DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are cancelled.
Claims 16-32 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: representation unit configured to provide a coded representation of the identification in claim 16, communication module configured to authenticate a user device in claim 25, control and display unit is configured to display an identification of a field device in claim 31.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification, such as page 8 of the specification recites “the control and display unit 110 has a representation unit 112…. The representation unit 112 can, for example, be designed as a display. The representation unit 112 can be designed as a flashing LED that transmits a light signal”, pages 9 and 11 of the specification recites “The communication module 120 may be implemented, for example, as a radio module…. a near-field communication module, such as an RFID chip or an antenna of Bluetooth technology” as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-22, 25-29, 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fries et al. (hereinafter “Fries”) (US 20150215321 A1).
As to claim 16, Fries teaches a control and display unit for identifying a field device, comprising:
an internal register configured to store an identification of the field device [the filed device FG include a display to present QR code stored and/or generated in the filed device, therefore the filed device inherently includes at least a memory to store the QR code/flicker code] [0044-0045, 0064]; and
a representation unit configured to provide a coded representation of the identification, wherein the coded representation of the identification comprises an identifier [the display presents QR code to a portable communication device KG, the QR code includes coded information such as an identification number, device identifier or a serial number] [0044-00481, 0064-0067].
As to claim 17, Fries teaches the coded representation of the identification further comprises an authentication feature [the system and the field device are provided with a shared secret. Furthermore, the portable communications device sends a date in addition to the first information and the second information to the system. The system uses the shared secret to calculate from the first information, the second information and the date, a first one-off password as the first piece of access information. The field device uses the shared secret to calculate from the second information and the date and from the first information known to the field device, a second one-off password as the second piece of access information] [0019-0021, 0048-0056, 0064-0072].
As to claim 18, Fries teaches the authentication feature is configured to authenticate a user device, and/or where the authentication feature is mutable [0019-0021, 0048-0056, 0064-0072].
As to claim 19, Fries teaches the identification feature and/or the authentication feature of the field device is receivable by means of the representation unit over a distance between 0 m and 2 m [Both the portable communications device KG and the field device FG using a near field communication (NFC) for communication] [0034, 0059-0060].
As to claim 20, Fries teaches the identification feature and/or the authentication feature of the field device is receivable by means of the representation unit over a distance between 0 m and 0.5 m [Both the portable communications device KG and the field device FG using a near field communication (NFC) for communication] [0034, 0059-0060].
As to claim 21, Fries teaches the identification feature and/or the authentication feature of the field device is receivable by means of the representation unit over a distance between 0 m and 20 cm [Both the portable communications device KG and the field device FG using a near field communication (NFC) for communication] [0034, 0059-0060].
As to claim 22, Fries teaches the representation unit is implemented as a display, a near-field communication, and/or a light signal [0044-0045, 0064].
As to claim 25, Fries teaches a communication module configured to authenticate a user device and/or to communicate with the user device [0019-0021, 0034, 0048-0056, 0059-0060, 0064-0072].
As to claim 26, Fries teaches a field device, comprising a control and display unit and/or a representation unit according to claim 16 [see claim rejection for claim 16 for detail explanation] [0044-0048, 0064-0067].
As to claim 27, Fries teaches method of representing an identification of a field device, the method comprising the steps of: providing the identification in an internal register of the field device [the filed device FG include a display to present QR code stored and/or generated in the filed device, therefore the filed device inherently includes at least a memory to store the QR code/flicker code] [0044-0045, 0064]; encoding the identification into an identifier [encoding device identification data to provide a coded representation of the identification such as a QR code] [0045, 0064]; and representing the coded identification by means of a representation unit according to claim 16 [the display presents QR code to portable communication device KG, the QR code includes coded information such as an identification number, device identifier or a serial number] [0044-0048 , 0064-0067], wherein the coded representation of the identification comprises an identification feature and an authentication feature [the system and the field device are provided with a shared secret. Furthermore, the portable communications device sends a date in addition to the first information and the second information to the system. The system uses the shared secret to calculate from the first information, the second information and the date, a first one-off password as the first piece of access information. The field device uses the shared secret to calculate from the second information and the date and from the first information known to the field device, a second one-off password as the second piece of access information] [0019-0021, 0048-0056, 0064-0072].
As to claim 28, Fries teaches the encoding step further comprises additionally encoding the identification into an authenticator [0019-0021, 0048-0056, 0064-0072].
As to claim 29, Fries teaches capturing, by means of a capture unit in a mobile device, the identification feature and/or the authentication feature; transferring the identifier and/or the authentication feature to a server; and authenticating a communication between the field device and the mobile device [0019-0021, 0048-0056, 0064-0072].
As to claim 31, Fries teaches the control and display unit is configured to display an identification of a field device and/or to authenticate a user device [0019-0021, 0048-0056, 0064-0072].
As to claim 32, Fries teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a processor of a field device, a mobile device, a server, and/or another computing device, causes the field device, the mobile device, the server, and/or the another computing device to perform the method according to claim 27 [see claim rejection for claim 27 for detail explanation] [0019-0021, 0044-0056, 0064-0067].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-24 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fries in view of Schäuble et al. (hereinafter “Schäuble”) (US 20220014883 A1).
As to claim 23, Fries teaches the field device have a display implemented as part of the field device to present coded information [0044-0045, 0064]. Fries does not explicitly teach the representation unit is implemented as part of a detachably connected unit of the field device and/or as part of an external display device.
However, Schäuble teaches a system and method for operating a field device has a display, especially, Schäuble teaches the display which is formed either as part of the field device electronics or as a separate unit, is or can be connected to the field device electronics via an internal field-device interface [0017, 0026].
Fries and Schäuble are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of configuring a field device for task processing. At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art to provide an interface to connect addition accessory device such as a display to the field device to display different task and device related data. The suggestion for doing so would have been obvious to prepare an interface so that the field device can be retrofitted subsequently to attach with different accessory device for different function such as detachably attach a display for data presentation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Schäuble with the teachings of Fries for the purpose of providing additional functionality to the field device by implementing the display as part of a detachably connected unit of the field device as specified in the claim 23.
As to claim 24, Schäuble teaches the control and display unit is implemented as part of a device arranged in a two-wire loop [0004-0005, 0022-0023].
As to claim 30, Schäuble teaches the providing of the identification is performed during manufacturing of the field device, by means of a transmission in a two-wire loop and/or by means of a detection unit [0004-0005, 0022-0023].
Conclusion
/ZHIPENG WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 [0048] The portable communications device KG decodes the QR code and thus obtains first information IDFG about the field device FG, such as an identification number, device identifier or a serial number for example. The first information IDFG in the form of the serial number of the field device FG is sent to a server S via a telecommunications service (short message service, SMS). By sending the SMS message, the server S is simultaneously provided with second information IDKG identifying the portable communications device KG together with the first information IDFG. In this example, a telephone number of the portable communications device is transmitted for this purpose, where the second information IDKG additionally includes a role of the user. By transmitting the telephone number, at least part of information about the role of the user is simultaneously known to the server S, because the server S stores the cellphones within an automation system together with the role information associated with each. Thus the correct role is also assigned to a cellphone when a cellphone having a plurality of users is used, provided a cellphone is meant to be used in assigning the role.