DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Shibayama (US 2018/0149977; IDS, 03/13/2026).
The applied reference has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). The Examiner also points out that based on the publication date of the reference it also constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Shibayama discloses a composition for applying to a resist pattern comprising: a component (A), which is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of a metal oxide (a1), a polyacid (a2), a polyacid salt (a3), a hydrolyzable silane (a4), a hydrolysis product (a5) of the hydrolyzable silane, and a hydrolysis condensate (a6) of the hydrolyzable silane; and a component (B), which is an aqueous solvent. (Para, 0018-0019). Shibayama discloses the hydrolyzable silane (a4) is (i) a hydrolyzable silane containing an organic group having an amino group, (ii) a hydrolyzable silane containing an organic group having an ionic functional group, (iii) a hydrolyzable silane containing an organic group having hydroxy group, or (iv) a hydrolyzable silane containing an organic group having a functional group convertible to hydroxy group. (Para, 0020).
Shibayama explains, the hydrolyzable silane, the hydrolysis product thereof, and the hydrolysis condensate thereof can be used as a mixture thereof. (Para, 0054). Shibayama discloses a compound formed by condensing a hydrolysis product obtained by hydrolyzing the hydrolyzable silane can be used as the condensate. (Para, 0054). Shibayama discloses that a mixture of a partial hydrolysis product in which hydrolysis is not fully completed at the time of obtaining the hydrolysis condensate and the silane compound is mixed with the hydrolysis condensate can also be used. (Para, 0054). Shibayama discloses the condensate is a polymer having a polysiloxane structure. Shibayama also discloses an example of synthesizing the component (A), in particular for a polymer (A) designated as formula (2-6-3) or the hydrolysis condensate (polysiloxane). (Para, 0099).
Shibayama discloses synthesis Example 9-3: where in a 1,000 ml flask 38.06 g of a 35% by mass tetraethylammonium hydroxide aqueous solution and 78.75 g of tetrahydrofuran were placed. (Para, 0202). Shibayama discloses to the mixed solution 26.25 g of 3-iodopropyltrimethoxysilane (100% by mole in total silane) was added dropwise while stirring the mixed solution with a magnetic stirrer. (Para, 0202). Shibayama discloses after the addition, the flask was transferred to an oil bath adjusted to 40° C. and the reaction solution was reacted for 240 minutes. (Para, 0202). Shibayama discloses thereafter, the reaction solution was cooled to room temperature and 157.51 g of water was added to the reaction solution. (Para, 0202). Shibayama discloses methanol, tetrahydrofuran, and water being reaction by-products were removed by distillation under reduced pressure and the reaction solution was concentrated to give an aqueous solution of a hydrolysis condensate (polysiloxane). (Para, 0202). Shibayama discloses water was further added to the aqueous solution to adjust the aqueous solution to a concentration of 20% by mass in terms of solid residue at 140° C. as a solvent ratio of 100% water (water solvent alone). (Para, 0202). Shibayama discloses the obtained polymer corresponded to Formula (2-6-3). These disclosures and illustrations of Formula (2-6-3) teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘A composition for forming a silicon-containing resist underlayer film, the composition comprising: component [A]: a polysiloxane; and component [C]: a solvent, wherein the polysiloxane contains a constituent unit derived from a hydrolyzable silane (A) having an alkyl iodide group.’ Moreover, these disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 3-4 and 9. Shibayama also discloses the hydrolysis may be complete hydrolysis or may be partial hydrolysis; therefore, a hydrolysis product or a monomer may remain in the hydrolysis condensate. (Para, 0109). This disclosure and the disclosures of Shibayama as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 2 as well as the limitation of claims 18-19.
Shibayama discloses that to the composition of the present invention, an inorganic acid, an organic acid, water, an alcohol, an organic amine, a photoacid generator, a metal oxide, a surfactant, or a combination thereof can be added in order to stabilize the composition containing the hydrolysis condensate. (Para, 0124). Shibayama discloses examples of the inorganic acid include hydrochloric acid, nitric acid, sulfuric acid, and phosphoric acid. (Para, 0125). This disclosure teaches and/or suggests the limitation of claim 8. Shibayama discloses that alcohol may be added it is preferably one that is easy to be evaporated by heating after coating such as methanol, ethanol, propanol, isopropanol, and butanol. (Para, 0127). Shibayama discloses the amount of the alcohol to be added can be 0.001 part by mass to 20 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the composition applied to the resist pattern. (Para, 0127). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 5.
Shibayama also discloses examples of organic solvents used for hydrolysis, which includes propylene glycol monomethyl ether, propylene glycol monoethyl ether, propylene glycol monopropyl ether, propylene glycol monobutyl ether. (Para, 0123). This disclosures teaches and/or suggests the limitation of claim 6. Shibayama also discloses examples of the photoacid generator to be added include onium salt compounds, sulfonimide compounds, and disulfonyldiazomethane compounds. (Para, 0129). Shibayama discloses the photoacid generator can be used singly or can be used in combination of two or more of them. (Para, 0133). Shibayama explains when the photoacid generator is used, a ratio thereof is 0.01 part by mass to 30 parts by mass, 0.1 part by mass to 20 parts by mass, or 0.5 part by mass to 10 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the condensate (polysiloxane). (Para, 0133). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 7. Shibayama further discloses a method of using the disclosed composition in a resist patterning process and semiconductor device formation process. (Para, 0143). Shibayama discloses after the resist along with the disclosed solution are applied to a substrate the resist is exposed to form a pattern and one of the exposure light sources is EUV light. (Para, 0146).
While the recitations of claims 1-9 and 18-19 are not exactly and/or identically disclosed by Shibayama one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation to successfully formulate a composition comprising a polysiloxane that can be used as a resist underlayer film in resist patterning and semiconductor device fabrication processes based on the disclosures of Shibayama.
Claim(s) 10-14, 16-17, 20-24, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama as applied to claims 1-9 and 18-19 in paragraph 4 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2024/0353755).
The disclosures of Shibayama as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 10, ‘ The composition for forming a silicon-containing resist underlayer film according to 1,which is for forming a resist underlayer film for EUV lithography.’ However, the disclosures of Shibayama in view of Wang provide such teachings.
Wang is directed to a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device. Wang discloses 0034] Improving the line width roughness (LWR) and reducing the exposure dose (EOP) are desirable in the field of photolithographic processing to continue scaling down the devices and efficiently increase semiconductor device yield. Deep ultraviolet (DUV), electron beam (e-beam) and extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography have been developed to decrease the critical dimension and increase device yield. EUV lithography has been developed for use in nanometer technology process nodes, such as below 40 nm process nodes. Organic polymer based photoresists are used in photolithography in some embodiments. However, C, N, and O atoms in the polymers of organic photoresists are weak in EUV photon absorption. It has been found that certain metals have higher EUV photon absorption. To use the higher EUV photon absorption of metals, metallic resist have been developed. In metallic photoresists, a reduction of the exposure dose is critical for throughput improvement. The dosage reduction affects the roughness and resolution of the pattern, in what is known as the RLS trade off (R=resolution (e.g.—critical dimension; L=line edge roughness (LER); and S=exposure dose). (Para, 0034).
Wang discloses and illustrates a process flow 100 and various stages of manufacturing a semiconductor device according to embodiments of the disclosure. (Para, 0035; Figs.1, 2A-10). Wang discloses a photoresist layer 15 is formed over a layer to be patterned (target layer) or substrate in operation S120 and the photoresist layer 15 includes a metallic photoresist composition in some embodiments. (Para, 0035). Wang discloses in some embodiments, a resist underlayer composition is coated on a surface of a layer to be patterned (target layer) or a substrate 10 in operation S110, to form a resist underlayer 20 before forming the photoresist layer 15 in operation S110. (Para, 0035; Fig.2B). Wang discloses the resist underlayer 20 undergoes a baking operation to evaporate solvents in the underlayer composition in some embodiments. (Para, 0036). Wang discloses after forming the underlayer 20, a resist layer composition is subsequently coated on a surface of the resist underlayer 20 in operation S120, to form a resist layer 15. (Para, 0036; FIG. 2B).
Wang also discloses the resist underlayers 20 are made of polymer compositions disposed between the resist layer and the substrate to improve the adhesion of the resist layer to the substrate in some embodiments. (Para, 0052). Wang discloses the resist underlayer 20 is a planarizing layer or bottom anti-reflective coating (BARC) such as organic BARC or inorganic, such as a silicon-containing anti-reflective coating (SiARC) layer. (Para, 0052). Wang also discloses the underlayer composition includes an organic polymer, including, but not limited to polyhydroxystyrenes, polyacrylates, polymethacrylates, polyvinylphenols, polystyrenes, and copolymers thereof. (Para, 0052). Wang discloses the organic polymer is a poly(4-hydroxystyrene), a poly(4-vinylphenol-co-methyl methacrylate) copolymer, and a poly(styrene)-b-poly(4-hydroxystyrene) copolymer. (Para, 0052). Wang discloses the underlayer composition includes, inorganic polymers, such as polysiloxane and polysiloxane derivatives. (Para, 0052). The disclosures of Shibayama as discussed in paragraph 4 above further in view of these disclosures of Wang teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 10-13 and 20-23.
Wang also discloses in some embodiments, the underlayer 20 includes a bottom layer and a middle layer of a tri-layer resist. (Para, 0052). Wang discloses the bottom layer may include any of above-recited organic polymers and the middle layer may include a silicon-containing organic polymer such as a siloxane polymer. (Para, 0052). Wang discloses in other embodiments, the middle layer includes silicon oxide (e.g., spin-on glass (SOG)), silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, polycrystalline silicon, a metal-containing organic polymer material containing a metal such as titanium, titanium nitride, aluminum, and/or tantalum; and/or other suitable materials. (Para, 0052). Wang explains the middle layer may be bonded to adjacent layers, such as by covalent bonding, hydrogen bonding, or hydrophilic-to-hydrophilic forces. (Para, 0052). The disclosures of Shibayama further in view of these disclosures of Wang teach and/or suggest the limitations of claims 14 and 24.
Wang discloses after the pre-exposure baking operations S130 of the photoresist layer 15, the photoresist layer 15 is selectively exposed to actinic radiation in operation S140. (Para, 0038; FIGS. 4A-4B) Wang discloses the photoresist layer 15 is selectively exposed to ultraviolet radiation where the radiation is electromagnetic radiation, such as g-line (wavelength of about 436 nm), i-line (wavelength of about 365 nm), ultraviolet radiation, deep ultraviolet radiation, extreme ultraviolet, electron beams, or the like. (Para, 0038). Wang explains, the radiation source is selected from the group consisting of a mercury vapor lamp, xenon lamp, carbon arc lamp, a KrF excimer laser light (wavelength of 248 nm), an ArF excimer laser light (wavelength of 193 nm), an F2 excimer laser light (wavelength of 157 nm), or a CO2 laser-excited Sn plasma (extreme ultraviolet, wavelength of 13.5 nm). (Para, 0038). Wang discloses a post exposure baking (PEB) operation S150 is performed. (Para,0042; Fig. 5). Wang discloses the selectively exposed photoresist layer is subsequently developed by applying a developer to the selectively exposed photoresist layer in operation S160. (Para, 0043; Fig. 6). The disclosures of Shibayama further in view of these disclosures of Wang and the disclosures of Wang as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 16, ‘A patterning process comprising: a step of forming an organic underlayer film on a semiconductor substrate; a step of forming a resist underlayer film by applying and baking the composition for forming a silicon-containing resist underlayer film according to claim 1-on the organic underlayer film; a step of forming a resist film by applying a composition for forming a resist film on the resist underlayer film; a step of obtaining a resist pattern by exposing and developing the resist film…’ The disclosures of Shibayama further in view of these disclosures and the disclosures of Wang as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 26, ’A patterning process comprising: a step of forming an organic underlayer film on a semiconductor substrate; a step of forming a resist underlayer film by applying and baking the composition for forming a silicon-containing resist underlayer film according to claim 2 on the organic underlayer film; a step of forming a resist film by applying a composition for forming a resist film on the resist underlayer film; a step of obtaining a resist pattern by exposing and developing the resist film…’
Wang discloses the pattern of openings 55 in the patterned photoresist layer 15 is extended into the substrate 10 in operation S190 to create a pattern of openings 55′ in the substrate 10, thereby transferring the pattern in the photoresist layer 15 into the substrate 10. (Para, 0047; FIG. 10). Wang discloses the pattern is extended into the substrate by etching, using one or more suitable etchants such buy anisotropic etching or isotropic etching. (Para, 0047). Wang also discloses the etchant is a gas, a vapor, a plasma or in other embodiments, the etchant is a liquid. (Para, 0047). The disclosures of Shibayama further in view of these disclosures and illustrations of Wang teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 16, ‘ A patterning process comprising: …and a step of etching the organic underlayer film by using the patterned resist underlayer film as a mask.’ The disclosures of Shibayama further in view of these disclosures also teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 26, ‘ A patterning process comprising: …a step of etching the resist underlayer film by using the resist pattern as a mask; and a step of etching the organic underlayer film by using the patterned resist underlayer film as a mask.’ Wang discloses the photoresist layer pattern 15 is removed after etching the substrate 10 by using a suitable photoresist stripper solvent or by a plasma ashing operation. (Para, 0047). The disclosures of Shibayama further in view of this disclosures of Wang teaches and/or suggests the limitation of claims 17 and 27.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the disclosures of Shibayama further in view of the disclosures of Wang because both are directed to analogous methods of improving resist pattern formation processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of successfully forming an accurate resist pattern using EUV light for semiconductor device fabrication using the patterning process of Wang with the resist underlayer film composition of Shibayama.
Claim(s) 15 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama in view of Wang as applied to claims 10-14, 16-17, 20-24, 26-27 in paragraph 5 above, and further in view of Kamimura.
The disclosures of Shibayama and Wang as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 15, ‘The method for manufacturing a semiconductor element according to claim 14, wherein, in the step of forming a resist underlayer film, a composition for forming a silicon-containing resist underlayer film filtered through a nylon filter is used.’ However, the disclosures of Shibayama and Wang further in view of Kamimura provides such teachings.
Kamimura discloses a resist underlayer film-forming composition that contains a polysiloxane, an acid generating agent, and a specific compound, the contained amount of said specific compound being 0.1-400 mass ppm with respect to the total mass of the resist underlayer film-forming composition; a pattern forming method using said resist underlayer film-forming composition; and an electronic device manufacturing method. (Abstract).
The present invention relates to a composition for forming a resist underlayer film, a pattern forming method, and a method for manufacturing an electronic device. More specifically, the present invention is a composition for forming a resist underlayer film suitable for semiconductor manufacturing processes such as ICs (Integrated Circuits), manufacturing of circuit boards such as liquid crystal and thermal heads, and other photolithography lithography steps. The present invention relates to a manufacturing method of an object, a pattern forming method, and a manufacturing method of an electronic device. Kamimura discloses an example of preparing a composition for forming a resist underlayer film: Kamimura discloses the composition comprises 2.5 parts by mass of compound T-1 as an acid generator was added to 100 parts by mass of polysiloxane in the prepared polysiloxane liquid P-1, and further contained in the finished composition for forming a resist underlayer film. Kamimura discloses the solvents F-1, β-PGMEA, methanol, and water are added and dissolved so the amounts are as shown in Table 1, and then this solution is filtered through a nylon filter having a pore size of 20 nm to form a resist underlayer film. Kamimura disclose a forming composition (S-01) was obtained. The disclosures of Shibayama and Wang further in view of these disclosures of Kamimura teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 15 and 25.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the combination of Shibayama and Wang further in view of these disclosures of Kamimura because similar to Shibayama and Wang, Kamimura discloses a composition comprising a polysiloxane that is usable in a resist patterning process such as to form a resist underlayer film, and the disclosures of Kamimura demonstrate it is common step to filter the solution of the composition formed through a film such as nylon filter, which would provide one of ordinary skill in the art a reasonable expectation of a resist underlayer film composition that has minimal impurities so as to avoid negatively affecting the resist patterning process.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899