DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that prior reference Ohtani does not anticipate independent claim 14, specifically “determining whether the predetermined wavelength corresponds with an operational wavelength associated with an input port of the optical multiplexing unit” (Applicant by extension also argues against an analogous recitation in independent claim 8). The thrust of Applicant’s argument is that Ohtani does no disclose comparing the wavelength of the light source against the wavelength of the input port of the multiplexer as allegedly described in the Application. However, no such “comparison” is recited in the claims. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the “comparison” noted above and referenced on page 9 of the Remarks) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, it is unclear that such a distinction is found in the application. The Examiner found no instance of a “comparison” of wavelength values occurring in the Specification as asserted in the Remarks. Figure 2 of the present application shows light entering add port 202, either passing or being reflected by filter 240 that is tuned to pass an assigned wavelength of port 202, and if reflected (i.e. being the incorrect wavelength), is detected by photodetector 210 and a fault signal is relayed back to a transmitter by unit 215. Therefore, it appears that Ohtani teaches an analogous detection scheme as Applicant.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: the second to last line now reads “based on to detecting” wherein the word “to” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohtani, U.S. Publication No. 2007/0223925.
Regarding claim 14, Ohtani teaches a method of auto-tuning an optical system, the method comprising:
transmitting an optical signal on a first optical transmitter of an optical transmission unit at a predetermined wavelength (see Ohtani Figure 7B, transmitter 20b outputting wavelength λ1);
determining whether the predetermined wavelength corresponds with an operational wavelength associated with an input port of an optical multiplexing unit to which the first optical transmitter is coupled (see Figure 7B, output of transmitter 20b connected to port 1 of module 32-1 in multiplex unit 24b and paragraph [0042], “The comparator circuit 29 compares an intensity of the digitized reflection light transmitted from the A/D converter 27 with a threshold value. The comparison result is input to a wavelength setup circuit 28 in which, if the comparison result indicates that an intensity of the reflection light is larger than the threshold value, an output wavelength of the tunable LD unit 21 is regarded as being wrong and an output wavelength thereof is accordingly set anew”. The paragraph refers to the connections between monitor 26 and tunable LD unit 21 in Figure 7B, which can be seen in an embodiment in Figure 4);
wherein the determination is based on a detection of a non-optical fault signal from the optical multiplexing unit (see paragraph [0042], “The comparator circuit 29 compares an intensity of the digitized reflection light transmitted from the A/D converter 27 with a threshold value. The comparison result is input to a wavelength setup circuit 28 in which, if the comparison result indicates that an intensity of the reflection light is larger than the threshold value, an output wavelength of the tunable LD unit 21 is regarded as being wrong and an output wavelength thereof is accordingly set anew”. The signal received from monitor 26 of Figure 7B to elements 27-29 of Figure 4 would be electrical in nature i.e. non-optical).
Regarding claim 16, Ohtani teaches all the limitations of claim 14, and further teaches wherein the predetermined wavelength is determined not to correspond with the operational wavelength associated with the input port of the optical multiplexing unit based on to detecting the non-optical fault detection signal (see Ohtani paragraph [0042], “The comparison result is input to a wavelength setup circuit 28 in which, if the comparison result indicates that an intensity of the reflection light is larger than the threshold value, an output wavelength of the tunable LD unit 21 is regarded as being wrong and an output wavelength thereof is accordingly set anew”).
Regarding claim 17, Ohtani teaches all the limitations of claim 16, and further teaches transmitting another optical signal at a different predetermined wavelength on the first optical transmitter and determining whether the different predetermined wavelength corresponds with the operational wavelength associated with the input port of the optical multiplexing unit to which the first optical transmitter is coupled (see Ohtani paragraph [0039] implying that the tunable LD unit 21 of Figure 7B is swept until the reflection is not detected).
Regarding claim 19, Ohtani teaches all the limitations of claim 14, and further teaches
transmitting an optical signal on a second optical transmitter of the optical transmission unit at a second predetermined wavelength (see Ohtani Figure 7B, input into multiplex unit 24b at wavelength λ2 and paragraph [0053] indicating there are transmitters for each other wavelength);
determining whether the second predetermined wavelength corresponds with an operational wavelength associated with a second input port of the optical multiplexing unit to which the second optical transmitter is coupled (see Ohtani paragraph [0042] as applied to each transmitter 20 of Figure 7B).
Regarding claim 20, Ohtani teaches all the limitations of claim 14, and further teaches in response to determining that a predetermined wavelength of an optical signal transmitted on a said optical transmitter of the optical transmission unit corresponds with a respective operational wavelength associated with an input port of the optical multiplexing unit to which the said optical transmitter is coupled, associating the optical transmitter with said operational wavelength (see Ohtani paragraph [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtani, U.S. Publication No. 2007/0223925 in view of Bouda et al, U.S. Publication No. 2012/0082458.
Regarding claim 8, Ohtani teaches an optical transmitter unit for coupling to an optical multiplexing unit (see Ohtani Figure 7B), the optical transmitter unit comprising:
a plurality of output ports each coupled to a respective optical transmitter operable to transmit optical signals at one or more wavelengths (see Figure 7B, transmitter 20b outputting wavelength λ1 and paragraph [0053] indicating there are transmitters for each other wavelength);
a fault detecting circuit (see Figure 7B, reflection light monitors 26b and paragraph [0052] which indicates that monitors 26 must be connected to tunable LD units 21 within transmitters 20 via control wirings. Figure 4 shows an embodiment of how monitor 26 would be connected to a tunable LD 21 with elements 27-29 being analogized with the “fault detecting circuit”) arranged to detect a non-optical fault signal from the optical multiplexing unit (see paragraph [0042], “The comparator circuit 29 compares an intensity of the digitized reflection light transmitted from the A/D converter 27 with a threshold value. The comparison result is input to a wavelength setup circuit 28 in which, if the comparison result indicates that an intensity of the reflection light is larger than the threshold value, an output wavelength of the tunable LD unit 21 is regarded as being wrong and an output wavelength thereof is accordingly set anew”. The signal received from monitor 26 of Figure 7B to elements 27-29 of Figure 4 would be electrical in nature i.e. non-optical);
whereby said optical transmitter unit is operative to:
transmit an optical signal on a first output port at a predetermined wavelength (see Figure 7B, tunable LD unit 21 sending a signal initially at λ1);
use the fault detecting circuit to determine whether the predetermined wavelength corresponds with an operational wavelength associated with an input port of the optical multiplexing unit to which the first output port is coupled (see Figure 7B, output of transmitter 20b connected to port 1 of module 32-1 in multiplex unit 24b and paragraph [0042], “The comparator circuit 29 compares an intensity of the digitized reflection light transmitted from the A/D converter 27 with a threshold value. The comparison result is input to a wavelength setup circuit 28 in which, if the comparison result indicates that an intensity of the reflection light is larger than the threshold value, an output wavelength of the tunable LD unit 21 is regarded as being wrong and an output wavelength thereof is accordingly set anew”).
Ohtani does not expressively teach a processor and memory, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor.
However, Bouda in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches an optical transmitter unit comprising respective optical transmitters to transmit optical signals to a multiplexing unit (see Bouda Figure 2, modules 260 to mux 210) as taught in Ohtani further comprising
a processor and memory, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor (see Figure 2, controller 216 and paragraph [0049]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of memory and a processor in an optical transmitter unit as taught in Bouda with the system taught in Ohtani, the motivation being to automate the processes in the system.
Regarding claim 9, Ohtani in view of Bouda teaches all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches wherein the processor is operative to associate the first output port with a different predetermined wavelength in response to detecting the non-optical fault signal (see Ohtani paragraph [0042], “The comparison result is input to a wavelength setup circuit 28 in which, if the comparison result indicates that an intensity of the reflection light is larger than the threshold value, an output wavelength of the tunable LD unit 21 is regarded as being wrong and an output wavelength thereof is accordingly set anew”).
Regarding claim 10, Ohtani in view of Bouda teaches all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches wherein the processor is operative to associate the first output port with the predetermined wavelength of the transmitted optical signal in response to not detecting the non-optical fault signal (see Ohtani paragraph [0041] as combined with Bouda Figure 2, controller 216).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtani, U.S. Publication No. 2007/0223925 in view of Bouda et al, U.S. Publication No. 2012/0082458 and Lee et al, KR20080085996 (see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 13, Ohtani in view of Bouda teaches all the limitations of claim 8, but does not expressively teach wherein the non-optical fault signal is an RFID signal.
However, Lee in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a non-optical fault signal (see Lee page 7, “The processor of the central base station detects this, identifies the faulty channel, and sends an RF signal with a corresponding frequency to the optical line fault location detection device”) as taught in Ohtani in view of Bouda wherein
the non-optical fault signal is an RF signal (see page 7, “The processor of the central base station detects this, identifies the faulty channel, and sends an RF signal with a corresponding frequency to the optical line fault location detection device”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the electrical fault signal of Ohtani in view of Bouda with that of Lee to yield the predictable results of successfully transmitting the fault information.
Ohtani in view of Bouda and Lee does not expressively teach wherein the RF signal is an RFID signal. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the RF fault signal of Ohtani in view of Bouda and Lee with an RFID signal claimed to yield the predictable results of successfully transmitting the fault information.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtani, U.S. Publication No. 2007/0223925 in view of Kandpal et al, U.S. Publication No. 2004/0179851.
Regarding claim 21, Ohtani teaches all the limitations of claim 20, and further teaches
associating the optical transmitter with an upstream wavelength corresponding to the associated predetermined wavelength (see Ohtani paragraph [0041]).
Ohtani does not expressively teach
forwarding an indication of the upstream wavelength to a remote unit by transmitting the indication on an optical signal using the associated predetermined wavelength on the optical transmitter.
However, Kandpal in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a method of associating an optical transmitter with an upstream wavelength (see Kandpal paragraph [0021]) as taught in Ohtani comprising
forwarding an indication of the upstream wavelength to a remote unit by transmitting the indication on an optical signal using the associated predetermined wavelength on the optical transmitter (see paragraph [0021]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of forwarding an associating wavelength as taught in Kandpal with the method taught in Ohtani, the motivation being to ensure other devices receiving the signal know that set wavelength in for the optical transmitter thereby avoiding sweeping or further tuning.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtani, U.S. Publication No. 2007/0223925 in view of Lee et al, KR20080085996 (see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 22, Ohtani teaches all the limitations of claim 14, but does not expressively teach wherein the non-optical fault signal is an RFID signal.
However, Lee in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a non-optical fault signal (see Lee page 7, “The processor of the central base station detects this, identifies the faulty channel, and sends an RF signal with a corresponding frequency to the optical line fault location detection device”) as taught in Ohtani wherein
the non-optical fault signal is an RF signal (see page 7, “The processor of the central base station detects this, identifies the faulty channel, and sends an RF signal with a corresponding frequency to the optical line fault location detection device”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the electrical fault signal of Ohtani with that of Lee to yield the predictable results of successfully transmitting the fault information.
Ohtani in view of Lee does not expressively teach wherein the RF signal is an RFID signal. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious as a matter of simple substitution to replace the RF fault signal of Ohtani in view of Lee with an RFID signal claimed to yield the predictable results of successfully transmitting the fault information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CASEY L KRETZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635