DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 79-84, 86, and 98 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 79, 86, and 98 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kedalagudde et al. US (2021/0058784) in view of Ketharaju USP (11,367,356), further in view of Sato US (2019/0107402), further in view of Chun US (2020/0245235), and further in view of Golgiri et al. US (2022/0176999).
Regarding Claim 79, Kedalagudde discloses a method of operating a vehicle having wireless communications capability (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 502 & Para’s [0121] i.e., The UE 502 is communicatively coupled with the RAN 502 by a Uu interface, which may be applicable to both LTE and NR systems. Examples of the UE 502 include, but are not limited to…in-vehicle infotainment system (i.e., the UE 502 that functions as an in-vehicle infotainment system may be a vehicle node or vehicle UE) & [0288] i.e., Examples of wireless communication protocols that may be used in various embodiments include i.e., V2X communication technologies (including 3GPP C-V2X) the method comprising: communicating with a vehicle server (see Fig. 3 i.e., PS 220 which is a server for the vehicle UE may be a vehicle server & Para’s [0096], [0121], & [0288]) via a public communication network (see Para’s [0014] i.e., for access to SNPN services via a PLMN, [0042] i.e., To access SNPN services, a UE 502 that has successfully registered with a PLMN over 3GPP access may perform another registration via the PLMN user plane with an SNPN (using the credentials of that SNPN), [0086] i.e., UE 502 authorized to access a PS 220 via a configuration PDU session, [0092], & [0096]),
receiving, from the vehicle server (see Fig. 3 i.e., PS 220 which is a server for the vehicle UE may be a vehicle server & Para’s [0096], [0121], & [0288]), network information comprising a network identity of the NPN and a credential for the NPN (see Fig. 3 i.e., step D3 & Para [0096] i.e., the PS 220 provisions the UE’s subscription credentials for the SO-SNPN 230 and other configuration information into the UE 502 over the secure connection, [0071] i.e., the network/NPN credentials may include information that the UE 502 uses for authentication to access an NPN. NPN credentials may be 3GPP credentials (e.g., SUPI and associated key for Authentication and Key Agreement (AKA) & [0028] i.e., An SNPN-enabled UE (e.g., UE 502 of Fig. 5) is configured with subscriber identifier (SUPI) and credentials for each subscribed SNPN identified by the combination of PLMN ID and NID. A subscriber of an SNPN is either: identified by a SUPI containing a network-specific identifier that takes the form of a network access identifier (NAI)…the realm part of the NAI may include the NID of the SNPN)
searching for the NPN based on the received network identity; (see Fig. 3 i.e., step E & Para’s [0028] i.e., For automatic network selection, the UE 502 selects and attempts to register with the available SNPN identified by a PLMN ID and NID for which the UE 502 has SUPI and credentials & [0097] i.e., the UE will then perform SNPN selection and register to the appropriate SNPN as per received configuration and general SNPN selection procedures)
establishing a connecting to the NPN using the received credential (see Fig. 3 i.e., step F & Para [0099] i.e., the device initiates a regular procedure, including selection of an SO-SNPN 230. Registration using the provisioned credentials with the SO-SNPN 230 owning the subscription, and PDU session establishment(s))
While Kedalagudde discloses the vehicle server such as provisioning server PS 220 which communicates with the vehicle UE 502 using an established PDU session via the public communication network (see Fig. 3 i.e., PS 220 & Para’s [0042], [0086] i.e., UE 502 authorized to access a PS 220 via a configuration PDU session & [0092]), Kedalagudde does not disclose the claim feature of receiving a first vehicle service from the vehicle server, based on communication with the vehicle server via the public communication network. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ketharaju USP (11,367,356).
Ketharaju a vehicle (see Fig. 1 i.e., vehicle 102) receiving a first vehicle service from a vehicle server which is a provisioning server (see Fig. 1 i.e., Fleet management server 104) based on communication with the vehicle server via the public communication network (see Fig. 1 i.e., communication network 120). In light of the applicants specification US (2024/0373329), Para [0103] discloses the vehicle server 600 which may be the vehicle server 106 in Fig. 1 may provide one or more services to the vehicle in which the services (i.e., “first service”) can include any of: providing digital map data (including a route and/or destination of the vehicle, (Ketharaju, see Col. 1 lines 45-67 i.e., the fleet management server determines to provision a service for a vehicle based on telemetry data received from the vehicle & Col. 2 lines 40-65 i.e., the vehicle monitoring system may direct the vehicle to a service station (i.e., “destination”) within a current operation range of the vehicle, Col. 3 lines 35-49, Col. 4 lines 42-Col. 5 lines 1-18 i.e., The on-board communications platform 116 includes wireless network interfaces to enable communication with an external network 120 which facilitates communication between the vehicle 102 and the fleet management server…The external network 120 may be a collection of one or more networks including standard-based networks such as i.e., WiMAX (i.e., WiMAX may be a “public communication network”), Col. 10 lines 10-27 & lines 56-66 i.e., Based on the location of the vehicle 102, the fleet management server 104 directs the vehicle 102 to the vendor 106. In some examples, the fleet management server 104 provides the coordinates (i.e., coordinates may be a “first vehicle service” such as the destination of the vehicle) of the vendor 106 to a navigation system of the vehicle 102, via network 120, to facilitate a driver navigation to the vendor 106, Col. 11 lines 14-52 i.e., the fleet management server 104 provides the coordinates (i.e., “first vehicle service”) of the vendor 106 to a navigation system of the vehicle 102 to facilitate a driver navigating to the vendor 106,).
(Ketharaju suggests the fleet management server 104 based on telemetry data received from the vehicle, provides the coordinates information (i.e., “first vehicle service”) of the destination to the vehicle for directing the vehicle to the required destination for receiving a service necessary for the vehicle, (see Col. 2 lines 48-61 i.e., the services and/or maintenance may include, for example, parking Col. 3 lines 35-49 i.e., Specifically, the vehicle 102 and/or the fleet management server 104 determine that a service (e.g., a paid parking) or maintenance is necessary & Col. 10 lines 56-66 & Col. 11 lines 45-52)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the vehicle which communicates with the vehicle sever as disclosed in Kedalagudde to include receiving a first vehicle service from the vehicle server such as the fleet management server 104 as disclosed in the teachings of Ketharaju who discloses a vehicle receiving a first vehicle service (i.e., coordinates) from a vehicle server which is a provisioning server based on communication with the vehicle server via a public communication network, because the motivation lies in Ketharaju that the fleet management server 104 based on telemetry data received from the vehicle, provides the coordinates information (i.e., “first vehicle service”) of the destination to the vehicle for directing the vehicle to the required destination for receiving a service necessary for the vehicle.
While Ketharaju discloses receiving the first vehicle service from the vehicle server based on communication with the vehicle server via the WiMAX network (see Col. 4 lines 42-Col. 5 lines 1-18 & Col. 10 lines 56-66), the combination of Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju does not explicitly disclose the WiMAX network is a public communication network. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Sato US (2019/0107402).
Sato discloses a WiMAX network which is a public communication for communication between a vehicle 8 and a vehicle server 50 (see Para’s [0036] i.e., The destination guiding system 100 includes a road map server 50, and a navigation device 10 configured to communicate with the road map server 50 via a network N. The network N includes a public network provided by a telecommunications carrier such as a WiMAX network & [0037-0038] i.e., the road map server 50 (i.e., “vehicle server”) is an information processing apparatus for providing the latest road map to the navigation device 10).
(Sato suggests the vehicle 8 and the vehicle server 50 communicate via the WiMAX network (i.e., “public communication network”) in order for a navigation device 10 within the vehicle to receive the latest road map information from the vehicle server in order for the vehicle to be guided to an appropriate direction for successfully arriving to a required destination of the vehicle (see Para’s [0036-0038])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the WiMAX network used for the communication of the first vehicle service between the vehicle server and the vehicle as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju to be a public communication network such as the WiMAX public communication network used for communication between the vehicle 8 and the vehicle server 50 as disclosed in Sato because the motivation lies in Sato that the vehicle 8 and the vehicle server 50 communicate via the WiMAX network (i.e., “public communication network”) in order for a navigation device 10 within the vehicle to receive the latest road map information from the vehicle server in order for the vehicle to be guided to an appropriate direction for successfully arriving to a required destination of the vehicle.
While Kedalagudde discloses the UE 502 (i.e., “vehicle”) searching for the NPN based on the received network identity in order to establish the connection to the NPN (see Para’s [0028] & [0097]), the combination of Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, and further in view of Sato does not disclose the searching for the NPN is responsive to the vehicle entering the coverage area of the NPN. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chun US (2020/0245235).
Chun discloses a UE searching for an NPN is responsive to the UE entering the coverage area of the NPN (see Para [0559] i.e., the service provider additionally sets information on which region the NPN is valid, in the process of setting network information to the UE and the process of adding a setting for the NPN. Based on this, the UE searches for an NPN when entering or is located in the area)
(Chun suggests the UE searches for the NPN when entering or is located in the area of the NPN in order to receive communication service in the region where the NPN is located and in a region other than the NPN, the process of searching for the NPN network may increase battery consumption of the UE, (see Para’s [0559-0560])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE 502 searching for the NPN based on the received network identity in order to establish the connection to the NPN as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, and further in view of Sato to search for the NPN responsive to the UE entering the coverage area of the NPN as disclosed in the teachings of Chun, because the motivation lies in Chun that the UE searches for the NPN when entering or is located in the area of the NPN in order to receive communication service in the region where the NPN is located and in a region other than the NPN, the process of searching for the NPN network may increase battery consumption of the UE, thus saving battery consumption by searching for the NPN when entering its area.
While Kedalagudde discloses the UE accessing a service via the NPN (see Para [0014] & [0042]), the combination of Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, and further in view of Chun does not disclose the claim features of with respect to a second vehicle service that is distinct from the first vehicle service and provided through a non-public network (NPN) in a coverage area of the NPN and accessing the second vehicle service using the established connection to the NPN. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Golgiri et al. US (2022/0176999).
Golgiri discloses with respect to a second vehicle service that is distinct from the first vehicle service and provided through a non-public network (NPN) in a coverage area of the NPN (see Fig. 1 i.e. NPN such as network 150 & Para’s [0011] i.e., the vehicle controller may transition to a power-up state at a scheduled time to execute an autonomous operation in accordance with a directive, [0014-0017], [0019] i.e., the vehicle controller 110 can utilize the wireless communication system to communicate with a cloud-based device 140 (a server computer) via a communications network 150 which may include any one network such as i.e., private networks (“NPN”), Wi-Fi direct (i.e., “NPN”)…At least one portion of the communications network 150 includes a wireless communication link that allows the cloud-based device 140 to communicate with one or more the wireless communication nodes 130a-d on the autonomous vehicle 115. The cloud-based device 140 may communicate with the vehicle controller 110 for various purposes such as, for example, to convey a directive received from the individual 125 via the user device 120. The directive can be any various actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle 115, such as, for example, a summons to pick up the individual 125 at a designated location (i.e., may be a second vehicle service provided via the network 150 (i.e., “NPN”) such as autonomous operations of the vehicle which is distinct from the first service), [0021-0024] i.e., directive sent from the user device to the vehicle via network 150 (i.e., NPN) in order for the vehicle to perform autonomous actions by the autonomous vehicle 115 may be “a second vehicle service” provided via the network 150 (i.e., “NPN”) distinct from the first service, [0029] i.e., directive to the vehicle controller 110 to self-park the autonomous vehicle 115 in the parking garage. Upon entering the parking garage, the autonomous vehicle 115 may have searched for a vacant parking spot and self-parked in the parking spot 315 (i.e., self-parking may be a second vehicle service provided through network 150 (i.e., “NPN”), [0028-0033] i.e., the WiFi communication system 230 may be operated by the vehicle controller 110 to communicate with the cloud-based device 140 in order to receive a directive from the smartphone of the individual, & [0045-0050])
and accessing the second vehicle service using the established connection to the NPN (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 & Para’s [0017], [0019-0024], [0029-0033], & [0045-0050]).
(Golgiri suggests the vehicle communicates with the vehicle server via the NPN for accessing the second vehicle service such as autonomous actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle 115, such as, for example, a summons to pick up the individual at a designated location for managing the autonomous actions of the autonomous vehicle and user convenience (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 & Para’s [0017], [0019-0024], [0029-0033], & [0045-0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the services accessed by the UE (i.e., “vehicle”) via the NPN as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, and further in view of Chun to include second vehicle service that is distinct from the first vehicle service and provided through a non-public network (NPN) in a coverage area of the NPN accessed by the vehicle as disclosed in the teachings of Golgiri, because the motivation lies in Golgiri that the vehicle communicates with the vehicle server via the NPN for accessing the second vehicle service such as autonomous actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle 115, such as, for example, a summons to pick up the individual at a designated location for managing the autonomous actions of the autonomous vehicle and user convenience.
Regarding Claim 86, the combination of Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, and further in view of Chun discloses the method as claimed in claim 79, but does not disclose wherein the second vehicle service is a service for provision of digital map data, autonomous parking of the vehicle, or autonomous driving of the vehicle. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Golgiri et al. US (2022/0176999).
Golgiri discloses wherein the second vehicle service is a service for autonomous parking of the vehicle, or autonomous driving of the vehicle (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 & Para’s [0017] i.e., self-parking, [0019-0024] i.e., summon for the autonomous vehicle 115 to pick up the individual (i.e., “autonomous driving”), [0029-0033] i.e., directive to the vehicle controller 110 to self-park the autonomous vehicle 115 in the parking garage, & [0045-0050])).
(Golgiri suggests the vehicle communicates with the vehicle server via the NPN for accessing the second vehicle service such as autonomous actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle 115, such as, for example, a summons to pick up the individual at a designated location for managing the autonomous actions of the autonomous vehicle and user convenience (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 & Para’s [0017], [0019-0024], [0029-0033], & [0045-0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the services accessed by the UE (i.e., “vehicle”) via the NPN as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, and further in view of Chun to include the second vehicle service such as autonomous parking of the vehicle or autonomous driving of the vehicle, provided through a non-public network (NPN) in a coverage area of the NPN accessed by the vehicle as disclosed in the teachings of Golgiri, because the motivation lies in Golgiri that the vehicle communicates with the vehicle server via the NPN for accessing the second vehicle service such as autonomous actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle 115, such as, for example, a summons to pick up the individual at a designated location for managing the autonomous actions of the autonomous vehicle and user convenience.
Regarding Claim 98, Kedalagudde discloses a vehicle (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 502 & Para’s [0121] i.e., The UE 502 is communicatively coupled with the RAN 502 by a Uu interface, which may be applicable to both LTE and NR systems. Examples of the UE 502 include, but are not limited to…in-vehicle infotainment system (i.e., the UE 502 that functions as an in-vehicle infotainment system may be a vehicle node or vehicle UE) & [0288] i.e., Examples of wireless communication protocols that may be used in various embodiments include i.e., V2X communication technologies (including 3GPP C-V2X) configured to connect to a public communication network (see Para’s [0014] i.e., for access to SNPN services via a PLMN & [0042] i.e., To access SNPN services, a UE 502 that has successfully registered with a PLMN over 3GPP access may perform another registration via the PLMN user plane with an SNPN (using the credentials of that SNPN)), the vehicle comprising: at least one processor (see Fig. 11 i.e., processors 1112 & Para’s [0194-0195]); and a memory (see Fig. 11 i.e., memory 1120 & Para [0196]) containing program code (see Para [0198]), wherein execution of the program code by the at least one processor (see Para [0198]) causes the vehicle to: communicating with a vehicle server (see Fig. 3 i.e., PS 220 which is a server for the vehicle UE may be a vehicle server & Para’s [0096], [0121], & [0288]) via a public communication network (see Para’s [0014] i.e., for access to SNPN services via a PLMN, [0042] i.e., To access SNPN services, a UE 502 that has successfully registered with a PLMN over 3GPP access may perform another registration via the PLMN user plane with an SNPN (using the credentials of that SNPN), [0086] i.e., UE 502 authorized to access a PS 220 via a configuration PDU session, [0092], & [0096]),
receiving, from the vehicle server (see Fig. 3 i.e., PS 220 which is a server for the vehicle UE may be a vehicle server & Para’s [0096], [0121], & [0288]), network information comprising a network identity of the NPN and a credential for the NPN (see Fig. 3 i.e., step D3 & Para [0096] i.e., the PS 220 provisions the UE’s subscription credentials for the SO-SNPN 230 and other configuration information into the UE 502 over the secure connection, [0071] i.e., the network/NPN credentials may include information that the UE 502 uses for authentication to access an NPN. NPN credentials may be 3GPP credentials (e.g., SUPI and associated key for Authentication and Key Agreement (AKA) & [0028] i.e., An SNPN-enabled UE (e.g., UE 502 of Fig. 5) is configured with subscriber identifier (SUPI) and credentials for each subscribed SNPN identified by the combination of PLMN ID and NID. A subscriber of an SNPN is either: identified by a SUPI containing a network-specific identifier that takes the form of a network access identifier (NAI)…the realm part of the NAI may include the NID of the SNPN)
searching for the NPN based on the received network identity; (see Fig. 3 i.e., step E & Para’s [0028] i.e., For automatic network selection, the UE 502 selects and attempts to register with the available SNPN identified by a PLMN ID and NID for which the UE 502 has SUPI and credentials & [0097] i.e., the UE will then perform SNPN selection and register to the appropriate SNPN as per received configuration and general SNPN selection procedures)
establishing a connecting to the NPN using the received credential (see Fig. 3 i.e., step F & Para [0099] i.e., the device initiates a regular procedure, including selection of an SO-SNPN 230. Registration using the provisioned credentials with the SO-SNPN 230 owning the subscription, and PDU session establishment(s))
While Kedalagudde discloses the vehicle server such as provisioning server PS 220 which communicates with the vehicle UE 502 using an established PDU session via the public communication network (see Fig. 3 i.e., PS 220 & Para’s [0042], [0086] i.e., UE 502 authorized to access a PS 220 via a configuration PDU session & [0092]), Kedalagudde does not disclose the claim feature of receiving a first vehicle service from the vehicle server, based on communication with the vehicle server via the public communication network. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ketharaju USP (11,367,356).
Ketharaju a vehicle (see Fig. 1 i.e., vehicle 102) receiving a first vehicle service from a vehicle server which is a provisioning server (see Fig. 1 i.e., Fleet management server 104) based on communication with the vehicle server via the public communication network (see Fig. 1 i.e., communication network 120). In light of the applicants specification US (2024/0373329), Para [0103] discloses the vehicle server 600 which may be the vehicle server 106 in Fig. 1 may provide one or more services to the vehicle in which the services (i.e., “first service”) can include any of: providing digital map data (including a route and/or destination of the vehicle, (Ketharaju, see Col. 1 lines 45-67 i.e., the fleet management server determines to provision a service for a vehicle based on telemetry data received from the vehicle & Col. 2 lines 40-65 i.e., the vehicle monitoring system may direct the vehicle to a service station (i.e., “destination”) within a current operation range of the vehicle, Col. 3 lines 35-49, Col. 4 lines 42-Col. 5 lines 1-18 i.e., The on-board communications platform 116 includes wireless network interfaces to enable communication with an external network 120 which facilitates communication between the vehicle 102 and the fleet management server…The external network 120 may be a collection of one or more networks including standard-based networks such as i.e., WiMAX (i.e., WiMAX may be a “public communication network”), Col. 10 lines 10-27 & lines 56-66 i.e., Based on the location of the vehicle 102, the fleet management server 104 directs the vehicle 102 to the vendor 106. In some examples, the fleet management server 104 provides the coordinates (i.e., coordinates may be a “first vehicle service” such as the destination of the vehicle) of the vendor 106 to a navigation system of the vehicle 102, via network 120, to facilitate a driver navigation to the vendor 106, Col. 11 lines 14-52 i.e., the fleet management server 104 provides the coordinates (i.e., “first vehicle service”) of the vendor 106 to a navigation system of the vehicle 102 to facilitate a driver navigating to the vendor 106,).
(Ketharaju suggests the fleet management server 104 based on telemetry data received from the vehicle, provides the coordinates information (i.e., “first vehicle service”) of the destination to the vehicle for directing the vehicle to the required destination for receiving a service necessary for the vehicle, (see Col. 2 lines 48-61 i.e., the services and/or maintenance may include, for example, parking Col. 3 lines 35-49 i.e., Specifically, the vehicle 102 and/or the fleet management server 104 determine that a service (e.g., a paid parking) or maintenance is necessary & Col. 10 lines 56-66 & Col. 11 lines 45-52)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the vehicle which communicates with the vehicle sever as disclosed in Kedalagudde to include receiving a first vehicle service from the vehicle server such as the fleet management server 104 as disclosed in the teachings of Ketharaju who discloses a vehicle receiving a first vehicle service (i.e., coordinates) from a vehicle server which is a provisioning server based on communication with the vehicle server via a public communication network, because the motivation lies in Ketharaju that the fleet management server 104 based on telemetry data received from the vehicle, provides the coordinates information (i.e., “first vehicle service”) of the destination to the vehicle for directing the vehicle to the required destination for receiving a service necessary for the vehicle.
While Ketharaju discloses receiving the first vehicle service from the vehicle server based on communication with the vehicle server via the WiMAX network (see Col. 4 lines 42-Col. 5 lines 1-18 & Col. 10 lines 56-66), the combination of Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju does not explicitly disclose the WiMAX network is a public communication network. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Sato US (2019/0107402).
Sato discloses a WiMAX network which is a public communication for communication between a vehicle 8 and a vehicle server 50 (see Para’s [0036] i.e., The destination guiding system 100 includes a road map server 50, and a navigation device 10 configured to communicate with the road map server 50 via a network N. The network N includes a public network provided by a telecommunications carrier such as a WiMAX network & [0037-0038] i.e., the road map server 50 (i.e., “vehicle server”) is an information processing apparatus for providing the latest road map to the navigation device 10).
(Sato suggests the vehicle 8 and the vehicle server 50 communicate via the WiMAX network (i.e., “public communication network”) in order for a navigation device 10 within the vehicle to receive the latest road map information from the vehicle server in order for the vehicle to be guided to an appropriate direction for successfully arriving to a required destination of the vehicle (see Para’s [0036-0038])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the WiMAX network used for the communication of the first vehicle service between the vehicle server and the vehicle as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju to be a public communication network such as the WiMAX public communication network used for communication between the vehicle 8 and the vehicle server 50 as disclosed in Sato because the motivation lies in Sato that the vehicle 8 and the vehicle server 50 communicate via the WiMAX network (i.e., “public communication network”) in order for a navigation device 10 within the vehicle to receive the latest road map information from the vehicle server in order for the vehicle to be guided to an appropriate direction for successfully arriving to a required destination of the vehicle.
While Kedalagudde discloses the UE 502 (i.e., “vehicle”) searching for the NPN based on the received network identity in order to establish the connection to the NPN (see Para’s [0028] & [0097]), the combination of Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, and further in view of Sato does not disclose the searching for the NPN is responsive to the vehicle entering the coverage area of the NPN. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chun US (2020/0245235).
Chun discloses a UE searching for an NPN is responsive to the UE entering the coverage area of the NPN (see Para [0559] i.e., the service provider additionally sets information on which region the NPN is valid, in the process of setting network information to the UE and the process of adding a setting for the NPN. Based on this, the UE searches for an NPN when entering or is located in the area)
(Chun suggests the UE searches for the NPN when entering or is located in the area of the NPN in order to receive communication service in the region where the NPN is located and in a region other than the NPN, the process of searching for the NPN network may increase battery consumption of the UE, (see Para’s [0559-0560])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE 502 searching for the NPN based on the received network identity in order to establish the connection to the NPN as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, and further in view of Sato to search for the NPN responsive to the UE entering the coverage area of the NPN as disclosed in the teachings of Chun, because the motivation lies in Chun that the UE searches for the NPN when entering or is located in the area of the NPN in order to receive communication service in the region where the NPN is located and in a region other than the NPN, the process of searching for the NPN network may increase battery consumption of the UE, thus saving battery consumption by searching for the NPN when entering its area.
While Kedalagudde discloses the UE accessing a service via the NPN (see Para [0014] & [0042]), the combination of Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, and further in view of Chun does not disclose the claim features of with respect to a second vehicle service that is distinct from the first vehicle service and provided through a non-public network (NPN) in a coverage area of the NPN and accessing the second vehicle service using the established connection to the NPN. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Golgiri et al. US (2022/0176999).
Golgiri discloses with respect to a second vehicle service that is distinct from the first vehicle service and provided through a non-public network (NPN) in a coverage area of the NPN (see Fig. 1 i.e. NPN such as network 150 & Para’s [0011] i.e., the vehicle controller may transition to a power-up state at a scheduled time to execute an autonomous operation in accordance with a directive, [0014-0017], [0019] i.e., the vehicle controller 110 can utilize the wireless communication system to communicate with a cloud-based device 140 (a server computer) via a communications network 150 which may include any one network such as i.e., private networks (“NPN”), Wi-Fi direct (i.e., “NPN”)…At least one portion of the communications network 150 includes a wireless communication link that allows the cloud-based device 140 to communicate with one or more the wireless communication nodes 130a-d on the autonomous vehicle 115. The cloud-based device 140 may communicate with the vehicle controller 110 for various purposes such as, for example, to convey a directive received from the individual 125 via the user device 120. The directive can be any various actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle 115, such as, for example, a summons to pick up the individual 125 at a designated location (i.e., may be a second vehicle service provided via the network 150 (i.e., “NPN”) such as autonomous operations of the vehicle which is distinct from the first service), [0021-0024] i.e., directive sent from the user device to the vehicle via network 150 (i.e., NPN) in order for the vehicle to perform autonomous actions by the autonomous vehicle 115 may be “a second vehicle service” provided via the network 150 (i.e., “NPN”) distinct from the first service, [0029] i.e., directive to the vehicle controller 110 to self-park the autonomous vehicle 115 in the parking garage. Upon entering the parking garage, the autonomous vehicle 115 may have searched for a vacant parking spot and self-parked in the parking spot 315 (i.e., self-parking may be a second vehicle service provided through network 150 (i.e., “NPN”), [0028-0033] i.e., the WiFi communication system 230 may be operated by the vehicle controller 110 to communicate with the cloud-based device 140 in order to receive a directive from the smartphone of the individual, & [0045-0050])
and accessing the second vehicle service using the established connection to the NPN (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 & Para’s [0017], [0019-0024], [0029-0033], & [0045-0050]).
(Golgiri suggests the vehicle communicates with the vehicle server 140 via the NPN 150 for accessing the second vehicle service such as autonomous actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle 115, such as, for example, a summons to pick up the individual at a designated location for managing the autonomous actions of the autonomous vehicle and user convenience (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 & Para’s [0017], [0019-0024], [0029-0033], & [0045-0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the services accessed by the UE (i.e., “vehicle”) via the NPN as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, and further in view of Chun to include second vehicle service that is distinct from the first vehicle service and provided through a non-public network (NPN) in a coverage area of the NPN accessed by the vehicle as disclosed in the teachings of Golgiri, because the motivation lies in Golgiri that the vehicle communicates with the vehicle server via the NPN for accessing the second vehicle service such as autonomous actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle 115, such as, for example, a summons to pick up the individual at a designated location for managing the autonomous actions of the autonomous vehicle and user convenience.
Claim 80 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kedalagudde et al. US (2021/0058784) in view of Ketharaju USP (11,367,356), further in view of Sato US (2019/0107402), further in view of Chun US (2020/0245235), and further in view of Golgiri et al. US (2022/0176999) as applied to claim 79 above, and further in view of Shi et al. US (2021/0099924).
Regarding Claim 80, the references combined discloses the method as claimed in claim 79, but does not disclose wherein the network information further comprises frequency information indicating one or more frequencies used by the NPN, and wherein searching for the NPN comprises searching on the one or more frequencies. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Shi et al. US (2021/0099924).
Shi discloses wherein network information received by a UE further comprises frequency information indicating one or more frequencies used by the NPN (see Para [0109] i.e., if the UE receives frequency information and the PLMN/NPN information associated with the frequency information, the UE may measure the signal on the frequency indicated by the frequency information), and wherein searching for the NPN comprises searching on the one or more frequencies (see Para [0109] i.e., the UE may measure the signal on the frequency indicated by the frequency information, and search for the cells indicated by the PLMN/NPN information associated with the frequency information. The UE may regard a cell with good signal quality that is one cell of cells indicated by the PLMN/NPN information associated with the frequency information as the candidate cells. The UE may (re)select a cell from the candidate cells based on at least the frequency information and/or cell (re)selection criteria as the outcome of the cell (re)selection procedure).
(Shi suggests the UE may regard a cell with good signal quality that is one cell of cells indicated by the PLMN/NPN information associated with the frequency information as the candidate cells for cell reselection to the cell with good signal quality, (see Para [0109])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the network configuration information received by the UE as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, further in view of Chun, and further in view of Golgiri to further comprises frequency information indicating one or more frequencies used by the NPN according to the NPN frequency information received by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Shi who discloses the UE performing a NPN search comprises searching on the one or more frequencies indicated in the received frequency information, because the motivation lies in Shi that the UE may regard a cell with good signal quality that is one cell of cells indicated by the PLMN/NPN information associated with the frequency information as the candidate cells for cell reselection to the cell with good signal quality.
Claim 81 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kedalagudde et al. US (2021/0058784) in view of Ketharaju USP (11,367,356), further in view of Sato US (2019/0107402), further in view of Chun US (2020/0245235), and further in view of Golgiri US (2022/0176999) as applied to claim 79 above, and further in view of Huang et al. US (2022/0369199).
Regarding Claim 81, Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, and further in view of Chun discloses the method as claimed in claim 79, but the references combined does not disclose the claim feature of wherein accessing the second vehicle service comprises communicating with a server that provides the second vehicle service. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Golgiri US (2022/0176999).
Golgiri discloses wherein accessing the second vehicle service comprises communicating with a server (see Fig. 1 i.e., server 140) that provides the second vehicle service (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 & Para’s [0017], [0019-0024], [0029-0033], & [0045-0050]).
(Golgiri suggests the vehicle communicates with the vehicle server 140 via the NPN 150 for accessing the second vehicle service such as autonomous actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle 115, such as, for example, a summons to pick up the individual at a designated location for managing the autonomous actions of the autonomous vehicle and user convenience (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 & Para’s [0017], [0019-0024], [0029-0033], & [0045-0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the services accessed by the UE (i.e., “vehicle”) via the NPN as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, and further in view of Chun discloses to include second vehicle service that is distinct from the first vehicle service and provided through a non-public network (NPN) in a coverage area of the NPN accessed by the vehicle as disclosed in the teachings of Golgiri, because the motivation lies in Golgiri that the vehicle communicates with the vehicle server via the NPN for accessing the second vehicle service such as autonomous actions to be carried out by the autonomous vehicle 115, such as, for example, a summons to pick up the individual at a designated location for managing the autonomous actions of the autonomous vehicle and user convenience.
Kedalagudde discloses receiving, from the vehicle server, corresponding information associated with the service provider that is to provide the service to the vehicle, (see Para’s [0095] i.e., step (D2)-the PS 220 selects the SO-NPN 230 owning the subscription and contacts the future SO-SNPN 230 owning the subscription to provide the subscription credentials for access to the SNPN owning the subscription, and may retrieve other UE configuration parameters (i.e., “information”) (e.g., DNN, URSPs) (i.e., UE route selection policy (URSP) may be the information) & [0096] i.e., step (D3)-the PS 220 provisions the UE’s subscription credentials for the SO-SNPN 230 and other configuration information into the UE 502 over the secure connection)
A second server associated with the service provider that is to provide the service to the vehicle (see Fig. 5 i.e., DN 536 includes application content server 538 & Para’s [0095] i.e., DNN & [0137-0138] i.e., The data network 536 may represent various network operator services…that may be provided by one or more servers including application (app) content server 538)
While Kedalagudde discloses a second server associated with the NPN for providing the service to the UE (see Fig. 5, 538 & Para’s [0095] & [0137-0138]), the references combined including Kedalagudde does not disclose the received information (i.e., URSP) indicating the second server information. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Huang et al. US (2022/0369199).
Huang discloses UE route selection policy (URSP) information which is received by a UE includes the identifier associated with an application server of the data network (see Fig. 1H & Para’s [0033], [0042] i.e., the NEF 102 may generate URSP data which may include…the identifier associated with the application server, and information identifying the data network associated with the application server (e.g., data network 114) & [0043] i.e., the NEF 102 provides USRP data to the UE…the UE 108 may utilize the URSP data to access the application server via the network slice).
(Huang suggests the UE 108 may utilize the URSP data including the application server identifier in order to efficiently access the application server for performing communication with the application server over a PDU session, (see Para’s [0033] & [0042-0043])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the received URSP information received by the UE from the vehicle server uses for accessing the NPN as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, further in view of Chun, and further in view of Golgiri discloses to include the identifier associated with the application server of the data network according to the UE route selection policy (URSP) information which is received by a UE as disclosed in the teachings of Huang who discloses UE route selection policy (URSP) information which is received by a UE includes the identifier associated with an application server of the data network, because the motivation lies in Huang that the UE may utilize the URSP data including the application server identifier in order to efficiently access the application server for performing communication with the application server over a PDU session.
Claim 82 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kedalagudde et al. US (2021/0058784) in view of Ketharaju USP (11,367,356), further in view of Sato US (2019/0107402), further in view of Chun US (2020/0245235), and further in view of Golgiri US (2022/0176999) as applied to claim 79 above, and further in view of Gallagher et al. USP (12,125,106).
Regarding Claim 82, the references combined discloses the method as claimed in claim 79, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the first vehicle service is a data telemetry service. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Gallagher et al. USP (12,125,106).
Gallagher discloses a vehicle server transmits a first vehicle service such as a data telemetry service in response to receiving telemetry data from a vehicle (see Figures 1A-1B & Col. 4 lines 54-67 i.e., a telematics server 110 configured to receive vehicular telematics data from one or more telematics devices onboard a vehicle 108, Col. 5 lines 1-15, Col. 7 lines 62-67 i.e., GUI value data (i.e., “data telemetry service”) that is determined from telematics data, & Col. 8 lines 10-15 i.e., receiving telematics data from telematics device 106i and/or mobile device 106m, and/or transmitting GUI values (i.e., “data telemetry service”) to a telematics mobile app)
(Gallagher suggests the vehicle server determines and transmits GIU value data (i.e., “data telemetry service”) to the vehicle that is determined from the received telemetry data for conveying information to the vehicles graphical user interface (GUI) related to operation of the vehicle (see Col. 7 lines 62-67)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first vehicle service received by the vehicle from the vehicle server based on telemetry data received by the vehicle server from the vehicle as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, further in view of Chun, and further in view of Golgiri to include data telemetry service such as the GUI value data transmitted from the vehicle server to the vehicle in response to receiving telemetry data from a vehicle as disclosed in Gallagher, because the motivation lies in Gallagher that the vehicle server determines and transmits GIU value data (i.e., “data telemetry service”) to the vehicle that is determined from the received telemetry data for conveying information to the vehicles graphical user interface (GUI) related to operation of the vehicle.
Claims 83-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kedalagudde et al. US (2021/0058784) in view of Ketharaju USP (11,367,356), further in view of Sato US (2019/0107402), further in view of Chun US (2020/0245235), and further in view of Golgiri US (2022/0176999) as applied to claim 79 above, further in view of Salmela et al. US (2023/0300596), and further in view of Mallichan et al. US (2018/0136940).
Regarding Claim 83, the references combined discloses the method as claimed in claim 79, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the method further comprises: receiving a disconnect notification indicating that the vehicle is to reconnect to the public communication network; disconnecting from the NPN. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Salmela et al. US (2023/0300596).
receiving a disconnect notification indicating that the vehicle is to reconnect to the public communication network; (see Fig. 1 i.e., public network PLMN 20 and SNPN 30 & Para’s [0034-0035], & [0112] i.e., The subscriber entity 200 obtains the subscription profile (i.e., “disconnect notification”) from the subscription provisioning server 60 via the SNPN 30 and can now disconnect from the SNPN 30 and start using its downloaded subscription profile (i.e., the subscriber disconnecting from the SNPN and start using its downloaded subscription profile may be via the public network 20 since it disconnects from the SNPN))
disconnecting from the NPN (see Para [0112] i.e., The subscriber entity 200 obtains the subscription profile from the subscription provisioning server 60 via the SNPN 30 and can now disconnect from the SNPN 30 and start using its downloaded subscription profile)
(Salmela suggests advantageously these aspects enable efficient remote provisioning of a subscription profile to the subscriber entity and for downloading a proper subscription profile to the subscriber (see Para’s [0016-0017], [0083], & [0112])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the vehicle connected to the NPN as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, further in view of Chun, and further in view of Golgiri to receive the disconnect notification indicating that the vehicle is to reconnect to the public communication network and disconnecting from the NPN as disclosed in the teachings of Salmela, because the motivation lies in Salmela that it is advantageous to enable efficient remote provisioning of a subscription profile to the subscriber entity and for downloading a proper subscription profile to the subscriber.
The combination of Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, further in view of Chun, and further in view of Golgiri, and further in view of Salmela does not disclose the claim features of performing a network search for the public communication network; and reconnecting to the public communication network. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Mallichan et al. US (2018/0136940).
Mallichan discloses performing a network search for a public communication network; (see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0010] i.e., For example, domain change 120 can include a user disconnecting computing device 110 from a trusted network 205 (e.g., secure corporate network) and subsequently reconnecting to a less secure network or untrusted network 215 (e.g., a public wireless network) (i.e., “network search”)…Such a change in communication operation conditions can include a change of network location that occurs with or without a change in physical location. For instance, the computing device 110 can switch to a new wireless network & [0022])
and reconnecting to the public communication network (see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0010] i.e., For example, domain change 120 can include a user disconnecting computing device 110 from a trusted network 205 (e.g., secure corporate network) and subsequently reconnecting to a less secure network or untrusted network 215)
(Mallichan suggests the computing device performs the domain change from disconnecting from the trusted network and subsequently reconnecting to the untrusted network due to change in location of the computing device which results in little to no interruption of a user’s operating experience, (see Para’s [0007] & [0010])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the vehicle which disconnects from the NPN as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, further in view of Chun, and further in view of Golgiri, and further in view of Salmela to reconnect back to the public communication network based on the teachings of Mallichan who discloses a domain change can include a user disconnecting a computing device from a trusted network and subsequently reconnecting to a public wireless network, because the motivation lies in Mallichan that the computing device performs the domain change from disconnecting from the trusted network and subsequently reconnecting to the untrusted network due to change in location of the computing device which results in little to no interruption of a user’s operating experience.
Regarding Claim 84, the combination of Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, further in view of Chun, and further in view of Golgiri, further in view of Salmela, and further in view of Mallichan discloses the method as claimed in claim 83, but does not disclose wherein the disconnect notification is received, via the NPN, from the vehicle server or an NPN server. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Salmela et al. US (2023/0300596).
Salmela discloses wherein the disconnect notification is received, via the NPN, from an NPN server (see Para’s [0034-0035] & [0112] i.e., The subscriber entity 200 obtains the subscription profile (i.e., “disconnect notification”) from the subscription provisioning server 60 via the SNPN 30 and can now disconnect from the SNPN 30 and start using its downloaded subscription profile)
(Salmela suggests advantageously these aspects enable efficient remote provisioning of a subscription profile to the subscriber entity and for downloading a proper subscription profile to the subscriber (see Para’s [0016-0017], [0083], & [0112])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the vehicle connected to the NPN as disclosed in Kedalagudde in view of Ketharaju, further in view of Sato, further in view of Chun, and further in view of Golgiri, further in view of Salmela, and further in view of Mallichan to receive the disconnect notification via the NPN, from a server associated with the service provider as disclosed in the teachings of Salmela, because the motivation lies in Salmela that it is advantageous to enable efficient remote provisioning of a subscription profile to the subscriber entity and for downloading a proper subscription profile to the subscriber.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461