DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/29/2026 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 4 was previously canceled. Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are currently pending in the instant application.
The rejection of claims 1-3 and 5-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hamakubo (EP 3882286) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0289166 A1 (hereinafter Makihara).
Makihara discloses a resin composition containing (See [0025] and [0026]): A polymer or copolymer (A) of a conjugated diene compound such as butadiene with at least one acrylonitrile and styrene (See [0029], claimed (D) elastomer). A thermosetting resin (B) preferably having two or more (meth)acryloyl groups in the molecule (See [0039], claimed (B) compound). The (B) thermosetting resin includes 1,6-hexandeiol di(meth)acrylate (See 0040, claimed (B) compound), which is commonly known to have a molecular weight of about 254 g/mol and exists as a clear liquid at room temperature (25°C). A (meth)acryl polymer or copolymer (C) having at least one functional group of a vinyl group, a (meth)allyl group, a (meth)acryloyl group, a maleimide group, and epoxy group, a carboxyl group, a hydroxyl group (See [0044], Emphasis added). Component (C) of Makihara fulfills the claimed (A) thermosetting resin comprises one or more group consisting of epoxy resin, maleimide resin, and allyl resin.
Makihara further discloses that the resin composition comprises fillers including metal powders and ceramic powders (See [0049]). The fillers of Makihara fulfill the claimed (C) inorganic filler.
Makihara also discloses that the resin composition having 1-20 wt% of (co)polymer (A), 0.5-25 wt% of (co)polymer (C) (See [0048]). The content of (B) 1,6-hexandeiol di(meth)acrylate (monomer 2) is about 2.08-8.20 wt% (See Table 1; [0057]).
Makihara discloses that the resin composition is coated onto a semiconductor device and heat cured (See Abstract and [0053]); thereby, forming a cured layer or film (cured product) on a substrate.
Makihara failed to anticipate the claimed invention because Makihara does not disclose with sufficient specificity to anticipates.
Give that Makihara discloses a resin composition comprises of (co)polymer (A) and (C) having at least one preferred functional group of epoxy, allyl, and maleimide combined with a thermosetting resin (B) containing (meth)acryloyl groups in the molecule, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to formulate the claimed resin composition through routine experimentation for best results.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761