Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-16 and 18-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 4/20/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-14, filed 3/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Lufan Li et al (Hereinafter, “Lufan”) in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes; Published: 10 November 2020; Journals Materials Volume 13 Issue 22 10.3390/ma13225064, Claim(s) 4-7, 9-12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of Sandra Nunes et al. (Hereinafter, “Sandra”) in NPL-Non-destructive assessment of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers based on a magnetic method; Volume 72, September 2016, Pages 66-79; Available online 1 June 2016, the rejection of Claim(s) 13-14, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of BOXCER JOHN (Hereinafter, “Boxcer”) in the US patent Number US 2953017 A, the rejection of Claim(s) 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of Boxcer ‘017 A.as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Reitsma et al. (Hereinafter, “Reitsma”) in the US patent Number US 9157768 B2 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-10, of the remarks, filed on 3/27/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Lufan Li et al (Hereinafter, “Lufan”) in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes; Published: 10 November 2020; Journals Materials Volume 13 Issue 22 10.3390/ma13225064, that “While the Office Action indicates orthogonal legs of the C-core in FIG. 3(a) of Lufan, Lufan does not teach or suggest coils wound around orthogonal sections of the magnetic core as recited in amended claim 1. Instead, as shown in FIG. 3b, Lufan discloses a coil wound around parallel core legs. Thus, Lufan does not anticipate "the magnetic sensor comprising a first coil wound around a first inductor core leg of a magnetic core and a second coil wound around a second inductor core leg of the magnetic core, the second inductor core leg substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg," as recited in amended claim 1 (Remarks-Page 9)
………………
Lufan does not disclose or suggest a ratio of the alleged inductance change in the first and second directions. Thus, Lufan does not anticipate "determining a fiber orientation within the UHPC structure based upon the determined inductance change in the two directions, the fiber orientation based upon a ratio of the inductance change in the first and second directions," as recited in amended claim 1.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicants request that the rejection of claim 1 be withdrawn. Insofar as claim 2 depends from claim 1, the rejection of claim 2 should be withdrawn for at least the same reasons. (Remarks-Page 10).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-10, of the remarks, filed on 3/27/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Lufan Li et al (Hereinafter, “Lufan”) in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes; Published: 10 November 2020; Journals Materials Volume 13 Issue 22 10.3390/ma13225064, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 1/27/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation, “the second inductor core leg that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg; the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to a direction of the first inductor core leg and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first and second inductor core legs.” which overcomes the present rejection of Claim(s) 1-2 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Lufan Li et al (Hereinafter, “Lufan”) in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes; Published: 10 November 2020; Journals Materials Volume 13 Issue 22 10.3390/ma13225064, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 1/27/2026. NAKAMURA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170057051 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1. Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan Li et al (Hereinafter, “Lufan”) in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes; Published: 10 November 2020; Journals Materials Volume 13 Issue 22 10.3390/ma13225064 in view of NAKAMURA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170057051 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references.
Applicant’s argument that, “Lufan does not disclose or suggest a ratio of the alleged inductance change in the first and second directions” is not persuasive. NAKAMURA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170057051 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1. Nakamura discloses the first and second direction and Lufan is modified in view of Nakamura. Therefore, Lufan in view of Nakamura discloses the claim limitation. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s argument see remarks page 11-12, filed 3/27/2026, regarding the rejection of dependent Claim(s) 4-7, 9-12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of Sandra Nunes et al. (Hereinafter, “Sandra”) in NPL-Non-destructive assessment of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers based on a magnetic method; Volume 72, September 2016, Pages 66-79; Available online 1 June 2016 is persuasive because of the same reason as stated above. Therefore claims 4-7, 9-12 and 15 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of Nakamura ‘051 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Sandra Nunes et al. (Hereinafter, “Sandra”) in NPL-Non-destructive assessment of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers based on a magnetic method; Volume 72, September 2016, Pages 66-79; Available online 1 June 2016, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of the newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s argument, see remarks page 12-16, filed on 3/27/2026 regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 13-14, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of BOXCER JOHN (Hereinafter, “Boxcer”) in the US patent Number US 2953017 A, the rejection of Claim(s)18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of Boxcer ‘017 A, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Reitsma et al. (Hereinafter, “Reitsma”) in the US patent Number US 9157768 B2 is persuasive because applicant has amended claim 16 (similar amendment for independent claim 1) as stated above. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. NAKAMURA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170057051 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 16. Therefore Claim(s) 13-14, 16 and 19 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of Nakamura ‘051 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of BOXCER JOHN (Hereinafter, “Boxcer”) in the US patent Number US 2953017 A and Claim(s) 18 and 20 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of Nakamura ‘051 A1 and Boxcer ‘017 A.as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Reitsma et al. (Hereinafter, “Reitsma”) in the US patent Number US 9157768 B2, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of the newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan Li et al (Hereinafter, “Lufan”) in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes; Published: 10 November 2020; Journals Materials Volume 13 Issue 22 10.3390/ma13225064 in view of NAKAMURA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170057051 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lufan teaches a method (This research adopted the non-destructive C-shape ferromagnetic probe inductive test and investigated the straight steel fibre distribution of the UHPFRC plate; Page 1, Abstract Line 4-6), comprising:
positioning a magnetic sensor (A magnetic probe was manufactured based on Nunes’ research [22]. The probe (Figure 3a) was made of a high frequency inductive Mn-Zn ferrite core wrapped by 350 turns of 0.9 mm diameter enameled copper wire; Page 4, 3.1. Probe Specification Line 1-2) on or adjacent to a surface of an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) structure (Concrete has been the most significant construction material throughout history. Ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) was developed as a cementitious composite material with far higher strength, durability, and resistance to external environments than traditional construction materials [1]. With the addition of fibres, the mechanical properties of ultra-high performance fibre reinforced concrete (UHPFRC) can be further improved; Page 1, 1. Introduction Line 1-4) (The magnetic probe was placed on a smooth surface of the UHPFRC specimen and connected with a LCR meter with two clips; Page 4, 3.1. Probe Specification Line 5-6);
the magnetic sensor comprising a first coil wound around a first inductor core (A magnetic probe was manufactured based on Nunes’ research [22]. The probe (Figure 3a) was made of a high frequency inductive Mn-Zn ferrite core wrapped by 350 turns of 0.9 mm diameter enameled copper wire, Page 4; 3.1. Probe Specification Line 1-2) and a second coil wound around a second inductor core (A magnetic probe was manufactured based on Nunes’ research [22]. The probe (Figure 3a) was made of a high frequency inductive Mn-Zn ferrite core wrapped by 350 turns of 0.9 mm diameter enameled copper wire, Page 4; 3.1. Probe Specification Line 1-2) that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core (As shown in Figure 7, by placing the magnetic probe in two orthogonal directions (horizontally and vertically), the spatial distribution and orientation distribution at each red point were measured; Page 6; 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-7);
determining, using the magnetic sensor, inductance change of the UHPC structure (Tonghui TH2830 LCR meter was used to measure the magnetic inductance under 1 kHz with a test signal of 1 V. The variation of inductance of a single object was lower than ±0.01 mH under this testing condition. Page 4, 3.1. Probe Specification Line 6-8) in two directions that are substantially orthogonal to each other (As shown in Figure 7, by placing the magnetic probe in two orthogonal directions (horizontally and vertically), the spatial distribution and orientation distribution at each red point were measured. The magnetic inductances of the red points in Figure 6 were recorded directly from the LCR meter; Page 6, 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-7; In total, 81 data points were collected for each plate. Air inductance was labelled as Lair. The magnetic inductance values measured in the horizontal and vertical directions were labelled as Lij,x and Lij,y. All the magnetic inductance values were divided by the air inductance to get the relative magnetic permeability µ; Page 7, 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-11); the two directions corresponds to direction of the first and second inductor cores (Figure 3a; Modified Figure 3a of Lufan below shows the two directions corresponds to direction of the first and second inductor cores); and
Figure 3a; Modified Figure 3a of Lufan
determining a fiber orientation within the UHPC structure based upon the determined inductance change in the two directions (By placing the probe on 300 mm × 300 mm × 30 mm specimens in different directions and testing the inductance, the corresponding fibre distribution conditions can be identified; Page 2, 1. Introduction Line 24-25; As shown in Figure 7, by placing the magnetic probe in two orthogonal directions (horizontally and vertically), the spatial distribution and orientation distribution at each red point were measured. Page 6; 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-7);
the fiber orientation is based upon a ratio of the inductance change in the two directions (By placing the probe on 300 mm × 300 mm × 30 mm specimens in different directions and testing the inductance, the corresponding fibre distribution conditions can be identified. According to Nunes et al., a relative magnetic permeability µr,mean, which reflects fibre content, can be calculated as:
; 1. Page 2; Introduction Line 24-30; a relative magnetic permeability µr reflects the fiber content. However relative permittivity is calculated by testing the inductance in different direct which also used to identify fiber distribution condition. Equation shows that the relative permittivity is calculated based on the ratio of the inductance in different direction which is represented as φ, (90-φ) as different direction. Therefore, fiber orientation is based on the relative permittivity and based on the ratio inductance changes in different direction. As claim does not recite any specific equation or relation between the ratio of inductance change and fiber orientation Lufan discloses the claim limitation the fiber orientation is based upon a ratio of the inductance change in the two directions as shown in the equation above).
However, Lufan fails to teach that the second inductor core leg that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg; the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to a direction of the first inductor core leg and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first and second inductor cores core legs.
Nakamura teaches an eddy current sensor suitable for detecting a conductive film such as a metal film formed on a surface of a substrate such as a semiconductor wafer (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-4), wherein
a first coil [1-632] wound around a first inductor core leg [1-67] of a magnetic core [1-304] and a second coil [1-62a] wound around a second inductor core leg [1-65a] of the magnetic core [1-304] (FIG. 8 illustrates another embodiment of the eddy current sensor. In FIG. 8, the eddy current sensor includes a sensor part 1-304, and a dummy part 1-306 arranged in the vicinity of the sensor part 1-304. The sensor part 1-304 includes a sensor core part 1-304a and a sensor coil part 1-304b. The sensor core part 1-304a includes a sensor common part 1-65a, and the first cantilever part 1-66 and the second cantilever part 1-67 connected to the sensor common part 1-65a; Paragraph [0086] Line 1-9),
the second inductor core leg [1-65a] that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg [1-67] (Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Nakamura shows below that the second inductor core leg that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg);
the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to a direction of the first inductor core leg and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first inductor core legs (Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Nakamura shows below shows that the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to a direction of the first inductor core leg and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first inductor core legs). The purpose of doing so is to accurately achieve the object to generate reference signals during measurement (0093), to avoid magnetic field interference of the cores of each other (0094), to stabilize the circuit operation.
Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Nakamura
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure of the magnetic core as disclosed by Lufan in Figure 3a; Modified Figure 3a of Lufan above in view of the magnetic core as disclosed by Nakamura in Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Nakamura above, to have the second inductor core leg that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg, because Nakamura teaches to have the second inductor core leg that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg can accurately achieve the object to generate reference signals during measurement (Paragraph [0093]), avoids magnetic field interference of the cores of each other (Paragraph [0094]), can stabilize the circuit operation (Paragraph [0096]).
Regarding claim 2, Lufan teaches a method, comprising
determining fiber content of the UHPC structure (By applying this method, fibre volume content and the fibre orientation angle can be calibrated for the entire plate; Page 1, Abstract Line 7-8; The magnetic inductances of the red points in Figure 6 were recorded directly from the LCR meter. In total, 81 data points were collected for each plate. Air inductance was labelled as Lair. The magnetic inductance values measured in the horizontal and vertical directions were labelled as Lij,x and Lij,y. All the magnetic inductance values were divided by the air inductance to get the relative magnetic permeability µ. The average of relative magnetic permeability measured in two orthogonal directions is the indication of fibre volume content; Page 7; 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 8-13).
Claim(s) 4-7, 9-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of Nakamura ‘051 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Sandra Nunes et al. (Hereinafter, “Sandra”) in NPL-Non-destructive assessment of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers based on a magnetic method; Volume 72, September 2016, Pages 66-79; Available online 1 June 2016.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lufan and Nakamura fails to teach a method, wherein the magnetic sensor is excited by a continuous wave at a first frequency to determine the inductance change in the two directions.
Sandra teaches an NDT method for the in-situ detection of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers or thin elements, based on the magnetic properties of the fibres; Page 67; Column 2 Line 25-27),
wherein the magnetic sensor is excited by a continuous wave at a first frequency to determine the inductance change in the two directions (A sinusoidal wave with an amplitude of 2.68 V and a frequency of 100 Hz was generated. In the absence of leakage flux, all the flux
created on the primary winding would cross the secondary winding, creating an equal voltage in the latter likewise in an ideal transformer. Based on the difference of voltages between the two
windings a leakage inductance of 4% was estimated; Page 68; Column 2; 2.2.1. Estimate of leakage inductance Line 11-16). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified physical model having a 2D distribution of fibres, all fibres aligned in the same direction and with
negligible interaction between them (Page 68; Column 2; 2.3. Theoretical model Line 7-9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Nakamura in view of Sandra to excite the magnetic sensor by a continuous wave at a first frequency to determine the inductance change in the two directions, because Sandra teaches to excite the magnetic sensor by a continuous wave at a first frequency to determine the inductance change in the two directions provides simplified physical model having a 2D distribution of fibres, all fibres aligned in the same direction and with negligible interaction between them (Page 68; Column 2; 2.3. Theoretical model Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lufan and Nakamura fails to teach a method, wherein the magnetic sensor is excited at a plurality of frequencies to determine corresponding inductance change in the two directions at different frequencies.
Sandra teaches an NDT method for the in-situ detection of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers or thin elements, based on the magnetic properties of the fibres; Page 67; Column 2 Line 25-27),
wherein the magnetic sensor is excited at a plurality of frequencies to determine corresponding inductance change in the two directions at different frequencies (The
tests covered the whole range of frequencies available in the Agilent E4980A LCR meter, from 20 Hz to 300 kHz. As shown in Fig. 13 (a) the values of the Lair remain approximately constant in the frequency range of 20 Hz to 2 kHz, thus being this the band considered for the following tests. Then, measurements were also taken placing the probe over UHPFRC specimens with different fibre contents, from 1 to 4% (from test series M2, oriented in the X direction, presented in Section 3) in order to fully evaluate and study the change of inductance with frequency values. The measurements were taken in two orthogonal directions: one aligned with the direction of preferential orientation of the fibres (Lx), and the other perpendicular to the preferential orientation of the fibres (Ly); Page 73; Column 2 Line 5-18). The purpose of doing so is to fully evaluate and study the change of inductance with frequency values, to include the sensitivity of the probe to the inclusion of even small fibre contents, to provide within this range of frequencies, both Lx and Ly present stable values, in agreement with what had been found for Lair, to properly detect the small differences between Lx and Ly, even for the lowest fibres dosage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Nakamura in view of Sandra to excite the magnetic sensor at a plurality of frequencies to determined corresponding inductance change in the two directions at different frequencies, because Sandra teaches to excite the magnetic sensor at a plurality of frequencies to determined corresponding inductance change in the two directions at different frequencies fully evaluates and study the change of inductance with frequency values (Page 73; Column 2), includes the sensitivity of the probe to the inclusion of even small fibre contents, provides within this range of frequencies, both Lx and Ly present stable values, in agreement with what had been found for Lair, properly detects the small differences between Lx and Ly, even for the lowest fibres dosage.(Page 73 Column 2 Line 19-25).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lufan and Nakamura fails to teach a method, wherein fiber content and orientation of the UHPC structure are determined for each of the different frequencies.
Sandra teaches an NDT method for the in-situ detection of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers or thin elements, based on the magnetic properties of the fibres; Page 67; Column 2 Line 25-27),
wherein fiber content and orientation of the UHPC structure are determined for each of the different frequencies (The tests covered the whole range of frequencies available in the Agilent E4980A LCR meter, from 20 Hz to 300 kHz. As shown in Fig. 13 (a) the values of the Lair remain approximately constant in the frequency range of 20 Hz to 2 kHz, thus being this the band considered for the following tests. Then, measurements were also taken placing the probe over UHPFRC specimens with different fibre contents, from 1 to 4% (from test series M2, oriented in the X direction, presented in Section 3) in order to fully evaluate and study the change of inductance with frequency values. The measurements were taken in two orthogonal
directions: one aligned with the direction of preferential orientation of the fibres (Lx), and the other perpendicular to the preferential orientation of the fibres (Ly); Page 73; Column 2 Line 5-18). The purpose of doing so is to fully evaluate and study the change of inductance with frequency values, to include the sensitivity of the probe to the inclusion of even small fibre contents, to provide within this range of frequencies, both Lx and Ly present stable values, in agreement with what had been found for Lair, to properly detect the small differences between Lx and Ly, even for the lowest fibres dosage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Nakamura in view of Sandra to determine fiber content and orientation of the UHPC structure for each of the different frequencies, because Sandra teaches to determine fiber content and orientation of the UHPC structure for each of the different frequencies fully evaluates and study the change of inductance with frequency values (Page 73; Column 2), includes the sensitivity of the probe to the inclusion of even small fibre contents, provides within this range of frequencies, both Lx and Ly present stable values, in agreement with what had been found for Lair, properly detects the small differences between Lx and Ly, even for the lowest fibres dosage.(Page 73 Column 2 Line 19-25).
Regarding claim 7, Lufan teaches a method,
wherein the fiber content and orientation is associated with a depth in the UHPC structure (This research adopted the non-destructive C-shape ferromagnetic probe inductive test and investigated the straight steel fibre distribution of the UHPFRC plate. A simplified characterization equation is introduced with an attenuation factor to consider the different plate thicknesses. The effective testing depth of this probe was tested to be 24 mm. By applying this method, fibre volume content and the fibre orientation angle can be calibrated for the entire plate; Page 1, Abstract Line 4-8; The effective depth testing was conducted on 2% and 2.5% vol. UHPFRC. In total, 4 points (2 points for each group) were tested. Based on Equation (6), AF data of each testing point were calculated and the results are shown in Table 4. The relative magnetic permeability decreased with the increase of plate thickness. For specimens with lower fibre content, the relative magnetic permeability tended to drop quicker. All groups of AF data dropped below 10% for depths greater than 24 mm; Page 5, 3.3. Effective Depth Test Results Line 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lufan and Nakamura fails to teach a method, wherein fiber content and orientation of the UHPC structure are determined for each of the different frequencies.
Sandra teaches an NDT method for the in-situ detection of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers or thin elements, based on the magnetic properties of the fibres; Page 67; Column 2 Line 25-27),
comprising adjusting orientation of the magnetic sensor based upon the determined fiber orientation and determining inductance change of the UHPC structure in two directions with the magnetic sensor in the adjusted orientation (First, inductance measurements were taken when the probe was placed away from any ferromagnetic object (Lair). The tests covered the whole range of frequencies available in the Agilent E4980A LCR meter, from 20 Hz to 300 kHz. As shown in Fig. 13 (a) the values of the Lair remain approximately constant in the frequency range of 20 Hz to 2 kHz, thus being this the band
considered for the following tests. Then, measurements were also taken placing the probe over
UHPFRC specimens with different fibre contents, from 1 to 4% (from test series M2, oriented in the X direction, presented in Section 3) in order to fully evaluate and study the change of inductance with frequency values. The measurements were taken in two orthogonal
directions: one aligned with the direction of preferential orientation of the fibres (Lx), and the other perpendicular to the preferential orientation of the fibres (Ly); Page 73; Column 2 Line 4-18; As shown in Fig. 14, the inductance measurements were taken in two zones of the plates, A and B, where the crack will open in the DEWS test [37] and along two directions (Y and X) for each zone. The two measurements performed on each zone have been achieved rotating the magnetic probe 90o around its axis. In this manner, about the same part of concrete has been analysed in the two directions; Page 74; Column 1 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to analyze the same part of concrete has been in the two directions, can properly detect the small differences between Lx and Ly, even for the lowest fibres dosage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Nakamura in view of Sandra to adjust orientation of the magnetic sensor based upon the determined fiber orientation, because Sandra teaches to adjust orientation of the magnetic sensor based upon the determined fiber orientation analyzes the same part of concrete has been in the two directions (Page 74 Column 1 Line 7-9), can properly detect the small differences between Lx and Ly, even for the lowest fibres dosage (Page 73 Column 2 Line 24-25).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lufan and Nakamura fails to teach a method, comprising repositioning the magnetic sensor to another position along the surface of the UHPC structure and determining inductance change of the UHPC structure in two directions with the magnetic sensor at the other position.
Sandra teaches an NDT method for the in-situ detection of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers or thin elements, based on the magnetic properties of the fibres; Page 67; Column 2 Line 25-27),
comprising repositioning the magnetic sensor to another position along the surface of the UHPC structure and determining inductance change of the UHPC structure in two additional directions with the magnetic sensor at the other position (As shown in Fig. 14, the inductance measurements were taken in two zones of the plates, A and B, where the crack will open in the DEWS test [37] and along two directions (Y and X) for each zone. The two measurements performed on each zone have been achieved rotating the magnetic probe 90o around its axis. In this manner, about the same part of concrete has been analysed in the two directions; Page 74; Column 1 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to analyze the same part of concrete has been in the two directions, can properly detect the small differences between Lx and Ly, even for the lowest fibres dosage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Nakamura in view of Sandra to reposition the magnetic sensor to another position along the surface of the UHPC structure, because Sandra teaches to reposition the magnetic sensor to another position along the surface of the UHPC structure analyzes the same part of concrete has been in the two directions (Page 74 Column 1 Line 7-9), can properly detect the small differences between Lx and Ly, even for the lowest fibres dosage (Page 73 Column 2 Line 24-25).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lufan and Nakamura fails to teach a method, wherein the fiber orientation and fiber content are determined at a plurality of positions along the surface of the UHPC structure.
Sandra teaches an NDT method for the in-situ detection of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers or thin elements, based on the magnetic properties of the fibres; Page 67; Column 2 Line 25-27),
wherein the fiber orientation and fiber content are determined at a plurality of positions along the surface of the UHPC structure (As shown in Fig. 14, the inductance measurements were taken in two zones of the plates, A and B, where the crack will open in the
DEWS test [37] and along two directions (Y and X) for each zone. The two measurements performed on each zone have been achieved rotating the magnetic probe 90o around its axis. In this manner, about the same part of concrete has been analysed in the two directions; Page 74; Column 1 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to analyze the same part of concrete has been in the two directions, can properly detect the small differences between Lx and Ly, even for the lowest fibres dosage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Nakamura in view of Sandra to determine the fiber orientation and fiber content at a plurality of positions along the surface of the UHPC structure, because Sandra teaches to determine the fiber orientation and fiber content at a plurality of positions along the surface of the UHPC structure analyzes the same part of concrete has been in the two directions (Page 74 Column 1 Line 7-9), can properly detect the small differences between Lx and Ly, even for the lowest fibres dosage (Page 73 Column 2 Line 24-25).
Regarding claim 12, Lufan teaches a method,
comprising generating a structural image based upon the inductance change at the plurality of positions along the surface of the UHPC Structure (The first coloured contour plot in Figure 9a describes the fibre distribution of all plates at a unified scale. Colours ranging from blue to red represent the differences of fibre volume content. It can be seen directly that plates 2%–20 mm and 2.5%–15 mm have a lower fibre volume content than the designed fibre volume content. The detailed fibre distribution cannot be visualized, since the range of data
was too wide in the coloured contour plots. Thus, a greyscale contour plot is given in Figure 9b as a comparison. The darker shading indicates a lower fibre volume content. It can be seen that there was no obvious fibre spatial distribution trend in the middle area of each plate, only the four boundaries appeared to have a lower fibre volume content. This mainly results from the limitation of the testing area (boundary effect); Page 8 Line 15-19 & Page 9 Line 1-4; Figure 11 shows the fibre orientation distribution of all plates. Instead of contour plots, the fibre orientation angle is represented by dots in different colours; Page 11 Line 7-9).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lufan and Nakamura fails to teach a method, comprising determining a location of the magnetic sensor with respect to the UHPC structure when determining the inductance change in two directions.
Sandra teaches an NDT method for the in-situ detection of fibre content and orientation in UHPFRC layers or thin elements, based on the magnetic properties of the fibres; Page 67; Column 2 Line 25-27),
comprising determining a location of the magnetic sensor with respect to the UHPC structure when determining the inductance change in two directions (Starting from a theoretical model based on an analogy between the magnetic and electric circuits, equations were
derived for estimating the magnetic inductance measured by the probe when placed over an UHPFRC layer and two indicators of the fibre content and preferential orientation of the fibres were developed. These indicators were then validated in the laboratory with measurements on small UHPFRC plates, produced with varying matrix formulation, fibre length, fibre content and orientation; Page 77; 5. Conclusions; Column 2 Line 5-13). The purpose of doing so is to calibrate a linear relation between mr,mean and the fibre content by testing UHPFRC specimens all with the same type of fibres but well-known fibre contents, to identify the direction of preferential orientation of the fibres.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Nakamura in view of Sandra to determine a location of the magnetic sensor with respect to the UHPC structure, because Sandra teaches to determine a location of the magnetic sensor with respect to the UHPC structure calibrates a linear relation between mr,mean and the fibre content by testing UHPFRC specimens all with the same type of fibres but well-known fibre contents, identifies the direction of preferential orientation of the fibres (Page 78; Column 1 Line 9-18).
Claim(s) 13-14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of Nakamura ‘051 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of BOXCER JOHN (Hereinafter, “Boxcer”) in the US patent Number US 2953017 A.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lufan and Nakamura fails to teach a method, wherein the magnetic sensor is supported at a fixed distance away from the surface of the UHPC structure.
Boxcer teaches an apparatus for ultrasonically testing welds .and particularly long butt welds, for ex- ample, longitudinal welds in cylindrical pressure vessels (Column 1 Line 15-17),
wherein the magnetic sensor is supported at a fixed distance away from the surface of the UHPC structure (As will be understood, the consequent variations in the positioning of a probe located a constant distance from the center of the weld will be accompanied by corresponding deviations from the desired location in the weld, for instance, the root, at which the ultrasonic beam impinges; Column 1 Line 46-51; This track supports a carriage on which are mounted probe means biased toward the surface of the workpiece at or adjacent the weld, the workpiece surface to which the probes are applied being covered with a coupling liquid. As the carriage is moved along the track, the probe means are operated to detect flaws in the weld; Column 1 Line 55-60). The purpose of doing so is to direct the probes toward different regions in the depth of the weld.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Nakamura in view of Boxcer to support the magnetic sensor at a fixed distance away from the surface of the UHPC structure, because Boxcer teaches to support the magnetic sensor is supported at a fixed distance away from the surface of the UHPC structure directs the probes toward different regions in the depth of the weld (Column 1 Line 64-65).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lufan and Nakamura fails to teach a method of claim 12, wherein the magnetic sensor is supported by a vehicle or carriage configured to allow movement along the surface of the UHPC structure.
Boxcer teaches an apparatus for ultrasonically testing welds .and particularly long butt welds, for ex- ample, longitudinal welds in cylindrical pressure vessels (Column 1 Line 15-17),
wherein the magnetic sensor is supported by a vehicle or carriage configured to allow movement along the surface of the UHPC structure (In accordance with the present invention, an elongated butt weld between parts of a workpiece is ultrasonically tested by first positioning a track in adjacent parallel relation to the weld. This track supports a carriage on which are mounted probe means biased toward the surface of the workpiece at or adjacent the weld, the workpiece surface to which the probes are applied being covered with a coupling liquid. As the carriage is moved along the track, the probe means are operated to detect flaws in the weld; Column 1 Line 52-61). The purpose of doing so is to direct the probes toward different regions in the depth of the weld, to detect flaws in the weld.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Nakamura in view of Boxcer to support the magnetic sensor by a vehicle or carriage configured to allow movement along the surface of the UHPC structure, because Boxcer teaches to support the magnetic sensor by a vehicle or carriage configured to allow movement along the surface of the UHPC structure directs the probes toward different regions in the depth of the weld (Column 1 Line 64-65), detects flaws in the weld (Column 1 Line 60-61).
Regarding claim 16, Lufan teaches a system (This research adopted the non-destructive C-shape ferromagnetic probe inductive test and investigated the straight steel fibre distribution of the UHPFRC plate; Page 1, Abstract Line 4-6), comprising:
at least one magnetic sensor (A magnetic probe was manufactured based on Nunes’ research [22]. The probe (Figure 3a) was made of a high frequency inductive Mn-Zn ferrite core wrapped by 350 turns of 0.9 mm diameter enameled copper wire; Page 4, 3.1. Probe Specification Line 1-2) on or adjacent to a surface of an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) structure (Concrete has been the most significant construction material throughout history. Ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) was developed as a cementitious composite material with far higher strength, durability, and resistance to external environments than traditional construction materials [1]. With the addition of fibres, the mechanical properties of ultra-high performance fibre reinforced concrete (UHPFRC) can be further improved; Page 1, 1. Introduction Line 1-4) (The magnetic probe was placed on a smooth surface of the UHPFRC specimen and connected with a LCR meter with two clips; Page 4, 3.1. Probe Specification Line 5-6);
the at least one magnetic sensor comprising a first magnetic sensor including a first coil wound around a first inductor core (A magnetic probe was manufactured based on Nunes’ research [22]. The probe (Figure 3a) was made of a high frequency inductive Mn-Zn ferrite core wrapped by 350 turns of 0.9 mm diameter enameled copper wire, Page 4; 3.1. Probe Specification Line 1-2) and a second magnetic sensor including a second coil wound around a second inductor core (A magnetic probe was manufactured based on Nunes’ research [22]. The probe (Figure 3a) was made of a high frequency inductive Mn-Zn ferrite core wrapped by 350 turns of 0.9 mm diameter enameled copper wire, Page 4; 3.1. Probe Specification Line 1-2) that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core (As shown in Figure 7, by placing the magnetic probe in two orthogonal directions (horizontally and vertically), the spatial distribution and orientation distribution at each red point were measured; Page 6; 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-7);
at least one data analyzer in communication with the at least one magnetic sensor (As shown in Figure 7, by placing the magnetic probe in two orthogonal directions (horizontally and vertically), the spatial distribution and orientation distribution at each red point were measured. The magnetic inductances of the red points in Figure 6 were recorded directly from the LCR meter with two clips; Page 6, 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-7),
the at least one data analyzer configured to determine inductance change of the UHPC structure using the at least one magnetic sensor (Tonghui TH2830 LCR meter was used to measure the magnetic inductance under 1 kHz with a test signal of 1 V. The variation of inductance of a single object was lower than ±0.01 mH under this testing condition. Page 4, 3.1. Probe Specification Line 6-8),
wherein inductance change of the UHPC structure is obtained in two directions that are substantially orthogonal to each other (As shown in Figure 7, by placing the magnetic probe in two orthogonal directions (horizontally and vertically), the spatial distribution and orientation distribution at each red point were measured. The magnetic inductances of the red points in Figure 6 were recorded directly from the LCR meter; Page 6, 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-7; In total, 81 data points were collected for each plate. Air inductance was labelled as Lair. The magnetic inductance values measured in the horizontal and vertical directions were labelled as Lij,x and Lij,y. All the magnetic inductance values were divided by the air inductance to get the relative magnetic permeability µ; Page 7, 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-11);
the two directions corresponds to directions of the first and second inductor cores (Figure 3a; Modified Figure 3a of Lufan above shows the two directions corresponds to direction of the first and second inductor cores); and
processing circuitry configured to determine a fiber orientation within the UHPC structure based upon the determined inductance change in the two directions (By placing the probe on 300 mm × 300 mm × 30 mm specimens in different directions and testing the inductance, the corresponding fibre distribution conditions can be identified; Page 2, 1. Introduction Line 24-25; As shown in Figure 7, by placing the magnetic probe in two orthogonal directions (horizontally and vertically), the spatial distribution and orientation distribution at each red point were measured. Page 6; 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-7; The magnetic probe was placed on a smooth surface of the UHPFRC specimen and connected with a LCR meter with two clips; Page 4, 3.1. Probe Specification Line 5-6);
the fiber orientation is based upon a ratio of the inductance change in the two directions (By placing the probe on 300 mm × 300 mm × 30 mm specimens in different directions and testing the inductance, the corresponding fibre distribution conditions can be identified. According to Nunes et al., a relative magnetic permeability µr,mean, which reflects fibre content, can be calculated as:
; 1. Page 2; Introduction Line 24-30).
However, Lufan fails to teach that the second inductor core leg that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg; the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to a direction of the first inductor core leg and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first and second inductor cores core legs; the first magnetic sensor positioned with the first inductor core leg in a first direction and the second magnetic sensor positioned with the second inductor core leg in a second direction substantially orthogonal to the first direction; the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to the direction of the first inductor core leg of the first magnetic sensor and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first and second inductor cores core legs of the first magnetic sensor, the second direction corresponding to the direction of the first inductor core leg of the second magnetic sensor the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to a direction of the first inductor core leg and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first inductor core legs and a support structure that supports first and second magnetic sensors on or adjacent to a surface of an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) structure.
Nakamura teaches an eddy current sensor suitable for detecting a conductive film such as a metal film formed on a surface of a substrate such as a semiconductor wafer (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-4), wherein
a first coil [1-632] wound around a first inductor core leg [1-67] of a magnetic core [1-304] and a second coil [1-62a] wound around a second inductor core leg [1-65a] of the magnetic core [1-304] (FIG. 8 illustrates another embodiment of the eddy current sensor. In FIG. 8, the eddy current sensor includes a sensor part 1-304, and a dummy part 1-306 arranged in the vicinity of the sensor part 1-304. The sensor part 1-304 includes a sensor core part 1-304a and a sensor coil part 1-304b. The sensor core part 1-304a includes a sensor common part 1-65a, and the first cantilever part 1-66 and the second cantilever part 1-67 connected to the sensor common part 1-65a; Paragraph [0086] Line 1-9),
the second inductor core leg [1-65a] that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg [1-67] (Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Nakamura shows above that the second inductor core leg that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg);
the first magnetic sensor [1-304a] positioned with the first inductor core leg [1-67] in a first direction and the second magnetic sensor [1-65a] positioned with the second inductor core leg [1-65a] in a second direction substantially orthogonal to the first direction (Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Nakamura above shows that the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to a direction of the first inductor core leg and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first inductor core legs);
the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to the direction of the first inductor core leg of the first magnetic sensor and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first and second inductor cores core legs of the first magnetic sensor, the second direction corresponding to the direction of the first inductor core leg of the second magnetic sensor the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to a direction of the first inductor core leg and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first inductor core legs (Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Nakamura above shows that the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to the direction of the first inductor core leg of the first magnetic sensor and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first and second inductor cores core legs of the first magnetic sensor, the second direction corresponding to the direction of the first inductor core leg of the second magnetic sensor the two directions comprising a first direction corresponding to a direction of the first inductor core leg and a second direction substantially orthogonal to directions of the first inductor core legs). The purpose of doing so is to accurately achieve the object to generate reference signals during measurement (0093), to avoid magnetic field interference of the cores of each other (0094), to stabilize the circuit operation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure of the magnetic core as disclosed by Lufan in Figure 3a; Modified Figure 3a of Lufan above in view of the magnetic core as disclosed by Nakamura in Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Nakamura above, to have the second inductor core leg that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg, because Nakamura teaches to have the second inductor core leg that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg can accurately achieve the object to generate reference signals during measurement (Paragraph [0093]), avoids magnetic field interference of the cores of each other (Paragraph [0094]), can stabilize the circuit operation (Paragraph [0096]).
The combination of Lufan and Nakamura fails to teach a support structure that supports first and second magnetic sensors on or adjacent to a surface of an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) structure.
Boxcer teaches an apparatus for ultrasonically testing welds .and particularly long butt welds, for ex- ample, longitudinal welds in cylindrical pressure vessels (Column 1 Line 15-17),
wherein a support structure that supports at least one magnetic sensor on or adjacent to a surface of an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) structure (As will be understood, the consequent variations in the positioning of a probe located a constant distance from the center of the weld will be accompanied by corresponding deviations from the desired location in the weld, for instance, the root, at which the ultrasonic beam impinges; Column 1 Line 46-51; This track supports a carriage on which are mounted probe means biased toward the surface of the workpiece at or adjacent the weld, the workpiece surface to which the probes are applied being covered with a coupling liquid. As the carriage is moved along the track, the probe means are operated to detect flaws in the weld; Column 1 Line 55-60). The purpose of doing so is to direct the probes toward different regions in the depth of the weld.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Nakamura in view of Boxcer to include a support structure that supports at least one magnetic sensor, because Boxcer teaches to include a support structure that supports at least one magnetic sensor on or adjacent to a surface of an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) structure directs the probes toward different regions in the depth of the weld (Column 1 Line 64-65).
Regarding claim 19, Lufan teaches a system,
wherein the at last one data analyzer comprises an inductance, capacitance, and resistance (LCR) meter (As shown in Figure 7, by placing the magnetic probe in two orthogonal directions (horizontally and vertically), the spatial distribution and orientation distribution at each red point were measured. The magnetic inductances of the red points in Figure 6 were recorded directly from the LCR meter; Page 6, 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-7).
Claim(s) 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lufan in NPL-Fibre Distribution Characterization of Ultra-High Performance Fibre-Reinforced Concrete (UHPFRC) Plates Using Magnetic Probes in view of Nakamura ‘051 A1 and Boxcer ‘017 A.as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Reitsma et al. (Hereinafter, “Reitsma”) in the US patent Number US 9157768 B2.
Regarding claim 18, Lufan teaches a system,
wherein the at least one data analyzer comprises: a first data analyzer in communication with the first magnetic sensor (As shown in Figure 7, by placing the magnetic probe in two orthogonal directions (horizontally and vertically), the spatial distribution and orientation distribution at each red point were measured. The magnetic inductances of the red points in Figure 6 were recorded directly from the LCR meter with two clips; Page 6, 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-7),
the first data analyzer configured to determine inductance change of the UHPC structure in the first direction (Tonghui TH2830 LCR meter was used to measure the magnetic inductance under 1 kHz with a test signal of 1 V. The variation of inductance of a single object was lower than ±0.01 mH under this testing condition. Page 4, 3.1. Probe Specification Line 6-8; As shown in Figure 7, by placing the magnetic probe in two orthogonal directions (horizontally and vertically), the spatial distribution and orientation distribution at each red point were measured. The magnetic inductances of the red points in Figure 6 were recorded directly from the LCR meter with two clips; Page 6, 3.4. Plate Test Method Line 6-7).
The combination of Lufan, Nakamura and Boxcer fails to teach a system, a second data analyzer in communication with the second magnetic sensor, the second data analyzer configured to determine inductance change of the UHPC structure in a second direction substantially orthogonal to the first direction.
Reitsma teaches inductive sensing systems, including systems based on resonant inductive sensing, such as for detecting position or proximity, or state or condition, of a target (Column 1 Line 22-25),
a second data analyzer in communication with the second magnetic sensor, the second data analyzer configured to determine inductance change of the UHPC structure in the second direction substantially orthogonal to the first direction (FIG. 6 shows a diagram that illustrates an example of a position detecting system 600 in accordance with an alternate embodiment of the present invention. Position detecting system 600 is the same as position detecting system 500, except that position detecting system 600 utilizes multiple processing circuits 134 in lieu of multiplexor 510 and the single processing circuit 134 shown in FIG. 5; Column 13 Line 59-65). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the need for routing the power and ground wires and to make economic to integrate the coils (which are inexpensive) with an assembly, while keeping all electronics in one box at another location.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan, Nakamura and Boxcer in view of Reitsma to include a second data analyzer in communication with the second magnetic sensor, because Reitsma teaches to include a second data analyzer in communication with the second magnetic sensor eliminates the need for routing the power and ground wires and to make economic to integrate the coils (which are inexpensive) with an assembly, while keeping all electronics in one box at another location (Column 14 Line 16-20).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lufan and Boxcer fails to teach a system, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to render measured inductance changes in real-time.
Reitsma teaches inductive sensing systems, including systems based on resonant inductive sensing, such as for detecting position or proximity, or state or condition, of a target (Column 1 Line 22-25),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to render measured inductance changes in real-time (The processing circuit generates a signal in response to the measured energy loss or mutual inductance. In addition, the processing circuit generates a switch signal that controls the open or closed state of the switch in response to the energy of the time varying magnetic field rising above and falling below the threshold power level; Column 2 Line 25-30). The purpose of doing so is to detect the loss of power of the time varying magnetic field, and causes the switch to change states when the power loss of the time varying magnetic field falls below the threshold power level.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lufan and Boxcer in view of Reitsma to measured inductance changes in real-time, because Reitsma teaches to measured inductance changes in real-time detects the loss of power of the time varying magnetic field, and causes the switch to change states when the power loss of the time varying magnetic field falls below the threshold power level (Column 2 Line 13-15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
FIALA et al. (US 20170343512 A1) discloses, “A METHOD AND A DETECTION DEVICE FOR EVALUATING THE DISTRIBUTION, DENSITY AND ORIENTATION OF FERROMAGNETIC, ELECTRICALLY CONDUCTIVE FIBRES IN A COMPOSITE MATERIAL- [0001] The invention relates to a method and a detection device for evaluating the distribution and orientation of ferromagnetic, electrically conductive fibres in a conductive material. [0020] The present invention relates to and proposes a method and a detection device for evaluating the electromagnetic properties of ferromagnetic, electrically conductive parts of a composite material, the purpose of the said device being to perform the method. The detection device comprises a ferromagnetic core 1 consisting of a base 1.1, which connects two arms 1.2 having an electrical winding; the ferromagnetic core 1 is C, U or E-shaped, and the winding of the electric coil is distributed or uniform, as shown in FIG. 1a. The ferromagnetic core 1 having the dimensions A, B, C and the axis 20 is advantageously made of a ferrite material; for the said dimensions, we have C≧3B and B≅A, where A denotes the width of an arm 1.2, B represents the depth of an arm 1.2, and C is the length of the base 1.1. The ferromagnetic core 1 is equipped with two electric coils 2 wound on the arms 1.2 and connected in series, the coil leads being terminated at terminals 3 of the winding. To ensure strong magnetic coupling between the ferromagnetic core 1 and the examined volume V of the composite material sample 4 at the original point of measurement 21, the winding of the electric coil 2 is advantageously configured on both arms 1.2 of the ferromagnetic core 1, and the leads of the winding of the electric coil 2 are, at the terminals 3 of the winding, connected to an external electrical circuit 17, which comprises an electric voltage generator 16 with adjustable frequency f and a detection and measuring device 18, the said device advantageously being an impedance meter. The ends of the arms 1.2 of the ferromagnetic core 1 are placed at a distance D from the surface of the examined composite material sample 4. Thus, a magnetic flux Φ is formed which advantageously closes via a magnetic circuit 6 comprising the ferromagnetic core 1 and the examined volume V of the composite material sample 4. The winding of the electric coil 2 is designed in such a manner that the frequency of the electric voltage generator 16 creates resonance, within the interval of between 200 MHz and 2 GHz, as is shown in FIG. 2-However FIALA does not disclose the magnetic sensor comprising a first coil wound around a first inductor core leg of a magnetic core and a second coil wound around a second inductor core leg of the magnetic core, the second inductor core leg that is substantially orthogonal to the first inductor core leg.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858