DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
Claims 1-17 are currently pending and being examined. Claims 1, 5 and 13 have been amended. No claims have been canceled, and no new claims have been added.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: the grammatical error “the buried plane” in line 19 of Claim 1. For consistency with “a buried brittle plane” in lines 7-8 of Claim 1, “the buried plane” in line 19 will be interpreted to read as “the buried brittle plane”. Appropriate correction is required.
A. In Re claims 2-17, they are objected to due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa et al (US 2020/0006046 A1-IDS prior art of record, hereafter Nagasawa) in view of Lei et al (US 2005/0042842 A1-of record, hereafter Lei) and Jaussaud et al (US 7,208,392 B1).
Re claim 1, Nagasawa discloses in FIGS. 5A-5D (with references to FIGS. 3A-3C) a method of fabricating a semiconductor structure (laminated substrate), the method comprising:
a) providing a donor substrate (4a in FIG. 5A; [0109]) of monocrystalline silicon carbide ([0073] and [0109]) and a carrier substrate (4b; [0109]) of silicon carbide ([0073] and [0109]);
b) preparing a working layer (4a’; [0114]) to be transferred (to 4b; [0114]), comprising:
implanting light species (hydrogen ions; [0112] and [0114]) in the donor substrate (4a) on a front face (A PLANE) to form a damage profile (4ion; [0114]), the damage profile (4ion) having a depth of defects (100-2000 nm; [0114]) defining a buried brittle plane (dotted line at “4ion”),
the working layer (4a’) to be transferred (to 4b), the working layer (4a’) to be transferred (to 4b) having a thickness of between 50 nm and 1400 nm (200-400 nm; [0114]);
c) joining (bonding in FIG. 5C; [0116]) the donor substrate (4a), on a side (horizontal plane) of the front surface (A PLANE), and the carrier substrate (4b) by way of molecular-adhesion (as in 3ab in FIG. 3C; [0075]-[0078]; [0087] and [0109]) to form an assembly (40; [0118]) bonded along a bonding interface (4ab; [0124]);
d) separating (FIG. 5D; [0118]) along the buried brittle plane (dotted line at “4ion”), leading to transferring the working layer (4a’) onto the carrier substrate (4b) to form the semiconductor structure (laminated substrate); and
annealing (heat treatment; [0120]) the semiconductor structure (laminated substrate) after the separating along the buried brittle plane (dotted line at “4ion”).
Nagasawa fails to disclose the damage profile having a main peak of depth defects defining the buried brittle plane (dotted line at “4ion”) and a secondary peak of defects defining a damaged surface layer,
removing the damaged surface layer by way of chemical etching and/or by way of chemical-mechanical polishing of the front face (A PLANE) of the donor substrate (4a) to form a new front surface of the donor substrate (4a), the buried brittle plane (dotted line at “4ion”) delimiting, with the new front surface of the donor substrate (4a),
joining the donor substrate (4a), on a side of the new front surface, and
the annealing (heat treatment) the semiconductor structure (laminated substrate) establishing an ohmic contact at the bonding interface (4ab) between the working layer (4a’) and the carrier substrate (4b).
However,
A. Nagasawa discloses the preparing the working layer (4a’) to be transferred (to 4b) comprising implanting light species hydrogen at doses of 1x10¹⁶/cm² and 9x10¹⁷/cm² ([0112]) and an energy of 65 keV ([0171]), where both parameters are described by the instant specification as producing a damage profile having a main peak of depth defects defining the buried brittle plane and a secondary peak of defects defining a damaged surface layer, in monocrystalline silicon carbide as in donor substrate (4a).
Therefore, since Nagasawa discloses a substantially identical process, comprising an identical material, a prima facie case of obviousness is established (MPEP § 2112.02) that the process of Nagasawa yields a damage profile having a main peak of depth defects defining the buried brittle plane and a secondary peak of defects defining a damaged surface layer as claimed.
And,
B. Lei discloses in FIG. 6 a semiconductor device method comprising removing a damaged surface layer ([0064]) by way of chemical etching and/or by way of chemical-mechanical polishing ([0064]) of the front face (plane of ion implantation; [0064]) of a donor substrate (GOI/Ge/SiO2 laminate; [0064]) to form a new front surface (repaired surface; [0064]) of the donor substrate (GOI/Ge/SiO2 laminate).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nagasawa by using the chemical-mechanical polishing of Lei, in between the steps of FIGS. 5B-5C of Nagasawa, removing the damaged surface layer by way of the chemical-mechanical polishing of the front face (A PLANE) of the donor substrate (4a) to form a new front surface of the donor substrate (4a), the buried brittle plane (dotted line at “4ion”) delimiting, with the new front surface of the donor substrate (4a), to provide a smooth and/or flat surface for bonding (Lei; [0064]), and thus joining the donor substrate (4a), on a side of the new front surface.
And Lastly,
C. Jaussaud discloses in FIGS. 1A-1D a method of fabricating a semiconductor structure (bonded element), the method comprising: forming at least one additional layer (tungsten 11 and 13 with layers 15 and 16 omitted in FIGS. 1A-1B; col. 4, lines 23-48 and claims 1; and 7) on the front surface (upper plane) of the donor substrate (SiC 10; col. 4, lines 23-48 and claims 1; and 7) and/or on a front face (upper plane) of the carrier substrate (SiC 12; col. 4, lines 23-48 and claims 1; and 7), prior to a joining (bonding in FIG. 1C; col. 4, lines 23-48 and claims 1; and 7) of the donor substrate (SiC 10) and the carrier substrate (SiC 12); and
annealing (heat treating in FIG. 1D; col. 4, lines 23-48 and claims 1; and 7) the semiconductor structure (bonded element) after the joining (bonding) and establishing an ohmic contact (14; col. 2, lines 34-43; col. 3, lines 56-63; col. 4, lines 23-48 and claims 1; and 7) between the donor substrate (SiC 10) and the carrier substrate (SiC 12).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nagasawa and Lei by adding the forming at least one additional layer and the annealing of Jaussaud, such that the annealing the semiconductor structure (laminated substrate) after the separating along the buried brittle plane establishes an ohmic contact at the bonding interface between the working layer and the carrier substrate, for certain applications which require vertical electrical conduction through the semiconductor structure without the ohmic contact reacting with the working layer and the carrier substrate (Jaussaud; col. 1, line 65-col. 2, line 3).
Re claim 2, Nagasawa discloses the method of claim 1.
But, fails to disclose wherein the removing of the damaged surface layer results in
between 5 nm and 200 nm being stripped away.
However, Nagaswa discloses damaged profiles up to 2000 nm ([0114]) and preferred working layer (4a’) thicknesses of 200-400 nm ([0114]).
Thus, with Lei’s CMP disclosure, it would have been obvious that the removing of the damaged surface layer results in between 5 nm and 200 nm being stripped away, as part of the smooth and/or flat surface for bonding discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 3, Nagasawa discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the carrier substrate (4a) comprises monocrystalline ([0073] and [0109]) or polycrystalline material (SiC).
Re claim 4, Nagasawa discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the light species are hydrogen ions ([0114]), implanted with an energy of between 30 keV and 210 keV (65 keV; [0171]) and at a dose of between 1x10¹⁶/cm² and x 5x10¹⁷/cm² (1x10¹⁶/cm² and 9x10¹⁷/cm²; [0112]).
Re claim 7, Nagasawa discloses the method of claim 1.
But, fails to disclose, wherein: the joining of the donor substrate (4a) and the carrier substrate (4b) further comprises forming at least one additional layer on the front surface (A PLANE) of the donor substrate (4a) and/or on a front face of the carrier substrate (4b), prior to the joining by way of molecular adhesion; and
the bonded assembly (40), obtained after the joining by way of molecular adhesion, comprises the at least one additional layer between the donor substrate (4a) and the carrier substrate (4b), the at least one additional layer being adjacent to or including the bonding interface (4ab).
However, Jaussaud discloses at least one additional layer (tungsten 11 and 13) between the donor substrate (SiC 10) and the carrier substrate (SiC 12) as discussed for claim 1, such that prior to the joining by way of molecular adhesion; and the bonded assembly (40), obtained after the joining by way of molecular adhesion, comprises the at least one additional layer between the donor substrate (4a) and the carrier substrate (4b), the at least one additional layer being adjacent to or including the bonding interface (4ab), as part of the ohmic contacts for vertical conduction discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 8, Nagasawa and Jaussaud disclose the method of claim 7, wherein the at least one additional layer (Jaussaud: 11 and 13) comprises at least one material chosen from among the group including silicon (col. 4, lines 23-48 and claims 1; and 7), tungsten (col. 4, lines 23-48 and claims 1; and 7), carbon and or titanium, as would be part of the ohmic contacts for vertical conduction discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 9, Nagasawa discloses he method of claim 1, further comprising forming at least one high-voltage microelectronic component (power semiconductor device; [0001]) on the semiconductor structure (laminated substrate).
Re claim 10, Nagasawa discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the removing of the damaged surface layer results in between 30 nm and 50 nm being stripped away (see claim 2).
Re claim 11, Nagasawa discloses he method of claim 2, wherein the carrier substrate comprises monocrystalline or polycrystalline material (see claim 3).
Re claim 12, Nagasawa discloses he method of claim 11, wherein the light species are hydrogen ions, implanted with an energy of between 30 keV and 210 keV and at a dose of between x10¹⁶/cm² and 5x10¹⁷/cm² (see claim 4).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa and Lei and Jaussaud as applied to claims 1; and 12 above, and further in view of IMAOKA et al (US 2020/0006493 A1-IDS prior art of record, hereafter Imaoka).
Re claim 5, Nagasawa and Jaussaud disclose the method of claim 1.
But, fails to disclose wherein the annealing the semiconductor structure (laminated substrate) comprises heat treating the semiconductor structure (laminated substrate) at a temperature of between 1300°C and 1700°C.
However,
Imaoka discloses in FIGS. 1 and 7-8 a method comprising heat treating a semiconductor structure (11/13c/13 laminate; [0031]) at a temperature of between 1300°C and 1700°C (1100°C and 1700°C; [0032]) after a separating (delaminating; [0031]) along a buried brittle plane (15; [0031]) to form the semiconductor structure (11/13b/13 laminate; [0032]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nagasawa and Jaussaud by using the heat treatment of Imaoka of between 1300°C and 1700°C after the separating along the buried plane to form the semiconductor structure, to form a bonding interface with an electrical resistance favorable to operation of devices formed on the semiconductor structure ([0003]).
For the record, Jaussaud discloses heat treatment of the semiconductor structure at 650°C or greater (col. 4, lines 23-48 and claims 1; and 7) and stability up to 1600°C (col. 4, lines 6-23).
Re claim 13, Nagasawa and Jaussaud and Imaoka disclose the method of claim 12, wherein the annealing the semiconductor structure (laminated substrate) comprises heat treating the semiconductor structure (laminated substrate) at a temperature of between 1300°C and 1700°C (see claim 5).
Claims 6 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa and Lei and Jaussaud as applied to claims 5; and 13 above, and further in view of SCHULZE et al (US 2020/0068709 A1-of record, hereafter Schulze).
Re claim 6, Nagasawa and Lei and Jaussaud disclose the method of claim 5.
But, fail to disclose the method further comprising applying a chemical-mechanical smoothing treatment to a free surface of the working layer (4a’) after the separating along the buried brittle plane (dotted line at “4ion”) to form the semiconductor structure (laminated substrate).
However,
Schulze discloses in FIG. 7C a method comprising applying a chemical-mechanical smoothing treatment (CMP polishing; [0096]) to a free surface (bottom plane) of a working layer (118; [0096]) after the separating (splitting; [0092]) along a buried brittle plane (123; [0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nagasawa and Lei and Imaoka by adding the applying a chemical-mechanical smoothing treatment to a free surface of the working layer after the separating along the buried brittle plane of Schulze, to provide a substrate for mechanically stable for a range of high-voltage devices (Schulze; [0103]).
Re claim 14, Nagasawa and Lei and Jaussaud and Schulze disclose the further comprising applying a chemical-mechanical smoothing treatment to a free surface of the working layer after the separating along the buried brittle plane to form the semiconductor structure (see claim 6).
Re claim 15, Nagasawa and Jaussaud disclose the method of claim 14, wherein: the joining of the donor substrate and the carrier substrate further comprises forming at least one additional layer on the front surface of the donor substrate and/or on a front face of the carrier substrate, prior to the joining by way of molecular adhesion; and the bonded assembly, obtained after the joining by way of molecular adhesion, comprises the at least one additional layer between the donor substrate and the carrier substrate, the at least one additional layer being adjacent to or including the bonding interface (see claim 7).
Re claim 16, Nagasawa and Imaoka disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the at least one additional layer comprises at least one material chosen from among the group including silicon, tungsten, carbon or titanium (see claim 8).
Re claim 17, Nagasawa discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising forming at least one high-voltage microelectronic component on the semiconductor structure (see claim 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s current claim 1 amendments and arguments, see pages 7-16, filed 9/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the current amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nagasawa et al (US 2020/0006046 A1-IDS prior art of record, hereafter Nagasawa) in view of Lei et al (US 2005/0042842 A1-of record, hereafter Lei) and Jaussaud et al (US 7,208,392 B1).
For the record, the applicant's claim 1 arguments filed 9/10/2026 with respect to Nagasawa et al (US 2020/0006046 A1-IDS prior art of record, hereafter Nagasawa) in view of Lei et al (US 2005/0042842 A1-of record, hereafter Lei) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reason(s):
A. The applicant's arguments against the combination of Nagasawa in view of Lei are not persuasive for the following reason(s):
Firstly, the examiner provided a prior art disclosure (US 6,355,541 B1: FIGS. 2A and 2B) of a main peak and a secondary peak resulting from hydrogen into single crystal SiC at 60 keV and doses of 2x1016/cm2 and 4x1016/cm2, consistent the disclosure of the application of 30-210 keV and 1x1016/cm2 to 5x1017/cm2. The resulting peaks looking substantially to FIG. 3 of the instant application.
Therefore, the examiner's assertion that Nagasawa discloses a main peak and a secondary peak by virtue of a substantially process (MPEP 2112.02) is substantiated.
Further, the applicant's arguments against Lei are, again, are not deemed persuasive since Lei is being relied upon for its teaching of removing surface damage of a layer caused by ion implantation, independent of the material of the layer. Wherein, upon removal of the surface damage, a smoother surface of the layer is available for bonding with another object. The examiner contends that since Nagasawa is concerned with bonding of a donor substrate and a carrier substrate after ion implantation and thinning of the ion damaged front face of the donor substrate to a desired thickness, it would have been obvious and plausible to use the teachings of Lei for the particular type of thinning (CMP or etching) specifically for removing the ion implanted damaged surface layer of Nagasawa. This contention is held even though the combination of Lei is not drawn to "the crystalline or electrical integrity" of a "polished" layer.
Lastly, in response to the applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Thus, the examiner submits that applying the ion implanted damaged surface removal of Lei to the donor substrate of Nagasawa does not change the principle of operation of the primary reference or render the reference inoperable for its intended purpose. See MPEP § 2143.01. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of the secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981).
B. With respect to dependent claims 2-17 and the respective prior art references (Imaoka and Schulze) used for their rejections, the applicant’s arguments, in summary, of the respective prior art references being incapable of overcoming the perceived deficiencies of Nagasawa in view of Lei for claim 1 are rendered moot by the above rebuttal. Further, neither Imaoka or Schulze were, and are not currently being used to satisfy limitations of claim 1. But rather, claims 2-17 as discussed above.
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892