DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election, without traverse, of claims 1-6 and 9-11 in the “Response to Restriction Requirement” filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged and entered by the Examiner.
This office action consider claims 1-15 pending for prosecution, wherein claims 7-8 and 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration, and claims 1-6 and 9-11 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baliga (US 6653691 B2; hereinafter Baliga).
Regarding claim 1, Baliga teaches a passive element (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1A+; [Abstract+], and as cited below), comprising (see alternative rejection for claim 1 in section 5 below):
a semiconductor substrate (402; Fig. 14O; C17 20-67) having a p-type or n-type conductivity and having a main surface and a back surface;
a back surface metal film (436; Fig. 14O; C19 14-55) provided on the back surface of the semiconductor substrate (402; Fig. 14O; C17 20-67);
a first insulating film (428; Fig. 14O; C18 47-67) provided on the main surface of the semiconductor substrate (402; Fig. 14O; C17 20-67);
a first metal pad (430; Fig. 14O; C18 47-67, C19 L1-13) provided on the first insulating film (428; Fig. 14O; C18 47-67);
a first conductor (434; Fig. 14O; C19 14-55) extending from the first metal pad (430; Fig. 14O; C18 47-67, C19 L1-13) in a first direction; and
a first conductive film (414; Fig. 14O; C17 L20-67, C18 L1-C19 14-55) provided adjacent to the first metal pad (430; Fig. 14O; C18 47-67, C19 L1-13) in the first direction on the main surface of the semiconductor substrate (402; Fig. 14O; C17 20-67), the first conductive film being in electrical contact with the semiconductor substrate (402; Fig. 14O; C17 20-67).
Applicant should also note that the recitation of “a passive element” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding claim 10, Baliga teaches all of the features of claim 1 (see alternative rejection for claim 10 in section 5 below).
Baliga further teaches wherein the first metal pad (430; Fig. 14O; C18 47-67, C19 L1-13) extends along a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein a length of the first metal pad (430; Fig. 14O; C18 47-67, C19 L1-13) in the second direction are greater than a width of the first metal pad (430; Fig. 14O; C18 47-67, C19 L1-13) in the first direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 2 (and claims dependent upon claim 2, namely claims 3-6 and 9-11) is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
4. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: A search of the prior art failed to disclose or reasonably suggest the limitations “wherein the first insulating film is provided on a first region in the main surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the first conductive film is provided on a second region adjacent to the first region in the first direction, the first conductive film is in ohmic contact with the main surface of the semiconductor substrate, and the first conductive film has an electric resistivity lower than an electric resistivity of the semiconductor substrate, the passive element further comprising: a second insulating film provided on a third region adjacent to the second region in the first direction in the main surface of the semiconductor substrate; and a second metal pad provided on the second insulating film, wherein the second region is located between the first region and the third region” of claim 2 (the individual limitations may be found just not in combination).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
5. Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Titizian et al (US 6331931 B1; hereinafter Titizian), in view of Baliga (US 6653691 B2; hereinafter Baliga).
Regarding claim 1, Titizian teaches a passive element (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 5; [0163+], and as cited below), comprising (see alternative rejection for claim 1 in section 2 above):
a semiconductor substrate (1638; Fig. 16; C16 34-40) having (see below for “a p-type or n-type conductivity”) and having a main surface and a back surface;
As noted above, Titizian does not expressly disclose “semiconductor substrate having a p-type or n-type conductivity and having a main surface and a back surface”.
However, in the analogous art, Baliga teaches semiconductor switching devices ([Abstract]), wherein (Fig. 1A; [Abstract +]) an electrically conductive substate (304; Fig. 9; C16 1-15) comprising of a N+ silicon substrate, where a dielectric layer (306; Fig. 9; C16 1-15) is over the electrically conductive substate (304; Fig. 9; C16 1-15) comprising of a N+ silicon substrate, and an electrode (300a-c; Fig. 9; C16 1-15) is over the dielectric layer (306; Fig. 9; C16 1-15).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the semiconductor substrate of Titizian with the electrically conductive substate comprising of a N+ silicon substrate of Baliga’s, and thereby, modified Titizian’s (by Baliga) device will have a semiconductor substrate (Titizian 1638; Fig. 16; C16 34-40 in view of Baliga 304; Fig. 9; C16 1-15; N+ silicon substrate) having a p-type or n-type conductivity and having a main surface and a back surface.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Titizian in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides an electrically conductive substate comprising of a N+ silicon substrate (Baliga C16 1-15), which allows for a highly conductive electrically conductive substate with low resistivity.
Modified Titizian (by Baliga) further teaches
a back surface metal film (Titizian 1632; Fig. 16; C16 5-67) provided on the back surface of the semiconductor substrate (Titizian 1638; Fig. 16; C16 34-40 in view of Baliga 304; Fig. 9; C16 1-15; N+ silicon substrate);
a first insulating film (Titizian 1636; Fig. 16; C16 5-67) provided on the main surface of the semiconductor substrate (Titizian 1638; Fig. 16; C16 34-40 in view of Baliga 304; Fig. 9; C16 1-15; N+ silicon substrate);
a first metal pad (Titizian 1634; Fig. 16; C16 5-67) provided on the first insulating film (Titizian 1636; Fig. 16; C16 5-67);
a first conductor (Titizian 1650; Fig. 16; C16 5-67) extending from the first metal pad (Titizian 1634; Fig. 16; C16 5-67) in a first direction; and
a first conductive film (Titizian 1648; Fig. 16; C16 5-67) provided adjacent to the first metal pad (Titizian 1634; Fig. 16; C16 5-67) in the first direction on the main surface of the semiconductor substrate (Titizian 1638; Fig. 16; C16 34-40 in view of Baliga 304; Fig. 9; C16 1-15; N+ silicon substrate), the first conductive film being in electrical contact with the semiconductor substrate (Titizian 1638; Fig. 16; C16 34-40 in view of Baliga 304; Fig. 9; C16 1-15; N+ silicon substrate).
Applicant should also note that the recitation of “a passive element” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding claim 10, modified Titizian (by Baliga) teaches all of the features of claim 1 (see alternative rejection for claim 10 in section 2 above).
Modified Titizian (by Baliga) further teaches wherein the first metal pad (Titizian 1634; Fig. 16; C16 5-67) extends along a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein a length of the first metal pad (Titizian 1634; Fig. 16; C16 5-67) in the second direction are greater than a width of the first metal pad (Titizian 1634; Fig. 16; C16 5-67) in the first direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 2 (and claims dependent upon claim 2, namely claims 3-6 and 9-11) is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: A search of the prior art failed to disclose or reasonably suggest the limitations “wherein the first insulating film is provided on a first region in the main surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the first conductive film is provided on a second region adjacent to the first region in the first direction, the first conductive film is in ohmic contact with the main surface of the semiconductor substrate, and the first conductive film has an electric resistivity lower than an electric resistivity of the semiconductor substrate, the passive element further comprising: a second insulating film provided on a third region adjacent to the second region in the first direction in the main surface of the semiconductor substrate; and a second metal pad provided on the second insulating film, wherein the second region is located between the first region and the third region” of claim 2 (the individual limitations may be found just not in combination).
Conclusion
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898