conductive housing (housing of 61, 62 accommodating 66), (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 20, Barina discloses the limitations of Claim 16, however Barina (In Figs 1-2) further discloses wherein the system (10) further including a clip (70) to press the DIMM (20) and the thermally conductive cooling structure (61,62/64,65/66) together (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 21, Barina discloses the limitations of Claim 17, however Barina (In Figs 1-2) further discloses wherein the wing (61, 62/end portion of 64, 65) is to be in thermal contact with the cold plate (40, 140), (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 22, Barina discloses the limitations of Claim 17, however Barina (In Figs 1-2) further discloses wherein the heat pipe (66) includes: a first surface; a second surface facing the first surface (Fig 2); and a third surface positioned between the first surface and the second surface (Fig 2), portions of the third surface extending in a direction from the first surface towards the second surface (Fig 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Liquid-Cooled Memory System Having One Cooling Pipe per Pair of DIMMs US 2013/0194745, Electronic Device US 2022/0117076, Liquid Coolant Conduit Secured in an Unused Socket for Memory Module Cooling US 20110286175, Conductive Heat Transport Cooling System and Method for a Muli-Component Electronics System US 2008/0084668. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835