DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I (claims 12-21, drawn to an apparatus) in the reply, filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 22 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/17/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recited feature of Claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) Across the claim set, the applicants use both “said” and “the” when referring to an element having an antecedent basis. The applicants are respectfully requested to constantly use either “said” or “the”, for consistency throughout the claims.
(2) The limitation “vessel intended to contain” in Claim 12 would have a better form if amended to be “vessel configured to contain”.
(3) The “the first vessel and the first heating means being arranged in the lower zone and the second heating means and the distribution means being arranged in the upper zone” in Claim 13 would have a better form if amended to be:
“wherein the first vessel and the first heating means are arranged in the lower zone and the second heating means and the distribution means are arranged in the upper zone”.
(4) Across the claim set, the “being configured”, “being connected”, and “being determined” would have a better form if amended to be:
“configured”, “connected”, and “determined”.
(5) The “a source of carrier gas” in Claim 17 should be “a source of a carrier gas”.
(6) The “introducing at least one gas phase of a solid precursor” in Claim 21 should be “introducing a gas phase of at least one solid precursor”, for consistency throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim interpretation
(1) 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step”, or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder, are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heating means”, “distribution means”, “circulation means”, “means for circulating”, “switching means” and “means for introducing”.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“member for measuring” in Claim 20, because of the term “member”, as a substitute for “means”, that is a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
(1) The “contain a solid phase of said precursor” in Claim 12 is not clear. Since the claim 12 already recites the “at least one solid precursor”, it is unclear whether “a solid phase of said precursor” is intended to refer to the previously recited “solid precursor” or to a different precursor.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“contain the at least one solid precursor”.
The applicants are respectfully requested to maintain consistency of the term throughout the claims.
(2) Across the claim set, the limitation “and/or” is not clear. The “A” or “B” includes “A”, “B”, or “A and B”, thus it is not clear what is required to meet the “and/or”.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of “or”.
(3) Claim 12 recites “form a gas phase of said precursor”. Claim 12 previously recite “a gas phase of at least one solid precursor”, thus there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of “form the gas phase of the at least one solid precursor”.
The applicants are respectfully requested to maintain consistency of the term throughout the claims.
(4) The “distribute the gas phase from the vessel to a point of use” in Claim 12 is not clear, because of the limitation “a point of use”. It is considered being a relative term, depending on how the “point of use” is determined. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The delivery point must be clearly defined by a structure, not by use.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“distribute the gas phase of the at least one solid precursor from the vessel”.
(5) The “a substantially vertical axial direction” in Claim 12 is not clear, because of the term “substantially”. The term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of “a vertical axial direction”.
(6) The “in the direction of the internal volume of the enclosure” in Claim 12 is not clear, because it is not clear what the direction of the internal volume means.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of “within the internal volume of the enclosure”.
(7) The “wherein the upper zone is arranged at a higher level than that of the lower zone in the axial direction (z)” in Claim 13 is not clear.
First, it is not clear what the “that” of the lower zone mean. The Office does not recommend a form of a pronoun.
Second, the “axial direction” raises the antecedent basis issue.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“wherein the upper zone is arranged higher than the lower zone in the vertical axial direction (z)”.
(8) The “preferably around at least a part of the bottom of the vessel” of Claim 14, because of the term “preferably”. The term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“around at least a part of the bottom of the vessel”.
(9) The “wherein the second heating means comprises at least one electrical resistor notably mounted on a wall of the enclosure or in the vicinity of said wall” of Claim 15 is not clear.
First, the term “notably” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Second, “the vicinity” raises the antecedent basis issue.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“wherein the second heating means comprises at least one electrical resistor mounted on a wall of the enclosure or in a vicinity of said wall”.
(10) The “further comprising at least one pressure sensor (PC) configured to measure the pressure inside the vessel, and a control unit connected to the pressure sensor (PC) and to the first heating means, the control unit notably being configured to regulate and/or adjust the heating power delivered by the first heating means as a function of the pressure measured by the pressure sensor (PC)” of Claim 16 is not clear, because of antecedent basis issues raised from the limitations “the pressure inside the vessel”, “connected to the pressure sensor”, and “the heating power”.
Further, the term “notably” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“further comprising at least one pressure sensor (PC) configured to measure a pressure inside the vessel, and a control unit connected to the at least one pressure sensor (PC) and to the first heating means, the control unit configured to regulate or adjust a heating power delivered by the first heating means as a function of the pressure measured by the pressure sensor (PC)”.
(11) The “further comprising a source of carrier gas, a supply duct fluidically connecting the source of carrier gas to an inlet of the vessel and means for circulating the carrier gas in the vessel, said means for circulating the carrier gas being configured to circulate the carrier gas between the inlet and an outlet of the vessel such that the distribution means distribute a gas mixture comprising the gas phase and the carrier gas from the vessel, said means for circulating the carrier gas notably being configured to control the flow rate of carrier gas circulating in the vessel and/or to control the pressure in the vessel” of Claim 17 is not clear.
First, “the flow rate of carrier gas” and “the pressure in the vessel” raise the antecedent basis issues.
Second, the “said means for circulating the carrier gas being configured to circulate the carrier gas between the inlet and an outlet of the vessel” is not clear.
The dictionary meaning of the “circulate” is “to move in a circle, circuit, or orbit”, in other words, “Flowing without stopping in a loop or circuit”.
Thus, the recited claim is constructed such that by the circulating means, the carrier gas flows in a loop between the inlet and the outlet of the vessel. However, the applicants’ specification discloses the corresponding structure for the “means for circulating” is a flow rate regulator 41, 42, see paragraph [0160] of the published instant application. It is not clear how the flow rate controller makes the carrier gas flow in a loop between the inlet and the outlet.
Because it is well-known in the art, when the carrier gas is supplied into the vessel, the carrier gas is intrinsically mixed with the generated vapor, it is considered the cited “circulate the carrier gas” is not a function of the “means for circulating”.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“further comprising a source of a carrier gas, a supply duct fluidically connecting the source of the carrier gas to an inlet of the vessel and means for controlling a flow rate of the carrier gas or controlling a pressure in the vessel”, the carrier gas circulating between the inlet and an outlet of the vessel to form a gas mixture comprising the gas phase of the at least one solid precursor and the carrier gas”.
(12) The “further comprising at least one temperature sensor (TC) configured to measure the temperature of an outer surface of the vessel and/or to measure the temperature inside the enclosure, and a control unit connected to the temperature sensor (TC) and to the first heating means, the control unit notably being configured to vary the heating power delivered by the first heating means as a function of the temperature measured by the temperature sensor (TC)” of Claim 18 is not clear, because of antecedent basis issues raised from the limitations “the temperature of an outer surface”, “the temperature inside the enclosure”, “connected to the temperature sensor, and “the heating power”.
Further, the term “notably” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“further comprising at least one temperature sensor (TC) configured to measure a temperature of an outer surface of the vessel or to measure a temperature inside the enclosure, and a control unit connected to the at least one temperature sensor (TC) and to the first heating means, the control unit configured to vary a heating power delivered by the first heating means as a function of the temperature measured by the temperature sensor (TC)”.
(13) The “A distribution assembly comprising at least two distribution devices as defined by claim 12, each device comprising an enclosure, a vessel and respective distribution means fluidically connected to a common pipe, said assembly comprising switching means configured to occupy a first position in which the gas phase is distributed into the common pipe from one of the two vessels and, when the quantity of precursor in the vessel is lower than or equal to a predetermined low threshold, to occupy a second position in which the gas phase is distributed into the common pipe from the other of the two vessels or to occupy an intermediate position in which the gas phase is distributed from both vessels simultaneously, the switching means being connected to a member for measuring a physical quantity representative of the quantity of precursor in the vessel, selected from among: the mass of the vessel, the pressure in the vessel, the temperature of an outer surface of the vessel, the movement of the switching means from the first position to the second position being determined as a function of the measurement of said physical quantity” of Claim 20 is not clear.
First, the limitations are narrative in form and replete with indefinite and functional or operational language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
Second, the “at least two distribution devices as defined by claim 12” is not clear, because the claim 12 defines one device, not two devices.
Third, due to the “at least two distribution devices as defined by claim 12”, the device already recites the enclosure and the vessel of the claim 12, thus it is not clear whether the claim further requires additional enclosure and vessel.
Fourth, several terms raises the antecedent basis issue.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“A distribution assembly comprising at least two distribution devices,
each distribution device comprising the device as defined by claim 12,
respective distribution means of each device fluidically connected to a common pipe,
the distribution assembly comprising switching means,
the switching means configured:
to occupy a first position in which the gas phase of the at least one solid precursor is distributed into the common pipe from one of the at least two vessels and,
when quantity of the at least one solid precursor in the vessel is lower than or equal to a predetermined low threshold, to occupy a second position in which the gas phase of the at least one solid precursor is distributed into the common pipe from the other of the at least two vessels, or
to occupy an intermediate position in which the gas phase of the at least one solid precursor is distributed from the at least two vessels simultaneously,
the switching means connected to a member for measuring a physical quantity, representative of the quantity of the at least one solid precursor in the vessel, selected from among: a mass of the vessel, a pressure in the vessel, a temperature of an outer surface of the vessel,
wherein switching from the first position to the second position is determined as a function of the measurement of the physical quantity”.
(14) As discussed in the claim interpretation above, the “means for introducing” in Claims 21 invokes 35USC112(f) or pre-AIA 35USC112, sixth paragraph.
However, the written description fails to clearly link the corresponding structure to perform the function of the means for introducing. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the same language, “means for introducing” without providing any particular structure, thus it is not clear what is required to meet the means for introducing and what difference is required from the recited “distribution means”.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For the purpose of examination,
When a gas line or a valve is provided between the treatment chamber and the device of Claim 12, it will be considered meeting the limitation.
(15) The “wherein the introduction means are fluidically connected to the distribution means of a device as defined by claim 12 or of an assembly as defined by claim 20” in Claim 20 raises the antecedent basis issue.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of:
“wherein the introduction means are fluidically connected to the distribution means of the device as defined by claim 12 or of the distribution assembly as defined by claim 20”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 12-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shero et al. (US 20050000428, hereafter ‘428).
Regarding Claim 12, ‘428 teaches:
a reactant source apparatus 8 for feeding a gas phase reactant generated from a reactant source vessel 10 into a gas phase reaction chamber 12. A reactant (not shown), which may be liquid or solid… is vaporized within the reactant source vessel 10 (Fig. 2 or 7, [0028], the claimed “A device for distributing a gas phase of at least one solid precursor, said device comprising:- a vessel intended to contain a solid phase of said precursor, the vessel having a bottom and a top”);
the heating device 32 in the reactant source cabinet 16 is used to maintain the reactant in the reactant source vessel 10 at or above the vaporizing temperature to vaporize the source material ([0048], the claimed “- a first heating means configured to heat at least a part of the vessel and/or of the solid phase so as to form a gas phase of said precursor in the vessel”);
a first conduit 20 so as to feed the gas phase reactant from the reactant source vessel 10 to the reaction chamber 12 ([0030], the claimed “- distribution means fluidically connected to the vessel and configured to distribute the gas phase from the vessel to a point of use”);
the reactant source vessel 10 is positioned within the reactant source cabinet 16, and the reactant source cabinet 16 includes a heating device 32 ([0035]), and first conduit 20 is contained within the reactant source cabinet 16 ([0032], see Fig. 2 for upper and lower zones along a vertical direction of the cabinet, the claimed “- an enclosure having an internal volume in which the vessel, the first heating means and the distribution means are arranged, the enclosure having a substantially vertical axial direction (z) oriented in an upward direction, the internal volume of the enclosure comprising a lower zone and an upper zone”);
the reactant source cabinet 16 may be divided into sub-components with separate heating devices ([0043]), and a heating device 32, which preferably comprises radiation heaters (e.g., tubular resistive heater elements) ([0035], note Fig. 7 shows plural heating devices 32 positioned at left and right sides of the cabinet 16, further positioned in the right upper and lower zones of the cabinet 16, therefore, portions of the heating devices 32’ intrinsically heat a part of the internal volume of the cabinet, the claimed “and- a second heating means configured to heat at least a part of the internal volume of the enclosure”);
the reactant source cabinet 16, may include convection enhancing devices (e.g., fans, cross-flows etc.) ([0035], note the fan provided in the cabinet intrinsically circulates the heated air inside the cabinet, in this case the heater comprises the fan. Further note a heater having convection enhancing device is commonly well-known in the art, for instance, see the heater 216 of Fig. 2 and [0033] of US 20230175128, hereafter ‘128, disclosing the “the heater 216 can include a fan and is configured to generate convection-type heat within the canister oven 202”, thus, the fan and heater of ‘428 would be the same type heater, the claimed “the second heating means comprising an air circulation means configured to circulate air from the second heating means in the direction of the internal volume of the enclosure”).
In case the applicants argue that 102 rejection is not proper,
It is obvious that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have considered that the fan and heater of ‘428 would be the well-known type heater having a fan, for its suitability as the known heater type with predictable result. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 13,
Fig. 7 of ‘428 shows, at right side of the cabinet, the upper heating device 32 and the conduit 20 in an upper zone of the cabinet 16, and the lower heating device 32 and the vessel 10 in a lower zone of the cabinet 16 (the claimed “wherein the upper zone is arranged at a higher level than that of the lower zone in the axial direction (z), the first vessel and the first heating means being arranged in the lower zone and the second heating means and the distribution means being arranged in the upper zone”).
Regarding Claim 14,
‘428 teaches a hot plate 130 ([0053], further Fig. 7 shows plural heating devices 32 positioned at left and right sides of the cabinet 16, thus, each heating device 32 can be independently controlled heating means, each having different name, such as first, second, third heating means, therefore, portions of the heating devices 32’ are positioned around at least a part of the bottom, because the “around” is a broad term and does not limit a specific location, either the hot plate or the portions of the heating devices reads into the claimed “further comprising a third heating means arranged in the lower zone of the enclosure, preferably around at least a part of the bottom of the vessel or under the bottom of the vessel”).
Regarding Claim 15,
‘428 teaches a heating device 32, which preferably comprises radiation heaters (e.g., tubular resistive heater elements) ([0035], note Fig. 1 or 7 of ‘428 shows the heating device 32, 32’ is mounted on a wall of the cabinet, further the position also reads into a vicinity of the wall, because the “vicinity” is a broad term and does not limit a specific location, the claimed “wherein the second heating means comprises at least one electrical resistor notably mounted on a wall of the enclosure or in the vicinity of said wall”).
Regarding Claim 17,
‘428 teaches Inactive or inert gas is preferably used as a carrier gas for the vaporized solid or liquid reactant. The inert gas (e.g., nitrogen or argon) may be fed into the reactant source vessel 10 through a second conduit 24. The reactant source vessel 10 includes at least one inlet for connection to the second conduit 24 and at least one outlet for withdrawing gas from the reactant source vessel 10. The outlet of the reactant source vessel 10 is connected to the first conduit 20 ([0033]), and a control valve 27 for the second conduit 24 ([0033], note it is well-known in the art that the “carrier” means carrying the mixture of the inert gas and the vaporized reactant, and further the control valve controls flow rate of the carrier gas, see “The solid precursor sublimates and passes, with the carrier gas” of [0004] and “a mass flow meter 462 for monitoring the flow of precursor gas” of [0051] of Fig. 4 and US 20180163307, hereafter ‘307, the claimed “further comprising a source of carrier gas, a supply duct fluidically connecting the source of carrier gas to an inlet of the vessel and means for circulating the carrier gas in the vessel, said means for circulating the carrier gas being configured to circulate the carrier gas between the inlet and an outlet of the vessel such that the distribution means distribute a gas mixture comprising the gas phase and the carrier gas from the vessel, said means for circulating the carrier gas notably being configured to control the flow rate of carrier gas circulating in the vessel and/or to control the pressure in the vessel”).
Regarding Claim 19, ‘428 teaches:
a first conduit 20 so as to feed the gas phase reactant from the reactant source vessel 10 to the reaction chamber 12 ([0030], the claimed “wherein the distribution means comprise at least one distribution duct passing through a first wall of the enclosure”);
This portion of the first conduit 20' is positioned within a feedthrough chamber 119, which includes a separate heater 120 for heating the portion of the first conduit 20' ([0052], the claimed “a heating element forming a sleeve around at least a part of the distribution duct and extending on either side of said first wall”).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘428 in view of Engle (US 20120216874, hereafter ‘874).
Regarding Claims 16 and 18,
‘428 teaches A control system (not shown) is configured to control the reaction chamber and apparatus, and the control system can be advantageously configured to independently control the temperatures of the hot plate 130 and the heating device 32' and or to independently turn on and/or off these device ([0066], the claimed “and a control unit connected, and to the first heating means, the control unit notably being configured to regulate and/or adjust the heating power delivered by the first heating means”).
‘428 does not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 16: further comprising at least one pressure sensor (PC) configured to measure the pressure inside the vessel, and a control unit connected to the pressure sensor (PC) and to the first heating means, the control unit notably being configured to regulate and/or adjust the heating power delivered by the first heating means as a function of the pressure measured by the pressure sensor (PC).
Claim 18: further comprising at least one temperature sensor (TC) configured to measure the temperature of an outer surface of the vessel and/or to measure the temperature inside the enclosure, and a control unit connected to the temperature sensor (TC) and to the first heating means, the control unit notably being configured to vary the heating power delivered by the first heating means as a function of the temperature measured by the temperature sensor (TC).
‘874 is analogous art in the field of system for delivering a gas (title). ‘874 teaches control system 140 receives temperature data and/or pressure data from sensors associated with iodine vessel 120. Control system 140 uses the temperature and pressure data to determine whether the system conditions should be adjusted to achieve the desired temperature and pressure of the iodine gas in iodine vessel 120. ([0024]), and temperature controller 244 is able to control the temperature of iodine vessel 120 based at least in part on the pressure sensed in iodine vessel 120 (e.g., based at least in part on the output voltage of the pressure sensor)… if the pressure is too low, then control system 140 transmits a signal that facilitates increasing the temperature of iodine vessel 120. In this way, the temperature and the pressure of the iodine gas is increased to the desired levels ([0029-0030]), and the temperature control operation is initially based in part on data from temperature sensor 241, which is converted to a voltage input ([0032]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a pressure sensor and a temperature sensor, to the vessel of ‘428, for the purpose of providing accuracy to obtain a certain amount of a desired vaporized gas, thus preventing leak of excessed amount of vaporized gas or shortage of the vaporized gas.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘428 in view of Baron et al. (US 4401052, hereafter ‘052).
Regarding Claim 20,
The device of Claim 12 was discussed in the claim 12 rejection above. Further, ‘428 teaches the reactant source cabinet 16 may be divided into sub-components with separate heating devices, which makes it possible to operate different source vessels at different temperatures. Preferably, however, separate reactant source cabinets 16 for separate reactant source vessels are used ([0043], the claimed “A distribution assembly comprising at least two distribution devices as defined by claim 12, each device comprising an enclosure, a vessel and respective distribution means”);
‘428 teaches through a first conduit 20 so as to feed the gas phase reactant from the reactant source vessel 10 to the reaction chamber 12 ([0030]), and control or switching valves 70 may also be placed along the conduits 20 ([0040], note the valve intrinsically switches between open position and closed position, the claimed “said assembly comprising switching means configured to occupy a first position in which the gas phase is distributed from one of the two vessels and to occupy a second position in which the gas phase is distributed from the other of the two vessels or to occupy an intermediate position in which the gas phase is distributed from both vessels simultaneously”).
‘428 does not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 20: A distribution assembly comprising at least two distribution devices as defined by claim 12, each device comprising an enclosure, a vessel and respective distribution means fluidically connected to a common pipe, said assembly comprising switching means configured to occupy a first position in which the gas phase is distributed into the common pipe from one of the two vessels and, when the quantity of precursor in the vessel is lower than or equal to a predetermined low threshold, to occupy a second position in which the gas phase is distributed into the common pipe from the other of the two vessels or to occupy an intermediate position in which the gas phase is distributed from both vessels simultaneously, the switching means being connected to a member for measuring a physical quantity representative of the quantity of precursor in the vessel, selected from among: the mass of the vessel, the pressure in the vessel, the temperature of an outer surface of the vessel, the movement of the switching means from the first position to the second position being determined as a function of the measurement of said physical quantity.
‘052 is analogous art in the field of substrate processing (abstract). ‘052 teaches In operation, batches of source material are placed in each of the two evaporation chambers and at least one chamber, e.g., 10, is heated to evaporate or sublime the source material and connected to the manifold by opening of its valve 20. The other chamber 11 can be kept in reserve by maintaining valve 21 closed… As the source material in chamber 10 approaches exhaustion, chamber 11 can be heated and applied to the manifold. Chamber 10 can then be withdrawn from the system by closing valve 20 (Fig. 1, 2nd-3rd paragraph of col. 3), and In a preferred embodiment the pressure difference is determined by the pressure in chamber 10. The preferred method for controlling rate involves measurement of pressure in chamber 10 by means of a transducer, not shown in FIG. 1, whose electrical output signal, when processed by known electronic means, is proportional to the pressure. The electrical signal equivalent of pressure is further electronically processed to control the heat input to evaporation chamber 10. In another embodiment of the principle of pressure control, automated application and withdrawal of alternating evaporation chambers 11 and 10, upon exhaustion of material in chamber 10 is thereby facilitated. As material in chamber 10 nears exhaustion, the temperature required to maintain the preferred pressure will rise markedly. When the temperature in chamber 10 rises to a predetermined value signaling near exhaustion, a sequence leading to automatic application of chamber 11 to the manifold is initiated. Temperature of the chamber is sensed by a thermocouple or infrared detector (from last paragraph of col. 3 to first paragraph of col. 4).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted switching configuration between the plural source vessels of ‘428, by the measurement of pressure or temperature of the vessels, for the purpose of performing continuous manufacturing without breaking the operation, when replacing the exhausted gas source, thus improving throughput.
Regarding Claim 21,
‘428 teaches the semiconductor industry for forming thin films of materials on substrates ([0007]), and the exemplary reactant source apparatus 8 is particularly suited for delivering vapor phase reactants to be used in a vapor phase reaction chamber. In one preferred embodiment, the vapor phase reactants are used for deposition (e.g., CVD) ([0029], the claimed “A treatment installation or a chemical vapor deposition installation, comprising a treatment chamber in which one or more substrates to be treated are installed”);
The device of Claim 12 and the assembly of Claim 20 were discussed in the claims 12 and 20 rejection above. Further ‘428 teaches at least a portion of the first conduit 20' is positioned between the reactant source cabinet 16' and the reaction chamber vessel 18’ ([0052], thus the conduit is the connected form combined by the introducing means and the distribution means, the claimed “the treatment chamber comprising means for introducing at least one gas phase of a solid precursor into the treatment chamber, wherein the introduction means are fluidically connected to the distribution means of a device as defined by claim 12 or of an assembly as defined by claim 20”).
Conclusion
/AIDEN LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718