DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18,567,135 filed on 12/05/2023.
Claims 2, 4 – 6 are allowed
Claims 1 – 9 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on was filed after the mailing date of the 12/05/2023 fully considered by examiner The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being unpatentable by US PG Pub 20120017474 – Rol Corredor et al. hereinafter as ROL CORREDOR
Regarding Claim 1:
ROL CORREDOR discloses:
A pin for coupling between a wear element and a support of an earth-moving machine, with:
An elongated body with two curved surfaces, a concave upper surface and a convex lower surface, the upper surface having an upper orifice for access to a cavity inside the body, (Fig. 18 – 3 elongated body with two curved surfaces, a convex 34, concave 33)
An elastic block arranged inside the cavity of the body with an upper surface ,and characterized in that it comprises: ( fig. 25 – Resilient element - 322, para. 143 – resilient non-metal material)
A latch partially housed in the cavity of the body, said latch (latch 32) having:
A curved outer surface, (Fig. 25 – curved outer surface) An upper surface and a lower surface (fig. 25 – upper surface and lower surface), connected by the curved outer surface( curved outer surface connects the upper surface and lower surface), the lower surface being in contact with the upper surface of the elastic block, ( lower surface is contacting the resilient element 322) A partially curved intermediate surface opposite the outer surface and after the upper surface( see fig. 25 – 32 figure shows elements), Two flat side surfaces (two flat surfaces on either side of 32 that are flat) , and A cylinder by way of rotation shaft of the latch, arranged between the intermediate surface and the lower surface, the ends thereof extending beyond the flat side surfaces of the latch. ( fig. 25 - the ends of the flat side surface of 32)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Flat side surface – opposite of side 1)][AltContent: textbox (Flat side surface – side 1 )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A cylinder by way of rotation)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Partially curved intermediate surface opposite the outer surface and after the upper surface)][AltContent: textbox (Curved outer surface)][AltContent: textbox (upper surface of the elastic block 322)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lower surface)][AltContent: textbox (Upper surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 7
ROL CORREDOR discloses:
7. (currently amended): The pin, according to claim 1, characterized in that the lower surface of the latch is flat. (fig. 25 - wherein the lower surface of the latch is flat)
Regarding Claim 8
ROL CORREDOR discloses:
[AltContent: textbox (Inner cavity)]8. (currently amended): The pin, according to claim 1, characterized in that the inner cavity of the body has a circular gap for housing the cylinder of the latch.
[AltContent: textbox (circular gap)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 9
9. (currently amended): A coupling system between a wear element with a cavity (Fig. 22 – wear element with a cavity) and a support with a nose of an earth-moving machine, said support comprising a convex recess in at least one of the surfaces of the nose(see figure 22 for convex recess on the nose of the support) and said wear element comprising a concave projection in at least one of the surfaces that make up the cavity( See figure 22 concave projection), such that when the nose is inserted into the cavity, the recess and the projection are aligned determining a cavity( nose and cavity are aligned to fill cavity) characterized in that it comprises a pin according to claim 1 inserted into said cavity. ( wherein the pin is shown in fig. 22)
[AltContent: textbox (latch)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Convex recess)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (pin)][AltContent: textbox (Wear element with cavity)][AltContent: textbox (Nose of support)][AltContent: textbox (Concave projection within cavity)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 20120017474 – Rol Corredor et al. hereinafter as ROL CORREDOR in view of BASF: Engineeering Plastics hereinafter as BASF
Regarding Claim 3
ROL CORREDOR discloses:
(currently amended): The pin, according to claim 1, characterised in that the elastic block has a first compressible block made of resilient non metal material.
BASF discloses of nonmetal resilient material known as CELLASTO that is made of polyurethane base microcellular foam.( page 36 - CELLASTO)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for the material used in the elastic block made of a resilient nonmetal material of ROK CORREDOR to utilize CELLASTO of which is a polyurethane based microcellular foam as taught by BASF. This would allow ROL CORREDOR to enhance the elastic block to insulate from noise, vibration and harshness.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims, 2 , 4, 5 and 6 are allowable
ROL CORREDOR / BASF disclose the pin for coupling between a wear element and a support of an earth-moving machine as taught above. ROL CORREDOR / BASF does not disclose the specific details of the pin / latch or rigid block. Such a modification would require too significant of a redesign and would consititute an improper degree of hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676