DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on July 6, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that “examination of all of the identified inventions and all of the pending claims would not result in a serious search and/or examination burden”. This is not found persuasive because the restriction requirement clearly outlined a lack of unity, with a reference. Also, search burden is not a consideration in Unity of Invention analysis. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited within the IDS documents have been considered.
IDS document dates: December 4, 2023; December 6, 2023; January 8, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of informalities as follows:
37 CFR 1.84(g) states, in part: “Margins. The sheets must not contain frames around the sight (i.e., the usable surface), but should have scan target points (i.e., cross-hairs) printed on two catercorner margin corners.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuoka (US 2018/0033816 A1).
As to claim 1, Fukuoka teaches (in figures 1 and 6) a semiconductor device comprising:
a photoelectric converting section (112) that generates a charge according to a received light amount; and
a transfer transistor (120) that transfers the charge of the photoelectric converting section to a predetermined charge accumulation section, wherein
the transfer transistor has a vertical gate electrode (123) including an embedded electrode part embedded in a semiconductor substrate (111), and
the embedded electrode part includes an embedded upper electrode and an embedded lower electrode that is arranged on a substrate deep-portion side relative to the embedded upper electrode and that is formed to have an electrode area size, in a plan view, greater than an electrode area size of the embedded upper electrode (see annotated figure below).
As to claim 8, Fukuoka teaches a predetermined charge accumulation section (i.e. a floating diffusion region, 124) includes a high concentration impurity region (n+).
As to claim 12, Fukuoka teaches the semiconductor device includes a solid-state imaging element, and each pixel of the solid-state imaging element includes the photo-electric converting section and the transfer transistor. See figure 1.
As to claim 16, Fukuoka teaches a planar shape of the embedded lower electrode is a polygon.
Claims 1, 2, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2023/0079156, hereinafter referred to as ‘Chen’).
As to claim 1, Chen teaches (in figures 4, 5, and 9) a semiconductor device comprising:
a photoelectric converting section (441) that generates a charge according to a received light amount; and
a transfer transistor (942) that transfers the charge of the photoelectric converting section to a predetermined charge accumulation section, wherein
the transfer transistor has a vertical gate electrode (942) including an embedded electrode part embedded in a semiconductor substrate (410), and
the embedded electrode part includes an embedded upper electrode and an embedded lower electrode that is arranged on a substrate deep-portion side relative to the embedded upper electrode and that is formed to have an electrode area size, in a plan view, greater than an electrode area size of the embedded upper electrode (see figures 5 and 9).
As to claim 2, Chen teaches the embedded lower electrode is formed as a rectangular tube (see figures 4, 5, and 9).
As to claim 12, Chen teaches the semiconductor device includes a solid-state imaging element, and each pixel of the solid-state imaging element includes the photo-electric converting section and the transfer transistor. See figure 4.
As to claim 16, Chen teaches a planar shape of the embedded lower electrode is a polygon. See figures 5 and 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 9-11, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. (Claim 14 is also objected to as being dependent upon an objected claim.)
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent cited art.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Scott B. Geyer (telephone: 571-272-1958). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday, 10AM - 4PM (ET). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at: http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christine S. Kim (telephone: 571-272-8458). The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (in U.S.A. or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/SCOTT B GEYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812