DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment filed 11/10/2025.
Response to Arguments
Objection to the Specification
The objection to the specification is overcome by amendment.
Objections to the Claims
The objections to the claims are overcome by amendment.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 are overcome by amendment.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Applicant’s argument is that the cladding/barrier material described in paragraph 101 of Wagner is not taught to be the same as “a material of the first region surrounding the emitter device”, however, this argument is not persuasive. As claimed, the emitter device is in a first region of the housing, which encompasses embodiments in which the first region includes portions of the optoelectronic biosensor surrounding the emitter device. Paragraph 101 of Wagner states that the light guides 40, 42 may be surrounded or partially surrounded by the cladding/barrier material. Paragraph 104 of Wagner discloses that the proximal end 40a of the first light guide 40 is positioned adjacent to the optical source 24 and second light guide 42 is positioned adjacent the optical detector 26. When the proximal end 40a is surrounded by the cladding material and adjacent the optical source 24, a material of the first region (particularly part of the first region surrounding the emitter device rather than necessarily within the emitter device) is the material surrounding the light guide 40. Also note that paragraph 101 describes a cladding/barrier material for the light guides rather than a separate material for each. As a result, the cladding material taught by Wagner falls within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-18, 26, and 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wagner (US Patent Publication 20170118551).
Regarding claim 1, Wagner teaches an optoelectronic biosensor comprising: a housing (FIG. 2, housing 30) with a transparent support surface (FIG. 2, curved outer surface 32);
an emitter device in a first region of the housing adapted to generate and emit light toward the support surface (FIG. 2, optical source 24);
a detector device in a second region of the housing (FIG. 2, optical detector 26); and
a first optical fiber element disposed between the detector device and the support surface (FIG. 2, second light guide 42. Also see paragraph 98, final sentence, which states that second light guide 42 can comprise one or more optical fibers.), the first optical fiber element being configured to guide light incident on the support surface at an angle less than a predetermined angle to a normal to the detector device, and the predetermined angle depending at least on a difference in refractive indices at an interface between the optical fiber element and a material surrounding the optical light guide element (Optical fibers can only accept light entering within a particular range of angles of incidence, those angles less than the fiber’s acceptance angle. See Paschotta 1 (Non-Patent Literature “Acceptance Angle in Fiber Optics”), which gives a formula for the acceptance angle in terms of the refractive indices of the core, cladding, and surrounding medium),
wherein a material of the first region surrounding the emitter device is the same as the material surrounding the first optical fiber element (paragraph 101, the cladding material, when it surrounds the light guides 40 and 42, could be considered a material of the first region (a region that includes optical source 24, but is not defined in a way to exclude other portions), especially at proximal end 40a, and is disclosed as surrounding second light guide 42).
Regarding claim 2, Wagner teaches optoelectronic biosensor of claim 1 (as described above), wherein a material of the first optical fiber element comprises a higher refractive index than the material surrounding the first optical fiber element (paragraph 101).
Regarding claim 3, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the predetermined angle is proportional to an arc sine of a root of the difference of the two respective squared refractive indices (This is the formula for the acceptance angle of an optical fiber. See Paschotta 1 (Non-Patent Literature “Acceptance Angle in Fiber Optics”). Unless designed otherwise, which Wagner does not require, this formula will govern the acceptance angle of an optical fiber.).
Regarding claim 4, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein at least the second region is filled with the material surrounding the first optical fiber element up to a height of the support surface (FIG. 2, the second light guide 42 and its cladding extend all the way to curved surface 32).
Regarding claim 5, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the material surrounding the first optical fiber element is transparent (paragraph 101, choosing a cladding that has a lower refractive index would at least partially confine the light within light guides 40, 42, as described in paragraph 101).
Regarding claim 6, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein a surface of the housing facing the second region is configured to be absorbent of the light emitted by the emitter device (paragraph 101, if a dark, e.g., black, cladding is used).
Regarding claim 8, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), further comprising: a second optical fiber element disposed between the emitter device and the support surface for guiding light emitted from the emitter device (FIG. 2, first light guide 40. Also see paragraph 98, final sentence, which states that first light guide 40 can comprise one or more optical fibers.).
Regarding claim 9, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 8 (as described above), wherein the first optical fiber element and/or the second optical fiber element comprises at least one of the following materials:
silicon (paragraph 98 lists several light transmissive materials for use in first and second light guides 40, 42, including silicone (which contains silicon) and glass. Note that the most commonly used glass for optical fibers is silica, SiO2, which contains silicon (see Paschotta 2 (Non-Patent Literature “Fibers”)));
polycarbonates (paragraph 98 lists polycarbonate as an exemplary light transmissive material for use in first and second light guides 40, 42); or
glass with a refractive index greater than 1.5.
Regarding claim 10, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 8 (as described above), wherein the first optical fiber element and/or the second optical fiber element comprises a cross-section tapering towards the support surface (FIG. 11B, center portion of second light guide 42 shows a taper as it goes away from optical detectors 26. The center-left portion of first light guide 40 shows a taper as it goes away from optical source 24).
Regarding claim 11, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first optical fiber element and/or the second optical fiber element comprises a cross-section that increases towards the support surface (FIG. 11B, the top portions of both first light guide 40 and second light guide 42 increase in cross-sectional area going toward the surface of the device).
Regarding claim 12, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first region of the housing is separated from the second region of the housing by an absorbent region extending from a bottom of the housing to the support surface (paragraph 101 states that the light guides 40 and 42 may be clad in a dark (i.e., absorbent) material, as well as FIG. 2, the portion of housing 30 between light guides 40 and 42).
Regarding claim 13, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the support surface is structured in the first and/or second region (FIG. 2, the distal end surfaces 40c and 42c are shown with a rounded structure. Also see paragraph 101, which teaches a texturized surface for one or both of 40c and 42c, and paragraph 107, which teaches both curved structures and flat structures, depending on the desired light collection angle).
Regarding claim 14, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), further comprising: a first optical element, wherein the first optical element is arranged above the supporting surface above the first optical light guide element, or the first optical element is a part of the first optical fiber element adjacent to the support surface (FIG. 2, end surface 42c is shown with a curved end. A curved interface between materials with different refractive indices, such as air and glass, is a lens, which is a type of optical element. Note that the end surface 42c is shown both above curved outer surface 32 and as part of light guide 42 adjacent to curved outer surface 32.).
Regarding claim 15, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 8 (as described above), further comprising: a second optical element, wherein the second optical element is arranged in a beam path of the emitter device, or the second optical element is a part of the second optical fiber element adjacent to the supporting surface (FIG. 2, end surface 40c is shown with a curved end. A curved interface between materials with different refractive indices, such as air and glass, is a lens, which is a type of optical element. Note that the end surface 40c is shown both above curved outer surface 32 and as part of light guide 40 adjacent to curved outer surface 32).
Regarding claim 16, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the emitter device comprises: a light emitting diode with an essentially Lambertian radiation pattern (paragraph 93, one or more light-emitting diodes or organic LEDs. While Wagner does not explicitly discuss the emission patterns of LEDs, Paschotta 4 (Non-Patent Literature “Light-emitting Diodes”) does teach that light emitted from LEDs is originally emitted in all directions (section “Emission Properties”, first paragraph, sentence 2), the hallmark of an essentially Lambertian radiation pattern.).
Regarding claim 17, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the emitter device is configured to generate and emit light of different wavelengths (paragraph 93 mentions several options for light sources, including compact incandescent bulbs and IR blackbody sources that produce broadband (i.e., multiwavelength) illumination).
Regarding claim 18, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), further comprising a control circuit disposed in the second region of the housing and on which the detector device is placed (FIG. 2, base 22, on which the detector device is placed. Also see paragraph 92).
Regarding claim 26, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the emitter device comprises a laser device (paragraph 93, a laser diode is a laser device).
Regarding claim 30, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 14 (as described above), wherein the first optical element is a lens (FIG. 2, end surface 42c is shown with a curved end. A curved interface between materials with different refractive indices, such as air and glass, is a lens).
Regarding claim 31, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 15 (as described above), wherein the second optical element is a lens (FIG. 2, end surface 40c is shown with a curved end. A curved interface between materials with different refractive indices, such as air and glass, is a lens).
Regarding claim 32, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 15 (as described above), wherein the second optical element is arranged in the beam path of the emitter device above the supporting surface (FIG. 2, end surface 40c is shown both above curved outer surface 32 as part of light guide 40, which is in the optical path of optical source 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (US Patent Publication 20170118551) in view of Paschotta 2 (Non-Patent Literature “Fibers”).
Regarding claim 7, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above).
Wagner is silent as to the exact materials used to surround the light guides, so does not explicitly teach that the material surrounding the first optical fiber element comprises at least one of the following materials:
low refractive plastic;
epoxy resin; or
transparent material with a refractive index less than 1.5.
In the same field of endeavor of directing light using optical fiber waveguides, Paschotta 2 teaches that the material surrounding the first optical fiber element comprises at least one of the following materials:
low refractive plastic;
epoxy resin; or
transparent material with a refractive index less than 1.5 (page 10, last paragraph of section Main Parameters, lists a typical step-index silica fiber as having a pure silica cladding with a refractive index around 1.444, which is less than 1.5. Pure silica is a transparent material.). A pure silica cladding allows for fibers with desirable properties, including a low propagation losses and high mechanical strength, which make silica a popular material for optical fiber (page 2, final paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the optoelectronic biosensor of Wagner using the teachings of Paschotta 2 by choosing an optical fiber cladding with refractive index less than 1.5, such as silica due to the well-known usefulness of silica in optical fibers, including the cladding of optical fibers.
Claim(s) 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (US Patent Publication 20170118551) in view of Paschotta 3 (Non-Patent Literature “Laser Diodes”).
Regarding claim 27, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 26 (as described above).
Wagner does not explicitly teach that the laser device is a VCSEL laser.
In the same field of endeavor semiconductor-based lighting, Paschotta 3 teaches laser devices that are VCSEL lasers, (page 4, final list item), which generate a substantially directional light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen a VCSEL as taught by Paschotta 3 when building the optoelectronic biosensor of Wagner, motivated by the high beam quality and advantageous surface-emitting geometry of VCSELs.
Regarding claim 28, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above).
Wagner does not explicitly teach that the emitter device comprises an edge-emitting laser.
In the same field of endeavor semiconductor-based lighting, Paschotta 3 teaches emitter devices that are edge-emitting lasers, (page 3, section Types of Laser Diodes, first sentence, which describes most laser diodes as edge-emitting lasers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen an edge-emitting laser as taught by Paschotta 3 when building the optoelectronic biosensor of Wagner, motivated by the usefulness of edge-emitting lasers as laser diodes and how common they are.
Regarding claim 29, Wagner teaches the optoelectronic biosensor according to claim 1 (as described above).
Wagner further teaches that the emitter device is with a deflection device (FIG. 2, first light guide 40, which deflects the light to guide it, perhaps with the help of a cladding/barrier material (see paragraph 101))
Wagner does not explicitly teach that the emitter device comprises an edge-emitting laser.
In the same field of endeavor semiconductor-based lighting, Paschotta 3 teaches emitter devices that are edge-emitting lasers, (page 3, section Types of Laser Diodes, first sentence, which describes most laser diodes as edge-emitting lasers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen an edge-emitting laser as taught by Paschotta 3 when building the optoelectronic biosensor of Wagner, motivated by the usefulness of edge-emitting lasers as laser diodes and how common they are.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL SCHNASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877