DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group IV, claims 14-16 in the reply filed on 05/22/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 14-16 are currently under examination on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: “(i.e. SiH group)”, “i.e. SiH group” and “(obtained by mixing in an oxygen free-atmosphere)” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bilgrien et al (US 5,364,922, of record, ‘922 hereafter).
Regarding claim 14, ‘922 discloses a method of preparing a platinum catalyst mixture comprising mixing a platinum/alkenyl-containing organosiloxane complex with an organosilicon compound having at least one silicon-bonded hydrogen atom (organohydrogensiloxane); wherein the mixing step is performed in anaerobic condition, and the platinum/alkenyl-containing organosiloxane complex and the organohydrogen-silicone are mixed with a molar excess of the SiH group in the organohydrogensiloxane relative to the alkenyl group in the complex (C5/L13-L33, C7/L41-C8/L39).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeno et al (JPH09-143373, of record, ‘373 hereafter).
Regarding claim 16, ‘373 discloses a method of preparing a platinum catalyst mixture comprising the step of mixing a platinum/alkenyl-containing organosiloxane complex with an organosilicon compound having at least one silicon-bonded hydrogen atom, which includes an organohydrogensiloxane oligomer having at least two hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon atoms which adjoin each other via an oxygen atom to form a siloxane bond ([0006]-[0020], HMe2SiOSiMe2H), per molecule to form a reaction mixture; wherein the platinum/alkenyl-containing organosiloxane complex and the organohydrogen-silicone are mixed with a molar excess of the SiH group in the organohydrogensiloxane relative to the alkenyl group in the complex, while they are kept in contact with water and/or oxygen ([0021]-[0023], Example 1. [0041]-[0042], no special inert gas protection is mentioned, thus the mixing is performed in an air atmosphere which contains water and oxygen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeno et al (JPH09-143373, of record, ‘373 hereafter) in view of Bilgrien et al (US 5,364,922, of record, ‘922 hereafter).
Regarding claims 14-15, ‘373 discloses a method of preparing a platinum catalyst mixture comprising the step of mixing a platinum/alkenyl-containing organosiloxane complex with an organosilicon compound having at least one silicon-bonded hydrogen atom, which includes an organohydrogensiloxane oligomer having at least two hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon atoms which adjoin each other via an oxygen atom to form a siloxane bond ([0006]-[0020], HMe2SiOSiMe2H), per molecule to form a reaction mixture; wherein the platinum/alkenyl-containing organosiloxane complex and the organosilicon compound having at least one silicon-bonded hydrogen atom per molecule are mixed in such a mixing ratio as to provide a molar excess of the SiH group in the organosilicon compound relative to the alkenyl group in the complex ([0021]-[0023], Example 1. [0041]-[0042]. ‘373 does not specifically set forth that the mixing is performed in an oxygen free atmosphere, then further mixing in contact with water and/or oxygen; however, in the same field of endeavor, ‘922 discloses a method of preparing a platinum catalyst mixture comprising platinum/alkenyl-containing organosiloxane complex with an organosilicon compound having at least one silicon-bonded hydrogen atom, wherein the mixing step is performed in anaerobic condition thus render the mixture having desired storage stability (C5/L13-L33, C7/L41-C8/L39). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare the mixture in anaerobic condition, in order to render the mixture having desired storage stability. ‘373 also discloses that the mixture can be cured by further mixing in contact with water and/or oxygen (C13/L59-C14/L5).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782