DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites “assuming” in line 6 and “the assumed” in line 9, which causing uncertainty and unclear boundary. Same argument applies to claims 26, 31 and 34.
Claims 24-30 and 32-38 are rejected for depend from claim 23 or 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-25, 30-33 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo (US 20040106425 A1) in view of Chen (US 20040184417 A1).
For claim 23. Koo discloses ([0004]) A method for uplink (UL) power control performed by a network node of a wireless communication network, the method comprising: determining, for a user equipment (UE), a UE-specific Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR) link adaption target (SINRLA) ([0078] the target SIR) based on UE-specific Quality of Service (QOS) information ([0079]) for the UE, wherein the determination of the UE-specific SINRLA comprises: assuming allocation of a first number of Physical Resource Blocks (PRB) to the UL transmission ([0023]); determining whether the TBS is larger than or equal to a packet size D ([0023] “selectively sized block allocations” or [0057] “TTI size S” as the claimed TBS, [0078] more than “one transport block” as packet size D; hence the selected sized block allocations is more than one transport block; [0019], [0081] “variable bit rate services”, as variable size/bits within TTI); and when the TBS is larger than or equal to the packet size D, determining the UE-specific SINRLA ([0078] the target SIR) based on the UE-specific QoS information ([0079]) and the first MCS ([0013], [0016], W-CDMA); determining a power target, P0, for the UE, based on the UE-specific SINRLA, and on an estimated interference ([0054] time-varying propagation channel and interference, or interference value in SINR) for UL signals at the network node (claims 9, 11, 20, 22); and sending information on the determined P0 to the UE, so that the UE can transmit packets in UL with a transmission power based on the determined P0 (claims 9, 11, 20, 22).
But fails to mention selecting a first Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for coding of the packet to be transmitted, based on the assumed allocated first number of PRBs, which results in a Transport block size (TBS).
This teaching is disclosed by Chen ([0003], [0032]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Chen into the art of Koo as to use selecting MCS to meet different channel qualities, hence updating SINR target based on previous transmission parameters/QoS including selected MCS.
For claim 24. Koo in combination with Chen substantially teaches the method of claim 23, Koo discloses wherein the UE-specific QoS information is packet error rate, and the UE-specific SINRLA is determined based on the packet error rate and on packet size D ([0068]-[0070]).
For claim 25. Koo in combination with Chen substantially teaches the method of claim 23, Koo discloses wherein the method further comprises: estimating a transmit power of the UE based on the determined P0 and an estimation of pathloss between the UE and the network node, and when the estimated transmit power is below or equal to a maximum transmit power of the UE, perform the sending of the information on the determined P0 to the UE ([0043], maximum transmit power inherently the limitation of the UE).
For claim 30. Koo in combination with Chen substantially teaches the method of claim 23, Koo discloses wherein the UE-specific QoS information is a UE packet delay budget, PDB, the method comprising determining a BLER target based on the PDB, and wherein the UE-specific SINRLA is determined based on the BLER target ([0019]-[0021]).
For claim 31. Koo discloses ([0004]) A network node configured to operate in a wireless communication network, and configured for UL power control, the network node comprising a processing circuitry and a memory, said memory containing instructions executable by said processing circuitry, whereby the network node is operative for: determining, for a User Equipment, UE, a UE-specific Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR) link adaption target (SINRLA) ([0078] the target SIR) based on UE-specific Quality of Service (QOS) information ([0079]) for the UE, wherein determining the SINRLA comprises: assuming allocation of a first number of Physical Resource Blocks (PRB) to the UL transmission ([0023]); determining whether the TBS is larger than or equal to a packet size D ([0023] “selectively sized block allocations” or [0057] “TTI size S” as the claimed TBS, [0078] more than “one transport block” as packet size D; hence the selected sized block allocations is more than one transport block; [0019], [0081] “variable bit rate services”, as variable size/bits within TTI); and when the TBS is larger than or equal to the packet size D, determining the UE-specific SINRLA ([0078] the target SIR) based on the UE-specific QoS information ([0079]) and the first MCS ([0013], [0016], W-CDMA); determining a power target, P0, for the UE, based on the UE-specific SINRLA, and on an estimated interference ([0054] time-varying propagation channel and interference, or interference value in SINR) for UL signals at the network node (claims 9, 11, 20, 22); and sending information on the determined P0 to the UE, so that the UE can transmit packets in UL with a transmission power based on the determined P0 (claims 9, 11, 20, 22).
But fails to mention selecting a first Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for coding of the packet to be transmitted, based on the assumed allocated first number of PRBs, which results in a Transport block size (TBS).
This teaching is disclosed by Chen ([0003], [0032]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Chen into the art of Koo as to use selecting MCS to meet different channel qualities, hence updating SINR target based on previous transmission parameters/QoS including selected MCS.
For claim 32. Koo in combination with Chen substantially teaches the network node of claim 31, Koo discloses wherein the UE-specific QoS information is packet error rate, and the UE-specific SINRLA is determined based on the packet error rate and on packet size D ([0068]-[0070]).
For claim 33. Koo in combination with Chen substantially teaches the network node of claim 31, Koo discloses further being operative for: estimating a transmit power of the UE based on the determined P0 and an estimation of pathloss between the UE and the network node, when the estimated transmit power is below or equal to a maximum transmit power of the UE, perform the sending of the information on the determined P0 to the UE ([0043], maximum transmit power inherently the limitation of the UE).
For claim 38. Koo in combination with Chen substantially teaches the network node of claim 31, Koo discloses wherein the UE-specific QoS information is a UE packet delay budget, PDB, the network node being operative for determining a BLER target based on the PDB, and wherein the UE-specific SINRLA is determined based on the BLER target ([0019]-[0021]).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 26-29 and 34-37 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because none of the references, either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious the claims 26-29 and 34-37.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
January 21, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643