Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)2) as being anticipated by Tchoulfian (20200365762).
Regarding claim 12, Tchoulfian teaches a GaN-based light-emitting diode (par. 52) having a three-dimensional (3D) structure (please see fig. 1 above and par. 28) and comprising
so-called axial portions (fig. 1: 20; please see all portions around axis “D”),
said axial portions comprising at least, stacked according to a longitudinal direction (please see stacked portions in fig. 1):a lower portion comprising a base bearing on a substrate (fig. 1: 12) and a top opposite to the base along the longitudinal direction (please see portion 12 which as a lower portion and top portion along axis “D”),
an active region (fig. 1: 24) configured to emit or receive a light radiation (par. 58, 59 and 61), said active region comprising a base bearing on the top of the lower portion (please see 24 which is on top of 12),
the active region comprising a top opposite to the base of the active region along the longitudinal direction (please see fig. 1 which shows 24 having a top opposite 12 along axis “D”), an upper portion comprising a base bearing on the top of the active region (please see fig. 1 which shows 24 and 20 abutting each other and along axis “D”), the bases the tops each preferably extending transversely to the longitudinal direction (please see all portions mentioned along axis “D”), said axial portions respectively having walls parallel to the longitudinal direction (please see 20 and 24 having abutting walls along axis “D”),
wherein the light-emitting diode further comprises at least one so-called radial portion comprising a carrier blocking layer (fig. 1: 26; 26 is radial with reference to axis “D”) extending in contact with at least one of the base and the top of the active region (please see fig. 1), and completely covering walls of at least one axial portion (please see fig. 1 which shows 26 covering and along axis “D”).
Regarding claim 13, Tchoulfian teaches an diode according to claim 12, wherein the at least one radial portion comprises a first radial portion comprising an electron blocking layer (par. 43 and 82 teaches an EBL) extending over the walls and the top of the active region, and a second radial portion comprising a hole blocking layer (par. 26 and 82 teaches an HBL) extending over the walls and the top of the lower portion.
Regarding claim 14, Tchoulfian teaches a diode according to claims 12, wherein the lower portion bears on the substrate throughout a masking layer (fig. 1: 22), and wherein the at least one radial portion bears on said masking layer (please see figure 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchoulfian as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Gilbert (20200119231).
Regarding claim 15, Tchoulfian teaches a diode according to claim 12.
However, Tchoulfian fails to teach:
the walls of the upper portion are covered by a passivation layer
Gilbert teaches a 3D GaN device wherein the device is encapsulated by a passivation layer (82), Gilbert teaching that this is acts as the encapsulation layer. Gilbert teaches that passivation layer (82) acted as a encapsulation layer, encapsulation layers protect against moisture, dust, and chemical contamination while preventing surface recombination of electrons and holes. Adding layer (82), of Gilbert, to primary prior art would impart such protection to Tchoulfian 3D GaN device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, at the time of filing, to utilize aforementioned teachings of the prior art(s) in the primary prior art(s) due to aforementioned reason(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: prior art, at least, fails to teach the temporal ordering of steps mentioned in claim 1.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818