DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated April 1, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's remarks filed April 1, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, 14, 15, and 17, drawn to a 6bR,10aS)-8-(3-(4-fluorophenoxy)propyl)-6b,7,8,9,10,10a- hexahydro-1H-pyrido[3',4':4,5]pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]quinoxalin-2(3H)-one in solid, crystalline salt form in the reply filed on April 1, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the prior art does not teach a solid, crystalline salt form. This is not found persuasive because as set forth previously on the record, Snyder teaches a solid tosylate salt of 6bR,10aS)-8-(3-(4-fluorophenoxy)propyl)-6b,7,8,9,10,10a- hexahydro-1H-pyrido[3',4':4,5]pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]quinoxalin-2(3H)-one. Each crystalline form is dependent on the orientation and arrangement of the molecules of the compound often measured by XRPD. Thus, crystalline form is a variable and not a technical feature shared by all the species and groups. Moreover, Snyder teaches the tosylate salt is obtained as a solid using acetonitrile [0064]. The instant specification teaches a process for the production of solid, crystalline salt form of Compound A wherein the solvent is acetonitrile, see paragraph [0030], 1.5. Thus, a solid, crystalline tosylate salt of 6bR,10aS)-8-(3-(4-fluorophenoxy)propyl)-6b,7,8,9,10,10a- hexahydro-1H-pyrido[3',4':4,5]pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]quinoxalin-2(3H)-one is taught by the prior art. Therefore, since the technical feature, i.e. a (6bR,10aS)-8-(3-(4-fluorophenoxy)propyl)-6b,7,8,9,10,10a- hexahydro-1H-pyrido[3',4':4,5]pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]quinoxalin-2(3H)-one solid, crystalline salt is taught by the prior art, the technical feature lacks novelty.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12, 13, 16, and 18-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 1, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of p-toluenesulfonate salt as the elected salt species in the reply filed on April 1, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 14 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 1, 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4-11 and 17 are presently under examination as the relate to the elected species: (6bR,10aS)-8-(3-(4-fluorophenoxy)propyl)-6b,7,8,9,10,10a- hexahydro-1H-pyrido[3',4':4,5]pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]quinoxalin-2(3H)-one toluenesulfonate salt.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/US22/72802 filed on June 7, 2022, which claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/197,848 filed on June 7, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 31, 2024; May 30, 2025; and April 1, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner, except where marked with a strikethrough.
.
Drawings
Acknowledgement is made of the drawings received on December 6, 2023. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class. For processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary. In the instant case, the abstract fails to provide a general use for the disclosed salts, crystals, or cocrystals. Moreover, the salts, crystals, or cocrystals of the instant application are salts, crystals, or cocrystals:
and not to substituted heterocycle fused gamma-carbolines generically.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. In the instant case, the abstract contains phrases which can be implied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, the phrase e.g., which is the abbreviation for “for example” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Snyder et al (WO 2019/237037 A1, cited in a previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Snyder teaches Compound of Formula (I) is Example 1 (page 48 and claim 6):
wherein the Compound of Formula (I) is in the form of a tosylate salt (claim 7) and partially purified product (Example (1)) is further purified with a semi-preparative HPLC system using a gradient of 0 - 60% acetonitrile in water containing 0.1% formic acid over 16 min to obtain the title product as a solid. The instant specification teaches a process for the production of solid, crystalline salt form of Compound A wherein the solvent is acetonitrile, see paragraph [0030], 1.5. Tosylate salt of Compound A reads on p-toluene sulfonic acid salt. MPEP 2112.01 states:
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the solid, tosylate salt of Compound A of prior art is produced by substantially identical process (i.e. using acetonitrile solvent) and thus anticipates the instantly claimed solid, crystalline p-toluenesulfonic salt of the instant claims.
Regarding claim 17, Snyder teaches a unit dosage, for example a tablet or capsule, comprising the compound of formula (I) in tosylate salt form and a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent or carrier (claim 8).
Thus, the teachings of Snyder anticipate the salt and composition of claims 1 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder et al (WO 2019/237037 A1, cited in a previous Office Action).
As set forth in the 102 rejection above, Snyder teaches a solid, crystalline (6bR,10aS)-8-(3-(4-fluorophenoxy)propyl)-6b,7,8,9,10,10a- hexahydro-1H-pyrido[3',4':4,5]pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]quinoxalin-2(3H)-one toluenesulfonate salt and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the solid, crystalline (6bR,10aS)-8-(3-(4-fluorophenoxy)propyl)-6b,7,8,9,10,10a- hexahydro-1H-pyrido[3',4':4,5]pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]quinoxalin-2(3H)-one toluenesulfonate salt and a pharmaceutical carrier.
Snyder does not explicitly teach the salt is at least 98% pure (instant claim 4), comprises less than 1% of the compound in free base form (instant claim 5), comprises less than 1 wt% of any p-toluenesulfonic acid (instant claim 6), less than 0.1 % of synthetic precursor or side-product from the synthetic method (instant claim 7), less than 5000 ppm of all residual solvents (instant claim 8), less than 100 ppm of 1-(3-chloropropoxy)-4-fluorobenzene (instant claim 9), less than 1 wt% of water (instant claim 10), or less than 100 ppm of p-toluenesulfonate alkyl esters (instant claim 11). However, It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to remove any synthetic precursor of or side-product from the synthetic method used to prepare the salt (i.e. base compound (Compound A), p-toluenesulfonic acid or p-toluenesulfonate alkyl esters, residual solvents, or water) to arrive at the pure solid, crystalline (6bR,10aS)-8-(3-(4-fluorophenoxy)propyl)-6b,7,8,9,10,10a- hexahydro-1H-pyrido[3',4':4,5]pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]quinoxalin-2(3H)-one toluenesulfonate salt having substantially synthetic precursor of or side-product from the synthetic method used to prepare the salt (i.e. base compound (Compound A), p-toluenesulfonic acid or p-toluenesulfonate alkyl esters, residual solvents, or water). The skilled artisan would have been motivated to remove such precursors or side-products to reduce degradation or reduction of efficacy of the active solid, crystalline salt compound due to the presence of such products. Moreover, regarding instant claim 9, the method of producing the pure solid, crystalline (6bR,10aS)-8-(3-(4-fluorophenoxy)propyl)-6b,7,8,9,10,10a- hexahydro-1H-pyrido[3',4':4,5]pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]quinoxalin-2(3H)-one toluenesulfonate salt does not utilize any 1-(3-chloropropoxy)-4-fluorobenzene, thus it is safe to assume that there is no 1-(3-chloropropoxy)-4-fluorobenzene present in the composition.
Taken together, all this would result in the composition of claims 1, 4-11, and 17 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, 4-11, and 17 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
/Rayna Rodriguez/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628