DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/30/2026.
However, the common features including as claimed cannot qualify as special technical features as they do not provide a contribution over the prior art rejection as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the first N-type heavily doped region and the first P-type heavily doped region; wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the second P-type heavily doped region and the first N-type heavily doped region; wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the second N-type heavily doped region and the second P-type heavily doped region; wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the fourth N-type heavily doped region and the third N-type heavily doped region”. It is unclear and indefinite if “an insulation structure” is referring to one and the same or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOO YONG SEO (KR 20140044466 A) (hereinafter Koo) in view of Choi et al. 20200194424.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 2 of Koo discloses a GGNMOS transistor structure, comprising:
a P-type substrate 500;
a first N-potential well 310, a P-potential well 320, and a second N-potential well 410 that are adjacent and horizontally arranged on the P-type substrate in sequence;
a first P-type heavily doped region 314 arranged above the first N-potential well;
a first N-type heavily doped region 312 arranged above the first N-potential well;
a second P-type heavily doped region 324 arranged above the P-potential well;
a second N-type heavily doped region 322 arranged above the P-potential well;
a third N-type heavily doped region 330 arranged above a boundary between the P-potential well and the second N-potential well;
a fourth N-type heavily doped region 412 arranged above the second N-potential well; and
a gate structure 120a-120b arranged on an upper surface of the P-potential well between the third N-type heavily doped region 330 and the second N-type heavily doped region 322,
wherein the first P-type heavily doped region 314, the first N-type heavily doped region 312, and the fourth N-type heavily doped region 412 are connected to a positive electrode (Anode), and the second P-type heavily doped region 324, the second N-type heavily doped region 322, and the gate structure 120a/b are connected (there exist a physical connection as shown in fig. 1 configuration) to a negative electrode (Cathode).
Koo does not disclose of wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the first N-type heavily doped region and the first P-type heavily doped region; wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the second P-type heavily doped region and the first N-type heavily doped region; wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the second N-type heavily doped region and the second P-type heavily doped region; wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the fourth N-type heavily doped region and the third N-type heavily doped region.
However, fig. 3 of Choi discloses wherein an insulation structure is arranged between various P-type heavily doped region and various N-type heavily doped region and other various heavily doped regions in order to form electrical isolation between regions.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Koo further comprising wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the first N-type heavily doped region and the first P-type heavily doped region; wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the second P-type heavily doped region and the first N-type heavily doped region; wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the second N-type heavily doped region and the second P-type heavily doped region; wherein an insulation structure is arranged between the fourth N-type heavily doped region and the third N-type heavily doped region such as taught by Choi in order to form electrical isolation between regions.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 2 of Koo discloses wherein the second N-type heavily doped region is used as a source region; and the third N-type heavily doped region and the fourth N-type heavily doped region are used as a drain region (via electrical circuit connection since 412 is connected to node 1 and 312 to 310 to 330 to node 1).
Regarding claim 3, fig. 2 of Koo discloses wherein the first N-potential well 310, the first P-type heavily doped region 314, and the first P-potential well 320 form an equivalent PNP transistor; the first N-potential well, the first P-potential well, and the second N-type heavily doped region 322 form an equivalent NPN transistor; and the second N-potential well 410 forms an equivalent resistor 220.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 2 of Koo discloses wherein the equivalent PNP transistor and the equivalent NPN transistor form a P-N-P-N parasitic thyristor structure.
Regarding claim 5, fig. 2 of Koo discloses wherein upper surfaces of the first P-type heavily doped region, the first N-type heavily doped region, the second P-type heavily doped region, the second N-type heavily doped region, the third N-type heavily doped region, and the fourth N-type heavily doped region are flush.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 2 of Koo discloses wherein junction depths of the first P-type heavily doped region, the first N-type heavily doped region, the second P-type heavily doped region, the second N-type heavily doped region, the third N-type heavily doped region, and the fourth N-type heavily doped region are same.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 2 of Koo discloses wherein the first N-potential well and the second N-potential well are N-type lightly doped; and the P-potential well is P-type lightly doped.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 3 of Choi discloses wherein a depth of each insulation structure is greater than that of various heavily doped regions, and the resulting structure would have been one wherein a depth of each insulation structure is greater than that of the first P-type heavily doped region, the first N-type heavily doped region, the second P-type heavily doped region, the second N-type heavily doped region, the third N-type heavily doped region, and the fourth N-type heavily doped region in order to ensure electrical isolation.
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses of GGNMOS transistor structure according to claim 1 and grounded NMOS is shorten as GGNMOS. As such it would have been obvious to form a structure wherein the positive electrode is connected to an input/output end; and the negative electrode is grounded in order to form grounded NMOS (GGNMOS).
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893