Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishizawa (20140008601).
Regarding claim 1, Nishizawa teaches a electronic element comprising a plurality of cells arranged in a three dimensional array of cells,
wherein the cells are located at crossings between two crossed electrode lines (please see fig. 1 and 2), characterized in that each cell comprises in this order a first electrode (fig. 1 and 2: 12), a part of a molecular layer (fig. 1 and 2: 16) and a second electrode (fig. 1 and 2: 14),
wherein the molecular layer (fig.1A and 1B: 16A) is a self-assembled monolayer of organic molecules having an anchoring group connected to a dipolar unit by means of a conformationally flexible unit (please see layer 16a in fig. 1A and 1B).
Regarding claim 2, Nishizawa teaches a electronic element according to claim 1, wherein each cell further comprises a diode, a threshold switch, or a transistor as selector device (par. 109).
Regarding claim 4, Nishizawa teaches a electronic element according to claim 1, wherein the first electrodes and/or second electrodes of each cell are made from a metal, a conductive alloy, a conductive ceramic, a semiconductor, a conductive oxidic material, conductive or semiconductive organic molecules or a layered conductive 2D material (fig. 1A, 1B, 5A and 5B).
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanaka (20150083988).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches a electronic element comprising a plurality of cells (par. 4) arranged in a three dimensional array of cells (par. 4),
wherein the cells are located at crossings between two crossed electrode lines (please see fig. 1 and 2), characterized in that each cell comprises in this order a first electrode (fig. 1 and 2: 10), a part of a molecular layer (fig. 1 and 2: 14) and a second electrode (fig. 1 and 2: 12),
wherein the molecular layer (fig. 2: 14; par. 54-67) is a self-assembled monolayer of organic molecules (par. 54-57) having an anchoring group connected to a dipolar unit by means of a conformationally flexible unit (please see layer 14 in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka teaches a electronic element according to claim 1, wherein each cell further comprises a diode, a threshold switch, or a transistor as selector device (par. 95).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka teaches a electronic element according to claim 2, wherein the selector device is configured as a further self-assembled monolayer of organic molecules or as an inorganic diode arranged between the molecular layer and the first electrode or the second electrode (par. 95).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka teaches a electronic element according to claim 1, wherein the first electrodes and/or second electrodes of each cell are made from a metal, a conductive alloy, a conductive ceramic, a semiconductor, a conductive oxidic material, conductive or semiconductive organic molecules or a layered conductive 2D material (par. 52)
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka teaches a electronic element according to claim 1, wherein the organic molecules for the formation of the self-assembled monolayer are selected from one or more compounds of the formula I
T−Z.sup.T−(A.sup.1−Z.sup.1).sub.r−B−(Z.sup.2A.sup.2).sub.s−(Z.sup.3A.sup.3).sub.t−(Z.sup.4A.sup.4).sub.u−Sp−G (I) in which T is selected from the group of radicals consisting of the following groups: a) a three- to ten-membered saturated or partially unsaturated aliphatic ring, in which at least one —CH.sub.2— group is replaced with —O—, —S—, —S(O)—, —SO.sub.2—, —NR.sup.X— or —N(O)R.sup.x—, or in which at least one —CH═ group is replaced with —N═, b) straight chain or branched alkyl or alkoxy each having 1 to 20 C atoms, where one or more CH.sub.2 groups in these radicals may each be replaced, independently of one another, by —C═C—, —CH═CH—, ##STR00660## —O—, —S—, —CF.sub.2O—, —OCF.sub.2—, —CO—O—, —O—CO—, —SiR.sup.0R.sup.00—, —NH—, —NR.sup.0— or —SO.sub.2— in such a way that O atoms are not linked directly to one another, and in which one or more H atoms may be replaced by halogen, CN, SCN or SF.sub.5, wherein R.sup.0, R.sup.00, identically or differently, denote an alkyl or alkoxy radical having 1 to 15 C atoms, in which, in addition, one or more H atoms may be replaced by halogen, c) a diamondoid radical, preferably derived from a lower diamondoid, very preferably selected from the group consisting of adamantyl, diamantyl, and triamantyl, in which one or more H atoms can be replaced by F, in each case optionally fluorinated alkyl, alkenyl or alkoxy having up to 12 C atoms, in particular ##STR00661## Z.sup.T, Z.sup.1, Z.sup.2 and Z.sup.4, on each occurrence, identically or differently, denote a single bond, —CF.sub.2O—, —OCF.sub.2—, —CF.sub.2S—, —SCF.sub.2—, —CH.sub.2O—, —OCH.sub.2—, —C(O)O—, —OC(O)—, —C(O)S, —SC(O)—, —(CH.sub.2).sub.n1—, —(CF.sub.2).sub.n2—, —CF.sub.2CH.sub.2—, —CH.sub.2CF.sub.2—, —CH═CH—, —CF—CF—, —CF═CH—, —CH═CF—, —(CH.sub.2).sub.n3O—, —O(CH.sub.2).sub.n4—, —CC—, —O—, —S—, —CH═N—, —N═CH—, —N═N—, —N—N(O)—, —N(O)═N— or —N—C—C—N—, wherein n1, n2, n3, n4, identically or differently, are 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10, Z.sup.3 denotes —O—, —S—, —CH.sub.2—, —C(O)—, —CF.sub.2—, —CHF—, —C(R.sup.x).sub.2—, —S(O)— or —SO.sub.2—, A.sup.1, A.sup.2 and A.sup.4, on each occurrence, identically or differently, denote an aromatic, heteroaromatic, alicyclic or heteroaliphatic ring having 4 to 25 ring atoms, which may also contain condensed rings and which may be mono- or polysubstituted by Y, A.sup.3 denotes an aromatic or heteroaromatic ring having 5 to 25 ring atoms, which may also contain condensed rings and which may be mono- or polysubstituted by Y.sup.C, Y on each occurrence, identically or differently, denotes F, Cl, CN, SCN, SF.sub.5 or straight-chain or branched, in each case optionally fluorinated alkyl, alkoxy, alkylcarbonyl, alkoxycarbonyl, alkylcarbonyloxy or alkoxycarbonyloxy having 1 to 12 C atoms, preferably F or Cl, Y.sup.C has one of the meanings of Y or denotes cycloalkyl or alkylcycloalkyl each having 3 to 12 C atoms, preferably methyl, ethyl, isopropyl, cyclopropyl, cyclobutyl, cyclopentyl, cyclohexyl, trifluoromethyl, methoxy or trifluoromethoxy, B denotes ##STR00662## ##STR00663## where the groups may be oriented in both directions, L.sup.1 to L.sup.5, independently of one another, denote F, Cl, Br, I, CN, SF.sub.5, CF.sub.3 or OCF.sub.3, preferably Cl or F, where L.sup.3 may alternatively also denote H, Sp denotes a spacer group or a single bond, G denotes —OH, —SH, —SO.sub.2OH, —OP(O)(OH).sub.2, —PO(OH).sub.2, —C(OH)(PO(OH).sub.2).sub.2, —COOH, —Si(OR.sup.x).sub.3, —SiCl.sub.3, —CH═CH.sub.2, —POCl.sub.2, —CO(NHOH), —CO(NR.sup.0OH), —Si(NMe.sub.2).sub.3; —O—C(O)—OR.sup.v, —O—C(O)—Si(OR.sup.V).sub.3, —PO(OR.sup.V).sub.2 or —SO.sub.2OR.sup.v or straight chain or branched alkyl having 1 to 12 C atoms in which one, two or three not geminal H atoms are substituted by OH; R.sup.0, R.sup.00, R.sup.x identically or differently, denote straight-chain or branched alkyl having 1 to 6 C atoms, R.sup.V denotes straight chain or branched alkyl having 1 to 12 C atoms, and r, s, t, and u, identically or differently, are 0, 1 or 2 (par. 54-57).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka teaches a electronic element (10) according to claim 5, wherein the group T in formula I denotes a three- to ten-membered saturated or partially unsaturated aliphatic ring, in which at least one —CH.sub.2— group is replaced with —O—, —S—, —NR.sup.x—, —S(O)—, —SO.sub.2—, —NR.sup.x— or —N(O)R.sup.x—, or in which at least one —CH═ group is replaced with —N═.( par.54-57).
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka teaches a compound of formula IA
T−(Z.sup.1−A.sup.1).sub.r−B−(Z.sup.2A.sup.2).sub.s−(Z.sup.3A.sup.3).sub.t−(Z.sup.4A.sup.4).sub.u−Sp−G (IA) in which T denotes a three- to ten-membered saturated or partially unsaturated aliphatic ring, in which at least one —CH.sub.2— group is replaced with —O—, —S—, —NR.sup.x—, —S(O)—, —SO.sub.2—, —NR.sup.X— or —N(O)R.sup.x—, or in which at least one —CH═ group is replaced with —N═, and the groups Z.sup.1, A.sup.1, B, Z.sup.2, A.sup.2, Z.sup.3, A.sup.3, Z.sup.4, A.sup.4, Sp, G and the parameters r, s, t and u have the meanings defined in claim 5 (par. 54-57).
Claims 1-7 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Terai (20160284868).
Regarding claim 1, Terai teaches a electronic element comprising a plurality of cells (please see fig. 2 and 7 which shows 3D memory array comprised of memory cells) arranged in a three dimensional array of cells (please see fig. 2 and 7),
wherein the cells are located at crossings between two crossed electrode lines (please see fig. 2 and 7), characterized in that each cell comprises in this order a first electrode (fig. 2: WL), a part of a molecular layer (fig. 3: 14) and a second electrode (fig. 2: BL),
wherein the molecular layer (14; par. 50-57) is a self-assembled monolayer of organic molecules (par. 50-57) having an anchoring group connected to a dipolar unit by means of a conformationally flexible unit (please see layer 14 in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Terai teaches a electronic element according to claim 1, wherein each cell further comprises a diode, a threshold switch, or a transistor as selector device (par. 37).
Regarding claim 3, Terai teaches a electronic element according to claim 2, wherein the selector device is configured as a further self-assembled monolayer of organic molecules or as an inorganic diode arranged between the molecular layer and the first electrode or the second electrode (please see fig. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, Terai teaches a electronic element according to claim 1, wherein the first electrodes and/or second electrodes of each cell are made from a metal, a conductive alloy, a conductive ceramic, a semiconductor, a conductive oxidic material, conductive or semiconductive organic molecules or a layered conductive 2D material (par. 36.teaches conductive WL and BL)
Regarding claim 5, Terai teaches a electronic element according to claim 1, wherein the organic molecules for the formation of the self-assembled monolayer are selected from one or more compounds of the formula I
T−Z.sup.T−(A.sup.1−Z.sup.1).sub.r−B−(Z.sup.2A.sup.2).sub.s−(Z.sup.3A.sup.3).sub.t−(Z.sup.4A.sup.4).sub.u−Sp−G (I) in which T is selected from the group of radicals consisting of the following groups: a) a three- to ten-membered saturated or partially unsaturated aliphatic ring, in which at least one —CH.sub.2— group is replaced with —O—, —S—, —S(O)—, —SO.sub.2—, —NR.sup.X— or —N(O)R.sup.x—, or in which at least one —CH═ group is replaced with —N═, b) straight chain or branched alkyl or alkoxy each having 1 to 20 C atoms, where one or more CH.sub.2 groups in these radicals may each be replaced, independently of one another, by —C═C—, —CH═CH—, ##STR00660## —O—, —S—, —CF.sub.2O—, —OCF.sub.2—, —CO—O—, —O—CO—, —SiR.sup.0R.sup.00—, —NH—, —NR.sup.0— or —SO.sub.2— in such a way that O atoms are not linked directly to one another, and in which one or more H atoms may be replaced by halogen, CN, SCN or SF.sub.5, wherein R.sup.0, R.sup.00, identically or differently, denote an alkyl or alkoxy radical having 1 to 15 C atoms, in which, in addition, one or more H atoms may be replaced by halogen, c) a diamondoid radical, preferably derived from a lower diamondoid, very preferably selected from the group consisting of adamantyl, diamantyl, and triamantyl, in which one or more H atoms can be replaced by F, in each case optionally fluorinated alkyl, alkenyl or alkoxy having up to 12 C atoms, in particular ##STR00661## Z.sup.T, Z.sup.1, Z.sup.2 and Z.sup.4, on each occurrence, identically or differently, denote a single bond, —CF.sub.2O—, —OCF.sub.2—, —CF.sub.2S—, —SCF.sub.2—, —CH.sub.2O—, —OCH.sub.2—, —C(O)O—, —OC(O)—, —C(O)S, —SC(O)—, —(CH.sub.2).sub.n1—, —(CF.sub.2).sub.n2—, —CF.sub.2CH.sub.2—, —CH.sub.2CF.sub.2—, —CH═CH—, —CF—CF—, —CF═CH—, —CH═CF—, —(CH.sub.2).sub.n3O—, —O(CH.sub.2).sub.n4—, —CC—, —O—, —S—, —CH═N—, —N═CH—, —N═N—, —N—N(O)—, —N(O)═N— or —N—C—C—N—, wherein n1, n2, n3, n4, identically or differently, are 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10, Z.sup.3 denotes —O—, —S—, —CH.sub.2—, —C(O)—, —CF.sub.2—, —CHF—, —C(R.sup.x).sub.2—, —S(O)— or —SO.sub.2—, A.sup.1, A.sup.2 and A.sup.4, on each occurrence, identically or differently, denote an aromatic, heteroaromatic, alicyclic or heteroaliphatic ring having 4 to 25 ring atoms, which may also contain condensed rings and which may be mono- or polysubstituted by Y, A.sup.3 denotes an aromatic or heteroaromatic ring having 5 to 25 ring atoms, which may also contain condensed rings and which may be mono- or polysubstituted by Y.sup.C, Y on each occurrence, identically or differently, denotes F, Cl, CN, SCN, SF.sub.5 or straight-chain or branched, in each case optionally fluorinated alkyl, alkoxy, alkylcarbonyl, alkoxycarbonyl, alkylcarbonyloxy or alkoxycarbonyloxy having 1 to 12 C atoms, preferably F or Cl, Y.sup.C has one of the meanings of Y or denotes cycloalkyl or alkylcycloalkyl each having 3 to 12 C atoms, preferably methyl, ethyl, isopropyl, cyclopropyl, cyclobutyl, cyclopentyl, cyclohexyl, trifluoromethyl, methoxy or trifluoromethoxy, B denotes ##STR00662## ##STR00663## where the groups may be oriented in both directions, L.sup.1 to L.sup.5, independently of one another, denote F, Cl, Br, I, CN, SF.sub.5, CF.sub.3 or OCF.sub.3, preferably Cl or F, where L.sup.3 may alternatively also denote H, Sp denotes a spacer group or a single bond, G denotes —OH, —SH, —SO.sub.2OH, —OP(O)(OH).sub.2, —PO(OH).sub.2, —C(OH)(PO(OH).sub.2).sub.2, —COOH, —Si(OR.sup.x).sub.3, —SiCl.sub.3, —CH═CH.sub.2, —POCl.sub.2, —CO(NHOH), —CO(NR.sup.0OH), —Si(NMe.sub.2).sub.3; —O—C(O)—OR.sup.v, —O—C(O)—Si(OR.sup.V).sub.3, —PO(OR.sup.V).sub.2 or —SO.sub.2OR.sup.v or straight chain or branched alkyl having 1 to 12 C atoms in which one, two or three not geminal H atoms are substituted by OH; R.sup.0, R.sup.00, R.sup.x identically or differently, denote straight-chain or branched alkyl having 1 to 6 C atoms, R.sup.V denotes straight chain or branched alkyl having 1 to 12 C atoms, and r, s, t, and u, identically or differently, are 0, 1 or 2 (par. 50-57 and fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Terai teaches a electronic element (10) according to claim 5, wherein the group T in formula I denotes a three- to ten-membered saturated or partially unsaturated aliphatic ring, in which at least one —CH.sub.2— group is replaced with —O—, —S—, —NR.sup.x—, —S(O)—, —SO.sub.2—, —NR.sup.x— or —N(O)R.sup.x—, or in which at least one —CH═ group is replaced with —N═.( par. 50-57 and fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Terai teaches a compound of formula IA
T−(Z.sup.1−A.sup.1).sub.r−B−(Z.sup.2A.sup.2).sub.s−(Z.sup.3A.sup.3).sub.t−(Z.sup.4A.sup.4).sub.u−Sp−G (IA) in which T denotes a three- to ten-membered saturated or partially unsaturated aliphatic ring, in which at least one —CH.sub.2— group is replaced with —O—, —S—, —NR.sup.x—, —S(O)—, —SO.sub.2—, —NR.sup.X— or —N(O)R.sup.x—, or in which at least one —CH═ group is replaced with —N═, and the groups Z.sup.1, A.sup.1, B, Z.sup.2, A.sup.2, Z.sup.3, A.sup.3, Z.sup.4, A.sup.4, Sp, G and the parameters r, s, t and u have the meanings defined in claim 5 (par. 50-57 and fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Terai teaches a memory device comprising an electronic element according to claim 1, wherein cells of the electronic element serve as memory cells, and/or as neural network device, wherein cells of the electronic element serve as synapses (par. 161).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8, dependent on claim 7, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9, dependent on claim 7, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10, dependent on claim 7, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is objected to based in its dependency on claim 10.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-22 are objected to based in its dependency on claim 12.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818