DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the preliminary amendment filed on November 06, 2024, which has been entered. Claims 48-67 are pending (note the objection to claim numbering, below).
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
In this case, there are two claims numbered 65. Beginning with the second claim 65, misnumbered claims 65 and 66 have been renumbered 66 and 67, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 51 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 51, line 3, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, claim 51 is being interpreted as not requiring the limitations following the phrase “such as”.
Regarding claim 51, line 4, the phrase "etc" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "etc"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Furthermore, the scope of the claim can not be determined, because it is unclear what is included or excluded from the claim by use of the phrase “etc”.
Regarding claim 65, lines 4-9, recite “an inverter”, “a power supply”, “a plurality of wireless charging stations”, “at least one transmitter”, and “a capacitive cable”, which have already been introduced in claim 59. Thus, it is unclear if these limitations are referring back to the corresponding limitations previously recited, or are in addition to the corresponding limitations previously recited in claim 59. Given the context, it appears that one of the sub-systems recited in claim 65 would correspond to the same limitations recited in claim 59 and additional sub-systems would be a duplication of these limitations or a second inverter, a second wireless charging station, a second capacitive cable, etc. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as the first sub-system comprises the limitations recited in claim 59 and additional sub-systems are additional components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 48-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John et al (US 2014/0139037 A1).
Regarding claim 48, John et al teaches (Figs. 31, 32a-d) a power supply system, comprising a first node (a connection between a first 3202 and 3204, Fig. 32a), a second node (a connection between the second 3202 and 3204, Fig. 32a), and an electrically conducting cable (connector cable 3204), wherein the first node is connected to the second node via the electrically conducting cable (as shown in Fig. 32a), wherein the cable is for conducting alternating current between the first and second nodes (the resonators 3202 send/receive alternating current through connector cable 3204), and the electrically conducting cable is a capacitive cable (characteristics and properties of
the connector cable may be engineered to be optimized for a specific application of power transfer, the characteristics and properties include conductivity, capacitance,
inductance and resistance, see para. 0388 & the connector cable may be designed so that its capacitance, inductance, resistance & conductivity scale linearly or non-linearly
with its length, see para. 0392) wherein the capacitive cable is a cable that has a capacitive coupling within its conductor / conductive elements and is represented in a
circuit diagram by a capacitor (see Fig. 32b-32d, showing the connector cable’s 3204 inductance and capacitance in 3206, 3208, and 3210, respectively) (also see paras. 0026-0029 and 0388-0392).
John et al does not specifically state that the capacitive cable (shown in Figs. 32a-d) conducts alternating current at a frequency of at least 350 Hz.
However, John et al does teach that the wireless power systems are designed to operate in a class according to the power levels required and that operating frequencies may be in the kHz range to MHz range (see paras. 0353-0358, 0397).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the capacitive cable of John et al, that the capacitive cable conducts alternating current at a frequency of at least 350 Hz, in order to create a wireless power transmission system and connector cable that can operate in the desired class and operating frequency.
Regarding claim 49, John et al teaches a power supply and distribution network comprising the power supply system of claim 48 (the system of John et al is a wireless power supply and distribution network, see paras. 0026-0029 and 0388-0392).
Regarding claim 50, John et al teaches a wireless electric vehicle charging system comprising the power supply system of claim 48 (John et al teaches that that the resonators may be used to charge vehicles, see para. 0016).
Regarding claim 51, John et al teaches the power supply system of claim 48 that operate using power at a frequency of at least 350 Hz, as discussed above.
John et al does not specifically state that the embodiment of Fig. 32a-d includes wherein the second node is connected to one or more electrical appliances that convert the power into heat, light and/or mechanical work.
However, John et al also teaches (Fig. 18), that the second node is connected to one or more electrical appliances that convert the power into heat, light and/or mechanical work (see Fig. 18 and para. 0361-0363).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to combine the embodiments of Fig. 32a-d with Fig. 18, to include wherein the second node is connected to one or more electrical appliances that convert the power into heat, light and/or mechanical work, since this would provide a practical application of the power supply system.
Regarding claim 52, John et al teaches the power supply system of claim 48, as discussed above.
John et al does not specifically state that the embodiment of Fig. 32a-d includes wherein the second node is connected to a converter that reduces the frequency down to about 50 or to about 60 Hz.
However, John et al does teach (Fig. 18) that the power supply system may include a wireless power outlet (1802) to offer power for devices and/or appliances that are not yet configured to receive power wirelessly and are powered by a conventional cord (see para. 0362). Conventionally powered appliances in the U.S. are powered by alternating current at 60 Hz and frequency converters are were known to those of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to combine the embodiments of Fig. 32a-d with Fig. 18, to include wherein the second node is connected to a converter that reduces the frequency down to about 50 or to about 60 Hz, since this would allow the user to use their conventional appliances with the power supply system without the need to adapt their appliances or purchase new appliances (see para. 0362).
Regarding claim 53, John et al teaches the power supply system of claim 48, wherein the capacitive cable is of length 5 m or greater (see paras. 0392, 0397).
Regarding claim 54, John et al teaches the power supply system of claim 48, wherein the current has a frequency of at least 20 kHz (a frequency in the MHz range is at least 20 kHz, see para. 0356).
Regarding claim 55, John et al teaches the power supply system of claim 48, wherein the current has a frequency of at least 80-85 kHz (a frequency in the MHz range is at least 80-85 kHz, see para. 0356).
Regarding claim 56, John et al teaches the power supply system of claim 48, as discussed above. John et al also teaches a home comprising the power supply system of claim 48 (see paras. 0011, 0025).
John et al does not specifically teach an airport, seaport, aircraft or ship comprising the power supply system of claim 48.
However, airports, seaports, aircraft and ships are known locations where individuals use devices that require power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to utilize the power supply system of John et al in an airport, seaport, aircraft or ship, since this would provide the convenience of the power supply system in additional locations. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the power supply system of John et al could be utilized in other locations, in addition to a home.
Regarding claim 57, John et al teaches (see Figs. 31, 32a-d) a method of supplying power between 2 nodes in a power supply system, comprising providing a first node (a connection between a first 3202 and 3204, Fig. 32a), a second node (a connection between a second 3202 and 3204, Fig. 32a), and an electrically conducting cable (connector cable 3204), wherein the first node is connected to the second node via the electrically conducting cable (as shown in Fig. 32a), and providing power to the first node (the first 3202 is powered), wherein the power is alternating current (the resonators 3202 send/receive alternating current), and the electrically conducting cable is a capacitive cable (characteristics and properties of the connector cable may be engineered to be optimized for a specific application of power transfer, the characteristics and properties include conductivity, capacitance, inductance and resistance, see para. 0388 & the connector cable may be designed so that its capacitance, inductance, resistance & conductivity scale linearly or non-linearly
with its length, see para. 0392), wherein the capacitive cable is a cable that has a capacitive coupling within its conductor / conductive elements and is represented in a circuit diagram by a capacitor (see Fig. 32b-32d, showing the connector cable’s 3204 inductance and capacitance in 3206, 3208, and 3210, respectively) (also see paras. 0026-0029 and 0388-0392).
John et al does not specifically state that the alternating current is at a frequency of at least 350 Hz.
However, John et al does teach that the wireless power systems are designed to operate in a class according to the power levels required and that operating frequencies may be in the kHz range to MHz range (see paras. 0353-0358, 0397).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the capacitive cable of John et al, that the alternating current is at a frequency of at least 350 Hz, in order to create a wireless power transmission system and connector cable that can operate in the desired class and operating frequency.
Regarding claim 58, John et al teaches the method of claim 57 wherein the current has a frequency of at least 20 kHz (a frequency in the MHz range is at least 20 kHz, see para. 0356).
Claim(s) 59-67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollenwyder et al (WO 2010/031593 A2) in view of John et al (US 2014/0139037 A1).
Regarding claim 59, Vollenwyder et al teaches (Figs. 12, 13) a wireless electric vehicle (vehicle 162 with energy storage 163a, 163b) charging system, comprising (a) a power supply (energy source 151), (b) an inverter (inverters 152a-152e) connected to the power supply (151) and adapted to output power at a frequency of at least 350 Hz (the frequency of alternating current may be in the range of 5-100 kHz, see page 3, lines 3-5), and (c) a plurality of wireless charging stations (segments 157a-157f represent charging stations/areas), each comprising at least one transmitter (phase lines 135a-135c are transmitters), wherein the inverter is connected to each of the plurality of wireless charging stations using a cable (the connections 144a-144c between switches 147, 148 and phase lines 135a-135c represent a cable) (also see page 26, line 4 – page 27, line 13).
Vollenwyder et al states that it is necessary to design all of the AC supply line, such as cables, switches and filters for prominent operation (see page 5, lines 7-8). Vollenwyder et al does not specifically teach that the cable is a capacitive cable, wherein the capacitive cable is a cable that has a capacitive coupling within its conductor / conductive elements and is represented in a circuit diagram by a capacitor.
John et al teaches (Figs. 31, 32a-d) a wireless power supply system, comprising an electrically conducting cable (connector cable 3204), wherein the cable is for conducting alternating current (the resonators 3202 send/receive alternating current through connector cable 3204), and the electrically conducting cable is a capacitive cable (characteristics and properties of the connector cable may be engineered to be optimized for a specific application of power transfer, the characteristics and properties include conductivity, capacitance, inductance and resistance, see para. 0388 & the connector cable may be designed so that its capacitance, inductance, resistance & conductivity scale linearly or non-linearly with its length, see para. 0392) wherein the capacitive cable is a cable that has a capacitive coupling within its conductor / conductive elements and is represented in a circuit diagram by a capacitor (see Fig. 32b-32d, showing the connector cable’s 3204 inductance and capacitance in 3206, 3208, and 3210, respectively) (also see paras. 0026-0029 and 0388-0392).
In view of the teachings of John et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the wireless power supply of Vollenwyder et al, wherein that the cable is a capacitive cable, wherein the capacitive cable is a cable that has a capacitive coupling within its conductor / conductive elements and is represented in a circuit diagram by a capacitor, since one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that this would be one way to design the cable for prominent AC operation, as suggested by Vollenwyder et al.
Regarding claim 60, Vollenwyder et al as modified by John et al teaches the wireless electric vehicle charging system of claim 59, wherein the inverter is connected to at least 5 wireless charging stations (as shown in Fig. 13, there are at least 5 segments 157a-157f).
Regarding claim 61, Vollenwyder et al as modified by John et al teaches the wireless electric vehicle charging system of claim 59, wherein the power output of the inverter is polyphasic and power from different phases is supplied to different wireless charging stations (as shown in Figs. 12 & 13, the inverter has 3 phases and each phase is connected to a different phase line 135a-135c, which is connected to each segment).
Regarding claim 62, Vollenwyder et al as modified by John et al teaches the wireless electric vehicle charging system of claim 59, wherein the inverter is a 3-phase inverter (see Fig. 12, showing a 3 phase inverter).
Regarding claim 63, Vollenwyder et al as modified by John et al teaches the wireless electric vehicle charging system of claim 59, for charging one or more stationary electric vehicles (the vehicle 162 may be charged while stationary, positioned over one of the segments 157a-157f).
Regarding claim 64, Vollenwyder et al as modified by John et al teaches the wireless electric vehicle charging system of claim 59, for charging one or more moving electric vehicles (the vehicle 162 may be charged while moving over segments 157a-157f).
Regarding claim 65, Vollenwyder et al as modified by John et al teaches the wireless electric vehicle charging system of claim 59, wherein the wireless electric vehicle charging system is provided as two or more sub-systems (see Figs. 12, 13), each having:(a) an inverter (inverters 152a-152e) connected to a power supply (energy source 151) and adapted to output power at a frequency of at least 350 Hz (the frequency of alternating current may be in the range of 5-100 kHz, see page 3, lines 3-5), and (b) a plurality of wireless charging stations (segments 157a-157f), each comprising at least one transmitter (the phase lines 135a-135c, of each segment, are transmitters), wherein the inverter is connected to each of the plurality of wireless charging stations using a capacitive cable (the connection between the inverter and phase lines), and wherein the inverters of the two sub-systems are connected in parallel to the power supply (as shown in Figs. 12, 13, the inverters 142, 142, etc. are connected in parallel to lines 141a, 141b and the energy source 151), the capacitive cable in each sub-system is connected to the capacitive cable in one of the other sub-systems (see Figs. 12, 13), and each sub-system acts as a backup system for one of the other sub-systems in the event that one of the inverters ceases to function (as shown in Figs. 12, 13, each of the inverters, cables, and phase lines are connected between each segment. Thus, the segments will act as a backup for each other, if one of the inverters fails).
Regarding claim [[65]] 66, Vollenwyder et al as modified by John et al teaches the wireless electric vehicle charging system of claim 64, wherein (a) the power output of the inverter is polyphasic (as shown in Figs. 12 & 13, the inverter has 3 phases), and (b) each phase of the capacitive cable in each sub-system is connected to the same phase of the capacitive cable in the other sub-system (as shown in Figs. 12 & 13, each phase is connected to a different phase line 135a-135c, which is connected to the same phase of each segment).
Regarding claim [[66]] 67, Vollenwyder et al as modified by John et al teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle (vehicle 162), comprising positioning the electric vehicle in the proximity of a wireless charging station (the vehicle 162 is positioned in the proximity of the wireless charging segments 157a-157f), being part of the wireless electric vehicle charging system of claim 59.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the additional references cited on the attached PTO-892, which are related to capacitive cables and/or wireless electric vehicle charging systems.
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859