DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a moveable unit (Claim 1, 2, 42; no reference number in the drawing); a transmission unit (Claim 1, 2, 42; no reference number in the drawings) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a movement device (Claim 1, 2, 42); a position measurement unit (Claim 1, 2, 11, 15, 21, 23, 42) light reception unit (Claim 1, 2); a position information acquisition unit (Claim 1, 2, 42); a movement unit (Claim 1, 2, 3, 5, 21, 42); a transmission unit (Claim 1, 2, 42); imaging adjustment unit (Claim 3, 6, 7); optical system (Claim 7); a vibration detection unit (Claim 9, 10, 11); a holding unit (Claim 12); a reference position measurement unit (Claim 19); a first reference irradiation unit (Claim 19); a second reference irradiation unit (Claim 19); a third reference irradiation unit (Claim 19); a reference light reception unit (Claim 19); a vibration detection unit (Claim 23, 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 14-15, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2017019072 A.
Claim 1
JP 2017019072 A discloses a movement device (Fig. 3, Ref. 20a) capable of movement (Fig. 3, Ref. B, C axis); a position measurement unit (Fig. 1, Ref. 20) including an irradiation unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 202) configured to irradiate measurement light (Fig. 3, Ref. La) to a reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10) arranged on a movable unit of a robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2), a light reception unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 204) configured to receive reflected light (Fig. 3, Ref. Lb) from the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100), a position information acquisition unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 216; reflector position measuring unit) configured to acquire position information of the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100), and a movement unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 210; setting unit) configured to change an irradiation direction of the measurement light (Fig. 3, Ref. 202; setting unit changes the x, y, z axis); an imaging unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 206; infrared light receiving unit); and a transmission unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 30) configured to transmit the position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 216) or adjustment information of the robot based on the position information to a control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 3) of the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2), wherein the movement device (Fig. 3, Ref. 2a) moves at least one of the irradiation unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 202), the light reception unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 204), the movement unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 210), and the imaging unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 206), and wherein the movement unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 210) is controlled so that one or both of at least a part of the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) and the reflective element (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) are imaged using the imaging unit (Fig. 1, Ref. I; Fig. 5, Ref. 206) and the measurement light (Fig. 1, Ref. La, Lb, I) is irradiated to the reflective element (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) on the basis of an imaging result of the imaging unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 206)(Page 7, Para. 6).
Claim 2
JP 2017019072 A discloses a position measurement unit (Fig. 1, Ref. 20) including an irradiation unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 202) configured to irradiate measurement light (Fig. 3, Ref. La) to a reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10) arranged on a movable unit of a robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2), a light reception unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 204) configured to receive reflected light (Fig. 3, Ref. Lb) from the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10), a position information acquisition unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 216; reflector position measuring unit) configured to acquire position information of the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10) on the basis of a light reception result of the a light reception unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 204), and a movement unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 210; setting unit) configured to change an irradiation direction of the measurement light (Fig. 3, Ref. 202; setting unit changes the x, y, z axis); an imaging unit an imaging unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 206; infrared light receiving unit) configured to image one or both of at least a part of the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) and the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10); a transmission unit a transmission unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 30) configured to transmit the position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 216) or adjustment information of the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) based on the position information to a control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 3) of the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2); and a movement device (Fig. 3, Ref. 20a) capable of movement and including at least the irradiation unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 202), the light reception unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 204), the movement unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 210; setting unit), and the imaging unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 206), wherein the movement unit movement unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 210) is controlled so that the measurement light (Fig. 3, Ref. La) is irradiated to the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10) on the basis of an imaging result of the imaging unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 206)(Page 7, Para. 6).
Claim 8
JP 2017019072 A discloses the irradiation unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 202) irradiates the measurement light (Fig. 3, Ref. La) to the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100) after the movement device stops (When measuring device Ref. 20 is installed the measuring device measures current position; Page 3, Para. 4).
Claim 14
JP 2017019072 A discloses the adjustment information includes a control signal (Fig. 1, Ref. 30) for controlling the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) and the adjustment information is transmitted to the control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 3) of the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) through wireless communication (Page 3, Para. 5).
Claim 15
JP 2017019072 A discloses he position measurement unit (Fig. 1, Ref. 20) acquires information about a coordinate system in a space where the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) is arranged and generates coordinate position information of the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) in the coordinate system on the basis of the information about the coordinate system (Page 5, Para. 4).
Claim 42
JP 2017019072 A discloses a position measurement device (Fig. 1, Ref. 20), wherein the position measurement device (Fig. 1, Ref. 20) comprising: a movement device (Fig. 1, Ref. 2a) capable of movement (Fig. 3, Ref. B, C axis); a position measurement unit (Fig. 1, Ref. 20) including an irradiation unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 202) configured to irradiate measurement light (Fig. 3, Ref. La) to a reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10) arranged on a movable unit of a robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2), a light reception unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 204) configured to receive reflected light (Fig. 3, Ref. Lb) from the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10), a position information acquisition unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 216) configured to acquire position information of the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10), and a movement unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 210; setting unit) configured to change an irradiation direction of the measurement light (Fig. 3, Ref. 202; setting unit changes the x, y, z axis); an imaging unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 206); and a transmission unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 30) configured to transmit the position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 216) or adjustment information of the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) based on the position information to a control system (Fig. 1, Ref. 3) of the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2), wherein the position measurement method comprising: a moving step of moving at least one of the irradiation unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 202), the light reception unit (Fig. 3, Ref. 204), the movement unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 210; setting unit), and the imaging unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 206) by the movement device (Fig. 3, Ref. 20a)(Page 6, Para. 2); a controlling step of controlling the movement unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 210; setting unit) so that one or both of at least a part of the robot (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) and the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10) are imaged using the imaging unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 206)(Page 9, Para. 3-4); and an irradiating step of irradiating the measurement light (Fig. 3, Ref. La) to the reflective element (Fig. 3, Ref. 100, Fig. 1, Ref. 10) on the basis of an imaging result of the imaging unit (Fig. 5, Ref. 206)(Page 9, Para. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2017019072 A.
Claim 12
JP 2017019072 A discloses the claimed invention except for a holding unit configured to detachably hold the reflective element, wherein the holding unit is provided in the movement device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine JP 2017019072 A with a holding unit since it was well known in the art that having a holding unit for holding reflective elements on the movement device allows for a storage area when the reflection elements are not in use, therefore providing a known location when the reflective elements are needed. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 9-11, 19, 21, 23-24, 41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious a second imaging unit different from the first imaging unit, wherein the imaging adjustment unit discriminates a position of the robot serving as a measurement target on the basis of an imaging result of the second imaging unit and makes an adjustment so that the imaging direction of the first imaging unit is directed to the position of the robot, and wherein the movement unit discriminates a position of the reflective element serving as a measurement target on the basis of an imaging result of the first imaging unit and drives the irradiation unit to irradiate the measurement light to the reflective element, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 1, 3. Claims 4-7, 41 would be allowed by the virtue of dependency on the allowed claims 1, 3.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious a vibration detection unit configured to detect vibrations of at least a part of the position measurement device, wherein the irradiation unit irradiates the measurement light to the reflective element on the basis of a detection result of the vibration detection unit, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 1, 9. Claims 10-11 would be allowed by the virtue of dependency on the allowed claims 1, 9.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious a first reference irradiation unit configured to irradiate first reference measurement light to a first reference reflective element relating to the reference position; a second reference irradiation unit configured to irradiate second reference measurement light to a second reference reflective element relating to the reference position; a third reference irradiation unit configured to irradiate third reference measurement light to a third reference reflective element relating to the reference position; and a reference light reception unit configured to receive first reference reflected light from the first reference reflective element, second reference reflected light from the second reference reflective element, and third reference reflected light from the third reference reflective element, and wherein position information for the reference position of the first reflective element is generated on the basis of a light reception result of the first light reception unit and a light reception result of the reference light reception unit, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 1, 19.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious the reflective element is a first reflective element, wherein the movement unit adjusts the irradiation direction so that the measurement light is directed to a reference reflective element relating to a reference position, wherein the light reception unit receives reference reflected light from the reference reflective element, and wherein the position measurement unit generates position information about the reference position of the first reflective element on the basis of a light reception result of the light reception unit, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 1, 21.
Regarding claim 23, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious a vibration detection unit configured to detect vibrations of at least a part of the position measurement device, wherein the position measurement unit generates information about the reference position on the basis of a detection result of the vibration detection unit, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 1, 23. Claim 24 would be allowed by the virtue of dependency on the allowed claims 1, 23.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 January 9, 2026