Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1 (claims 1-2, 4-6, 26, 32, drawn to a method of increasing effectiveness of an immune checkpoint inhibitor in a subject comprising administering to the subject the immune checkpoint inhibitor and increasing an amount of one or more bacteria in an intestine of the subject to a therapeutically effective amount) and the species of administration of bacteria before the immune checkpoint inhibitor (claim 5) in the reply filed on 26 Jan 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 6-8, 10-11, 13-17, 19, 22-23, and 29-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (claim 6) or invention (other claims), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 26 Jan 2026.
Claim Status
The amended claim set filed 8 Dec 2023 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, 13-17, 19, 22-23, 26, and 29-32 are currently pending. Of those, claims 4, 6, 13, 15-16, 22-23, 26, and 29-32 are currently amended, and no claims are new. Claims 6-8, 10-11, 13-17, 19, 22-23, and 29-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (claim 6) or invention (other claims), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 26 Jan 2026. Claims 3, 9, 12, 18, 21, 24-25, and 27-28 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 26, and 32 will be examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to provisional application 63/208,719 (filed 9 June 2021) and is a 371 of PCT/US2022/032917 (filed 9 June 2022). What follows is the examiner’s claim-by-claim analysis of effective filing date for the claims currently under examination. If the applicant disagrees with this examiner’s determination of effective filing date for any claim, the applicant may identify text within the prior applications that provides support to the claimed language.
Regarding claim 1, the priority application teaches “A method of increasing effectiveness of an immune checkpoint inhibitor in a subject comprising administering to the subject the immune checkpoint inhibitor and increasing an amount of one or more bacteria in an intestine of the subject, wherein the one or more bacteria are selected from the group consisting of bacteria listed in Supplementary Table 4 and Supplementary Table 8 to a therapeutically effective amount.” (‘719 claim 1), but the cited Supplementary Table 4 and Supplementary Table 8 are blurry and difficult to read. Nevertheless, based on optical character recognition of the document, Mogibacterium pumilum does not appear to be present in either of the tables. Supplementary Table 4 appears to only list Mogibacterium diversum instead (see excerpt below). Also, Schaalia odontolytica is only referenced on pg. 36 ln. 28 in a sentence that cites to Supplementary Table 7, rather than Supplementary Table 4 and Supplementary Table 8, so there is not support for using this species in the claimed method. As a third example, Bacteroides thetaiotamicron does not appear to be present in the priority application. There may also be other bacteria not supported by the priority document; this is not a complete listing.
Excerpt from ‘719 Supplementary Table 4:
Regarding claim 2, Lachnospiraceae spp. bacteria are supported in the priority document (Supplementary Table 4).
Regarding claims 4-5, 26, 32, the new limitations in these claims are supported by ‘719 claims 4-5, 7, pg. 16 ln. 7, and pg. 16 ln. 22, but the claims are not supported for the same reasons as claim 1.
Therefore, the effective filing date used for claims 1, 4-5, 26, and 32 is 9 June 2022 and the effective filing date used for claim 2 is 9 June 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8 Dec 2023 and 16 May 2024 (3x) were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner. Signed copies of these statements are attached with this action.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered. This is only a notice to applicant, it is not a requirement that the references submitted in the specification be submitted in an IDS.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: the figures were created using color and largely cannot be interpreted in a black and white format. A non-limiting set of examples are below, all similar issues with the data legends should be corrected.
Examiner’s view of Figure 1C (partial). The data cannot be matched to the key due to the similarity in color being used.
Examiner’s view of Figure 1C (partial). The data cannot be interpreted because the key is darker for both increased and decreased values.
Examiner’s view of Figure 2B (partial). The data cannot be matched to the key due to the similarity in color being used.
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the definition of the claim term “Lachnospiraceae” recited in claims 1-2, the bacterial genera within this grouping are not specifically defined in the specification. Vacca et al. (2020; PTO-892) is a review article that teaches the understanding of the term in the art at the time of filing, see Figure 1 which includes a summary of the genera within the family (copied below). The interpretation of the term from the art will be used in this action.
Vacca et al. Figure 1 (partial).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the bacterial species names should be italicized, with a uppercase genus name and a lowercase species name in accordance with the standards in the field. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 26, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “increasing effectiveness of an immune checkpoint inhibitor”, but the term “increasing” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite because there is no standard provided for comparison. The term “increasing” and is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the interest of compact prosecution, in this action the claim will be interpreted as any amount of efficacy of the immune checkpoint inhibitor meets the intended use in the preamble.
Also, the claim recites “increasing an amount of one or more bacteria in an intestine of the subject to a therapeutically effective amount,…” but this limitation uses indefinite and relative terms. The term “increasing… to a therapeutically effective amount” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The actions encompassed in “increasing” are not defined by the claim or the specification, and also the claims and specification do not define how one has determined whether the increase reaches “a therapeutically effective amount”. The terms “increasing” and “a therapeutically effective amount” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the interest of compact prosecution, in this action the claim will be interpreted as any subject comprising any amount of the claimed bacterial species and where the immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy is successful has inherently performed the “increasing” step, due to the dietary and lifestyle choices the subject made to shape their microbiome, thereby performing an action to increase the bacteria to an amount where the immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy has effectiveness.
Also, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). The bacteria listed in the present claim 1 include several broader and narrower recitations of bacteria. To provide examples, Anaerostipes is broadly claimed as a whole genus (“Anaerostipes”) but also narrowly claimed as specific species (“Anaerostipes hadrus” “Anaerostipes caccae”). Also, the claim broadly claims the family-level designation “Clostridiaceae bacterium,” but also claims “Dorea” which is a genus within the Clostridiaceae family and also claims “Dorea Unclassified” and “Dorea longicatena” which are narrower classifications within the Dorea genus. This rejection applies to all such examples, not only those listed here. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2, 4-5, 26, and 32 are also rejected because they depend from claim 1 and do not obviate all rejections above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 26, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gajewski et al. (US 20160354416 A1; hereafter Gajewski; PTO-892) as evidenced by Vacca et al. (2020; PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 26, Gajewski teaches “methods of treating or preventing cancer in a subject, comprising modulating levels of one or more commensal microbes within the subject to: (A) enhance an immune response by the subject, (B) inhibit the growth or spread of the cancer, (C) inhibit immune evasion by the cancer, and/or (D) enhance the efficacy of a therapeutic.” [0005]. Gajewski teaches administering commensal microbes (i.e. increasing) in order to achieve the modulation, and teaches that the bacteria administered could be Butyrivibrio, Eubacterium, Ruminococcus, or Anaerostipes, which are all part of Lachnospiraceae (see definition of the term from Vacca et al. in par. 16). Alternately, Gajewski teaches administering (i.e. increasing) Bifidobacterium bifidum in an example [0141]. In addition to the bacteria, Gajewski teaches further administering to the subject a cancer therapy, including administration of anti-PD-L1 or anti-PD-1 antibodies (i.e. immune checkpoint inhibitors).
Regarding claim 5, Gajewski teaches “In some embodiments, the immune checkpoint inhibitor is administered after the bacterial formulation.” [0016].
Regarding claim 32, Gajewski teaches “In some embodiments, the subject is human.” [0014].
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/AMELIA NICOLE DICKENS/Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/SAMIRA J JEAN-LOUIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1642