Detailed Action
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application JP 2021108104 filed on 06/29/2021 The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application JP 2021108104 has been received. Filing Dates for the Claims — All Claims Not Entitled to Priority DateTo be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application JP 2021108104 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language foreign JP 2021108104 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The foreign application must adequately support the claimed subject matter, meaning satisfy the written description and enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. 37 C.F.R. 1.55(g)(3)(ii)-(iii). To demonstrate compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a), applicant should point to support for their claimed subject matter in their translations.
Response to Arguments: Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, lines 13-18, filed 5/15/2026, with respect to claim 3 and 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 3 has been withdrawn in regard to 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et. al (JP 3783299) hereinafter referred to as Sasaki.
Examiner’s note: This is included in the supplied foreign references under JPH10112624. Paragraph numbers are from enclosed PDF version.
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki teaches a lid assembly (Sasaki, Fig. 2) comprising: a frame body having an opening (Sasaki, 10, Fig. 2, para. 15, see figure below); a sheet attached to the frame body so as to close the opening of the frame body (Sasaki, 14, Fig. 2, para. 15, protective film 14 is disposed on top of the remnants of photosensitive resin film 12, which is processed to form the lids 16, but is still attached to the frame body through the remnants of 12 ); and a plurality of lids (Sasaki, 16, Fig. 2, para. 15) located inside the opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the sheet.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyooka et. al. (US Pub. 20110293874), hereinafter referred to as Toyooka.
Regarding claim 1, Toyooka teaches a wiring board assembly (Toyooka, 100, Fig. 18, para. 114) comprising: a frame body (Toyooka, 50, Fig. 18, para. 112) having an opening (Toyooka, 50’, Fig. 18, para. 112); a sheet attached to the frame body so as to close the opening of the frame body (Toyooka, 20A, Fig. 18, para. 85, 112); and a wiring board located inside the opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the sheet (Toyooka, 10’, Fig. 18), wherein the wiring board includes an insulating substrate containing ceramics (Toyooka, 10, Fig. 1a, 18, para. 66) and a wiring conductor (Toyooka, 19, Fig. 1(a), para. 66).
The arrangement of Toyooka, Fig. 18 does not explicitly teach and a plurality of wiring boards located inside the opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the sheet.
However, Toyooka teaches that additional modifications and other alternative embodiments are possible without departing from the scope of the present invention (Toyooka, para. 115). Additionally, Toyooka teaches a methods of production wherein there are a plurality of wiring boards located in a plan view without the frame body (Toyooka, Fig. 5, Fig. 16). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the frame body of Figs. 7 and 18 with the open arrangement of Figs. 5 and 16 to take advantage of the reinforcing effect of the tile arrangement (Toyooka, para. 110).
Claims 3, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Toyooka in view of Sasaki.
Regarding claim 3, Toyooka teaches a wiring board assembly (Toyooka, 100, Fig. 18, para. 114) comprising: a first frame body (Toyooka, 50, Fig. 18, para. 112) having a first opening (Toyooka, 50’, Fig. 18, para. 112); a first sheet attached to the first frame body so as to close the first opening of the first frame body (Toyooka, 20A, Fig. 18, para. 85, 112); and a wiring board located inside the first opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the first sheet (Toyooka, 10’, Fig. 18), wherein the wiring board includes an insulating substrate containing ceramics (Toyooka, 10, Fig. 1a, 18, para. 66) and a wiring conductor (Toyooka, 19, Fig. 1(a), para. 66).
The arrangement of Toyooka, Fig. 18 does not explicitly teach and a plurality of wiring boards located inside the first opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the first sheet, nor does it teach a lid assembly comprising: a second frame body having a second opening; a second sheet attached to the second frame body so as to close the second opening of the second frame body; and a plurality of lids located inside the second opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the second sheet, wherein the plurality of lids are located on the one surface of the second sheet in correspondence with the plurality of wiring boards.
However, Toyooka teaches that additional modifications and other alternative embodiments are possible without departing from the scope of the present invention (Toyooka, para. 115). Additionally, Toyooka teaches a methods of production wherein there are a plurality of wiring boards located in a plan view without the frame body (Toyooka, Fig. 5, Fig. 16). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the frame body of Figs. 7 and 18 with the open arrangement of Figs. 5 and 16 to take advantage of the reinforcing effect of the tile arrangement (Toyooka, para. 110).
Additionally, Sasaki teaches a lid assembly (Sasaki, Fig. 2) comprising: a frame body having an opening (Sasaki, 10, Fig. 2, para. 15, see figure below); a sheet attached to the frame body so as to close the opening of the frame body (Sasaki, 14, Fig. 2, para. 15, protective film 14 is disposed on top of the remnants of photosensitive resin film 12, which is processed to form the lids 16, but is still attached to the frame body through the remnants of 12 ); and a plurality of lids (Sasaki, 16, Fig. 2, para. 15) located inside the opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the sheet.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Toyooka and Sasaki to create a package set for creating reliable electronic components (Sasaki, para. 6).
Regarding claim 8, modified Toyooka teaches the package set according to claim 3, wherein the first frame body and the plurality of wiring boards are located on an identical surface of the first sheet (Toyooka, Fig. 5, 7, 16, 18), and the second frame body and the plurality of lids are located on an identical surface of the second sheet (Sasaki, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 9, modified Toyooka teaches the package set according to claim 3, wherein the first frame body of at least one of the first or second sheets is located on a surface opposite to the plurality of wiring boards or the plurality of lids (see diagram below).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyooka and Sasaki as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Watanabe et. al. (US Pub 20150287660), hereinafter referred to as Watanabe.
Regarding claim 4, modified Toyooka teaches the package set according to claim 3, but does not teach wherein an adhesive strength of the sheet of the wiring board assembly with respect to the plurality of wiring boards is different from an adhesive strength of the sheet of the lid assembly with respect to the plurality of lids.
However, Watanabe teaches a system wherein an adhesive strength of the substrate (Watanabe, 12, Fig. 4) with respect to the integrated circuits (Watanabe, 13, Fig. 4) is different than the adhesive strength of the first sheet member (Watanabe, 18, Fig. 4, paras. 46-54). While Watanabe does not state the adhesive strength of the substrate, the adhesive strength of the first sheet member is able to remove the integrated circuits from the substrate and is therefore stronger.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Toyooka and Sasaki with the teaching of Watanabe to create adhesive sheets with different adhesive strengths to allow for selective peeling (Watanabe, paras. 40-41, 53-54).
Regarding claim 5, modified Toyooka teaches the package set according to claim 3, wherein at least one of the first sheet assembly and the second sheet is a UV release sheet or a thermal release sheet (Watanabe, para. 54, As the first sheet member, a UV (ultraviolet) peeling film, a thermal peeling film, or the like can be used in addition to the foregoing materials. The UV peeling film is prepared by forming an adhesive layer made from a resin material which loses its adhesive force by UV irradiation over the base film. The thermal peeling film is prepared by forming an adhesive layer made from a resin material which loses its adhesive force by heat over the base film.)
Regarding claim 6, modified Toyooka teaches the package set according to claim 4, wherein a sheet having a higher adhesive strength among the first sheet and the second sheet is a UV release sheet or a thermal release sheet (Watanabe, para. 54)
Regarding claim 7, modified Toyooka teaches the package set according to claim 3, wherein the second sheet is a thermal release sheet (Watanabe, para. 54, the first sheet member (18, Fig. 4) of Watanabe is the second sheet, with the substrate (12, Fig 4) acting as the first sheet).
Claim(s) 13-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyooka, Sasaki and Watanabe.
Regarding claim 13, Toyooka teaches a method for manufacturing an electronic component, the method comprising: preparing a wiring board assembly (Toyooka, 100’, Fig. 18) comprising a first frame body (Toyooka, 50, Fig. 18, para. 112), having a first opening (Toyooka, 50’, Fig. 18, para. 112), a first sheet attached to the first frame body so as to close the first opening of the first frame body (Toyooka, 20A, Fig. 18, para. 85, 112), and a wiring board located inside the first opening (Toyooka, 10’ Fig. 18, para 111-114) and adhered to one surface of the first sheet.
The arrangement of Toyooka, Fig. 18 does not explicitly teach a plurality of wiring boards located inside the opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the sheet, nor does it teach mounting each of a plurality of electronic elements on a respective wiring board of the plurality of wiring boards of the wiring board assembly; sealing the plurality of electronic elements; and peeling off the plurality of wiring boards from the first sheet.
However, Toyooka teaches that additional modifications and other alternative embodiments are possible without departing from the scope of the present invention (Toyooka, para. 115). Additionally, Toyooka teaches a methods of production wherein there are a plurality of wiring boards located in a plan view without the frame body (Toyooka, Fig. 5, Fig. 16). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the frame body of Figs. 7 and 18 with the open arrangement of Figs. 5 and 16 to take advantage of the reinforcing effect of the tile arrangement (Toyooka, para. 110).
Additionally, Sasaki teaches mounting each of a plurality of electronic elements on a respective wiring board of the plurality of wiring boards of the wiring board assembly (Sasaki, Fig 2) and sealing the plurality of electronic elements (Sasaki, Fig 2, para. 15-17, see diagram below).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Toyooka and Sasaki to create a package set for creating reliable electronic components (Sasaki, para. 6).
Neither Sasaki nor Toyooka teach and peeling off the plurality of wiring boards from the first sheet.
However, Watanabe teaches a method of peeling integrated circuits (Watanabe, 13, Fig. 4) from the substrate (Watanabe, 12, Fig. 4) using a first sheet member (Watanabe, 18, Fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Toyooka, Sasaki and Watanabe to create a manufacturing process using peeling and package sets to increase the efficiency of component sealing and manufacturing yields.
Regarding claim 14, Toyooka teaches a method for manufacturing an electronic component, the method comprising: : preparing a wiring board assembly (Toyooka, 100’, Fig. 18) comprising a first frame body (Toyooka, 50, Fig. 18, para. 112), having a first opening (Toyooka, 50’, Fig. 18, para. 112) a first sheet attached to the first frame body so as to close the first opening of the first frame body (Toyooka, 20A, Fig. 18, para. 85, 112, and a wiring board (Toyooka, 10’ Fig. 18, para 111-114) located inside the first opening and adhered to one surface of the first sheet.
The arrangement of Toyooka, Fig. 18 does not explicitly teach a plurality of wiring boards located inside the opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the sheet, nor does it teach, preparing a lid assembly comprising a second frame body having a second opening, a second sheet attached to the second frame body so as to close the second opening of the second frame body, and a plurality of lids located inside the second opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the second sheet mounting each of a plurality of electronic elements on a respective wiring board of the plurality of wiring boards of the wiring board assembly; overlapping the lid assembly on the wiring board assembly, the plurality of lids of the lid assembly being opposite to the plurality of wiring boards on which the plurality of electronic elements are mounted; sealing the electronic elements by bonding the plurality of lids to the plurality of wiring boards; peeling off the plurality of wiring boards from the first sheet; and peeling off the plurality of lids from the second sheet.
However, Toyooka teaches that additional modifications and other alternative embodiments are possible without departing from the scope of the present invention (Toyooka, para. 115). Additionally, Toyooka teaches a methods of production wherein there are a plurality of wiring boards located in a plan view without the frame body (Toyooka, Fig. 5, Fig. 16). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the frame body of Figs. 7 and 18 with the open arrangement of Figs. 5 and 16 to take advantage of the reinforcing effect of the tile arrangement (Toyooka, para. 110).
Additionally, Sasaki teaches preparing a lid assembly comprising a second frame body (Sasaki, 10, Fig 2, Fig. 15) having a second opening, a second sheet (Sasaki, 14, Fig. 2, para. 15) attached to the second frame body so as to close the second opening of the second frame body, and a plurality of lids located inside the second opening in a plan view and arranged and adhered to one surface of the second sheet (Sasaki, 16, Fig. 2, para. 15); mounting each of a plurality of electronic elements on a respective wiring board of the plurality of wiring boards of the wiring board assembly (Sasaki, Fig.2, see diagram above); overlapping the lid assembly on the wiring board assembly, the plurality of lids of the lid assembly being opposite to the plurality of wiring boards on which the plurality of electronic elements are mounted (Sasaki Fig. 2, see diagram above); sealing the electronic elements by bonding the plurality of lids to the plurality of wiring boards (Sasaki, Fig. 2, para. 15-17, see diagram above).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Toyooka and Sasaki to create a package set for creating reliable electronic components (Sasaki, para. 6).
Neither Toyooka, nor Sasaki does not teach peeling off the plurality of wiring boards from the first sheet; and peeling off the plurality of lids from the second sheet.
However, Watanabe teaches a method of peeling integrated circuits (Watanabe, 13, Fig 4) from the substrate (Watanabe, 12, Fig. 4) using a first sheet member (Watanabe, 18, Fig. 4, para. 46). Additionally, Watanabe teaches peeling off the first sheet member from the IC onto a second sheet member (Watanabe, 19, Fig. 4, para. 46) that will form part of the seal.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Toyooka, Sasaki and Watanabe to create a manufacturing process using peeling and package sets to increase the efficiency of component sealing and manufacturing yields (Watanabe, para. 10).
Regarding claim 15, modified Toyooka teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the second sheet is a UV release sheet having a higher adhesive strength than the first sheet (Watanabe para. 54), and the method further comprises peeling off the plurality of lids from the second sheet by radiating UV after the plurality of wiring boards are peeled off from the first sheet (Watanabe, para. 54).
Regarding claim 18, modified Toyooka teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein in the sealing of the plurality of electronic elements, the plurality of electronic elements and the plurality of wiring boards are collectively covered with a resin to seal the plurality of electronic elements (Watanabe, para. 59), and the method further comprises cutting the resin around the plurality of wiring boards (Watanabe, 46, Fig. 4, para. 79).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyooka and Sasaki as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Glenn et. al (US Patent 5981314), hereinafter referred to as Glenn.
Regarding claim 10, modified Toyooka teaches the package set according to claim 3, but does not teach wherein the first frame body and the second frame body each comprise an alignment portion configured to align a position of the wiring board assembly to a position of the lid assembly.
However, Glenn teaches a method of using alignment lines to clarify where each individual package is to be formed (Glenn, 56, 58, Fig. 3A).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the teachings of Toyooka, Sasaki and Watanabe with the alignment lines of Glenn to ensure that the lids align properly with their matching component thereby reducing handling cost and substrate waste, and reducing the cost of fabricating each individual package (Glenn, Col. 1, lines 65-67).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyooka and Sasaki as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Katayama et. al (US Pub. 20140091348), hereinafter referred to as Katayama.
Regarding claim 11, modified Toyooka teaches the package set according to claim 3, but does not teach, wherein any one of the first or second sheets comprises a hole at a position corresponding to each of the plurality of wiring boards or each of the plurality of lids.
However, Katayama teaches a package wherein each semiconductor element (Katayama, 26, Fig. 2(e)) has a through hole (Katayama, 21 Fig. 2(e)) corresponding to it through the support board (Katayama, 3 Fig 2(e)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Toyooka and Sasaki with the through hole of Katayama to create through holes in the sheet material to aid in peeling the packages from the sheet (Katayama, para. 234-243).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyooka and Sasaki as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Shin etal (US Pub. 20030100142), hereinafter referred to as Shin.
Regarding claim 12, modified Toyooka teaches the package set according to claim 3, but does not teach wherein the first frame body comprises a notch or a through hole configured to expose a peripheral edge of the sheet.
However, Shin teaches vertically perforated slot (Shin, 111, Fig. 15G) which is used to allow a punch (Shin, 150, Fig. 15G) to strip off one side of cover lay tape (Shin, 120, Fig. 15G, para. 105).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Toyooka and Sasaki to create c package set wherein the first frame body comprised a notch to allow for easy removal of the sheet (Shin, para. 105).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyooka, Sasaki and Watanabe as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Katayama.
Regarding claim 16, modified Toyooka teaches the method according to claim 14, but does not teach wherein the first sheet or the second sheet comprises a hole at a position corresponding to each of the plurality of wiring boards or each of the plurality of lids, and the method further comprises peeling off the plurality of wiring boards or the plurality of lids from the first sheet or the second sheet by inserting a jig into the hole and pressing the plurality of wiring boards or the plurality of lids.
However, Katayama teaches a package wherein each semiconductor element (Katayama, 26, Fig. 2(e)) has a through hole (Katayama, 21 Fig. 2(e)) corresponding to it through the support board (Katayama, 3 Fig 2(e)) where a pressing member (Katayama, 14, Fig. 2(e)) presses through the through hole to peel off the LED’s (Katayama, 10, Fig. 2(e), para. 234-243)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Toyooka, Sasaki, and Watanabe with the through hole and pressing member of Katayama in order to efficiently peel the individual components from the adhesive layer (Katayama, para. 234-243).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyooka, Sasaki and Watanabe as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Shin.
Regarding claim 17, modified Toyooka teaches the method of claim 14, but does not teach wherein the first frame body or the second frame body comprises a notch or a through hole at a peripheral edge and the first sheet or the second sheet is adhered to the first frame body or the second frame body, the first sheet or the second sheet being exposed from the notch or the through hole, and the method further comprises peeling off the first sheet or the second sheet from the first frame body or the second frame body by gripping the first sheet or the second sheet from the notch or the through hole after the plurality of wiring boards or the plurality of lids are peeled off from the first sheet or the second sheet.
However, Shin teaches vertically perforated slot (Shin, 111, Fig. 15G) which is used to allow a punch (Shin, 150, Fig. 15G) to strip off one side of cover lay tape (Shin, 120, Fig. 15G, para. 105).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Toyooka, Sasaki, and Watanabe with the teachings of Shin to create a notch or hole through the frame body to allow the sheet to be removed prior to singulating the individual components, thus improving process efficiency and reducing cost (Shin, para 105).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIERAN M. CUNNINGHAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893