DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed June 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
3. Applicant argues, on pg. 7-8, that Riznia does not teach or suggest Applicant’s particular arrangement which is effective to cause the remanent magnetic flux density of the magnetic lens to 0. The argument is not persuasive. The hysteresis loop plotted in Riznia, as provided on pg. 9 of the applicant’s remarks filed on June 5, 2026, depicts the track of the hysteresis loop becoming smaller and smaller until it converges at the origin of the graph. There’s no patenatable distinction between the applicant’s admission of a value which can be regarded as 0 and Riznia’s disclosure of a value that is close to zero.
4. Applicant argues, on pg. 11, that there’s no teaching or suggestion in Riznia that the “gradually decaying” alternating current is purposefully reduced according to any coefficient, much less Applicant’s particularly asymmetric coefficient. The argument is not persuasive. The decaying and asymmetric coefficient is shown in Riznia’s waveform graph, as provided on pg. 9 of the applicant’s remarks filed on June 5, 2026. The physical waveform depicted in Riznia possesses an asymmetric amplitude between any given positive peak and its following negative peak, which is equivalent to the applicant’s mathematical formulation of an asymmetric coefficient.
5. In response to applicant's argument, on pg. 13, that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Specifically, Riznia provides the motivation for modification as demagnetization by decreasing the hysteresis loop, where the track of the hysteresis loop becomes smaller and smaller. The combination is driven by the known problem in the art and the explicit teachings of Riznia.
6. In response to applicant's argument, on pg. 15, that the limitations set forth in the claims do not merely state “intended use”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Because the modified apparatus of Muneyuki in view of Riznia includes a control unit capable of outputting a decaying AC waveform, the intended use is non-limiting to the structure of the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Muneyuki (JP 2003187732) in view of Anonymous, Principle and method of demagnetization, Riznia, 2020. https://www.rizinia.com/principle-and-method-of-demagnetization.html (hereinafter Riznia).
5. Regarding claim 1:
Muneyuki discloses a charged particle beam device (pg. 1 [0001] teaches an electron microscope) comprising: a magnetic lens (pg. 1 [0002] teaches a magnetic lens); a magnetic lens controller configured to apply an excitation current to the magnetic lens (pg. 2 teaches a demagnetizing current generating means 20, current amplifying circuit 22 to supply current to the exciting coil 30 wound around a magnetic field type lens for degaussing); and a control unit (pg. 2 teaches a control circuit 11), wherein the control unit applies, as the excitation current (pg. 4 teaches that the control circuit 11 automatically sets the exciting current value), an alternating attenuation current to demagnetize the magnetic lens, the alternating attenuation current oscillating such that a current value alternately becomes a first-polarity current
I
1
(
n
)
and a second-polarity current
I
2
(
n
)
in which n represents the number of times of amplitude variation (pg. 4 teaches that an attenuated alternating current which is a degaussing current is generated and supplied to the coil 30. When such an attenuated alternating current flows through the coil 30, a magnetic field in which the positive and negative signs are inverted every 1/2f time. The positive and negative values correspond to the first polarity current and the second-polarity current respectively),
the first-polarity current
I
1
n
is expressed as
I
1
n
=
A
×
α
1
n
,
in which oscillation of the attenuation alternating current is started from a first polarity, A represents an amplitude of the first-polarity current,
α
1
n
represents an attenuation function of the first-polarity current (pg. 4, since
α
1
1
=
1
, the initial current amplitude is A, the sine wave with amplitude A and frequency f teaches the expression),
the amplitude A of the first-polarity current is smaller than that of a saturation current of the magnetic lens (pg. 2 teaches that the amplitude necessary for demagnetization was obtained when the exciting current supplied to the coil was changed variously. The exciting current may be smaller than the saturation current, and therefore teaches the instance where the first-polarity current is smaller than that of a saturation current of the magnetic lens. Pg. 3 teaches that the final residual magnetic flux density remaining can be reduced to 0 with a small amount of bias current. As such when the amplitude of the first-polarity current is smaller than the saturation current, the final residual magnetic flux density can be corrected with a bias current),
α
1
1
=
1
,
(pg. 4, teaches that the initial current amplitude is A, which corresponds
α
1
1
=
1
)
.
Muneyuki fails to disclose that the second-polarity current
I
2
(
n
)
is expressed as
I
2
n
=
-
A
×
β
×
α
2
n
, A represents an amplitude of the first-polarity current, β represents an asymmetric coefficient, and
α
2
n
represents an attenuation function of the second-polarity current,
α
2
1
=
1
,
and
0
<
β
<
1
.
Riznia does not specifically disclose that the second-polarity current
I
2
(
n
)
is expressed as
I
2
n
=
-
A
×
β
×
α
2
n
, A represents an amplitude of the first-polarity current, β represents an asymmetric coefficient, and
α
2
n
represents an attenuation function of the second-polarity current,
α
2
1
=
1
,
and
0
<
β
<
1
. However, Riznia discloses that the amplitude of current and magnetic field gradually decreases and that the peaks of the current decrease each time (as shown on pg. 3 the hysteresis loop plot, the peak of the current has a lower amplitude when it oscillate from positive value to negative value, which implies that individual peak of the second-polarity current is a fraction of the previous peak of the first-polarity current, and in this case, the fraction corresponds to
β
, and
0
<
β
<
1
. In addition, for the first negative peak, the current has an initial amplitude, which corresponds to
α
2
1
=
1
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Muneyuki in view of Riznia to include that the second-polarity current
I
2
(
n
)
is expressed as
I
2
n
=
-
A
×
β
×
α
2
n
, A represents an amplitude of the first-polarity current, β represents an asymmetric coefficient, and
α
2
n
represents an attenuation function of the second-polarity current,
α
2
1
=
1
,
and
0
<
β
<
1
. Such modification would allow demagnetization by decreasing the hysteresis loop, where the track of the hysteresis loop becomes smaller and smaller (as taught on Riznia pg. 3).
6. Regarding claim 2:
Muneyuki in view of Riznia discloses the charged particle beam device according to claim 1. Muneyuki further discloses that wherein the alternating attenuation current has a current value that alternately becomes the first-polarity current I1(n) and the second-polarity current I2(n) at a predetermined time interval (pg. 2 teaches that when such an attenuated AC current flows through the coil 30, a magnetic field type lens composed of the pole piece and the coil 30 generates a magnetic field whose positive and negative signs are inverted every 1 / 2f time. Pg. 1 teaches that the AC current has a predetermined frequency).
7. Regarding claim 3:
Muneyuki in view of Riznia discloses the charged particle beam device according to claim 1. The limitation that wherein the asymmetric coefficient β is set based on sharpness of an observation image obtained after the application of the alternating attenuation current to the magnetic lens is directed to an intended use of the apparatus. A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art teaches all the structural limitations. Here, the intended use is non-limiting to the structure of the apparatus.
8. Regarding claim 4:
Muneyuki in view of Riznia discloses the charged particle beam device according to claim 1. Muneyuki wherein the attenuation function of the first-polarity current and the attenuation function of the second-polarity current (pg. 4 teaches that an attenuated alternating current which is a degaussing current is generated and supplied to the coil 30. When such an attenuated alternating current flows through the coil 30, a magnetic field in which the positive and negative signs are inverted every 1/2f time. The positive and negative values correspond to the first polarity current and the second-polarity current respectively) are expressed as
α
1
n
=
α
1
n
,
γ
,
α
2
n
=
α
2
n
,
γ
, in which γ represents an attenuation constant (pg. 4, the initial current amplitude is A, the sine wave with amplitude A and frequency f teaches the expression. Pg. 2 teaches that the Miller integrator circuit 12 generates a voltage that linearly decays from 1 to 0 during the decay time T. A sine wave having a frequency f and an amplitude A is generated. Then, the output of the Miller integrating circuit 12 and the output of the sine wave oscillating circuit 13 are multiplied in the multiplying circuit 14. The decay time T in this situation dictates the slope of the linear attenuation, which corresponds to the attenuation constant. The sine wave coupled with the linearly decay voltage, and decay time T teaches the attenuation functions), and the attenuation functions are any one of a linear function, an exponential function, or a power attenuation function (pg. 2 teaches that the Miller integrator circuit 12 generates a voltage that linearly decays from 1 to 0 during the decay time T, which corresponds to a linear function).
9. Regarding claim 5:
Muneyuki in view of Riznia discloses the charged particle beam device according to claim 4. The limitation that wherein the attenuation constant γ is set such that a beam shape of a charged particle beam after the application of the alternating attenuation current to the magnetic lens is a perfect circle is directed to an intended use of the apparatus. A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art teaches all the structural limitations. Here, the intended use is non-limiting to the structure of the apparatus.
10. Regarding claim 6:
Muneyuki in view of Riznia discloses dhe charged particle beam device according to claim 5. The limitation that wherein the asymmetric coefficient β is set based on sharpness of an observation image obtained after the application of the alternating attenuation current whose attenuation constant γ is temporarily determined to the magnetic lens, and the attenuation constant γ is set such that the beam shape of the charged particle beam after the application of the alternating attenuation current whose asymmetric coefficient β is set to the magnetic lens is a perfect circle is directed to an intended use of the apparatus. A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art teaches all the structural limitations. Here, the intended use is non-limiting to the structure of the apparatus.
11. Regarding claim 7:
Muneyuki in view of Riznia discloses the charged particle beam device according to claim 6. Muneyuki further discloses that wherein the control unit (pg. 4 teaches that the control circuit 11 automatically sets the exciting current value) includes a storage device configured to store the set asymmetric coefficient β, the set attenuation constant γ, the set attenuation function α1(n, γ) of the first-polarity current, and the set attenuation function α2(n, γ) of the second-polarity current (pg. 2 teaches that the values of the decay time T and the oscillation frequency f are stored in the control circuit 11 in advance. pg. 4, the initial current amplitude is A, the sine wave with amplitude A and frequency f teaches the expression. Pg. 2 teaches that the Miller integrator circuit 12 generates a voltage that linearly decays from 1 to 0 during the decay time T. A sine wave having a frequency f and an amplitude A is generated. The sine wave coupled with the linearly decay voltage, and decay time T teaches the attenuation functions).
Muneyuki fails to disclose a storage device configured to store the set asymmetric coefficient β.
Riznia does not specifically disclose a storage device configured to store the set asymmetric coefficient β. However, Riznia discloses that the amplitude of current and magnetic field gradually decreases and that the peaks of the current decrease each time (as shown on pg. 3 the hysteresis loop plot, the peak of the current has a lower amplitude when it oscillate from positive value to negative value, which implies that individual peak of the second-polarity current is a fraction of the previous peak of the first-polarity current, and in this case, the fraction corresponds to
β
, and
0
<
β
<
1
. In addition, for the first negative peak, the current has an initial amplitude, which corresponds to
α
2
1
=
1
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Muneyuki in view of Riznia to include a storage device configured to store the set asymmetric coefficient β. Such modification would allow demagnetization by decreasing the hysteresis loop, where the track of the hysteresis loop becomes smaller and smaller (as taught on Riznia pg. 3).
12. Regarding claim 8:
Muneyuki in view of Riznia discloses the charged particle beam device according to claim 1. Muneyuki further discloses that wherein the attenuation function
α
1
(n) of the first-polarity current is equal to the attenuation function
α
2
(n) of the second-polarity current (pg. 2 teaches generating the AC attenuation current by multiplying a sine wave by the output of a Miller integrator circuit, and the Miller integrator circuit 12 generates a voltage that linearly decays. Because both the positive and negative halves of the sine wave are modulated by this same linear decay curve, the attenuation function governing the first polarity is identical to the attenuation function governing the second polarity).
13. Regarding claim 10:
Muneyuki discloses a method for demagnetizing a magnetic lens (pg. 2 teaches degaussing a magnetic field type lens), the method comprising: applying, as an excitation current, an alternating attenuation current to demagnetize the magnetic lens (pg. 2 teaches a demagnetizing current generating means 20, current amplifying circuit 22 to supply current to the exciting coil 30 wound around a magnetic field type lens for degaussing), the alternating attenuation current oscillating such that a current value alternately becomes a first-polarity current
I
1
n
and the second-polarity current
I
2
n
(pg. 4 teaches that an attenuated alternating current which is a degaussing current is generated and supplied to the coil 30. When such an attenuated alternating current flows through the coil 30, a magnetic field in which the positive and negative signs are inverted every 1/2f time. The positive and negative values correspond to the first polarity current and the second-polarity current respectively) is expressed as
I
1
n
=
A
×
α
1
n
,
in which oscillation of the attenuation alternating current is started from a first polarity, A represents an amplitude of the first-polarity current,
α
1
n
represents an attenuation function of the first-polarity current (pg. 4, since
α
1
1
=
1
, the initial current amplitude is A, the sine wave with amplitude A and frequency f teaches the expression),
The amplitude A of the first-polarity current is smaller than a saturation current of the magnetic lens (pg. 2 teaches that the amplitude necessary for demagnetization was obtained when the exciting current supplied to the coil was changed variously. The exciting current may be smaller than the saturation current, and therefore teaches the instance where the first-polarity current is smaller than that of a saturation current of the magnetic lens. Pg. 3 teaches that the final residual magnetic flux density remaining can be reduced to 0 with a small amount of bias current. As such when the amplitude of the first-polarity current is smaller than the saturation current, the final residual magnetic flux density can be corrected with a bias current),
α
1
n
=
1
(pg. 4, teaches that the initial current amplitude is A, which corresponds
α
1
1
=
1
)
.
Muneyuki fails to disclose that the second-polarity current
I
2
n
is expressed as
I
2
n
=
-
A
×
β
×
α
2
n
, A represents an amplitude of the first-polarity current, β represents an asymmetric coefficient, and
α
2
n
represents an attenuation function of the second-polarity current,
α
2
n
=
1
, and
0
<
β
<
1
.
Riznia does not specifically disclose that the second-polarity current
I
2
(
n
)
is expressed as
I
2
n
=
-
A
×
β
×
α
2
n
, A represents an amplitude of the first-polarity current, β represents an asymmetric coefficient, and
α
2
n
represents an attenuation function of the second-polarity current,
α
2
1
=
1
,
and
0
<
β
<
1
. However, Riznia discloses that the amplitude of current and magnetic field gradually decreases and that the peaks of the current decrease each time (as shown on pg. 3 the hysteresis loop plot, the peak of the current has a lower amplitude when it oscillate from positive value to negative value, which implies that individual peak of the second-polarity current is a fraction of the previous peak of the first-polarity current, and in this case, the fraction corresponds to
β
, and
0
<
β
<
1
. In addition, for the first negative peak, the current has an initial amplitude, which corresponds to
α
2
1
=
1
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Muneyuki in view of Riznia to include that the second-polarity current
I
2
(
n
)
is expressed as
I
2
n
=
-
A
×
β
×
α
2
n
, A represents an amplitude of the first-polarity current, β represents an asymmetric coefficient, and
α
2
n
represents an attenuation function of the second-polarity current,
α
2
1
=
1
,
and
0
<
β
<
1
. Such modification would allow demagnetization by decreasing the hysteresis loop, where the track of the hysteresis loop becomes smaller and smaller (as taught on Riznia pg. 3).
14. Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Muneyuki in view of Riznia, further in view of Sasaki (US 20160233049).
15. Regarding claim 9:
Muneyuki in view of Riznia discloses the charged particle beam device according to claim 1. Muneyuki further discloses that wherein the control unit applies the alternating attenuation current (pg. 4 teaches that the control circuit 11 automatically sets the exciting current value. Pg. 4 teaches that an attenuated alternating current which is a degaussing current is generated and supplied to the coil 30). The limitation wherein the control unit applies the alternating attenuation current to a pole, in the multipole lens, which generates a quadrupole field, an oblique quadrupole field, or a pole field obtained by superimposing a quadrupole field and an oblique quadrupole field is directed to an intended use of the apparatus. A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art teaches all the structural limitations. Here, the intended use is non-limiting to the structure of the apparatus.
Muneyuki in view of Riznia fails to disclose that wherein the magnetic lens is a multipole lens.
However, Sasaki discloses that wherein the magnetic lens is a multipole lens ([0010] teaches that the aberration is corrected by forming a local concave lens field with a multipole).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Muneyuki in view of Riznia, further in view of Sasaki to include that wherein the magnetic lens is a multipole lens. Such modification would allow for aberration correction (as taught in Sasaki [0010]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LARRY LI whose telephone number is (571) 272-5043. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Kim can be reached at (571) 272-2293. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LARRY LI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881