Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, and the rejection has been modified under 35 U.S.C. § 103 to address Applicant’s arguments.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that An fails to teach the limitation reciting that “the separator protrudes relative to one end of the positive electrode,” the argument is persuasive with respect to An alone. Accordingly, the rejection has been modified to rely on Ogawa, which teaches a separator protruding relative to the positive and negative electrode plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode assembly of An to include the protruding separator taught by Ogawa to provide electrical insulation between the electrodes and reduce the possibility of direct contact and short-circuiting.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that An fails to teach the limitation reciting that “a length of the protruding portion is less than or equal to a length from the one end of the positive electrode to the sealing portion,” the rejection has been modified to address this limitation under 35 U.S.C. § 103. The specific length of the protruding separator portion is considered a matter of design choice. Selecting a protrusion length that does not exceed the distance between the end of the positive electrode and the pouch sealing portion would have been an obvious dimensional selection to accommodate the separator within the pouch structure while maintaining the intended electrical insulation. Applicant has not established that the claimed dimensional relationship produces an unexpected result sufficient to overcome the rationale for the proposed modification.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that An is directed to improving the sealing of the electrode lead portion and does not address the separator-protrusion feature, the rejection does not rely on An alone for the separator-protrusion limitation. Rather, Ogawa is relied upon for the protruding separator, and the combination is based on providing electrical insulation between the electrodes and reducing the possibility of direct contact and short-circuiting. The references are considered for their combined teachings, rather than being required to address identical problems individually.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the dimensional disclosure in An concerns the step formed in the lead films and not the separator, this argument has been considered. The rejection no longer relies on An’s lead-film step dimensions as teaching the claimed separator length. Instead, the dimensional limitation is addressed as a matter of design choice in applying the protruding separator taught by Ogawa to the pouch structure of An.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments have been considered, and the rejection has been modified to address the identified deficiencies in the anticipation rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (KR 20170004686), hereinafter An, in view of Ogawa (US 20200395577).
Regarding claim 1, An teaches a pouch-type lithium secondary battery ([0001], pouch-type case 100), comprising:
An electrode assembly comprising ([0007]):
A positive electrode ([0007]);
A separator ([0007]);
The separator protrudes relative to one end of the positive electrode ([0020]);
A negative electrode ([0007]);
A pouch for accommodating the electrode assembly ([0007]):
The pouch has a sealing portion at an edge and a junction portion which seals a portion where the electrode lead tab protrudes to the outside of the pouch through the sealing portion ([0014], [0027]);
An electrode lead tab electrically connected to the electrode assembly comprising ([0007]):
A positive electrode lead tab ([0007]);
A negative electrode lead tab ([0007]).
An fails to teach that the claimed dimensional relationship between the protruding separator and the sealing portion.
Ogawa teaches an electrode assembly in which the separator protrudes relative to the positive and negative electrode plates (Claim 7). Ogawa further teaches an insulating member positioned around the electrode assembly to provide electrical insulation (Claim 1-3).
An and Ogawa are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the electrode assembly of An to provide a separator that extends beyond the electrode edge as taught by Ogawa, in order to provide electrical insulation between the electrodes and reduce the possibility of direct contact and short-circuiting.
Regarding the limitation that the length of the protruding portion is less than or equal to the length from the end of the positive electrode to the sealing portion, the specific length of the separator protrusion is considered a matter of design choice. Selecting a protrusion length that does not exceed the available distance between the positive electrode end and the pouch sealing portion would have been an obvious matter of routine dimensional optimization to accommodate the separator within the electrode assembly and pouch structure while maintaining the intended electrical insulation. Such a selection would have been within the ordinary skill of the art absent evidence that the claimed dimensional relationship produces an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 2, An and Ogawa teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. An further teaches:
The positive electrode has the positive electrode lead tab electrically connected to one end thereof ([0007]);
The negative electrode has the negative electrode lead tab electrically connected to one end thereof ([0007]);
The positive electrode lead tab and the negative electrode lead tab are electrically connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode in the same direction or opposite directions ([0007], [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, An and Ogawa teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. An further teaches the pouch is an aluminum pouch ([0033]).
Regarding claim 4, An and Ogawa teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. An further teaches the junction portion comprises a thermoplastic resin ([0033], the adhesive layer is made of thermoplastic resin materials).
Regarding claim 5, An and Ogawa teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. An further teaches a part of the protruding portion of the separator has an insulation layer ([0033]).
Regarding claim 8, An and Ogawa teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. An further teaches one end of the separator partially protrudes to overlap with the positive electrode lead tab or wraps around the positive electrode lead tab ([0020]).
Claims 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Kim (US 20100173193).
Regarding claim 6, An and Ogawa teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. An teaches an insulation layer ([0033]). An fails to teach the insulation layer is formed on one or both sides of the separator. Kim teaches the insulation layer is formed on one or both sides of the separator ([0057], [0067]). An and Kim are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of pouch lithium secondary batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the placement of the insulation layer of An to incorporate the teachings of Kim to prevent a short circuit (Kim: [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, An and Kim teach the limitations of claim 6, as stated above. An further teaches the insulation layer formed of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) ([0033]). An and Kim are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of pouch lithium secondary batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select an insulation layer of a resin material as they are well known in the art for providing electrical insulation and mechanical flexibility. The selection of PET would have represented the use of a known material for its predictable insulating properties and durability, yielding no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 9, An and Ogawa teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. An further teaches a negative electrode ([0007]). An fails to teach the negative electrode is a lithium negative electrode. Kim teaches the negative electrode is a lithium negative electrode ([0003]). ]). An and Kim are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of pouch lithium secondary batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the negative electrode taught by An in view of Kim to incorporate a lithium-containing negative electrode for the benefit of improved energy storage characteristics and compatibility with non-aqueous electrolyte battery systems. The modification merely substitutes one known negative electrode material for another known equivalent material performing the same function, yielding predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Xue et al. (US 20190326584), hereinafter Xue.
Regarding claim 10, An and Ogawa teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. An fails to teach the lithium secondary battery is a lithium-sulfur secondary battery. Xue teaches a lithium secondary battery is a lithium-sulfur secondary battery ([0082]). An and Kim are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of pouch lithium secondary batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the battery of An to employ a lithium-sulfur pouch battery configuration as taught by Xue. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the lithium-sulfur pouch battery arrangement of Xue into the battery structure of An in order to obtain the predictable benefits including improved energy capacity and reduced weight. The modification would merely involve applying a known battery configuration and chemistry to a known electrochemical device for its recognized advantages, yielding predictable results.
Conclusion
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776