Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin (20220093834)
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a transfer method for micro flip chips, comprising:
providing a drive substrate (fig. 18-6: 800), wherein first electrical connection pieces (fig. 18-6: 306) are formed on a surface of one side of the drive substrate (please see fig. 18-6 above);
providing a temporary substrate (fig. 18-2: 100), wherein a plurality of micro flip chips (par. 625 teaches LEDs seen in fig. 18-5 are micro LEUs) are adhered to a surface of one side of the temporary substrate (please see fig. 18-5 above), and a second electrical connection piece (fig. 18-5: 301; par. 695 teaches 301 being a transparent electrode) is formed on a surface of one side of each of the micro flip chips facing away from the temporary substrate (please see fig. 18-6 above);
forming a first bonding member (fig. 18-5: 302) on a surface of one side of the second electrical connection piece of each of the micro flip chips facing away from the temporary substrate (please see fig. 18-5), wherein the first bonding member is made of material of conductive adhesive (par. 695 teaches 302 is an electrode and allows the micro LEDs to adhere to element 306 in fig. 18-6);
transferring the plurality of micro flip chips onto the drive substrate (please see fig. 18-6), and connecting the second electrical connection pieces of the micro flip chips to a corresponding one of the first electrical connection pieces via the first bonding member (as seen in fig. 18-6, 301 is connected to 306 via 302);
inspecting the plurality of micro flip chips, and determining any bad point position of defective chip on the drive substrate (par. 858 teaches testing, as seen in fig. 18-9, each of the micro LEDs, and recording the positions of the abnormal micro LEDs); and
irradiating the first bonding member at the bad point position by laser (par. 858 teaches performing a first selectively removing process to selectively remove the abnormal micro LEDS and leaving the micro LEDs passing the aforenoted test; par. 860 teaches introducing a laser to adjust the adhesiveness of the defective micro LEDs), and removing the defective chip (par. 860 teaches after adjusting adhesiveness, removing the targeted micro LEDs).
Regarding claim 19, Lin teaches a transfer method for micro flip chips according to claim 1, wherein a process of transferring the plurality of micro flip chips onto the drive substrate comprises a laser transfer process or an elastic stamp transfer process (par. 858).
Regarding claim 20, Lin teaches a transfer method for micro flip chips according to claim 1, wherein: the first electrical connection pieces comprise contact electrodes which are arranged in an array (please see fig. 18-5), the contact electrodes being located on the surface of one side of the drive substrate (please see fig. 18-5), and first protrusion points each of which is located on a surface of one side of each of the contact electrodes facing away from the drive substrate (please see fig. 18-5); and the second electrical connection pieces are electrodes of the micro flip or the second electrical connection pieces comprise electrodes of the micro flip chips and second protrusion points covering the electrodes (please see fig. 18-5).
Regarding claim 21, Lin teaches a transfer method for micro flip chips according to claim 1, wherein the micro flip chips comprise Micro-LED chips (par. 625).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 2.
Claim 9 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 8.
Claim 10 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 8.
Claim 11 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 10.
Claim 12 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 10.
Claim 13 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 8.
Claim 14 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 13.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 6 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 7 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 16.
Claim 18 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 16.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818