The preliminary amendment filed 12/5/2023 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 21-32 are cancelled.
Claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200107213 A1) in view of Zetterlund et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170280496 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Park and Zetterlund.
In regard to Claim 1, Park teaches A method, performed by a policy controlling node (AMF 155, Para. 201, FIGS. 1, 2, 10) of a communications network (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 depict a 5G system comprising of access networks and 5G core network, Para. 105, FIGS. 1, 2), for handling a service (a UE 100 may register with the network to receive services, Para. 126, FIGS. 1, 10, 11) for a communications device (UE 100, Para. 195, FIGS. 1, 2, 10, 11) in the communications network (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 depict a 5G system comprising of access networks and 5G core network, Para. 105, FIGS. 1, 2), the method comprising: receiving, during the establishment of the service (As depicted in example FIG. 10 and FIG. 11, a service request procedure e.g., a UE 100 triggered service request procedure may be used by a UE 100 in CM-IDLE state to request the establishment of a secure connection to an AMF 155. FIG. 11 is continuation of FIG. 10 depicting the service request procedure, Para. 195, FIG. 1, 10, 11), from an application node ((R)AN 105, Para. 201, FIG. 10) of an application layer system providing the service (The QoS model may comprise flow mapping or packet marking at the UPF 110 (CN_UP) 110, AN 105 and/or the UE 100. In an example, packets may arrive from and/or destined to the application/service layer 730 of UE 100, UPF 110 (CN_UP) 110, and/or the AF 145, Para. 139, FIGS. 1, 7, 10), a first message comprising a preliminary service information for the service (the (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters, MM NAS service request, and/or the like. The N2 parameters may include the 5G-GUTI, selected PLMN ID, location information, RAT type, establishment cause, and/or the like, Para. 201, FIG. 10).
Park teaches in response to receiving the first message (send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request), Para. 201, FIG. 10), providing a second message (the AMF 155 may send to the SMF 160 a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request, Para. 204, FIG. 10), to a session management node (SMF 160, Para. 204, FIGS. 1, 10) of the communications network (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 depict a 5G system comprising of access networks and 5G core network, Para. 105, FIGS. 1, 2) controlling a data session of the communications device (the UE 100 may send to a (R)AN 105 an AN message comprising MM NAS service request 1005 (e.g., list of PDU sessions to be activated, list of allowed PDU sessions, PDU session status), Para. 198, FIG. 10), which data session is associated with the service (The service request procedure may be used to activate a user plane connection for an established PDU session. The service request procedure may be triggered by the UE 100 or the SGC, and may be used when the UE 100 is in CM-IDLE and/or in CM-CONNECTED and may allow selectively to activate user plane connections for some of the established PDU sessions, Para. 195, FIGS. 10, 11), wherein the second message comprises an indication of a set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10), wherein the indication of the set of policies is based on the preliminary service information received in the first message (the (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters, MM NAS service request, and/or the like. The N2 parameters may include the 5G-GUTI, selected PLMN ID, location information, RAT type, establishment cause, and/or the like, Para. 201, FIG. 10).
Although Park teaches a first message comprising a preliminary service information for the service, Park fails to teach a first message comprising an indicator of a request to provide network-provided location information, and although Park teaches the second message comprises an indication of a set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service, Park fails to teach the second message comprises an indicator of a request for early network-provided location information to be provided before resource reservation for the service is performed.
Zetterlund teaches a first message comprising an indicator of a request to provide network-provided location information (the gateway is a TWAP/TWAG. The gateway receives a request for NPLI for the UE from a node of the telecommunications network (e.g. from the HSS via an AAA server as shown in FIG. 3), Para. 79, FIG. 3).
Zetterlund teaches the second message comprises an indicator of a request for early network-provided location information (The gateway then sends an NPLI request to the WAC of the WAN, Para. 79, FIG. 3) to be provided before resource reservation for the service is performed (When requesting resource reservation, the gateway may also request NPLI, Para. 85, FIG. 3) [the examiner notes that, since the gateway of Zetterlund may request NPLI when requesting resource reservation, this indicates that the NPLI request is sent before completion of the resource reservation, and as a result, the NPLI request is made “early” before/prior to completion of the resource reservation, and is substantively the same as “a request for early network-provided location information to be provided before resource reservation” of the claim].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zetterlund with the teachings of Park since Zetterlund provides a technique for a network device to request resource reservation along with requesting location information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park to permit a mobility management function to request location information in addition to requesting reservation of resources for ensuring appropriate network resources are utilized based on the location of UE.
In regard to Claim 2, Park teaches the preliminary service information (the (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters, MM NAS service request, and/or the like. The N2 parameters may include the 5G-GUTI, selected PLMN ID, location information, RAT type, establishment cause, and/or the like, Para. 201, FIG. 10) triggers the policy controlling node (AMF 155, Para. 201, FIGS. 1, 2, 10) to request (the AMF 155 may send to the SMF 160 a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request, Para. 204, FIG. 10).
Although Park teaches the preliminary service information triggers the policy controlling node to request, Park fails to teach to request the early network-provided location information and/or wherein the indicator of the request for the network-provided location information comprises the indicator of the request for the early network-provided location information which triggers the policy controlling node to request the early network-provided location information.
Zetterlund teaches to request the early network-provided location information (The gateway then sends an NPLI request to the WAC of the WAN, Para. 79, FIG. 3) and/or wherein the indicator of the request for the network-provided location information comprises the indicator of the request for the early network-provided location information which triggers the policy controlling node to request the early network-provided location information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zetterlund with the teachings of Park since Zetterlund provides a technique for a network device to request resource reservation along with requesting location information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park to permit a mobility management function to request location information in addition to requesting reservation of resources for ensuring appropriate network resources are utilized based on the location of UE.
In regard to Claim 5, Park teaches the service is any one or more out of: voice (the new AMF 155 may send to the UE 100 a registration accept 955 (comprising: IMS voice over PS session supported indication), Para. 193), video and real-time gaming.
In regard to Claim 6, Park teaches providing the second message (the AMF 155 may send to the SMF 160 a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request, Para. 204, FIG. 10) to the session management node (SMF 160, Para. 204, FIGS. 1, 10).
Park fails to teach, in response to providing the second message to the session management node, receiving, from the session management node, the early network-provided location information.
Zetterlund teaches, in response to providing the second message to the session management node (The gateway then sends an NPLI request to the WAC of the WAN, Para. 79, FIG. 3), receiving, from the session management node, the early network-provided location information (The WAC determines the NPLI, and sends the NPLI to the gateway, Para. 79, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zetterlund with the teachings of Park since Zetterlund provides a technique for a network device to request resource reservation along with requesting location information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park to permit a mobility management function to request location information in addition to requesting reservation of resources for ensuring appropriate network resources are utilized based on the location of UE.
In regard to Claim 7, Park teaches the indication of the set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10) controls reservation of dedicated resources (the SMF 160 may send to the AMF 155 an N11 message 1060 e.g., a Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext response (comprising: N1 SM container (PDU session ID, PDU session re-establishment indication), N2 SM information (PDU session ID, QoS profile, CN N3 tunnel info, S-NSSAI), Cause), upon reception of the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request with a cause including e.g., establishment of user plane resources, Para. 220, FIG. 10).
In regard to Claim 8, Park teaches the application layer system (The QoS model may comprise flow mapping or packet marking at the UPF 110 (CN_UP) 110, AN 105 and/or the UE 100. In an example, packets may arrive from and/or destined to the application/service layer 730 of UE 100, UPF 110 (CN_UP) 110, and/or the AF 145, Para. 139, FIGS. 1, 7, 10) is an Internet Protocol-based multimedia system providing the service to the communications device (traffic related to the target application server (T-AS) in the new local DN (e.g. identified by a match between the destination IP address of uplink packets and the IP address of T-AS) to go to the new local DN (via PSA3), Para. 303) and the application node implements a Proxy-Call Session Control function of the Internet Protocol-based multimedia system (MP TCP functionality may be present in the first access node and in the network (e.g. proxy over an N6 interface). An information for paths for transmitting packets of the first session and packets of the second session between two MP TCP entities (e.g. wireless device, proxy, MP TCP, proxy). Protocols such as application protocol over HTTP may be used for paths and path set up, Para. 342).
In regard to Claim 9, Park teaches A policy controlling node (AMF 155, Para. 201, FIGS. 1, 2, 10) of a communications network (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 depict a 5G system comprising of access networks and 5G core network, Para. 105, FIGS. 1, 2), for handling a service (a UE 100 may register with the network to receive services, Para. 126, FIGS. 1, 10, 11) for a communications device (UE 100, Para. 195, FIGS. 1, 2, 10, 11) in the communications network (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 depict a 5G system comprising of access networks and 5G core network, Para. 105, FIGS. 1, 2), wherein the policy controlling node is configured to: receive, during the establishment of the service (As depicted in example FIG. 10 and FIG. 11, a service request procedure e.g., a UE 100 triggered service request procedure may be used by a UE 100 in CM-IDLE state to request the establishment of a secure connection to an AMF 155. FIG. 11 is continuation of FIG. 10 depicting the service request procedure, Para. 195, FIG. 1, 10, 11), from an application node ((R)AN 105, Para. 201, FIG. 10) of an application layer system providing the service (The QoS model may comprise flow mapping or packet marking at the UPF 110 (CN_UP) 110, AN 105 and/or the UE 100. In an example, packets may arrive from and/or destined to the application/service layer 730 of UE 100, UPF 110 (CN_UP) 110, and/or the AF 145, Para. 139, FIGS. 1, 7, 10), a first message comprising a preliminary service information for the service (the (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters, MM NAS service request, and/or the like. The N2 parameters may include the 5G-GUTI, selected PLMN ID, location information, RAT type, establishment cause, and/or the like, Para. 201, FIG. 10).
Park teaches in response to receiving the first message (send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request), Para. 201, FIG. 10), provide a second message (the AMF 155 may send to the SMF 160 a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request, Para. 204, FIG. 10), to a session management node (SMF 160, Para. 204, FIGS. 1, 10) of the communications network (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 depict a 5G system comprising of access networks and 5G core network, Para. 105, FIGS. 1, 2) controlling a data session of the communications device (the UE 100 may send to a (R)AN 105 an AN message comprising MM NAS service request 1005 (e.g., list of PDU sessions to be activated, list of allowed PDU sessions, PDU session status), Para. 198, FIG. 10), which data session is associated with the service (The service request procedure may be used to activate a user plane connection for an established PDU session. The service request procedure may be triggered by the UE 100 or the SGC, and may be used when the UE 100 is in CM-IDLE and/or in CM-CONNECTED and may allow selectively to activate user plane connections for some of the established PDU sessions, Para. 195, FIGS. 10, 11), wherein the second message comprises an indication of a set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10), wherein the indication of the set of policies is based on the preliminary service information received in the first message (the (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters, MM NAS service request, and/or the like. The N2 parameters may include the 5G-GUTI, selected PLMN ID, location information, RAT type, establishment cause, and/or the like, Para. 201, FIG. 10).
Although Park teaches a first message comprising a preliminary service information for the service, Park fails to teach a first message comprising an indicator of a request to provide network-provided location information, and although Park teaches the second message comprises an indication of a set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service, Park fails to teach the second message comprises an indicator of a request for early network-provided location information to be provided before resource reservation for the service is performed.
Zetterlund teaches a first message comprising an indicator of a request to provide network-provided location information (the gateway is a TWAP/TWAG. The gateway receives a request for NPLI for the UE from a node of the telecommunications network (e.g. from the HSS via an AAA server as shown in FIG. 3), Para. 79, FIG. 3).
Zetterlund teaches the second message comprises an indicator of a request for early network-provided location information (The gateway then sends an NPLI request to the WAC of the WAN, Para. 79, FIG. 3) to be provided before resource reservation for the service is performed (When requesting resource reservation, the gateway may also request NPLI, Para. 85, FIG. 3) [the examiner notes that, since the gateway of Zetterlund may request NPLI when requesting resource reservation, this indicates that the NPLI request is sent before completion of the resource reservation, and as a result, the NPLI request is made “early” before/prior to completion of the resource reservation, and is substantively the same as “a request for early network-provided location information to be provided before resource reservation” of the claim].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zetterlund with the teachings of Park since Zetterlund provides a technique for a network device to request resource reservation along with requesting location information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park to permit a mobility management function to request location information in addition to requesting reservation of resources for ensuring appropriate network resources are utilized based on the location of UE.
In regard to Claim 10, Park teaches the preliminary service information (the (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters, MM NAS service request, and/or the like. The N2 parameters may include the 5G-GUTI, selected PLMN ID, location information, RAT type, establishment cause, and/or the like, Para. 201, FIG. 10) triggers the policy controlling node (AMF 155, Para. 201, FIGS. 1, 2, 10) to request (the AMF 155 may send to the SMF 160 a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request, Para. 204, FIG. 10).
Although Park teaches the preliminary service information triggers the policy controlling node to request, Park fails to teach to request the early network-provided location information and/or wherein the indicator of the request for the network-provided location information comprises the indicator of the request for the early network-provided location information which triggers the policy controlling node to request the early network-provided location information.
Zetterlund teaches to request the early network-provided location information (The gateway then sends an NPLI request to the WAC of the WAN, Para. 79, FIG. 3) and/or wherein the indicator of the request for the network-provided location information comprises the indicator of the request for the early network-provided location information which triggers the policy controlling node to request the early network-provided location information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zetterlund with the teachings of Park since Zetterlund provides a technique for a network device to request resource reservation along with requesting location information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park to permit a mobility management function to request location information in addition to requesting reservation of resources for ensuring appropriate network resources are utilized based on the location of UE.
In regard to Claim 13, Park teaches the service is any one or more out of: voice (the new AMF 155 may send to the UE 100 a registration accept 955 (comprising: IMS voice over PS session supported indication), Para. 193), video and real-time gaming.
In regard to Claim 14, Park teaches providing the second message (the AMF 155 may send to the SMF 160 a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request, Para. 204, FIG. 10) to the session management node (SMF 160, Para. 204, FIGS. 1, 10).
Park fails to teach, in response to providing the second message to the session management node, receive, from the session management node, the early network-provided location information.
Zetterlund teaches, in response to providing the second message to the session management node (The gateway then sends an NPLI request to the WAC of the WAN, Para. 79, FIG. 3), receive, from the session management node, the early network-provided location information (The WAC determines the NPLI, and sends the NPLI to the gateway, Para. 79, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zetterlund with the teachings of Park since Zetterlund provides a technique for a network device to request resource reservation along with requesting location information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park to permit a mobility management function to request location information in addition to requesting reservation of resources for ensuring appropriate network resources are utilized based on the location of UE.
In regard to Claim 15, Park teaches the indication of the set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10) controls reservation of dedicated resources (the SMF 160 may send to the AMF 155 an N11 message 1060 e.g., a Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext response (comprising: N1 SM container (PDU session ID, PDU session re-establishment indication), N2 SM information (PDU session ID, QoS profile, CN N3 tunnel info, S-NSSAI), Cause), upon reception of the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request with a cause including e.g., establishment of user plane resources, Para. 220, FIG. 10).
In regard to Claim 16, Park teaches the application layer system (The QoS model may comprise flow mapping or packet marking at the UPF 110 (CN_UP) 110, AN 105 and/or the UE 100. In an example, packets may arrive from and/or destined to the application/service layer 730 of UE 100, UPF 110 (CN_UP) 110, and/or the AF 145, Para. 139, FIGS. 1, 7, 10) is an Internet Protocol-based multimedia system providing the service to the communications device (traffic related to the target application server (T-AS) in the new local DN (e.g. identified by a match between the destination IP address of uplink packets and the IP address of T-AS) to go to the new local DN (via PSA3), Para. 303) and the application node implements a Proxy-Call Session Control function of the Internet Protocol-based multimedia system (MP TCP functionality may be present in the first access node and in the network (e.g. proxy over an N6 interface). An information for paths for transmitting packets of the first session and packets of the second session between two MP TCP entities (e.g. wireless device, proxy, MP TCP, proxy). Protocols such as application protocol over HTTP may be used for paths and path set up, Para. 342).
In regard to Claim 17, Park teaches A method, performed by a session management node (SMF 160, Para. 204, FIGS. 1, 10) of a communications network (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 depict a 5G system comprising of access networks and 5G core network, Para. 105, FIGS. 1, 2), for handling a service for a communications device in the communications network (SMF 160, may include one or more of the following functionalities: session management (e.g. session establishment, modify and release), control part of policy enforcement and QoS, Para. 110, FIGS. 1, 10), wherein the service is provided by an application layer system (The QoS model may comprise flow mapping or packet marking at the UPF 110 (CN_UP) 110, AN 105 and/or the UE 100. In an example, packets may arrive from and/or destined to the application/service layer 730 of UE 100, UPF 110 (CN_UP) 110, and/or the AF 145, Para. 139, FIGS. 1, 7, 10), the method comprising: receiving, from a policy controlling node (AMF 155, Para. 201, FIGS. 1, 2, 10) of the communications network (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 depict a 5G system comprising of access networks and 5G core network, Para. 105, FIGS. 1, 2) and during the establishment of the service (As depicted in example FIG. 10 and FIG. 11, a service request procedure e.g., a UE 100 triggered service request procedure may be used by a UE 100 in CM-IDLE state to request the establishment of a secure connection to an AMF 155. FIG. 11 is continuation of FIG. 10 depicting the service request procedure, Para. 195, FIG. 1, 10, 11), a message (the AMF 155 may send to the SMF 160 a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request, Para. 204, FIG. 10) comprising an indication of a set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10).
Park teaches initiating resource reservation for the service (the SMF 160 may send to the AMF 155 an N11 message 1060 e.g., a Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext response (comprising: N1 SM container (PDU session ID, PDU session re-establishment indication), N2 SM information (PDU session ID, QoS profile, CN N3 tunnel info, S-NSSAI), Cause), upon reception of the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request, Para. 220, FIG. 10) based on the received indication of the set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10).
Although Park teaches a message comprising an indication of a set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service, Park fails to teach a message comprising an indicator of a request for early network-provided location information to be provided before resource reservation for the service is performed, and Park fails to teach in response to receiving the indicator of the request for the early network-provided location information, reporting the early network-provided location information to the policy controlling node before initiating resource reservation for the service.
Zetterlund teaches a message comprising an indicator of a request for early network-provided location information (The gateway then sends an NPLI request to the WAC of the WAN, Para. 79, FIG. 3) to be provided before resource reservation for the service is performed (When requesting resource reservation, the gateway may also request NPLI, Para. 85, FIG. 3) [the examiner notes that, since the gateway of Zetterlund may request NPLI when requesting resource reservation, this indicates that the NPLI request is sent before completion of the resource reservation, and as a result, the NPLI request is made “early” before/prior to completion of the resource reservation, and is substantively the same as “a request for early network-provided location information to be provided before resource reservation for the service is performed” of the claim].
Zetterlund teaches in response to receiving the indicator of the request for the early network-provided location information (The gateway then sends an NPLI request to the WAC of the WAN, Para. 79, FIG. 3), reporting the early network-provided location information to the policy controlling node (The WAC determines the NPLI, and sends the NPLI to the gateway, Para. 79, FIG. 3) before initiating resource reservation for the service (The WAC then sends a resource response to the gateway, the resource response indicating whether or not the resource request can be fulfilled. If the request can be fulfilled, bearer establishment then proceeds, Para. 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zetterlund with the teachings of Park since Zetterlund provides a technique for a network device to request resource reservation along with requesting location information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park to permit a mobility management function to request location information in addition to requesting reservation of resources for ensuring appropriate network resources are utilized based on the location of UE.
In regard to Claim 18, Park teaches the indication of the set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10) controls reservation of dedicated resources (the SMF 160 may send to the AMF 155 an N11 message 1060 e.g., a Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext response (comprising: N1 SM container (PDU session ID, PDU session re-establishment indication), N2 SM information (PDU session ID, QoS profile, CN N3 tunnel info, S-NSSAI), Cause), upon reception of the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request with a cause including e.g., establishment of user plane resources, Para. 220, FIG. 10).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Zetterlund, and further in view of Ianev et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220264504 A1), hereafter referred to as Ianev.
In regard to Claim 3, Park teaches the set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10).
Park in view of Zetterlund fails to teach the set of policies controls Quality of Service, QoS, flow and/or bearers for the service.
Ianev teaches the set of policies controls Quality of Service, QoS (the UE 3 is known in the 3GPP System (e.g. 4G/5G-GUTI, 4G/5G-TMSI), Para. 64. Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request may contain user Ids (e.g user identifier per each user), a PDU Session Id per user, S-NSSAI per user and QoS per user, Para. 172, FIG. 7), flow and/or bearers for the service.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ianev with the teachings of Park in view of Zetterlund since Ianev provides a technique where a request can include a QoS per user, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park in view of Zetterlund to permit an AMF to indicate QoS information for managing communication resources in a service intended for users.
In regard to Claim 4, Park teaches the indication of the set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10).
Park in view of Zetterlund fails to teach the indication is a 5G Quality of Service indicator, 5QI, or a QoS Class Identifier, QCI.
Ianev teaches the indication is a 5G Quality of Service indicator, 5QI (the UE 3 is known in the 3GPP System (e.g. 4G/5G-GUTI, 4G/5G-TMSI), Para. 64. Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request may contain user Ids (e.g user identifier per each user), a PDU Session Id per user, S-NSSAI per user and QoS per user, Para. 172, FIG. 7), or a QoS Class Identifier, QCI.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ianev with the teachings of Park in view of Zetterlund since Ianev provides a technique where a request can include a QoS per user, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park in view of Zetterlund to permit an AMF to indicate QoS information for managing communication resources in a service intended for users.
In regard to Claim 11, Park teaches the set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10).
Park in view of Zetterlund fails to teach the set of policies controls Quality of Service, QoS, flow and/or bearers for the service.
Ianev teaches the set of policies controls Quality of Service, QoS (the UE 3 is known in the 3GPP System (e.g. 4G/5G-GUTI, 4G/5G-TMSI), Para. 64. Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request may contain user Ids (e.g user identifier per each user), a PDU Session Id per user, S-NSSAI per user and QoS per user, Para. 172, FIG. 7), flow and/or bearers for the service.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ianev with the teachings of Park in view of Zetterlund since Ianev provides a technique where a request can include a QoS per user, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park in view of Zetterlund to permit an AMF to indicate QoS information for managing communication resources in a service intended for users.
In regard to Claim 12, Park teaches the indication of the set of policies for controlling resource reservation for the service (a PDU session update context request 1020 e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request comprising PDU session ID(s), Cause(s), UE 100 location information, access type, and/or the like, Para. 204, FIG. 10).
Park in view of Zetterlund fails to teach the indication is a 5G Quality of Service indicator, SQI, or a QoS Class Identifier, QCI.
Ianev teaches the indication is a 5G Quality of Service indicator, 5QI (the UE 3 is known in the 3GPP System (e.g. 4G/5G-GUTI, 4G/5G-TMSI), Para. 64. Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request may contain user Ids (e.g user identifier per each user), a PDU Session Id per user, S-NSSAI per user and QoS per user, Para. 172, FIG. 7), or a QoS Class Identifier, QCI.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ianev with the teachings of Park in view of Zetterlund since Ianev provides a technique where a request can include a QoS per user, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park in view of Zetterlund to permit an AMF to indicate QoS information for managing communication resources in a service intended for users.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Zetterlund, and further in view of Österlund et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170086162 A1), hereafter referred to as Österlund.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 17, Park in view of Zetterlund teaches a method.
Park in view of Zetterlund fails to teach in response to receiving the indicator of the request for the early network-provided location information, requesting a network-provided location information from an access and mobility management node; receiving the network-provided location information from the access and mobility management node; and in response to receiving the network-provided location information, reporting the received network-provided location information as the early network-provided location information to the policy controlling node before initiating resource reservation for the service.
Österlund teaches in response to receiving the indicator of the request for the early network-provided location information, requesting a network-provided location information from an access and mobility management node; receiving the network-provided location information from the access and mobility management node; and in response to receiving the network-provided location information, reporting the received network-provided location information as the early network-provided location information to the policy controlling node before initiating resource reservation for the service (Upon receipt of the request (S104), the ePDG sends a request for NPLI to the DHCP server of the managed access network to which the UE is connected, the request including the WLAN-IP of the UE (S105). The DHCP server receives the request (S106), determines NPLI for the UE (S107), and sends a response comprising the NPLI to the ePDG (S108). The ePDG receives the response from the DHCP server (S109), and sends a response comprising the NPLI to the PDN-GW or AAA server (S110), Para. 50-51, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Österlund with the teachings of Park in view of Zetterlund since Österlund provides a technique for devices to relay location information requests to appropriate devices and accordingly return location information responses, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park in view of Zetterlund to permit a device to relay location information requests if such information is unavailable at the device.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 17, Park in view of Zetterlund teaches a method.
Park in view of Zetterlund fails to teach requesting the network-provided location information from the access and mobility management node is based on a default bearer.
Österlund teaches requesting the network-provided location information from the access and mobility management node is based on a default bearer (The P-CSCF then sends the 183/200 response to the UE and the bearer is established. Requesting that the PDN-GW answer back when the bearer has been established and that the PDN-GW includes the NPLI for the UE in the response, Para. 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Österlund with the teachings of Park in view of Zetterlund since Österlund provides a technique for devices to relay location information requests to appropriate devices and accordingly return location information responses, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Park in view of Zetterlund to permit a device to relay location information requests if such information is unavailable at the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mufti et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190059024 A1) teaches in response to receiving the indicator of the request for the early network-provided location information, requesting a network-provided location information from an access and mobility management node (SCCAS 716 transmits a Location Information Request 718 via the Sh interface to HSS 720 (“Sh Pull”). This is an example of an NPLI request using HSS interrogation. In response, HSS 720 transmits a location information query 722 to an access system 724, Para. 101, FIG. 7).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
12-8-2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477