DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, claims 1 and 21; Subspecies A, claim 5; Sub-subspecies 1, claim 6, and generic claims 2-4 in the reply filed on July 10, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “examination of all of the identified inventions and all of the pending claims would not result in a serious search and/or examination burden.” This is not found persuasive because the restriction requirement is under PCT Rule 13.1/13.2 of lacking unity of invention because the technical feature does not make a contribution over the prior art rather than under the search/examination burden under the US restriction practice.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is broad and not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0083268 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”). As to claim 1, Kim discloses a light detecting device, comprising: a plurality of pixels (PX) each having a photoelectric conversion region (110), wherein a structural body (311, 316) is formed in a lattice manner as viewed in plan on a semiconductor substrate (100) in which the photoelectric conversion region (110) is formed, the structural body (311, 316) having a first film (311) including a first material and a second film (316) including a second material different from the first material (See Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 5A, ¶ 0035, ¶ 0040, ¶ 0051, ¶ 0055). As to claim 2, Kim further discloses wherein the first film (311) is a low refractive index film (311) in which the first material has a predetermined refractive index (See ¶ 0055).
As to claim 3, Kim further discloses wherein the second film (316) is a high refractive index film (316) in which the second material has a higher refractive index than that of the first material (See ¶ 0051, ¶ 0055) (Notes: as evidenced by Column 12, lines 44-50 of Herner (US 11,004,895 B1), the index of refraction of aluminum oxide is 1.5 to 1.7).
As to claim 4, Kim further discloses wherein the second material is aluminum oxide (AlOx) (See ¶ 0051). As to claim 5, Kim further discloses wherein the structural body (311, 316) has a structure that reaches an element isolation region (101) formed in the semiconductor substrate (100), as viewed in section (See Fig. 4, Fig. 5A, ¶ 0040).
As to claim 6, Kim further discloses wherein the structural body (311, 316) has a structure that is thinner than the element isolation region (101) as viewed in section (See Fig. 4, Fig. 5A).
As to claim 21, Kim discloses an electronic apparatus, comprising: a light detecting device including a plurality of pixels (PX) each having a photoelectric conversion region (110), in which a structural body (311, 316) is formed in a lattice manner as viewed in plan on a semiconductor substrate (100) in which the photoelectric conversion region (110) is formed, the structural body (311, 316) having a first film (311) including a first material and a second film (316) including a second material different from the first material (See Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 5A, ¶ 0035, ¶ 0040, ¶ 0051, ¶ 0055).
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815