DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordhoff et al (US 2005/0222459) in view of Nishio et al (JP 2004315456), an English computer translation (CT) is provided.
Nordhoff et al teaches a purification apparatus for purifying a compound, the purification apparatus comprising: a tank for use in the purification apparatus ([0060], [0160] teaches a stirred tank reactor); and a hydraulic wash column ([0010], [0061], [0146], [0173], [0182], [0192], [0202], [0214], [0222], [0231]) , the tank (suspension generator) being at least one of a crystallization tank that forms a slurry containing crystals of a compound or a ripening tank that is capable of keeping crystals of a compound suspended in the ripening tank, the tank comprising an agitator (See Fig 1-5, [0060], [0160], [0167]-[0285]) teaches a stirred tank crystallizer/reactor). Nordhoff et al also teaches the purification apparatus further comprising: a line for discharging the slurry containing crystals of a compound from the tank and feeding the slurry to the hydraulic wash column (feed line from suspension generator to the wash column); and a line for flowing in the tank at least one of a mother liquor derived from the slurry fed to the hydraulic wash column, the slurry containing crystals of a compound, or a melt obtained by melting the crystals (suspension generator (tank) with feed line to wash column, a mother liquor from the wash column returned to the suspension generator (See Fig 1-5; [0167]-[0285]).
Nordhoff et al teaches a stirred tank reactor. However, Nordhoff et al does not explicitly teach the tank comprising an agitator having an agitator shaft and a bearing; and a line for between the agitator shaft and the bearing.
In an apparatus for crystallization, Nishio et al teaches crystallization tanks ½ equipped with agitator shafts 3/4 rotated by a motor, and bearings 5/6 at the bottom of the tanks for supporting the agitator shafts 3/4; each of the crystallization tanks 1/2 has a slurry withdrawal line fitted with a control valve 10 for maintaining a constant liquid level in the crystallization tank; and a liquid is also supplied to the stirring bearing 5 from the liquid supply line 8 (CT pg 7-8 Fig 1), which clearly suggests a tank comprising an agitator shaft and bearing with a line between the shaft and bearing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Nordoff et al by using the stirred tank reactor taught by Nishio et al comprising an agitator having an agitator shaft and a bearing; and a line for between the agitator shaft and the bearing, to stir the content of the reactor using a conventionally known stirred tank reactor.
Referring to claims 2 and 5, see the remarks above. The combination of Nordoff et al and Nishio et al teaches feeding a slurry from the suspension generator tank to the hydraulic wash column and returning a mother liquor from the wash column to the suspension tank generator, wherein the suspension tank generator having an agitator shaft and bearing with a liquid supply line.
Referring to claim 3, the combination of Nordoff et al and Nishio et al teaches (meth)acrylic acid. (Nordoff [0267]-[0275]).
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Nordoff et al and Nishio et al teaches propane, isobutene, isobutane, tert.-butanol, iso-butyraldehyde, methacrolein ([0110]-[0111]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the prior art does not teach a line for flowing between the agitator and the bearing in the tank at least one of a mother liquor derived from the slurry fed to the hydraulic wash column, the slurry containing crystals of a compound or a melt obtained by melting the crystals is noted but not found persuasive. The examiner has enlarged the portion of Fig 1 of JP 2004315456 which shows the fluid inlet to supply fluid to the area between the shaft and the bearing; therefore, meets the claimed limitation. It is noted that applicant’s Fig 4 includes additional features and possible limitations which would distinguish the Examiner’s interpretation of the prior art from applicant’s invention, such as having the shaft extend through the bearing and having gap, and providing a line for flowing between the gap formed by agitator and the bearing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714