DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to claims filed on 03/10/26.
Claims 1-11 are presented for examination.
Claims 4-5 & 7 are currently amended.
Claims 12-13 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/10/26, regarding a specification objection (abstract) has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the specification has been withdrawn.
7. Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/10/26, regarding a claim objection (4-5, 7 & 12) has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the claim objection has been withdrawn.
8. Applicant's amendment filed on 03/10/26, regarding a 101 rejection (Claim 12) has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
9. Applicant's arguments and amendment filed on 03/10/26, regarding a 103 rejection (Claims 1-11) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as set forth below.
10. Regarding to claim 1 : The Applicant’s arguments on Page 7 states, “….the combination of OPPO and ZTE fails to teach at least “determining whether SL discontinuous reception (DRX) is to be applied for the SL communication or not at least based on multiple associated transmitter (TX) profiles, at least one of the multiple associated TX profiles being mapped to a feature or a feature group”
11. The examiner respectfully disagrees with arguments since OPPO clearly disclose determine whether sidelink (SL) (See FIG. 2; SL link establishment) discontinuous reception (DRX) is to be applied for the SL communication or not at least based on associated transmitter (TX) profile (See Section 3.2; if the profile for a specific service indicates Rel-17, then the UE shall use Rel-17 compatible format, i.e., considers this transmission/reception is DRX enabled UE (with UE). if the profile for a specific service indicates Rel-16, then the UE shall use Rel-16 compatible format, i.e., considers this transmission/reception is DRX disabled (without) UE)), and
perform the SL communication with or without the SL DRX applied at least based on the determination of whether the SL DRX is to be used for the SL communication or not (See Section 3.2; if the profile for a specific service indicates Rel-17, then the UE shall use Rel-17 compatible format, i.e., considers this transmission/reception is DRX enabled UE (with UE). if the profile for a specific service indicates Rel-16, then the UE shall use Rel-16 compatible format, i.e., considers this transmission/reception is DRX disabled (without) UE)).
OPPO does not explicitly discloses multiple TX profiles and at least one of the multiple associated TX profiles being mapped to a feature or a feature group.
However, ZTE from the same field of endeavor discloses multiple TX profiles (See Observation 3; For RRC idle or inactive UE, the network may configure multiple SL DRX cycle and mapping relationship between different QoS profile and SL DRX cycle) and at least one of the multiple associated TX profiles being mapped to a feature or a feature group (See Section 1-3; For a groupcast and broadcast, since there is no PC5-RRC signaling between Tx UE and Rx UE. The UE acquire a common SL DRX configuration for SL groupcast and broadcast via the network (in coverage) or pre configuration (out of coverage). For example, the network can consider to configure multiple SL DRX configurations and mapping relationship between different QoS profile and SL DRX configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiple TX profiles and at least one of the multiple associated TX profiles being mapped to a feature or a feature group as taught by ZTE in the system of OPPO ,would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
12. Accordingly, amended claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 103 rejection (OPPO in view of ZTE) for at least the above rejection.
13. Independent claim 11 recite similar elements as independent claim 1.
14. Since the dependent claims (2-10) depend, either directly or indirectly, from applicant’s amended independent claims 1 & 11 are rejected under 35 USC 103 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1, 6-8 & 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OPPO et al. (hereinafter referred as OPPO) NPL Document, “Discussion on DRX configuration and DRX timers” 05/11/2021 (as disclosed in the IDS), in view of ZTE et al. (hereinafter referred as ZTE) NPL Document, “Discussion on Principle for sidelink DRX” Jan 25th – Feb 5th 2021 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claims 1 & 11: OPPO discloses a user equipment (UE) (See section 3.2; TX UE)/method, comprising:
a processor (See section 3.2; TX UE is equipped with a CPU/Controller/Processor); a memory (See section 3.2; TX UE is equipped with a memory/storage) storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
determine whether sidelink (SL) (See FIG. 2; SL link establishment) discontinuous reception (DRX) is to be applied for the SL communication or not at least based on associated transmitter (TX) profiles (See Section 3.2; if the profile for a specific service indicates Rel-17, then the UE shall use Rel-17 compatible format, i.e., considers this transmission/reception is DRX enabled UE (with UE). if the profile for a specific service indicates Rel-16, then the UE shall use Rel-16 compatible format, i.e., considers this transmission/reception is DRX disabled (without) UE)), and
perform the SL communication with or without the SL DRX applied at least based on the determination of whether the SL DRX is to be used for the SL communication or not (See Section 3.2; if the profile for a specific service indicates Rel-17, then the UE shall use Rel-17 compatible format, i.e., considers this transmission/reception is DRX enabled UE (with UE). if the profile for a specific service indicates Rel-16, then the UE shall use Rel-16 compatible format, i.e., considers this transmission/reception is DRX disabled (without) UE)).
OPPO does not explicitly disclose at least one of the multiple associated TX profiles being mapped to a feature or a feature group.
However, ZTE from the same field of endeavor discloses determine whether sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) is to be applied for the SL communication or not at least based on multiple associated transmitter (TX) profiles and at least one of the multiple associated TX profiles being mapped to a feature or a feature group (corresponds to SL DRX configuration) (See Section 1-3; For a groupcast and broadcast, since there is no PC5-RRC signaling between Tx UE and Rx UE. The UE acquire a common SL DRX configuration for SL groupcast and broadcast via the network (in coverage) or pre configuration (out of coverage). For example, the network can consider to configure multiple SL DRX configurations and mapping relationship between different QoS profile and SL DRX configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one of the multiple associated TX profiles being mapped to a feature or a feature group as taught by ZTE in the system of OPPO ,would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 6: The combination of OPPO and ZTE disclose a method.
Furthermore, OPPO discloses a method, wherein the SL communication is SL groupcast communication or SL broadcast communication (See page 5; proposal 13; SL groupcast and broadcast).
Regarding claim 7: The combination of OPPO and ZTE disclose a method.
Furthermore, OPPO discloses a method, wherein each of the multiple associated TX profiles indicates at least one of: one or more service types (See Section 3.2; service types).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of OPPO and ZTE disclose a method.
Furthermore, OPPO discloses a method, wherein a service type of the SL communication is mapped to at least one of the multiple TX profiles (See Section 3.2; the mapping of services types and Tx profiles).
Regarding claim 10: The combination of OPPO and ZTE disclose a method.
Furthermore, OPPO discloses a method, wherein the multiple associated TX profiles comprises at least one of: one or more TX profiles that are received by the UE from a network node for the D2D communication (See Section 2.2; For groupcast and broadcast, common SL DRX configuration can be configured per QoS profile via the network (in coverage UE) or pre-configuration (out of coverage UE)).
17. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OPPO, in view of ZTE, further in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter referred as Li) US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0070965 A1.
Regarding claim 9: The combination of OPPO and ZTE disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the service type is at least one of: Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X).
However, LI from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the service type is at least one of: Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) (See Para. 0049; V2X services).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the service type is at least one of: Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) as taught by LI in the combined system of ZTE and OPPO to provide advantages that include improved feedback signaling (See Para. 0006; lines 4-5
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
19. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Kim et al. 2022/0022279 A1 (Title: Low power operation method for terminal supporting…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. PAN et al. 2021/0227620 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for configuring sidelink discontinuous reception in a wireless…) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. PAN et al. 2021/0227621 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for configuring sidelink discontinuous reception in a wireless (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
20. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469