The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejection of the previous office action not repeated below are withdrawn based upon the amendment and arguments of the applicant. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to. The restriction is mot as claims 19 and 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1,2,4-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park CN 101989046, in view of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119.
Park CN 101989046 (machine translation attached) teaches the deposition of a positive resist (510), the coating of a transparent layer (520), the coating a negative resist (530), the exposure using the mask, the development of the negative resist and portions of the transparent layer to yield the structure illustrated in figure 13.
The development of the positive resist to remove the portion between the unexposed (513) and exposed (512) regions. Removing the remaining negative resist (530) to yield the structure of figure 14.
The pattern of the remaining resist is then transferred to the substrate. with etching The resist is then removed. The positive resist can be a PMMA or diazoquinine (DQN) resist with the developer being KOH, TMAH, ketone or another alkali developer. The negative resist can be a b-rubber (butadiene ?) resist with the developer being xylene. The substrate can include a dielectric film, a metal film, a silicon film or a single crystal silicon substrate [0046-0055]. The resist can be spin coated and the thickness of the resist coating is dependent upon the photoresist type/viscosity and the rotation speed. [0006,0035,0039] . The removal of solvent is disclosed by baking at 80-110 degrees C for 50-80 seconds [0033,0036,0040]. The exposure can use I-1ine wavelength of 365nm as exposure light line, the thickness of the photoresist with wavelength of 248nm (KrF) excimer laser or wavelength of 193nm nm argon-fluorine (ArF) [0039]. Referring to FIG. 16, in one embodiment of step S5. The photoresist layer 500 of positive photoresist 510 and the transparent material layer 520, using plasma etching method on a substrate 300 to form a pattern 600. the pattern 440 to be transferred is transferred to the substrate 300, the etching gas and the substrate 300 relative to the material, such as by chlorine (Cl2), hydrogen bromide (HBr), one kind of or the combination of hydrogen chloride (HCL) etching the silicon substrate. Besides, it also can adopt other etching method, the technical personnel should be understood, in step S5 the specific etching method and etchant does not influence the invention idea of the present invention. [0053].
Mori et al. JP 2013080869 (machine translation attached) in figure 1 teaches a substrate (10) with a lower resist layer (12) such as a KrF positive resist, provided by spraying or spin coating and pre-baked. This is then coated with a second resist layer (14), such as an ArF resist using spin coating or spraying followed by drying. The resists are both exposed to ArF light through a phase shift mask (50) and the unexposed (and underexposed) regions of the (upper) negative resist are removed using acetone or TMAH as the developer to yield the pattern in figure 3. This is then overcoated with a metal layer (16) and the remaining (exposed portions) upper resist and the overlying portion of the upper, negative resist is removed using a solvent (lift off process). The result is exposed using a polarized KrF laser to form partially exposed regions (64) (about 10 nm wide) at the edges of the metal layer (plasmon/near field effect discussed) and the metal layer is removed by dry etching to yield the structure of figure 7. The partially exposed areas are then removed using TMAH or the like as the developer to yield the structure illustrated in figure 8. This is then used to deposit wiring layer (22) as in figure 9 and then the remaining resist and the overlying/excess metal deposited to form the wiring layer is removed by dissolving the resist using TMAH (lift off) yielding 10 nm wide wiring with a separation of 20-30 nm [0011-0023].
Numerical values such as the material, shape, and thickness of each component in each embodiment described above may be changed as appropriate. Moreover, you may combine a part or all of each embodiment. For example, the combination of the resist material, the positive and negative types of the resist material, the exposure light, the etching solution, the etching gas, and the like may be changed as appropriate [0053]. In the above-described embodiment, the resist is exposed by the ArF excimer laser and the KrF excimer laser. However, the resist may be exposed by a laser such as an F2 laser that outputs laser light having a wavelength of 157 nm [0056]. Next, as shown in FIG. 26, in the deactivation stage, the region exposed from the opening 218 of the metal layer 216 in the lower resist 212 is deactivated. Thereby, hydrogen ions in the region in the lower layer resist 212 generated by exposure are removed. An example of the deactivation method is cleaning of the exposed region 226 exposed from the opening 218 with water. Thereby, the hydrogen ions in the exposed region 226 are removed. As another example of the deactivation method, the exposed region 226 may be washed with warm water. As a result, the hydrogen ion is removed and the object to be processed is heated, so that the exposed region 226 of the lower layer resist 212 can be post-baked. As another example of the deactivation method, the exposed region 226 of the lower layer resist 212 may be exposed to an alkaline gas, for example, ammonia gas. Thereby, hydrogen ions in the exposed region 226 are neutralized [0049]. The use of wet etching or dry etching using reactive ion etch with Cl2, BCl3, SiCl4 to remove metal is disclosed at [0020]. The use of vapor/vacuum deposition to deposit the metal layer is disclosed [0016,0022].
Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 (machine translation attached), teaches describes in the example with respect to figure 1, a silicon substrate (1), coated with a 1.07 micron o-quinonediazide positive resist (2) using spin coating and prebaking, a 0.4 micron PVA intermediate layer (3) which is spin coated and dried and a 0.34 micron negative chemically amplified photoresist (24) which is applied by spin coating and drying. This is then exposed using a mask (25) and 365 nm light. The upper resist has a higher sensitivity than the lower resist. The sensitivity of the upper resist can be 10-10 mJ/cm2 and the lower resist sensitivity is 80-170 mJ/cm2. This was then post baked and developed in ethyl cellosolve acetate or another organic solvent such as acetone, isopropanol, ethyl, butyl ketone or the like. The patterned upper layer acts as a phase shifter mask pattern during a flood/blanket exposure with a phase change of p/2 or 3p/2. The exposure uses an i-line 365 nm). The upper resist and PVA layer are then removed by lift off using water. The lower resist was then developed in TMAH a post baked. This yielded a pattern with 0.15 resist patterns, separated by 0.2 microns and a height of 0.95 microns. The thickness of the lower resist layer can be 0.6 to 1.2 microns, the thickness of the intermediate layer can be 0-.08-1 micron. [0013-0020].
The post exposure bake at 60 degrees C for 60 seconds, followed by development in TMAH is disclosed [0020].
Park CN 101989046 does not describe wet etching or material deposition techniques or the post exposure baking of photoresists or exemplify the processes where the full range of substrate is used, the full range of exposure means is used or the specific drying conditions
With respect to claims 1,2,4,6-13 and 15-17 , it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 13-17 at [0047-0055] by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure using an i-line as disclosed at [0039] and to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful etched substrate.
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,2,4,6-13 and 15-17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 13-17 at [0047-0055] by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed at [0033,0036,0040] where the substrate can include a dielectric film, a metal film, a silicon film or a single crystal silicon substrate as disclosed at [0046-0055] ] and to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful etched substrate.
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,2,4,6-13 and 15-17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 13-17 at [0047-0055] by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure using an i-line as disclosed at [0039] and where the substrate can include a dielectric film, a metal film, a silicon film or a single crystal silicon substrate as disclosed at [0046-0055] ] and to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020] and depositing metal using vapor deposition as taught at [0016,0022] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 rather than etching as this is a known alternative to use of the fine resist pattern with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,2,5-13 and 15-17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 13-17 at [0047-0055] by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure using an KrF laser or ArF laser as disclosed at [0039] and to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful etched substrate. ArF and KrF lasers are pulsed lasers with nanosecond pulsewidths and the examiner has interpreted the teachings as each pulse being an individual exposure, so the use of these lasers in the disclosed process yields multiple exposures. These are also considered to be deep UV exposure sources.
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,2,5-13 and 15-17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 13-17 at [0047-0055] by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure using an KrF laser or ArF laser as disclosed at [0039] and where the substrate can include a dielectric film, a metal film, a silicon film or a single crystal silicon substrate as disclosed at [0046-0055] and to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful etched substrate. ArF and KrF lasers are pulsed lasers with nanosecond pulsewidths and the examiner has interpreted the teachings as each pulse being an individual exposure, so the use of these lasers in the disclosed process yields multiple exposures. These are also considered to be deep UV exposure sources.
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,2,4-13 and 15-17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 13-17 at [0047-0055] by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure using an i-line, KrF laser or ArF laser as disclosed at [0039] and where the substrate can include a dielectric film, a metal film, a silicon film or a single crystal silicon substrate as disclosed at [0046-0055] and to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C and to etch using wet etching, rather than the dry reactive ion etching with Cl2 which is taught at equivalent at [0020] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful etched substrate. ArF and KrF lasers are pulsed lasers with nanosecond pulsewidths and the examiner has interpreted the teachings as each pulse being an individual exposure, so the use of these lasers in the disclosed process yields multiple exposures and the i-line exposure is considered to be a single, continuous exposure. These are also considered to be deep UV exposure sources.
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,2,4-13 and 15-17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 13-17 at [0047-0055] by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure using an i-line, KrF laser or ArF laser as disclosed at [0039] and where the substrate can include a dielectric film, a metal film, a silicon film or a single crystal silicon substrate as disclosed at [0046-0055] and to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C and depositing metal using vapor deposition as taught at [0016,0022] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 rather than etching as this is a known alternative to use of the fine resist pattern with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate. ArF and KrF lasers are pulsed lasers with nanosecond pulsewidths and the examiner has interpreted the teachings as each pulse being an individual exposure, so the use of these lasers in the disclosed process yields multiple exposures and the i-line exposure is considered to be a single, continuous exposure. These are also considered to be deep UV exposure sources.
With respect to claim 8, the examiner holds that while the resists disclosed are used with excimer laser or UV exposure, they are inherently sensitive to EUV, X-ray, e-beam and ion-beams, so they meet the limitations of claim 8, which does not require any particular exposure be used.
With respect to claim 10, the features formed by the masked UV projection exposure are in the 1-1000 micron range used to form useful semiconductor devices.
In the response of 9/1/2026, the applicant argues that the Park et al. has an intermediate layer between the lower positive resist and the upper negative resist. The examiner responds that the claims use open “comprising” language and therefore are open to the addition of other, unrecited elements and steps. The examiner has corrected the numbering in the 103 header, but the claims discussed in the statements of rejection have not changed. The examiner notes that the mask in figure 13 of Park is used in the exposure which includes a larger/wider exposure of the lower positive resist than that of the upper negative resist. The mask illustrated in figure 14 is not associated with a second exposure (none is discussed in the text/translation), but is used to show the positional relationship between the masking elements and the pattern in the resists. The development of the positive resist in figure 14 only develops the exposed portions of the positive resist not protected by the negative resist. The claims do not preclude further development after step 4, but before step 5 due to the “comprising” language. Additionally, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119.
Nakamura JP 2008171859 (cited by applicant 10/29/2024, machine language translation attached to this action) describes a second embodiment with respect to figure 3, a substrate (1) with a processing layer (2), a positive (first) resist (3) and a negative (second) resist (4). Both of the resists are exposed using the mask (5) to form exposed regions (320/420), weakly exposed regions (310/410, formed by diffraction of the light by the edge of the mask pattern) and strongly exposed regions. The second/negative resist is then weakly developed to remove the unexposed areas of the second/negative resist. An etch process is then used to remove the weakly exposed (410) areas of the second/negative resist. The exposed portion (320) of the first/positive resist is removed using a weak development. The processing of the areas (21) of the processing layer not covered by the resist (310) is then performed and the remaining resist(s) stripped/removed [0017].
In the fourth embodiment (illustrated in figure 5), a substrate (16) having a processing target layer (26) is coated with a positive resist (36), Then a negative resist (46) is applied. These are exposed through a mask (5) to form strongly exposed areas (462/362, due to diffraction of light at the edge of the mask pattern), weakly exposed areas (461/361) and unexposed areas. The second/negative resist was strongly developed to remove the unexposed and weakly exposed portions of the negative resist. A second development was then used to remove the weakly exposed regions (361) of the positive resist. The desired processing of the processing layer is then performed in areas (261) not protected by the resists. The remaining resists is then stripped/removed [0020].
In the manufacture of a semiconductor integrated circuit, a processing target layer is formed on the surface of a wafer to be a substrate, a resist is applied, and pattern exposure is performed using such a mask to form a resist pattern. Then, the processing target layer is processed. An example of the processing target layer is an insulating film layer (SiO .sub.2 is generally used). An insulating film is formed on the substrate, a resist is coated on the insulating film layer, a mask pattern is exposed and developed to form a resist pattern, and the insulating layer film is removed by etching from the opening where the resist is not left. To do. Further, for example, a semiconductor layer is formed on the substrate as a processing target layer, then a resist pattern is formed, and impurities are diffused to form an impurity semiconductor region. Alternatively, as a processing target layer, a conductive film layer is formed on the substrate, a mask pattern is exposed to form a resist pattern, and then etched to form a wiring layer. In this manner, various resist patterns are formed, and processing such as etching, thermal oxidation treatment, impurity introduction, and thin film formation is repeated to manufacture an integrated circuit. This is also used and manufactured for electronic devices other than integrated circuits [0004]. As described above, a desired processed substrate can be obtained. Such a resist pattern is formed using this substrate as a wafer, and etching, thermal oxidation treatment, impurity introduction, thin film formation, etc. are performed as desired processing. The integrated circuit can be manufactured repeatedly. Such a process can be used and manufactured for other electronic devices other than integrated circuits [0021] As an example of a semiconductor integrated circuit as a main element, miniaturization of a mask pattern used for lithography and shortening of the wavelength of exposure light are being promoted. For example, phase shift masks (Patent Documents 1 and 2), proximity effect correction masks (OPPCPC (optical proximity correction)), etc., have been developed as masks that mainly reduce the effects of diffraction phenomena and advance miniaturization. The use of KrF excimer laser (wavelength 248 nm), ArF excimer laser (wavelength 193 nm), and then F2 excimer laser (wavelength 157 nm) has been proposed and developed. In recent years, an extreme ultraviolet exposure mask using reflected light has been developed as a mask for such a short wavelength. In particular, in pattern formation with a line width of 65 nm or less, an immersion lithography method that fills the gap between the lens and the wafer to be exposed with a medium having a higher refractive index than air and improves the effective resolution has attracted attention. According to this method, it is expected that a pattern of 65 nm or less, which has been difficult to form with a conventional ArF excimer laser, can be formed [0003]. In the resist pattern forming method of the present invention and the method of manufacturing an electronic device using the resist pattern, a fine resist pattern is formed by exposure using a diffraction phenomenon and processed into a fine pattern corresponding to the pattern. Manufacturing electronic devices. Therefore, by using a phase shift mask or an OPC mask and combining an optical system for exposure to extreme ultraviolet rays or liquid immersion with the method of the present invention, further fine processing can be performed [0025].
Further, in the resist pattern forming method of the present invention, a linear pattern is formed at a portion corresponding to the boundary portion of the mask pattern. FIG. 6 is a partial explanatory view showing an example of the mask pattern 51 according to the present application and an example of the resist pattern 52 formed by the method of the present invention using the mask pattern 51 in plan/top view. A resist pattern 52 is formed at a position corresponding to the boundary of the pattern as shown in FIG. 6B with respect to the mask 5 on which the mask pattern 51 having the width A and the inter-pattern distance B of FIG. 6A is formed. . Therefore, if the mask 5 is a line pattern 51, a line segment pattern 52 can be formed in a ring shape as a resist. On the other hand, FIG. 7 is an explanatory view showing an example in which the resist pattern is formed in a linear pattern that does not have a ring shape. The pattern 55 of the mask 50 in FIG. 7A has a pattern width A .sub.1 substantially equal to the width of the resist pattern 52 in FIG. 6B. If the resist pattern 54 is formed by using the mask 50 on which such a pattern 55 is formed, as shown in FIG. 7B, a linear resist pattern that does not form a ring shape due to contact with the contour line pattern. 54 is formed. In addition, various rectangular resist patterns can be formed by adjusting the length of the mask pattern in FIG. Further, by reducing the inter-pattern distance B .sub.1 , the number of touching patterns can be increased, and a pattern having a large area can be formed [0022].
Nakamura JP 2008171859 does not teach spin coating and drying of the resists.
With respect to claim 17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 3 and 5 as discussed at [0017,0020] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed in Park CN 101989046 at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed in Park CN 101989046 at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure uses masked exposure with KrF excimer laser (wavelength 248 nm), ArF excimer laser (wavelength 193 nm), F2 excimer laser (wavelength 157 nm) or extreme ultraviolet light (EUV/soft X-ray) to form patterns as small as 65 nm as discussed at [0003] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C and then etching or forming/depositing a thin film as discussed in Nakamura JP 2008171859 at [0021], wet etching taught at [0020] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 or deposition using vapor deposition as taught at [0016,0022] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
With respect to claim 17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 3 and 5 as discussed at [0017,0020] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed in Park CN 101989046 at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed in Park CN 101989046 at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure uses extreme ultraviolet exposure masking to form patterns as small as 65 nm as discussed at [0003] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C and then etching or forming a thin film as discussed in Nakamura JP 2008171859 at [0021] wet etching taught at [0020] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 or deposition using vapor deposition as taught at [0016,0022] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
With respect to claim 17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 3 and 5 as discussed at [0017,0020] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed in Park CN 101989046 at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed in Park CN 101989046 at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure uses masked exposure with KrF excimer laser (wavelength 248 nm), ArF excimer laser (wavelength 193 nm), F2 excimer laser (wavelength 157 nm) to form patterns as small as 65 nm as discussed at [0003] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C and then etching or forming a thin film on a dielectric film, a metal film, a silicon film or a single crystal silicon substrate as disclosed at [0046-0055] of Park CN 101989046 as discussed in Nakamura JP 2008171859 at [0021], wet etching taught at [0020] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 or deposition using vapor deposition as taught at [0016,0022] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate. ArF, KrF and F2 lasers are pulsed lasers with nanosecond pulsewidths and the examiner has interpreted the teachings as each pulse being an individual exposure, so the use of these lasers in the disclosed process yields multiple exposures. These are also considered to be deep UV exposure sources.
In the response of 9/1/2026, the applicant argues that the process of Nakamura JP 2008171859 does not result in differently sized exposure areas. Claim 17 is directed to the apparatus and would be able to do this with defocusing/decollimation of the light or increased sensitivity of the lower resist, but the use of defocusing/decollimized or increased sensitivity of the lower resist to achieve this is not disclosed. The position of the examiner is that the apparatus claims are significantly broader than the argued position and therefore not commensurate in scope with the coverage sought.
Claim 1,2,4-13 and 15-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512.
Hong et al. KR 980012512 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figure 9, the exposure of two resist which are in contact with one another, but where the lower resist (106) is exposed over a larger area (b) than the top resist (108, a). (page 10-3).
With respect to claim 1,2,5-13 and 17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 3 and 5 as discussed at [0017,0020] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 by using the lower (positive) resist with higher sensitivity than the upper (negative) resist to achieve the difference in the effectively exposed areas as taught in Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Park CN 101989046 without the need for the intermediate layer of Park CN 101989046, by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed in Park CN 101989046 at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed in Park CN 101989046 at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure uses masked exposure with KrF excimer laser (wavelength 248 nm), ArF excimer laser (wavelength 193 nm), F2 excimer laser (wavelength 157 nm) or extreme ultraviolet light (EUV/soft X-ray) to form patterns as small as 65 nm as discussed at [0003] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C and then etching or forming/depositing a thin film as discussed in Nakamura JP 2008171859 at [0021], wet etching taught at [0020] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 or deposition using vapor deposition as taught at [0016,0022] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate
With respect to claim 1,2,4,6-13 and 17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 3 and 5 as discussed at [0017,0020] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 by using the lower (positive) resist with higher sensitivity than the upper (negative) resist to achieve the difference in the effectively exposed areas as taught in Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Park CN 101989046 without the need for the intermediate layer of Park CN 101989046, by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed in Park CN 101989046 at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed in Park CN 101989046 at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure uses extreme ultraviolet exposure masking to form patterns as small as 65 nm as discussed at [0003] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C and then etching or forming a thin film as discussed in Nakamura JP 2008171859 at [0021] wet etching taught at [0020] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 or deposition using vapor deposition as taught at [0016,0022] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
With respect to claim 1,2,4-13 and 17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figures 3 and 5 as discussed at [0017,0020] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 by using the lower (positive) resist with higher sensitivity than the upper (negative) resist to achieve the difference in the effectively exposed areas as taught in Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Park CN 101989046 without the need for the intermediate layer of Park CN 101989046, by coating each of the resists using spin coating to control the thickness as discussed in Park CN 101989046 at [0006,0035,0039] and dried by baking at 80-110 degrees as disclosed in Park CN 101989046 at [0033,0036,0040] where the exposure uses masked exposure with KrF excimer laser (wavelength 248 nm), ArF excimer laser (wavelength 193 nm), F2 excimer laser (wavelength 157 nm) to form patterns as small as 65 nm as discussed at [0003] of Nakamura JP 2008171859 to post bake the resist after exposure as disclosed by Mori et al. JP 2013080869 at [0049] and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 at [0020], who teaches this post bake at 60 degrees C and then etching or forming a thin film on a dielectric film, a metal film, a silicon film or a single crystal silicon substrate as disclosed at [0046-0055] of Park CN 101989046 as discussed in Nakamura JP 2008171859 at [0021], wet etching taught at [0020] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 or deposition using vapor deposition as taught at [0016,0022] of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate. ArF, KrF and F2 lasers are pulsed lasers with nanosecond pulsewidths and the examiner has interpreted the teachings as each pulse being an individual exposure, so the use of these lasers in the disclosed process yields multiple exposures. These are also considered to be deep UV exposure sources.
In the response of 9/1/2026, the applicant points out that Nakamura JP 2008171859 does not teach the difference in the exposed area of the upper and lower resists. The examiner points out that that the secondary references Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Park CN 101989046 each teach this and Hong et al. KR 980012512 teaches that the difference in the effective exposure area can be achieved by differences in the sensitivities of the upper and lower resist, so that the difference in the exposed areas of the upper and lower resists can be achieved within he need for the intermediate TARC layer of Park CN 101989046
Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park CN 101989046, in view of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, further in view of Aton 20090169832.
Aton 20090169832 teaches spin coating of positive or negative resist using spin coating at 500-3000 RPM [0043].
The combination of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 describes spin coating, but does not teach spin coating velocities within the 500-8000 RPM range.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the spin coating in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 by spin coating the positive or negative resists at 500-3000 RPM as is known in the art as evidenced at [0043] of Aton 20090169832 for the necessary time to achieve the desired thickness with a reasonable expectation of forming useful resist coatings and useful patterns substrates as the end of the process.
Claim 1-13 and 15-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512, further in view of Aton 20090169832.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the spin coating in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512 by spin coating the positive or negative resists at 500-3000 RPM as is known in the art as evidenced at [0043] of Aton 20090169832 for the necessary time to achieve the desired thickness with a reasonable expectation of forming useful resist coatings and useful patterns substrates as the end of the process.
Claims 1,2 and 4-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park CN 101989046, in view of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, further in view of Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174.
Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174 (machine translation attached) teaches the EUV exposure apparatus shown in FIG. 9 reduces the EUV light image reflected from the reflective mask onto a semiconductor wafer coated with a photoresist for EUV lithography (a positive or negative type photoresist having photosensitivity in the EUV region) [0064].
The combination of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 does not teach reflective photomasks
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 by using an EUV exposure with a reflective (photo)mask as is known in the art as evidenced in Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174 with a reasonable expectation of forming an exposed resist coating and useful patterns substrates as the end of the process.
Claim 1,2 and 5-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512, further in view of Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174.
The combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512 does not teach reflective photomasks
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512 by using an EUV exposure with a reflective (photo)mask as is known in the art as evidenced in Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174 with a reasonable expectation of forming an exposed resist coating and useful patterns substrates as the end of the process.
Claims 1,2,4-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park CN 101989046, in view of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, further in view of Mani 20140315133.
Mani 20140315133 teaches that with a positive-tone resist, the portions that are exposed to the radiation through the transparent regions in the mask become soluble in the developer solution, and in a negative-tone resist the portions that are exposed to the radiation through the transparent regions in the mask become insoluble in the developer solution. The radiation used is generally ultra-violet light (UV) or extreme UV light (EUV). The positive-tone and the negative tone resists are generally sensitive to different wavelength regions of the radiation. X-rays, ion beams or electron beams are also used for exposure, generally for direct-write in mask-less lithographic systems and with corresponding resists.
The combination of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119discloses the use masked exposure using UV or EUV, but does not disclosed the use of direct write processes.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 by using direct writing with beams of X-rays, ions or electrons rather than an exposure using a (photo)mask based upon the equivalence established in Mani 20140315133 with a reasonable expectation of forming an exposed resist coating and useful patterns substrates as the end of the process.
Claims 1,2,4-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512, further in view of Mani 20140315133.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512 by using direct writing with beams of X-rays, ions or electrons rather than an exposure using a (photo)mask based upon the equivalence established in Mani 20140315133 with a reasonable expectation of forming an exposed resist coating and useful patterns substrates as the end of the process.
Claims 1,2,4-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512, further in view of Kramer et al. 20130213469, Ho et al. 20040124513 and/or Liao et al. CN 112151602.
Kramer et al. 20130213469 teaches patterning processes used in the manufacture of semiconductor solar cells including such as but not limited to blanket metal deposition (for example, by a Physical-Vapor Deposition or PVD technique such as plasma sputtering, evaporation, thermal or arc plasma spray, or ion beam deposition; or by using an electrochemical deposition process such as plating) followed by pattern formation using pulsed laser metal ablation or a combination of lithography (for instance, using screen printing of a patterned etch resist layer) and subsequent etching of metal and stripping of the resist layer [0511]
Ho et al. 20040124513 teaches an etching process is performed on the second surface 104 of the semiconductor substrate 100 to remove a portion of the semiconductor substrate 100 and a portion of the insulating layer 110 so as to form a plurality of via holes 140 penetrating the semiconductor substrate 100 and the insulating layer 110, and expose the second bonding pads 132. During the etching process, a first photoresist layer can be formed on the second surface 104 firstly (nor shown). Then the etching process is performed by using ion beam etching, reactive ion etching, chemical etching, laser enhanced etching, ultraviolet enhanced etching or electrochemical etching to remove a portion of the semiconductor substrate 100 and a portion of the insulating layer 110. Finally, the first photoresist layer is removed [0019]
Liao et al. CN 112151602 (Machine translation attached) teaches the use of photoresist in forming semiconductor devices. The use a various deposition techniques for depositing layers to be pattern includes chemical vapor deposition; atomic layer deposition, magnetic control sputtering or pulse laser deposition method [0061].
The combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512discloses performing etching or material deposition after developing the resist pattern, but does not disclose some of the specific etch or deposition processes recited in claim 11 of the instant applicant.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512 by using etching or materials deposition processes known to be useful in the photolithographic/semiconductor manufacturing arts, such as those disclosed by Kramer et al. 20130213469, Ho et al. 20040124513 and/or Liao et al. CN 112151602 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
Claims 1,2,4-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park CN 101989046, in view of Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, further in view of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270.
Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 teaches that the general sequence of processing steps for a typical photolithography process includes the steps of substrate preparation, a photoresist spin coat, prebake, exposure, post-exposure bake, develop. A resist strip is the final operation in the lithographic process, after the resist pattern has been transferred into the underlying layer, typically by some sort of etch process. This sequence of steps is generally performed on several tools linked together into a contiguous unit called a lithographic cluster, controlled by a computer, processor, or processing circuit [0006]. The present invention relates to a method used in a photolithographic process comprising depositing a film of Atomic Layered Deposition (ALD) Al.sub.2O.sub.3 on a photomask, subjecting said film of Al.sub.2O.sub.3 on the photomask to a plasma treatment and then irradiating the deposited film of ALD Al.sub.2O.sub.3 on the coaled photomask at a wavelength of 193 nm [0030].
The combination of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 does not disclose the controlling of the various photolithographic steps in the processes.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869 and Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 by linking the various chambers/tools together in a photolithographic cluster and controlling them using a circuit or computer program as is known in the art of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 at [0006] to automate the photolithographic process with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Aton 20090169832, further in view of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270
The combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Aton 20090169832 does not disclose the controlling of the various photolithographic steps in the processes.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Aton 20090169832 by linking the various chambers/tools together in a photolithographic cluster and controlling them using a circuit or computer program as is known in the art of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 at [0006] to automate the photolithographic process with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174, further in view of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270
The combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174 does not disclose the controlling of the various photolithographic steps in the processes.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174 by linking the various chambers/tools together in a photolithographic cluster and controlling them using a circuit or computer program as is known in the art of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 at [0006] to automate the photolithographic process with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
Claims 1,2,4-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512, further in view of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270
The combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 98001251 does not disclose the controlling of the various photolithographic steps in the processes.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Hong et al. KR 980012512 by linking the various chambers/tools together in a photolithographic cluster and controlling them using a circuit or computer program as is known in the art of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 at [0006] to automate the photolithographic process with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
Claims 1-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Atom 20090169832, further in view of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270
The combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Atom 20090169832 does not disclose the controlling of the various photolithographic steps in the processes.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Atom 20090169832 by linking the various chambers/tools together in a photolithographic cluster and controlling them using a circuit or computer program as is known in the art of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 at [0006] to automate the photolithographic process with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
Claims 1,2 and 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174, further in view of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270
The combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174 does not disclose the controlling of the various photolithographic steps in the processes.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174 by linking the various chambers/tools together in a photolithographic cluster and controlling them using a circuit or computer program as is known in the art of Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 at [0006] to automate the photolithographic process with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
Claims 1,2,4-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park CN 101989046, in view of Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Sandstrom et al. 20200301270, further in view of Kramer et al. 20130213469, Ho et al. 20040124513 and/or Liao et al. CN 112151602.
The combination of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 discloses performing etching or material deposition after developing the resist pattern, but does not disclose some of the specific etch or deposition processes recited in claim 11 of the instant applicant.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119 and Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 by using etching or materials deposition processes known to be useful in the photolithographic/semiconductor manufacturing arts, such as those disclosed by Kramer et al. 20130213469, Ho et al. 20040124513 and/or Liao et al. CN 112151602 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
In the response of 9/1/2026, the applicant argues that the process of Nakamura JP 2008171859 does not result in differently sized exposure areas. Claim 17 is directed to the apparatus and would be able to do this with defocusing/decollimation of the light, but the use of defocusing/decollimized to achieve this is not disclosed. The position of the examiner is that the apparatus claims are significantly broader than the argued position and therefore not commensurate in scope with the coverage sought.
Claims 1,2,4-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Sandstrom et al. 20200301270, further in view of Kramer et al. 20130213469, Ho et al. 20040124513 and/or Liao et al. CN 112151602
The combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 discloses performing etching or material deposition after developing the resist pattern, but does not disclose some of the specific etch or deposition processes recited in claim 11 of the instant applicant.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the exposures in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512 and Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 by using etching or materials deposition processes known to be useful in the photolithographic/semiconductor manufacturing arts, such as those disclosed by Kramer et al. 20130213469, Ho et al. 20040124513 and/or Liao et al. CN 112151602 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned substrate.
29. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura JP 2008171859, in view of Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512, Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174 and Sandstrom et al. 20200301270, further in view of Aton 20090169832.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to perform the spin coating in the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Nakamura JP 2008171859, Park CN 101989046, Mori et al. JP 2013080869, Tanigawa et al. JP H06112119, Hong et al. KR 980012512, Takahashi et al. JP 2001237174 and Sandstrom et al. 20200301270 by spin coating the positive or negative resists at 500-3000 RPM as is known in the art as evidenced at [0043] of Aton 20090169832 for the necessary time to achieve the desired thickness with a reasonable expectation of forming useful resist coatings and useful patterns substrates as the end of the process.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 September 11, 2026