DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office has carefully considered Applicant’s amendments and accompanying remarks dated 05/26/26. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have been entered and are made of record.
Applicant has amended all of the previous claims.
The pending claims at this time are 1-15, all of which stand rejected.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to rectify the rejection made under 35 § U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As Applicant has extensively amended the claims all previously made art rejections are withdrawn and new rejection(s) is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated by JP2020007650A issued to Kagitani et al. in view of USPUB 20210087389A1 issued to Katagiri.
Regarding modified Claim 1, where Applicant seeks a sizing agent for an inorganic fiber comprising a resin and cellulose nanofibers, wherein the cellulose nanofibers are contained in a nonvolatile content of the sizing agent in an amount of 10 ppm or more and less than 50000 ppm and Claim 4 (surfactant); Applicant is directed to the overall reference of Kagitani et al., which teaches surface coating reinforced fibers to enhance their adhesion between the reinforcing fibers and the matrix resin to create strong fiber reinforced composites [¶¶ 1 and 8 under the heading of Description].
Kagitani et al., teach that the surface coated reinforcing fiber has at least a part of its surface formed by a nanocellulose layer which is a layer made of nanocellulose (NCe), which serves as a part of the sizing agent and directly coats the reinforcing fibers. The nanocellulose (NCe) is a cellulose nanofiber (CeNF). The reinforcing fibers can be selected from the group consisting of carbon fiber (CF), glass fiber (GF), ceramic fiber (CeF), metal fiber (MF), and resin fiber (RF). The nanocellulose (NCe) may be modified with a functional group. [¶¶ 9-10, 19, 25 under the heading of Description]. The dispersion in which NCe is dispersed in a dispersion medium such as water or an organic solvent to the surface of the reinforcing fiber and then removing the dispersion medium by evaporation or the like. It can be formed on the surface of the fiber and between the matrix resin. It may also be dispersed in a thermoset or thermoplastic resin. Specific examples of the thermosetting resin include, for example, an epoxy resin, a phenol resin, a urea resin, a melamine resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a vinyl ester resin, a bismaleimide resin, a cyanate resin, a polyimide resin, and a silicone resin. At least one selected thermosetting resin or prepolymer can be used. Specific examples of the thermoplastic resin include, for example, a polyolefin resin including a polyethylene (PE) resin and a polypropylene (PP) resin, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin, a polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) resin, and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin. General-purpose plastic, polyamide (PA) resin, polyacetal made of styrene-based resin including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) resin, polystyrene resin (PS), acrylonitrile-styrene resin (AS) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin Polyester resin including (POM) resin, polycarbonate (PC) resin, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin and polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) resin, and polyphenylene ether (PPE) resin General-purpose engineering plastics, polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resin, polyarylate (PAR) resin, polyamideimide (PAI) resin, thermoplastic polyimide (TPI) resin, polyetherimide (PEI) resin, polyetherketone (PEK) Examples include at least one thermoplastic resin selected from the group consisting of a resin, a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) resin, a polysulfone (PSF) resin, and a super engineering plastic composed of a polyethersulfone (PES) resin [¶ 84 under Description].
Kagitani et al., teaches what is set forth and seek that the sizing agent stick to the reinforcing glass or carbon fiber but do not explicitly teach the amount in the same measure of units as sought by Applicant.
This is remedied by the teachings of Katagiri.
Katagiri is from the same field of endeavor as he creates reinforced composites using inorganic carbon or glass fibers which has a coating containing a polymer and the cellulose nanofibers, the cellulose nanofibers are entangled with the polymer in the coating and act as an adhesion promotor (surfactant). They teach the content of the cellulose nanofibers is 0.1 to 10 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the polymer. The entanglement of the cellulose nanofibers and the polymer renders the coating stronger. As such, a skilled artisan would have looked to industry for the amounts which are an optimizable property but motivated by the reasoned expectation to create a strong bond as taught by Katagiri
Regarding modified Claim 2, where Applicant seeks that the sizing agent according to claim 1, wherein the cellulose nanofibers contain cellulose nanofibers with a fiber diameter of 1 nm or more and 1000 nm or less; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0019, where the instant reference teaches using average fiber diameter of 1nm to 1000 μm.
Regarding modified claim 3, where Applicant seeks that the sizing agent according to claim 1, wherein the resin contains at least one selected from the group consisting of an epoxy resin, a vinyl ester resin, a polyamide resin, a polyolefin resin, a polyurethane resin, a polyester resin, a phenoxy resin, a polyimide resin, and a polyimide resin precursor; Applicant is directed to ¶ 84 under the heading “Description,” where the instant reference teaches that the specific examples of the thermosetting resin include, for example, an epoxy resin, a phenol resin, a urea resin, a melamine resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a vinyl ester resin, a bismaleimide resin, a cyanate resin, a polyimide resin, and a silicone resin. At least one selected thermosetting resin or prepolymer can be used. Specific examples of the thermoplastic resin include, for example, a polyolefin resin including a polyethylene (PE) resin and a polypropylene (PP) resin, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin, a polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) resin, and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin. General-purpose plastic, polyamide (PA) resin, polyacetal made of styrene-based resin including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) resin, polystyrene resin (PS), acrylonitrile-styrene resin (AS) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin Polyester resin including (POM) resin, polycarbonate (PC) resin, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin and polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) resin, and polyphenylene ether (PPE) resin General-purpose engineering plastics, polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resin, polyarylate (PAR) resin, polyamideimide (PAI) resin, thermoplastic polyimide (TPI) resin, polyetherimide (PEI) resin, polyetherketone (PEK) Examples include at least one thermoplastic resin selected from the group consisting of a resin, a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) resin, a polysulfone (PSF) resin, and a super engineering plastic composed of a polyethersulfone (PES) resin.
Regarding modified Claim 5, where Applicant seeks that the sizing agent according to claim 1, wherein the inorganic fiber sizing agent is applied to a glass fiber or a carbon fiber; The reinforcing fibers can be selected from the group consisting of carbon fiber (CF), glass fiber (GF), ceramic fiber (CeF), metal fiber (MF), and resin fiber (RF). The nanocellulose (NCe) may be modified with a functional group. [¶¶ 9-10, 19, 25 under the heading of Description].
Regarding modified Claim 6, where Applicant seeks that the sizing agent according to claim 1, wherein the resin contains at least one selected from the group consisting of an epoxy resin and a polyester resin, and the inorganic fiber sizing agent is applied to a composite material in which a matrix resin is an epoxy resin; Applicant is directed to ¶ 84 under the heading “Description,” where the instant reference teaches that the specific examples of the thermosetting resin include, for example, an epoxy resin, a phenol resin, a urea resin, a melamine resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a vinyl ester resin, a bismaleimide resin, a cyanate resin, a polyimide resin, and a silicone resin. At least one selected thermosetting resin or prepolymer can be used. Specific examples of the thermoplastic resin include, for example, a polyolefin resin including a polyethylene (PE) resin and a polypropylene (PP) resin, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin, a polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) resin, and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin. General-purpose plastic, polyamide (PA) resin, polyacetal made of styrene-based resin including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) resin, polystyrene resin (PS), acrylonitrile-styrene resin (AS) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin Polyester resin including (POM) resin, polycarbonate (PC) resin, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin and polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) resin, and polyphenylene ether (PPE) resin General-purpose engineering plastics, polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resin, polyarylate (PAR) resin, polyamideimide (PAI) resin, thermoplastic polyimide (TPI) resin, polyetherimide (PEI) resin, polyetherketone (PEK) Examples include at least one thermoplastic resin selected from the group consisting of a resin, a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) resin, a polysulfone (PSF) resin, and a super engineering plastic composed of a polyethersulfone (PES) resin.
Regarding modified Claim 7, where Applicant seeks that the sizing agent according to claim 1, wherein the resin contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a polyamide resin, a polyurethane resin, a polyimide resin, and a polyimide resin precursor, and the sizing agent is applied to a composite material in which a matrix resin is a polyamide resin; Applicant is directed to ¶ 84 under the heading “Description,” where the instant reference teaches that the specific examples of the thermosetting resin include, for example, an epoxy resin, a phenol resin, a urea resin, a melamine resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a vinyl ester resin, a bismaleimide resin, a cyanate resin, a polyimide resin, and a silicone resin. At least one selected thermosetting resin or prepolymer can be used. Specific examples of the thermoplastic resin include, for example, a polyolefin resin including a polyethylene (PE) resin and a polypropylene (PP) resin, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin, a polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) resin, and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin. General-purpose plastic, polyamide (PA) resin, polyacetal made of styrene-based resin including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) resin, polystyrene resin (PS), acrylonitrile-styrene resin (AS) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin Polyester resin including (POM) resin, polycarbonate (PC) resin, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin and polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) resin, and polyphenylene ether (PPE) resin General-purpose engineering plastics, polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resin, polyarylate (PAR) resin, polyamideimide (PAI) resin, thermoplastic polyimide (TPI) resin, polyetherimide (PEI) resin, polyetherketone (PEK) Examples include at least one thermoplastic resin selected from the group consisting of a resin, a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) resin, a polysulfone (PSF) resin, and a super engineering plastic composed of a polyethersulfone (PES) resin.
Regarding modified Claim 8, where Applicant seeks that the sizing agent according to claim 1, wherein the resin contains a vinyl ester resin, and the inorganic fiber sizing agent is applied to a composite material in which a matrix resin is a vinyl ester resin; Applicant is directed to ¶ 84 under the heading “Description,” where the instant reference teaches that the specific examples of the thermosetting resin include, for example, an epoxy resin, a phenol resin, a urea resin, a melamine resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a vinyl ester resin, a bismaleimide resin, a cyanate resin, a polyimide resin, and a silicone resin. At least one selected thermosetting resin or prepolymer can be used. Specific examples of the thermoplastic resin include, for example, a polyolefin resin including a polyethylene (PE) resin and a polypropylene (PP) resin, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin, a polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) resin, and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin. General-purpose plastic, polyamide (PA) resin, polyacetal made of styrene-based resin including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) resin, polystyrene resin (PS), acrylonitrile-styrene resin (AS) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin Polyester resin including (POM) resin, polycarbonate (PC) resin, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin and polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) resin, and polyphenylene ether (PPE) resin General-purpose engineering plastics, polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resin, polyarylate (PAR) resin, polyamideimide (PAI) resin, thermoplastic polyimide (TPI) resin, polyetherimide (PEI) resin, polyetherketone (PEK) Examples include at least one thermoplastic resin selected from the group consisting of a resin, a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) resin, a polysulfone (PSF) resin, and a super engineering plastic composed of a polyethersulfone (PES) resin.
Regarding modified Claim 9, where Applicant seeks that the sizing agent according to claim 1, wherein the resin contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a polyolefin resin and a phenoxy resin, and the inorganic fiber sizing agent is applied to a composite material in which a matrix resin is a polyolefin resin; Applicant is directed to ¶ 84 under the heading “Description,” where the instant reference teaches that the specific examples of the thermosetting resin include, for example, an epoxy resin, a phenol resin, a urea resin, a melamine resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a vinyl ester resin, a bismaleimide resin, a cyanate resin, a polyimide resin, and a silicone resin. At least one selected thermosetting resin or prepolymer can be used. Specific examples of the thermoplastic resin include, for example, a polyolefin resin including a polyethylene (PE) resin and a polypropylene (PP) resin, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin, a polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) resin, and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin. General-purpose plastic, polyamide (PA) resin, polyacetal made of styrene-based resin including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) resin, polystyrene resin (PS), acrylonitrile-styrene resin (AS) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin Polyester resin including (POM) resin, polycarbonate (PC) resin, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin and polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) resin, and polyphenylene ether (PPE) resin General-purpose engineering plastics, polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resin, polyarylate (PAR) resin, polyamideimide (PAI) resin, thermoplastic polyimide (TPI) resin, polyetherimide (PEI) resin, polyetherketone (PEK) Examples include at least one thermoplastic resin selected from the group consisting of a resin, a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) resin, a polysulfone (PSF) resin, and a super engineering plastic composed of a polyethersulfone (PES) resin.
Regarding modified Claim 10, where Applicant seeks that an inorganic fiber having the sizing agent according to claim 1 attached thereto; Kagitani et al., teach that the surface coated reinforcing fiber has at least a part of its surface formed by a nanocellulose layer which is a layer made of nanocellulose (NCe), which serves as a part of the sizing agent and directly coats the reinforcing fibers. The nanocellulose (NCe) is a cellulose nanofiber (CeNF). The reinforcing fibers can be selected from the group consisting of carbon fiber (CF), glass fiber (GF), ceramic fiber (CeF), metal fiber (MF), and resin fiber (RF). The nanocellulose (NCe) may be modified with a functional group. [¶¶ 9-10, 19, 25 under the heading of Description]. The dispersion in which NCe is dispersed in a dispersion medium such as water or an organic solvent to the surface of the reinforcing fiber and then removing the dispersion medium by evaporation or the like. It can be formed on the surface of the fiber and between the matrix resin. It may also be dispersed in a thermoset or thermoplastic resin. The sizig agent may also be attached by powder or pellets as well.
Regarding modified Claim 11, where Applicant seeks that a method for producing the inorganic fiber, comprising attaching the inorganic fiber sizing agent according to claim 1 to an inorganic fiber; Kagitani et al., teach that the surface coated reinforcing fiber has at least a part of its surface formed by a nanocellulose layer which is a layer made of nanocellulose (NCe), which serves as a part of the sizing agent and directly coats the reinforcing fibers. The nanocellulose (NCe) is a cellulose nanofiber (CeNF). The reinforcing fibers can be selected from the group consisting of carbon fiber (CF), glass fiber (GF), ceramic fiber (CeF), metal fiber (MF), and resin fiber (RF). The nanocellulose (NCe) may be modified with a functional group. [¶¶ 9-10, 19, 25 under the heading of Description]. The dispersion in which NCe is dispersed in a dispersion medium such as water or an organic solvent to the surface of the reinforcing fiber and then removing the dispersion medium by evaporation or the like. It can be formed on the surface of the fiber and between the matrix resin. It may also be dispersed in a thermoset or thermoplastic resin. The sizing agent may also be attached by powder or pellets as well.
Regarding modified Claim 12, where Applicant seeks that a composite material comprising the inorganic fiber according to claim 10 and a matrix resin, wherein the resin in the sizing agent contains at least one selected from the group consisting of an epoxy resin and a polyester resin, and the matrix resin is an epoxy resin; Applicant is directed to ¶ 84 under the heading “Description,” where the instant reference teaches that the specific examples of the thermosetting resin include, for example, an epoxy resin, a phenol resin, a urea resin, a melamine resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a vinyl ester resin, a bismaleimide resin, a cyanate resin, a polyimide resin, and a silicone resin. At least one selected thermosetting resin or prepolymer can be used. Specific examples of the thermoplastic resin include, for example, a polyolefin resin including a polyethylene (PE) resin and a polypropylene (PP) resin, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin, a polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) resin, and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin. General-purpose plastic, polyamide (PA) resin, polyacetal made of styrene-based resin including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) resin, polystyrene resin (PS), acrylonitrile-styrene resin (AS) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin Polyester resin including (POM) resin, polycarbonate (PC) resin, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin and polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) resin, and polyphenylene ether (PPE) resin General-purpose engineering plastics, polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resin, polyarylate (PAR) resin, polyamideimide (PAI) resin, thermoplastic polyimide (TPI) resin, polyetherimide (PEI) resin, polyetherketone (PEK) Examples include at least one thermoplastic resin selected from the group consisting of a resin, a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) resin, a polysulfone (PSF) resin, and a super engineering plastic composed of a polyethersulfone (PES) resin.
Regarding modified Claim 13, where Applicant seeks a composite material comprising the inorganic fiber according to claim 10 and a matrix resin, wherein the resin in the sizing agent contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a polyamide resin, a polyurethane resin, a polyimide resin, and a polyimide resin precursor, and the matrix resin is a polyamide resin; Applicant is directed to ¶ 84 under the heading “Description,” where the instant reference teaches that the specific examples of the thermosetting resin include, for example, an epoxy resin, a phenol resin, a urea resin, a melamine resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a vinyl ester resin, a bismaleimide resin, a cyanate resin, a polyimide resin, and a silicone resin. At least one selected thermosetting resin or prepolymer can be used. Specific examples of the thermoplastic resin include, for example, a polyolefin resin including a polyethylene (PE) resin and a polypropylene (PP) resin, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin, a polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) resin, and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin. General-purpose plastic, polyamide (PA) resin, polyacetal made of styrene-based resin including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) resin, polystyrene resin (PS), acrylonitrile-styrene resin (AS) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin Polyester resin including (POM) resin, polycarbonate (PC) resin, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin and polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) resin, and polyphenylene ether (PPE) resin General-purpose engineering plastics, polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resin, polyarylate (PAR) resin, polyamideimide (PAI) resin, thermoplastic polyimide (TPI) resin, polyetherimide (PEI) resin, polyetherketone (PEK) Examples include at least one thermoplastic resin selected from the group consisting of a resin, a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) resin, a polysulfone (PSF) resin, and a super engineering plastic composed of a polyethersulfone (PES) resin.
Regarding modified Claim 14, where Applicant seeks a composite material comprising the inorganic fiber according to claim 10 and a matrix resin, wherein the resin in the sizing agent contains a vinyl ester resin, and the matrix resin is a vinyl ester resin; Applicant is directed to ¶ 84 under the heading “Description,” where the instant reference teaches that the specific examples of the thermosetting resin include, for example, an epoxy resin, a phenol resin, a urea resin, a melamine resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a vinyl ester resin, a bismaleimide resin, a cyanate resin, a polyimide resin, and a silicone resin. At least one selected thermosetting resin or prepolymer can be used. Specific examples of the thermoplastic resin include, for example, a polyolefin resin including a polyethylene (PE) resin and a polypropylene (PP) resin, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin, a polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) resin, and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin. General-purpose plastic, polyamide (PA) resin, polyacetal made of styrene-based resin including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) resin, polystyrene resin (PS), acrylonitrile-styrene resin (AS) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin Polyester resin including (POM) resin, polycarbonate (PC) resin, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin and polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) resin, and polyphenylene ether (PPE) resin General-purpose engineering plastics, polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resin, polyarylate (PAR) resin, polyamideimide (PAI) resin, thermoplastic polyimide (TPI) resin, polyetherimide (PEI) resin, polyetherketone (PEK) Examples include at least one thermoplastic resin selected from the group consisting of a resin, a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) resin, a polysulfone (PSF) resin, and a super engineering plastic composed of a polyethersulfone (PES) resin.
Regarding modified Claim 15, where Applicant seeks a composite material comprising the inorganic fiber according to claim 10 and a matrix resin, wherein the resin in the sizing agent contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a polyolefin resin and a phenoxy resin, and the matrix resin is a polyolefin resin; Applicant is directed to ¶ 84 under the heading “Description,” where the instant reference teaches that the specific examples of the thermosetting resin include, for example, an epoxy resin, a phenol resin, a urea resin, a melamine resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a vinyl ester resin, a bismaleimide resin, a cyanate resin, a polyimide resin, and a silicone resin. At least one selected thermosetting resin or prepolymer can be used. Specific examples of the thermoplastic resin include, for example, a polyolefin resin including a polyethylene (PE) resin and a polypropylene (PP) resin, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin, a polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) resin, and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin. General-purpose plastic, polyamide (PA) resin, polyacetal made of styrene-based resin including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) resin, polystyrene resin (PS), acrylonitrile-styrene resin (AS) and acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin Polyester resin including (POM) resin, polycarbonate (PC) resin, polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin and polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) resin, and polyphenylene ether (PPE) resin General-purpose engineering plastics, polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) resin, polyarylate (PAR) resin, polyamideimide (PAI) resin, thermoplastic polyimide (TPI) resin, polyetherimide (PEI) resin, polyetherketone (PEK) Examples include at least one thermoplastic resin selected from the group consisting of a resin, a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) resin, a polysulfone (PSF) resin, and a super engineering plastic composed of a polyethersulfone (PES) resin.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Arti Singh-Pandey/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1759
asp