DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I and Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20 in the reply filed on March 06, 2026 is acknowledged. Thus, Claims 5 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 06, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is broad and not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0098798 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0391513 A1 to Choi et al. (“Choi”). As to claim 1, Park in view of Choi discloses a display panel, comprising: a substrate (100) and a light-emitting device (210, 220, 230), the substrate (100) having a viewing angle adjustment structure (300) near a light exit side of the light-emitting device (210, 220, 230), the light-emitting device (210, 220, 230) comprising a first electrode (210), a second electrode (230) and a light-emitting functional layer (220) arranged between the first electrode (210) and the second electrode (230), the viewing angle adjustment structure (300) corresponding to the light-emitting functional layer (220) and comprising a first refractive index layer (312) and a second refractive index layer (322), wherein the first refractive index layer (312) comprises a plurality of grooves, the second refractive index layer (322) comprises a plurality of protrusions, and each protrusion is corresponding to each groove, wherein a refractive index of the second refractive index layer (322) is less than a refractive index of the first refractive index layer (312) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0063, ¶ 0066, ¶ 0069-¶ 0075, ¶ 0078, ¶ 0080-¶ 0082, ¶ 0089, ¶ 0090 and Choi ¶ 0042) (Notes: the limitation “viewing angle adjustment structure” is met by the recited grooves and protrusions and different refractive indices). Although Park discloses the first refractive index layer (312) is a silicon nitride and the second refractive index layer (322) is an acrylate (See ¶ 0078, ¶ 0080) but does not disclose the refractive indices, Choi clearly discloses a silicon nitride having an index of refraction of 2.0 and an acrylate based material having an index of refraction of 1.69 such that wherein the refractive index of the second refractive index layer is less than the refractive index of the first refractive index layer as the refractive indices of these materials are well-known in the art. As to claim 9, Park in view of Choi discloses a display panel, comprising: a substrate (100) and a light-emitting device (210, 220, 230), the substrate (100) having a viewing angle adjustment structure (300) near a light exit side of the light-emitting device (210, 220, 230), the viewing angle adjustment structure (300) comprising a first refractive index layer (312) and a second refractive index layer (322), the first refractive index layer (312) comprising a plurality of grooves, the second refractive index layer (322) comprising a plurality of protrusions, and each protrusion corresponding to each groove, wherein a refractive index of the second refractive index layer (322) is less than a refractive index of the first refractive index layer (312) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0063, ¶ 0066, ¶ 0069-¶ 0075, ¶ 0078, ¶ 0080-¶ 0082, ¶ 0089, ¶ 0090 and Choi ¶ 0042) (Notes: the limitation “viewing angle adjustment structure” is met by the recited grooves and protrusions and different refractive indices). Although Park discloses the first refractive index layer (312) is a silicon nitride and the second refractive index layer (322) is an acrylate (See ¶ 0078, ¶ 0080) but does not disclose the refractive indices, Choi clearly discloses a silicon nitride having an index of refraction of 2.0 and an acrylate based material having an index of refraction of 1.69 such that wherein the refractive index of the second refractive index layer is less than the refractive index of the first refractive index layer as the refractive indices of these materials are well-known in the art. As to claim 17, Park in view of Choi discloses a mobile terminal, comprising: a terminal body (¶ 0062) and a display panel (¶ 0062), which are integrated, wherein the display panel (¶ 0062) comprises: a substrate (100) and a light-emitting device (210, 220, 230), the substrate (100) has a viewing angle adjustment structure (300) near a light exit side of the light-emitting device (210, 220, 230), the viewing angle adjustment structure (300) comprises a first refractive index layer (312) and a second refractive index layer (322), the first refractive index layer (312) comprises a plurality of grooves, the second refractive index layer (322) comprises a plurality of protrusions, and each protrusion corresponds to each groove; and a refractive index of the second refractive index layer (322) is less than a refractive index of the first refractive index layer (312) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0063, ¶ 0066, ¶ 0069-¶ 0075, ¶ 0078, ¶ 0080-¶ 0082, ¶ 0089, ¶ 0090 and Choi ¶ 0042) (Notes: the limitation “viewing angle adjustment structure” is met by the recited grooves and protrusions and different refractive indices). Although Park discloses the first refractive index layer (312) is a silicon nitride and the second refractive index layer (322) is an acrylate (See ¶ 0078, ¶ 0080) but does not disclose the refractive indices, Choi clearly discloses a silicon nitride having an index of refraction of 2.0 and an acrylate based material having an index of refraction of 1.69 such that wherein the refractive index of the second refractive index layer is less than the refractive index of the first refractive index layer as the refractive indices of these materials are well-known in the art.
As to claims 2, 10, and 18, Park discloses (wherein the display panel further comprises) further comprising: a buffer layer (322) arranged on a first substrate (312), (wherein/and) the light-emitting device (210, 220, 230) being (is) arranged on the buffer layer (322), wherein (and) one of films namely the first substrate (312) and the buffer layer (322) is provided with the plurality of grooves, and the other of the films namely the first substrate (312) and the buffer layer (322) is provided with the plurality of protrusions (See Fig. 5) (Notes: the limitation “buffer, first substrate” does not specify any particular materials such that the buffer layer and the first substrate support and/or interpose between other layers meet the limitation). As to claims 3, 11, and 19, Park discloses (wherein the display panel further comprises) further comprising: a buffer layer (324) arranged on a first substrate (313) and an interlayer insulation layer (323) arranged on the buffer layer (324), wherein (and) the light-emitting device (210, 220, 230) is arranged on the interlayer insulation layer (323), wherein (and) one of films namely the buffer layer (324) and the interlayer insulation layer (323) is provided with the plurality of grooves, and the other of the films namely the buffer layer (324) and the interlayer insulation layer (323) is provided with the plurality of protrusions (See Fig. 5) (Notes: the limitation “buffer, first substrate, interlayer insulation layer” does not specify any particular materials such that the buffer layer, the first substrate, and the interlayer insulation layer support and/or interpose and/or cover between other layers meet the limitation).
As to claims 4, 12, and 20, Park discloses (wherein the display panel further comprises) further comprising: a buffer layer (324) arranged on a first substrate (313), an interlayer insulation layer (323) arranged on the buffer layer (324), a passivation layer (322) arranged on the interlayer insulation layer (323), and a planarization layer (321) arranged on the passivation layer (322), wherein (and) the light-emitting device (210, 220, 230) is arranged on the planarization layer (321), wherein (and) one of films namely the interlayer insulation layer (323) and the passivation layer (322) is provided with the plurality of grooves, and the other of the films namely the interlayer insulation layer (323) and the passivation layer (322) is provided with the plurality of protrusions (See Fig. 5) (Notes: the limitation “buffer, first substrate, interlayer insulation layer, passivation layer, planarization layer” does not specify any particular materials such that the buffer layer, the first substrate, interlayer insulation layer, passivation layer, planarization layer support and/or interpose and/or cover between other layers meet the limitation).
As to claims 6 and 14, Park further discloses wherein every two adjacent protrusions are at equal intervals and all the protrusions have the same length (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0081). As to claims 8 and 16, Park further discloses wherein the height of the protrusions is the same as the depth of the grooves (See Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0098798 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0391513 A1 to Choi et al. (“Choi”) as applied to claims 6 and 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0187699 A1 to Ju et al. (“Ju”). The teachings of Park and Choi have been discussed above. As to claims 7 and 15, although Park and Choi do not further disclose wherein the length of the protrusions is greater than or equal to 2 um and less than or equal to the size of each sub-pixel in the display panel, Ju does disclose wherein the length (P3) of the protrusions (127) is greater than or equal to 2 um (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0048). In view of the teaching of Ju, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Park to have wherein the length of the protrusions is greater than or equal to 2 um and less than or equal to the size of each sub-pixel in the display panel because such a dimension further provides light diffusion effect while still allows flexibility and miniaturization of the device (See Park and Ju ¶ 0048).
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815