DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In response to 35 USC 103, filed 04/27/2026 on pages 11-12 of the remarks. Applicant argues that Independent claims 42, 43, 52 and 62 are not obvious over Sharma in view of Yang.
Applicant’s argument have been considered but are moot, because the newly recited amendment does not rely on the newly recited reference being applied to the prior rejection of record or any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42, 44-45, and 47-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (US 20170374203, hereinafter Sharma) in view of Yang et al. (US 20200334382, hereinafter Yang).
Re. claim 42, Sharma discloses a Charging Data Function (CDF) device comprising: a memory (Sharma discloses memory [0069][0094]); and one or more processors, wherein the memory contains instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors (Sharma discloses CPU and memory [0069][0094]), cause the CDF device to: send the CDR and the index to a Charging Gateway Function (CGF) device (Sharma discloses insert a pointer in the incomplete CDR that points to a location of shared data storage. CDF then forwards the incomplete CDR to a CGF [0077][0091]. The CDF then sends the CDRs to a Charging Gateway Function (CGF) of the OFCS [0005][0031]).
Sharma discloses CDF, CTF and CDR [0005][0007], Sharma does not explicitly teach but Hong teaches compute a hash value of a charging data record (CDR) that is generated from charging events at a charging trigger function (CTF) device (Hong teaches he first network device publishes the charging data record statement to the blockchain after encryption or hashing [0016]. ends each round of charging data record file to a CHF in the roaming operation device by using a charging trigger function CTF [0111]); provide for subsequent integrity verification of the CDR by storing the hash value and a CDR identifier of the CDR in a blockchain ledger and obtaining an index for the hash value stored in the blockchain, for index-based retrieval of the hash value from the blockchain ledger, thereby enabling the CGF device to retrieve the hash value from the blockchain ledger for integrity verification of the CDR (Hong teaches the blockchain 103 is a secure implementation of a distributed ledger, uses a block as a data structure to store transaction information, and each block includes a block body and a block header. The block body stores a transaction record. Based on a requirement of an application scenario in an implementation of this embodiment of this application, the transaction record may be a transfer record, a smart contract record, a clearing record, a data record, or the like. The block header stores a timestamp, a hash summary result of a transaction, and necessary information for forming a chain structure with a preceding block and the block header [0060]. Ensure security of the charging data record file, the charging data record file stored in the blockchain is an encrypted or hashed charging data record file, and the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device is also an encrypted or hashed charging data record file. Therefore, during verification, for example, hashing is used. It is determined whether a hashed charging data record file in a transaction record stored in the blockchain is consistent with the hash result of the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device [0132][0009][0047]. Thereby is an intended result claim limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Sharma to include compute a hash value of a charging data record (CDR) that is generated from charging events at a charging trigger function (CTF) device; provide for subsequent integrity verification of the CDR by storing the hash value and a CDR identifier of the CDR in a blockchain ledger and obtaining an index for the hash value stored in the blockchain, for index-based retrieval of the hash value from the blockchain ledger, thereby enabling the CGF device to retrieve the hash value from the blockchain ledger for integrity verification of the CDR as disclosed by Hong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of verification purposes, determine whether the hashed charging data record is genuine (Hong [0132]).
Re. claim 44, claim 44 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 42 above.
Re. claim 45, Sharma-Hong teach the method according to claim 44, Hong further teaches wherein the index provides for index-based retrieval of both the hash value and the CDR identifier (Hong teaches the blockchain 103 is a secure implementation of a distributed ledger, uses a block as a data structure to store transaction information, and each block includes a block body and a block header. The block body stores a transaction record. Based on a requirement of an application scenario in an implementation of this embodiment of this application, the transaction record may be a transfer record, a smart contract record, a clearing record, a data record, or the like. The block header stores a timestamp, a hash summary result of a transaction, and necessary information for forming a chain structure with a preceding block and the block header [0060]. Ensure security of the charging data record file, the charging data record file stored in the blockchain is an encrypted or hashed charging data record file, and the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device is also an encrypted or hashed charging data record file. Therefore, during verification, for example, hashing is used. It is determined whether a hashed charging data record file in a transaction record stored in the blockchain is consistent with the hash result of the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device [0132][0009][0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Sharma to include wherein the index provides for index-based retrieval of both the hash value and the CDR identifier as disclosed by Hong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of verification purposes, determine whether the hashed charging data record is genuine (Hong [0132]).
Re. claim 47, Sharma-Hong teach the method according to claim 44, Hong further teaches wherein the index is any one of the following: a transaction ID or a block height identifier (Hong teaches the blockchain 103 is a secure implementation of a distributed ledger, uses a block as a data structure to store transaction information, and each block includes a block body and a block header. The block body stores a transaction record. Based on a requirement of an application scenario in an implementation of this embodiment of this application, the transaction record may be a transfer record, a smart contract record, a clearing record, a data record, or the like. The block header stores a timestamp, a hash summary result of a transaction, and necessary information for forming a chain structure with a preceding block and the block header [0060]. Ensure security of the charging data record file, the charging data record file stored in the blockchain is an encrypted or hashed charging data record file, and the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device is also an encrypted or hashed charging data record file. Therefore, during verification, for example, hashing is used. It is determined whether a hashed charging data record file in a transaction record stored in the blockchain is consistent with the hash result of the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device [0132][0009][0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Sharma to include wherein the index is any one of the following: a transaction ID or a block height identifier as disclosed by Hong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of verification purposes, determine whether the hashed charging data record is genuine (Hong [0132]).
Re. claim 48, Sharma-Hong teach the method according to claim 44, Hong further teaches wherein storing the hash value comprises providing the hash value to a blockchain ledger client and wherein obtaining the index comprises receiving the index form the blockchain ledger client (Hong teaches the blockchain 103 is a secure implementation of a distributed ledger, uses a block as a data structure to store transaction information, and each block includes a block body and a block header. The block body stores a transaction record. Based on a requirement of an application scenario in an implementation of this embodiment of this application, the transaction record may be a transfer record, a smart contract record, a clearing record, a data record, or the like. The block header stores a timestamp, a hash summary result of a transaction, and necessary information for forming a chain structure with a preceding block and the block header [0060]. Ensure security of the charging data record file, the charging data record file stored in the blockchain is an encrypted or hashed charging data record file, and the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device is also an encrypted or hashed charging data record file. Therefore, during verification, for example, hashing is used. It is determined whether a hashed charging data record file in a transaction record stored in the blockchain is consistent with the hash result of the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device [0132][0009][0047][0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Sharma to include wherein storing the hash value comprises providing the hash value to a blockchain ledger client and wherein obtaining the index comprises receiving the index form the blockchain ledger client as disclosed by Hong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of verification purposes, determine whether the hashed charging data record is genuine (Hong [0132]).
Re. claim 49, Sharma-Hong teach the method according to claim 44, comprising sending the CDR via a Data Record Transfer Request message (Sharma discloses the CDFs generate a CDR for the session based on the accounting requests, and insert identifiers for the accounting requests that are used to construct the CDR into a field of the CDR. The CDFs also insert content information into a field of the CDR for any accounting requests that are identified as re-transmitted by the CTF [0006]. Sends the CDRs to a Charging Gateway Function CGF [0005][0071]).
Re. claim 50, Sharma-Hong teach the method according to claim 44, comprising sending the CDR and the index together using one or more Information Elements of a Data Record Packet (Sharma discloses the CDFs generate a CDR for the session based on the accounting requests, and insert identifiers for the accounting requests that are used to construct the CDR into a field of the CDR. The CDFs also insert content information into a field of the CDR for any accounting requests that are identified as re-transmitted by the CTF [0006]. Sends the CDRs to a Charging Gateway Function CGF [0005][0071]).
Re. claim 51, Sharma-Hong teach the method according to claim 44, comprising sending together the CDR and the index comprised in a list of indices using one or more fields of an Information Element of the Data Record Transfer Request (Sharma discloses the CDFs generate a CDR for the session based on the accounting requests, and insert identifiers for the accounting requests that are used to construct the CDR into a field of the CDR. The CDFs also insert content information into a field of the CDR for any accounting requests that are identified as re-transmitted by the CTF [0006]. Sends the CDRs to a Charging Gateway Function CGF [0005][0071]).
Claims 43, 46, and 52-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (US 20170374203, hereinafter Sharma) in view of Hong et al. (EP 4036831, hereinafter Hong) and in further view of Yang et al. (US 20200334382, hereinafter Yang).
Re. claim 43, Sharma discloses a Charging Gateway Function (CGF) device for providing integrity protection of a Charging Data Record (CDR), the CGF device comprising: a memory (Sharma discloses memory [0069][0094]); and one or more processors, wherein the memory contains instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors (Sharma discloses CPU and memory [0069][0094]), cause the CGF device to: receive a charging data record (CRD) and a first index from a Charging Data Function (CDF) device (Sharma discloses insert a pointer in the incomplete CDR that points to a location of shared data storage. CDF then forwards the incomplete CDR to a CGF [0077][0091]. The CDF then sends the CDRs to a Charging Gateway Function (CGF) of the OFCS [0005][0031]).
Sharma discloses CDF, CTF and CDR [0005][0007], Sharma does not explicitly teach but Hong teaches the first index enabling index-based retrieval of a first hash value from a blockchain ledger, the first hash value calculated by the CDF device for an untampered version of the CDR (Hong teaches he first network device publishes the charging data record statement to the blockchain after encryption or hashing [0016]. ends each round of charging data record file to a CHF in the roaming operation device by using a charging trigger function CTF [0111]. The blockchain 103 is a secure implementation of a distributed ledger, uses a block as a data structure to store transaction information, and each block includes a block body and a block header. The block body stores a transaction record. Based on a requirement of an application scenario in an implementation of this embodiment of this application, the transaction record may be a transfer record, a smart contract record, a clearing record, a data record, or the like. The block header stores a timestamp, a hash summary result of a transaction, and necessary information for forming a chain structure with a preceding block and the block header [0060]); retrieve the first hash value from the blockchain ledger, using the first index(Hong teaches the blockchain 103 is a secure implementation of a distributed ledger, uses a block as a data structure to store transaction information, and each block includes a block body and a block header. The block body stores a transaction record. Based on a requirement of an application scenario in an implementation of this embodiment of this application, the transaction record may be a transfer record, a smart contract record, a clearing record, a data record, or the like. The block header stores a timestamp, a hash summary result of a transaction, and necessary information for forming a chain structure with a preceding block and the block header [0060]. Ensure security of the charging data record file, the charging data record file stored in the blockchain is an encrypted or hashed charging data record file, and the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device is also an encrypted or hashed charging data record file. Therefore, during verification, for example, hashing is used. It is determined whether a hashed charging data record file in a transaction record stored in the blockchain is consistent with the hash result of the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device [0132][0009][0047]); and responsive to successful integrity verification in which the first hash value matches the second hash value (Hong teaches ensure security of the charging data record file, the charging data record file stored in the blockchain is an encrypted or hashed charging data record file, and the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device is also an encrypted or hashed charging data record file. Therefore, during verification, for example, hashing is used. It is determined whether a hashed charging data record file in a transaction record stored in the blockchain is consistent with the hash result of the charging data record file sent by the roaming operation device to the home operation device [0132][0009][0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Sharma to include the first index enabling index-based retrieval of a first hash value from a blockchain ledger, the first hash value calculated by the CDF device for an untampered version of the CDR; retrieve the first hash value from the blockchain ledger, using the first index; and responsive to successful integrity verification in which the first hash value matches the second hash value as disclosed by Hong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of verification purposes, determine whether the hashed charging data record is genuine (Hong [0132]).
Sharma discloses CDF device and CGF device ([0006][0014]), Sharma-Hong do not explicitly teach but Yang teaches perform integrity verification of the CDR by computing a second hash value of the CDR and comparing with the first hash value retrieved from the blockchain ledger (Yang teaches the hash value of the data record itself and the hash value of the data block in which the data record is located are recalculated in the database and compared with locally stored hash values [0031]. Obtaining a hash value of a previous data block, and recalculating a hash value of a current data block based on a data record of the current data block and the hash value of the previous data block by using the same algorithm used for generating the hash value of the current data block [0033]); perform processing of the CDR to obtain a processed CDR and provide for subsequent integrity verification of the processed CDR by (Yang teaches a result after verification [0077]); computing a third hash value of the processed CDR (Yang teaches determine a hash value of each data record, where the to-be-stored data records here can be various consumption records of an individual user of a client, or can be a service result, an intermediate state, an operation record, etc. [0025]); and storing, in the blockchain ledger, the third hash value and the first index of the first hash value and obtaining a second index that provides for index-based retrieval of the first index and the third hash value from the blockchain ledger (Yang teaches determine a hash value of each data record, where the to-be-stored data records here can be various consumption records of an individual user of a client, or can be a service result, an intermediate state, an operation record, etc. [0025]. The user can obtain a hash value of a corresponding data record and a hash value of a data block in which the data record is located, store the hash value, and initiate integrity verification based on the hash value [0031]. Write the location information into an index that uses specified identifiers as primary keys; where in the blockchain-type ledger, except an initial data block, each data block includes at least one data record, each data block includes a hash value of the data block determined based on a hash value of a previous data block and the data record included in the data block [0085] .When N=1, the data block is an initial data block. A hash value and a block height of the initial data block are given based on a predetermined method. For example, the initial data block does not include a data record, a hash value is any given hash value, and a block height blknum=0 [0029]. Write the location information into an index that uses specified identifiers as primary keys; where in the blockchain-type ledger, except an initial data block, each data block includes at least one data record, each data block includes a hash value of the data block determined based on a hash value of a previous data block and the data record included in the data block [0085][0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Sharma-Hong to include perform integrity verification of the CDR by computing a second hash value of the CDR and comparing with the first hash value retrieved from the blockchain ledger; perform processing of the CDR to obtain a processed CDR and provide for subsequent integrity verification of the processed CDR by; computing a third hash value of the processed CDR; and storing, in the blockchain ledger, the third hash value and the first index of the first hash value and obtaining a second index that provides for index-based retrieval of the first index and the third hash value from the blockchain ledger as disclosed by Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of having an immutable and tamper-proof record and verification.
Re. claim 46, Sharma-Hong teach the method according to claim 44, Sharma-Hong do not explicitly teach but Yang teaches wherein the index comprises an indication of a position of the stored hash value and the CDR identifier in the blockchain ledger (Yang teaches where in the blockchain-type ledger, except an initial data block, each data block includes at least one data record, each data block includes a hash value of the data block determined based on a hash value of a previous data block and the data record included in the data block. Determining location information of the data record in the ledger, where the location information includes a block height of a data block in which the data record is located and an offset of the data record in the data block [0007][0031][0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Sharma-Hong to include wherein the index comprises an indication of a position of the stored hash value and the CDR identifier in the blockchain ledger as disclosed by Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of having an immutable and tamper-proof record and verification.
Re. claim 52, claim 52 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 43 above.
Re. claim 53, rejection of claim 52 is included and claim 53 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 47 above.
Re. claim 54, rejection of claim 52 is included and claim 54 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 46 above.
Re. claim 55, rejection of claim 52 is included and claim 55 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 49 above.
Re. claim 56, rejection of claim 52 is included and claim 56 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 50 above.
Re. claim 57, rejection of claim 52 is included and claim 57 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 51 above.
Re. claim 58, Sharma-Yang teach the method according claim 52, Yang further teaches wherein the CGF device storing the third hash value and the first index in the blockchain ledger comprises the CGF device providing the third hash value and the first index to a blockchain ledger client, and wherein the CGF device obtaining the second index from the blockchain ledger comprises the CGF device receiving the second index form the blockchain ledger client (Yang teaches When N=1, the data block is an initial data block. A hash value and a block height of the initial data block are given based on a predetermined method. For example, the initial data block does not include a data record, a hash value is any given hash value, and a block height blknum=0 [0029]. The user can obtain a hash value of a corresponding data record and a hash value of a data block in which the data record is located, store the hash value, and initiate integrity verification based on the hash value [0031]. Write the location information into an index that uses specified identifiers as primary keys; where in the blockchain-type ledger, except an initial data block, each data block includes at least one data record, each data block includes a hash value of the data block determined based on a hash value of a previous data block and the data record included in the data block [0085][0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Sharma to include wherein the CGF device storing the third hash value and the first index in the blockchain ledger comprises the CGF device providing the third hash value and the first index to a blockchain ledger client, and wherein the CGF device obtaining the second index from the blockchain ledger comprises the CGF device receiving the second index form the blockchain ledger client disclosed by Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of having an immutable and tamper-proof record and verification.
Re. claim 59, Sharma-Hong-Yang teach the method according to claim 52, further comprising storing the processed CDR in a Data Retention System (Sharma discloses Reconciliation system 220 generates a complete CDR based on the incomplete CDRs [0083]).
Re. claim 60, Sharma-Hong-Yang teach the method according to claim 52, comprising storing the second index along with the processed CDR in the Data retention system (Sharma discloses insert a pointer in the incomplete CDR that points to a location of shared data storage 240 [0077][0083]).
Claims 61-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (US 20170374203, hereinafter Sharma) in view of Hong et al. (EP 4036831, hereinafter Hong) in view of Yang et al. (US 20200334382, hereinafter Yang) and in further view of Griffin (US 11212110).
Re. claim 61, Sharma-Hong-Yang teach the method according to claim 52, Sharma-Yang do not explicitly teach but Griffin teaches wherein storing the third hash value together with the first index in the blockchain ledger enables a Law Enforcement Agency (LEA) device to verify the integrity of the processed CDR and verify that the processed CDR corresponds with the CDR send to the CFG device by the CDF device (Griffin teaches verify that blocks N′ 270, N″ 280, and N′″ 290 contain the same data as block N. For example, the owner, the adverse party, and the government can compare the previous block hash 234, the block identifier 236, and the merkle root 238 located within each party's respective copy of block N with the information located in block N at the time each copy of block N was created. If the information matches, the user has verified that the data in the copied blocks contains the same data as block N. The government can verify that the data contained in each party's respective copied block is the same data that was originally in block N. [Col 13 lines 18-40][Col 4 lines 34-49] [Col 4 lines 23-33]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Sharma-Yang to include wherein storing the third hash value together with the first index in the blockchain ledger enables a Law Enforcement Agency (LEA) device to verify the integrity of the processed CDR and verify that the processed CDR corresponds with the CDR send to the CFG device by the CDF device as disclosed by Griffin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of verifying that the data is original (Griffin [Col 13 lines 18-40]).
Re. claim 62, claim 62 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claims 42, 43 and 61.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Garagiola (US 20200142891) discloses identifying a blockchain transaction, storing the blockchain transaction in a blockchain, assigning the blockchain transaction a transaction number and a block number, hashing a portion of blockchain transaction data associated with the blockchain transaction, and updating a blockchain index based on the hashed portion of the blockchain transaction.
Hookham-Miller (US 20190098015) discloses securing integrity of data collected in a data storage arrangement for an object.
/KEVIN AYALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496